Best Ryobi 40v 24 in Cordless Battery Hedge Trimmer
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details
Buying a cordless battery hedge trimmer is mostly a question of which battery you already own and whether the box includes one. Four of the six trimmers below are tool-only or may be sold without a battery, and all four of those are made to fit DeWalt 20V batteries. Only two clearly come with batteries. This guide sorts them by what is in the box, then by blade length and weight.
Quick answer
If you already own DeWalt 20V MAX batteries, the 20-inch trimmer (first listing) and the 22-inch dual-action trimmer (second listing) are bare-tool options, and the HEINPRO 22-inch (fourth listing) is another tool-only choice at 4.4 pounds. If you have no battery system, the BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX with a 22-inch blade says battery and charger are included in its title, and the SEESII lists two 4.0Ah batteries in its title. The sixth listing is a grass shear and hedge trimmer combination, so treat it as a different kind of tool. Always confirm the box contents on the current listing.
Comparison table
| Product | Blade | Box contents | Weight | Dimensions (in) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 20-inch trimmer for DeWalt 20V MAX | 20 in, double action | Tool only, no batteries | 5.5 lb | 35 x 6 x 6 |
| 22-inch trimmer for DeWalt 20V and 60V | 22 in, dual action | Bare tool, no battery or charger | 5.5 lb | 50 x 5.31 x 7.87 |
| BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX | 22 in, dual action | Battery and charger included (title) | 5.7 lb | 36 x 6.7 x 7.75 |
| HEINPRO 22-inch, tool only | 22 in | Tool only, for DeWalt 20V MAX | 4.4 lb | 37.5 x 7.6 x 6.8 |
| SEESII 20-inch with 2 batteries | 20 in, dual action | 2 x 4.0Ah batteries (title); charger not stated | 5.8 lb | 8 x 4 x 15 (looks like a package size) |
| Grass shear and hedge trimmer for DeWalt 20V MAX | 22 in | Tool only, no battery or charger | Not stated | Listed as 1 x 1 x 1, not usable |
Product reviews
20-Inch Hedge Trimmer for DeWalt 20V MAX
What it is: A battery-powered trimmer made to use DeWalt 20V MAX batteries. The listing describes 20-inch double action blades, a brushless motor with a speed of up to 2000 RPM, and a cutting capacity of 2/3 inch. It says tool only and does not include batteries. It is 35 x 6 x 6 in, 5.5 pounds, orange.
Who it suits: A homeowner who already has DeWalt 20V MAX batteries and wants a shorter blade.
- Pros: Brushless motor per the listing; 2/3 inch cutting capacity; same weight as the longer second listing.
- Cons: No battery; runtime not stated.
Skip if: You do not own a DeWalt 20V battery.
View the 20-inch DeWalt-compatible trimmer on Amazon (affiliate link)
22-Inch Dual-Action Hedge Trimmer for DeWalt 20V and 60V
What it is: A handheld trimmer with a 22-inch dual-action blade. The listing says it is a bare tool with no battery or charger, battery-powered, and compatible with DeWalt 20V and 60V batteries such as DCB205, DCB204, DCB206, DCB184, DCB609 and DCB606. It is 50 x 5.31 x 7.87 in, 5.5 pounds, yellow.
Who it suits: A DeWalt battery owner who wants the longer blade and wants to share packs across 20V and 60V tools.
- Pros: 22-inch blade; named compatible battery models; same 5.5 pounds as the shorter blade.
- Cons: Bare tool; listed length of 50 inches is the longest in this group, so check storage.
Skip if: You need a complete kit.
View the 22-inch DeWalt-compatible trimmer on Amazon (affiliate link)
BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Cordless Hedge Trimmer
What it is: A 22-inch steel blade trimmer. The title says battery and charger are included. The listing notes dual-action blades that cut branches with up to 40 percent less vibration than single action blades, and cutting of branches up to 3/4 in thick. It is 36 x 6.7 x 7.75 in and 5.7 pounds.
Who it suits: Someone starting from scratch who wants a trimmer, battery and charger in one purchase.
- Pros: Battery and charger included per the title; 3/4 inch branch capacity; lower vibration claim for the dual-action blade.
- Cons: Heaviest of the full-size 22-inch models at 5.7 pounds; runtime and noise level are not stated.
Skip if: You already own DeWalt batteries and only want the bare tool.
View the BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX trimmer on Amazon (affiliate link)
HEINPRO 22-Inch Cordless Hedge Trimmer (Tool Only)
What it is: A 22-inch tool-only trimmer that the listing says is compatible with DeWalt 20V MAX lithium-ion batteries. Battery and charger are not included. It is 37.5 x 7.6 x 6.8 in, 4.4 pounds, yellow.
Who it suits: A DeWalt 20V MAX owner who wants the lightest 22-inch tool in this group.
- Pros: Lightest listed weight here at 4.4 pounds; 22-inch blade.
- Cons: No battery or charger; the weight may not include a battery.
Skip if: You need batteries in the box.
View the HEINPRO tool-only trimmer on Amazon (affiliate link)
SEESII 20-Inch Cordless Hedge Trimmer with 2 Batteries
What it is: A 20-inch trimmer. The title lists 2 x 4.0Ah batteries and a lightweight design. The listing describes a 20 inch dual-action blade and a cutting diameter up to 3/4 inch (18 mm). It weighs 5.8 pounds and is blue. The dimensions of 8 x 4 x 15 in appear to be a package size, not the tool length.
Who it suits: A buyer who wants spare battery capacity in the box and has no existing platform.
- Pros: Two batteries listed; 3/4 inch cutting diameter.
- Cons: Heaviest at 5.8 pounds; charger and noise level not stated.
Skip if: You must confirm the charger is included.
View the SEESII trimmer on Amazon (affiliate link)
Cordless Grass Shear and Hedge Trimmer for DeWalt 20V MAX (Tool Only)
What it is: A 2-in-1 garden tool with a quick-change blade system for switching functions. The listing says battery and charger are not included and that it is compatible with DeWalt 20V MAX packs. Blade length is 22 inches. The listed dimensions of 1 x 1 x 1 in are not useful, and weight is not stated.
Who it suits: A DeWalt owner who wants both shears and a hedge blade from one tool and accepts some uncertainty on size.
- Pros: Two functions through quick-change blades; 22-inch blade length.
- Cons: No battery; weight and real dimensions are not stated.
Skip if: You want a dedicated hedge trimmer with full specs.
View the grass shear and hedge trimmer on Amazon (affiliate link)
Buying checklist
- Decide whether you own a battery and charger. If not, choose a listing that names them in the title.
- Match the battery platform. Four of these six are made for DeWalt 20V MAX packs.
- Compare blade length and cutting capacity, such as 2/3 inch or 3/4 inch where stated.
- Check weight, and ask whether it includes the battery.
- Use real dimensions for storage. Two listings give sizes that look wrong.
- Read the box contents line on the product page before ordering.
FAQ
Which of these trimmers include a battery?
The BLACK+DECKER title says battery and charger are included, and the SEESII title lists two 4.0Ah batteries. The others are tool-only or may be sold without a battery, so confirm on the page.
Can I use DeWalt 20V batteries on all of them?
No. The 20-inch, 22-inch dual-action, HEINPRO and grass shear listings are made for DeWalt 20V MAX packs. The BLACK+DECKER and SEESII use their own batteries.
Which one is lightest?
The HEINPRO tool-only trimmer lists 4.4 pounds, which is the lowest here. The weight may not include a battery, so compare with care.
Are the listed dimensions reliable?
Not always. The SEESII lists 8 x 4 x 15 inches and the grass shear lists 1 x 1 x 1 inch, neither of which looks like tool length. Check storage space on the product page.
What cutting capacity can I expect?
Where stated, the capacities are 2/3 inch for the 20-inch DeWalt-compatible trimmer and 3/4 inch for the BLACK+DECKER and SEESII. The others do not state one.
Closing note
Pick by battery first. If you already own DeWalt 20V MAX packs, the tool-only models let you reuse them. If you do not, the BLACK+DECKER or SEESII is the simpler start. For other brands, see the guides to Ryobi 18V ONE+ hedge trimmers, Ryobi 40 volt hedge trimmers and BLACK+DECKER 20V hedge trimmers.