Craftsman electric push lawn mower review

CRAFTSMAN Electric Push Lawn Mower Review

A corded push mower is a simple machine with a simple job, but the buying decision has a few moving parts: the deck width, the cord, the cutting height, and what happens to the clippings. This review covers the CRAFTSMAN electric push mower with a 20-inch deck, a 13-amp motor, and three-in-one bagging, mulching, and side discharge. It sorts the product data into what it means for a small-to-medium lawn and what the data leaves unanswered.

Source note: product details below come from the Amazon product listing and the seller’s description. They have not been independently verified, and no product testing was done for this article.

Product page: CRAFTSMAN Electric Push Lawn Mower, 20-Inch Deck, Corded, Powerful 13-AMP Motor, 3 in 1 Bagging, Mulching and Discharge (CMEMW213).

The short verdict

This is a corded, manual push mower with a 20-inch cutting width. It suits owners with a flat, moderate-sized lawn who can reach an outlet with an extension cord, want a light tool that is simpler than a gas mower, and are happy with a cutting height range that stops at 4 inches. It is a poor fit for anyone who needs a cordless tool, a very large lawn, or a taller cut than the range allows. Check your outlet, your lawn size, and your height needs before you order.

Who should buy it

  • Owners with a small or medium lawn who can reach an outdoor outlet without running a long chain of cords.
  • Owners who want a corded electric alternative to a gas mower. The data gives no noise or emissions figures, so compare those yourself if they matter to you.
  • Owners who want the option to bag clippings, mulch them in place, or discharge them to the side, all from one machine.
  • Owners who want a red-and-black mower from a brand with a 3-year limited warranty.

Who should skip it

  • Anyone who needs a cordless mower, or who cannot keep the cord clear of the cut path.
  • Owners of large lawns, since the data gives no coverage area and a 20-inch deck takes time on large grass.
  • Owners who want a cut taller than 4 inches. The maximum listed height is 4 inches.
  • Owners who need a bag of a specific capacity. Bag capacity is Not stated in the listing.

Three situations where it fits

A front yard with an outlet close by. A 20-inch deck and a corded motor suit a single front or back lawn with an outlet nearby. Plan the route of the cord before you start, and keep it behind you.

A patch of tall grass after a few weeks away. The bullet points describe the 13-amp motor as helping the mower work through tall grass. For a very overgrown lawn, cut the grass in stages, raising the deck for the first pass. The data does not give a maximum grass height the motor can handle.

A tidy suburban lawn that needs clippings handled three ways. Bagging, mulching, and side discharge are all included, so the same mower can serve different preferences from one season to the next.

Specifications, translated into buying meaning

At a glance: the CRAFTSMAN CMEMW213’s own listing fields

Specification Listed value Flag
Cutting width 20 inches —
Motor 13-amp corded electric No wattage or torque figure given
Power source Corded electric Cord length not stated — measure your path before buying
Weight 20.8 pounds Balance not described
Dimensions 33.8 in deep, 21.95 in wide, 15.06 in high —
Material Plastic Deck material not separately stated
Cutting height Product name says 6-setting adjustment; spec list says 3 positions; range 1.5 to 4 inches is consistent across both Not confirmed — number of settings conflicts, use the 1.5-4 in range for planning
Bag capacity Not stated Plan to empty more often on a large lawn
Cord retention feature Not described Assume none unless the seller confirms one
Warranty 3-year limited Full terms not in the listing data

Specs are from the product’s Amazon listing. The 6-vs-3 height-setting conflict is worth confirming with the seller; the overall 1.5-to-4-inch cutting range is consistent and can be used for planning.

  • Model. The model number is CMEMW213.
  • Cutting height: a field that conflicts

    The product name refers to a 6-setting height adjustment. The spec list says the mower has 3 positions, and it gives a minimum cutting height of 1.5 inches and a maximum of 4 inches. The bullet points describe a single lever that adjusts from 1.5 inches to 4 inches. The number of height settings is therefore Not confirmed, because the name says 6 and the spec list says 3. The overall range, 1.5 to 4 inches, is consistent across the spec list and the bullets, so use that range for planning. Confirm the number of settings with the seller before you rely on a specific setting.

    A common lawn-care approach is to start at a higher setting and lower the deck on later passes, rather than cutting very short in a single pass. That is general mowing practice, not a product claim, and it keeps each pass inside the 1.5-to-4-inch range the data gives.

    Bagging, mulching, and side discharge

    The mower includes a collection bag and a side discharge chute. The product name lists three functions: bagging, mulching, and discharge. Each function changes how the clippings land on the lawn.

    • Bagging collects clippings for disposal or compost. Bag capacity is Not stated in the listing, so plan for emptying the bag more often on a large lawn.
    • Mulching returns the clippings to the lawn in small pieces. Mulching works best when the grass is cut often and the clippings are short, which is a practice point rather than a data point.
    • Side discharge throws the clippings to one side. The included chute is the piece that makes side discharge possible, so check that it fits your deck before you use it.

    Cord and power planning

    The cord is the single biggest practical limit on a corded mower. The data does not give the cord length, so plan the route on paper before you buy. A few habits help:

    • Keep the cord behind you and away from the blade path.
    • Check the cord for nicks before each use.
    • Use an outdoor-rated extension cord if you need more reach, and match its gauge to the job.

    A corded mower in the same research includes a cord-retention feature. The CRAFTSMAN data does not describe any cord-retention feature, so assume none unless the seller confirms one.

    Warranty and support

    The product comes with a 3-year limited warranty. The bullet points refer the reader to a warranty and support section for full details. That section is not in the data, so the terms, the claim process, and what the warranty covers are Not stated in the listing. Read the full warranty terms before you buy.

    Category context: a different kind of machine

    The research for this category included a BLACK+DECKER electric lawn mower. It is a different product, and its specifications do not describe the CRAFTSMAN mower. The comparison shows the tradeoffs buyers face.

    • Cutting width. The BLACK+DECKER is listed at 12 inches, against 20 inches for the CRAFTSMAN. A narrower deck means more passes on the same lawn.
    • Height range. The BLACK+DECKER lists a 1.6-inch height, while the CRAFTSMAN ranges from 1.5 to 4 inches. The CRAFTSMAN gives more height choice.
    • Kit contents. The BLACK+DECKER includes a string trimmer, a detachable mower deck, and a spool, so it is a multi-tool. The CRAFTSMAN is a single mower with its bag and chute.
    • Warranty. The BLACK+DECKER lists a 2-year limited warranty, against 3 years for the CRAFTSMAN.
    • Weight. The BLACK+DECKER weighs 9.9 pounds, against 20.8 pounds for the CRAFTSMAN. A lighter machine is easier to carry, but a heavier one may be more stable on rough ground. The data does not measure stability.

    Limitations and avoid-if cases

    • Corded. The mower needs an outlet and a clear cord path. Cordless buyers should look elsewhere.
    • Height ceiling. The maximum cut is 4 inches, which may not suit a lawn that needs to be kept taller.
    • Height settings conflict. The number of settings is Not confirmed, since the name and the spec list disagree.
    • Cord length and bag capacity. Both are Not stated in the listing.
    • Warranty terms. The full terms are Not stated in the listing.
    • No cut-quality or noise data. The data gives no test result for either.

    Pre-purchase checklist

    1. Measure the path from your outlet to every part of the lawn, and confirm the cord reaches.
    2. Decide whether you need a cut above 4 inches. If you do, this mower is not the right tool.
    3. Measure the storage space against 33.8 by 21.95 by 15.06 inches.
    4. Confirm the number of height settings with the seller.
    5. Read the full warranty terms, since the data does not include them.
    6. Plan how you will use the bag, mulch, and side discharge options, and check that the chute fits the deck.
    7. Keep the purchase record for the 3-year warranty.

    Questions to ask the seller

    • How long is the power cord, and is it attached to the mower or sold separately?
    • What is the bag’s capacity?
    • How many cutting-height settings does the mower have: 3, as the spec list says, or 6, as the product name says?
    • Where can the full warranty terms be read, and what does the 3-year limited warranty cover?
    • What is the deck material, separate from the listed material of plastic?
    • Are replacement blades and the side discharge chute sold separately?

    FAQ

    Is this mower cordless? No. The power source is corded electric.

    How many height settings does it have? Not confirmed. The product name says 6, and the spec list says 3. The listed range is 1.5 to 4 inches.

    Does it include a bag? Yes. The included items are the push mower, a collection bag, and a side discharge chute.

    Can I bag and mulch at the same time? The data describes the mower as 3-in-1, with bagging, mulching, and side discharge as the three options. It does not explain how to switch between them or whether they can run together, so check the manual or ask the seller.

    Can it handle a sloped yard? The data gives no slope rating for this mower. A push mower on a steep grade is harder to control, so judge the grade of your lawn by eye and test the mower on the gentlest slope you have before you rely on it.

    Should I unplug it before clearing the deck? Yes. The data does not include a manual, but disconnecting the power before you clear clippings, check the blade, or lift the deck is standard practice for any corded mower.

    What is the largest lawn it covers? Not stated in the listing. The data gives a 20-inch deck width but no coverage area.

    How long is the cord? Not stated in the listing.

    Is it good for tall grass? The bullet points describe the motor as powerful enough for tall grass. Cut in stages for very tall growth, and do not expect a cut above 4 inches.

    What is the warranty? A 3-year limited warranty. The full terms are Not stated in the listing.

    Final verdict

    The CRAFTSMAN CMEMW213 is a practical corded push mower for a small-to-medium lawn with an outlet nearby. Its 20-inch deck, 13-amp motor, and three-way clippings options cover most routine needs, and the 3-year warranty is a plus. The limits are the cord, the 4-inch height ceiling, and the unconfirmed number of height settings. Before buying, measure the cord route and decide whether a cut above 4 inches matters for your lawn. Product page: CRAFTSMAN Electric Push Lawn Mower (CMEMW213).

    Similar Posts