Best Battery Operated Pole Saws for Tree Trimming

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

A battery operated pole saw lets you cut branches overhead while standing on the ground, so you do not need a ladder for limbs that sit six or ten feet up. The four things that matter most are the battery platform the saw runs on, the total reach of the pole, the chain and bar size, and whether a battery and charger come in the box. The seven models below are all battery powered pole saws or pole saw kits. For each one, the details come from its product listing. Where a listing does not state a value, we say so instead of guessing.

Quick answer

  • If you already own a DeWalt 20V MAX or a Milwaukee M18 battery, pick a bare tool that names your battery platform.
  • Check whether the battery and charger are included. Five of the seven models below are sold without a battery or charger, and two include them.
  • Compare reach figures carefully. Some listings give the pole length alone, and others give the total reach for a user of a stated height.
  • Look at the chain specifications, because an 8-inch bar is the common size across this group and the pitch and gauge decide which replacement chains fit.

How to choose a battery platform first

The battery is the largest cost in a cordless pole saw, so start by checking what you already own. The DeWalt 20V MAX line is the most common platform in this group, and several listings name specific DeWalt model numbers, including the DCB200, DCB201, DCB203, DCB204, DCB205, DCB230 and DCB240. The Milwaukee M18 platform appears in two listings. A bare tool makes sense only if your battery matches exactly, so read the compatibility line rather than the title alone.

Some listings also state a minimum battery size. One Milwaukee-compatible listing advises a battery rated 4.0Ah or higher for the best cutting power and says smaller batteries may reduce performance. Another DeWalt-compatible listing gives a cuts-per-charge figure of up to 90 cuts on 4×4 pressure-treated timber with a 4.0Ah battery. Those numbers depend on the wood and the battery, so treat them as the maker’s test conditions rather than a promise for your yard.

Reach: read the number carefully

Reach is where listings disagree the most. A pole that extends to 10 feet and a total reach of 15 feet can both appear on the same product page, because the second number adds the height of the user at shoulder level. When you compare models, convert every figure to the same basis. The table below shows the reach values each listing gives, and it marks a value as not stated when the listing does not give one.

Model Pole or extension figure Total reach as listed Battery and charger
Paxwrenx 8-inch, DeWalt 20V 7.5 ft with 2 sections, 10 ft with 3 sections Up to 12.5 ft (2 sections), up to 15 ft (3 sections) Not included
Houselife 8-inch, Milwaukee M18 7.4 to 8.8 ft telescoping Up to 14.8 ft Not included
Gisam 6-in-1 kit Not stated as a pole length Up to 14.92 ft Two 4.0Ah batteries included
HEINPRO 8-inch, DeWalt 20V 5.8 to 8.2 ft extension Up to 14.2 ft at shoulder height Not included
CRAFTSMAN V20 8 ft 8 ft pole, folds for storage Not stated Included
AVADA 2-in-1, DeWalt 20V 5.6 to 9.9 ft telescoping Up to 15.9 ft at shoulder height Not included
F FINEC 4-in-1, Milwaukee M18 Four-section pole, 2, 3 or all 4 sections Up to 15 ft Not included

In practice, a 15-foot total reach is most useful for limbs that sit over a fence line or a lower roof edge. The shorter poles fold more easily into a car trunk and feel lighter when you hold them out overhead. The Gisam kit and the F FINEC kit both use multi-section or extendable poles, while the Houselife and HEINPRO models use a telescoping section and a fixed extension pole. Pick the reach you need for your tallest branch, then choose the lightest pole that gets there.

Chain, bar and cutting head

Most of the saws in this group use an 8-inch guide bar, which is a common length for light tree limbs and pruning work. The HEINPRO listing gives a specific chain set: 3/8-inch pitch, 0.050-inch gauge, 33 drive links and an 8-inch bar. The Paxwrenx listing gives 3/8-inch LP pitch, .043-inch gauge and 33 drive links. Those two gauges are different, so do not assume one replacement chain fits both saws. Read the chain line on the listing before you buy spare chains.

Cutting heads also vary. The Paxwrenx saw has a 90-degree cutting angle with a straight blade shape. The Houselife head pivots in four positions up to 45 degrees. The Gisam and AVADA heads both rotate through 180 degrees, and the F FINEC head adds a 180-degree rotation too. The CRAFTSMAN pruner head has seven pivot positions. A wider rotation range helps when the branch sits behind a fence post or over a patio, because you can cut from a comfortable position instead of twisting your wrists.

Lubrication and tool-free adjustments

Several listings describe an automatic oiler, and most of them say the oil is not included. That means you still need to fill the reservoir with bar and chain oil before each session. The Paxwrenx, Houselife, HEINPRO and AVADA listings all mention an auto oiler, and the F FINEC listing says you should fill the reservoir and let the system run. Keep the reservoir topped up, because a dry chain wears quickly and can overheat the bar.

Tool-free tensioning is another common feature. The Paxwrenx and Houselife listings describe an SDS tool-free tensioning system, and the Gisam, AVADA and F FINEC listings mention tool-free tension adjustment as well. Tool-free adjustment saves time when the chain loosens after a long day of cuts. It does not remove the need to check chain tension before each use, and the listing for each model still tells you to keep the chain snug.

Weight and balance

Weight decides how long you can hold a pole saw overhead. The Houselife listing gives a weight of 7 pounds, the HEINPRO listing gives 6.7 pounds, and the AVADA listing gives 5.7 pounds. The CRAFTSMAN listing gives a weight of 4.94 kg. The Gisam listing gives 2.54 pounds, but that figure applies to the lightweight kit as the listing describes it. Several listings mention a shoulder strap or an ergonomic grip, and the HEINPRO and Houselife listings describe dual-side safety triggers that work for left- or right-handed use. The Paxwrenx and F FINEC listings do not state a weight, so we do not give one.

Warranty and what each listing states

Warranty terms are listed differently for each brand. The Paxwrenx listing describes a 90-day hassle-free return, a 1-year full replacement and a 3-year limited warranty. The CRAFTSMAN listing states a 3-year limited warranty. The Houselife listing gives a 1-year limited warranty. The AVADA listing refers to a standard customer support warranty, and the HEINPRO listing names a limited warranty without a stated length. Read the warranty page on the listing before you buy, because the terms can change.

The seven models in this roundup

1. Paxwrenx 8-inch cordless pole saw for DeWalt 20V MAX, bare tool

This is a bare tool with no battery or charger included. The listing says it is compatible with DeWalt 20V MAX batteries including the DCB200, DCB201, DCB203, DCB204, DCB205, DCB230 and DCB240. It has a 2.0 efficiency motor, an 8-inch bar and a stated chain speed of up to 18 feet per second. The listing gives up to 90 cuts per charge on 4×4 pressure-treated timber with a 4.0Ah battery. The pole comes in two or three sections, with a total reach of up to 12.5 feet on two sections or up to 15 feet on three, based on user height. The auto oiler is described as automatic, and the listing says the oil is not included.

Choose this model if you already own a DeWalt 20V battery and want the longest stated reach from a bare tool. The listing also describes a low kickback design and a 90-degree cutting head. The 90-day return, 1-year full replacement and 3-year limited warranty appear in the listing copy. For a closer read of this saw, see our Paxwrenx 8-Inch Cordless Pole Saw Review for DeWalt.

View on Amazon

2. Houselife 8-inch cordless pole saw for Milwaukee M18

This bare tool is described as compatible with Milwaukee M18 18V lithium-ion batteries. The battery and charger are not included. The listing recommends a battery rated 4.0Ah or higher. The telescoping pole extends from 7.4 to 8.8 feet, for a total reach of up to 14.8 feet. The head has four positions and pivots up to 45 degrees, which helps when branches sit awkwardly along a fence. The 8-inch chain is described as low kickback. The listing says the tool weighs 7 pounds and includes a dual-side safety trigger and an ergonomic comfort strap.

This model suits a Milwaukee owner who wants a telescoping pole without buying a new battery platform. The listing gives a one-year limited warranty and names the manufacturer as Ningbo Cheery Garden Tools Co., Ltd. It does not state a cuts-per-charge figure, so compare battery runtime with the other models by checking battery size yourself.

View on Amazon

3. Gisam 6-in-1 cordless pole saw and hedge trimmer combo kit

This is the one kit in the roundup that includes its batteries. The listing says two 4.0Ah batteries are included, and the box holds a pole saw, a hedge trimmer, grass shears and a brushless chainsaw head. The listing gives a motor rating of 1000 watts, a chain speed of 38.5 feet per second and a reach of up to 14.92 feet. The head pivots through 180 degrees and locks in five positions. Tool-free chain tension adjustment is included, and the listing says the kit weighs 2.54 pounds.

A kit like this makes sense when you want more than one head and you do not own a compatible battery. The listing describes it as battery powered, and the title names a hedge trimmer, so buyers who only need a pole saw should look at the bare tools instead. The listing does not give a pole length, so we cannot compare its reach directly with the telescoping models above.

View on Amazon

4. HEINPRO 8-inch cordless pole saw for DeWalt 20V MAX

The HEINPRO saw is a DeWalt 20V MAX compatible bare tool, and the battery and charger are not included. It uses a detachable extension pole that gives an operating reach of 5.8 to 8.2 feet. The listing states a maximum cutting height of 14.2 feet with the pole fully assembled, measured for a 6-foot user holding the grip at shoulder height. The chain is 3/8-inch pitch with 0.050-inch gauge, 33 drive links and an 8-inch guide bar. The listing describes an automatic oiling system and a dual-side safety lock trigger.

The weight is listed as 6.7 pounds, which puts it close to the Houselife model. The included components are the saw head, guide bar, saw chain, fixed extension pole and shoulder strap. The listing names a limited warranty without giving a length, so ask the seller for the terms before you buy if the warranty matters to you.

View on Amazon

5. CRAFTSMAN V20 8-foot cordless pole saw with pivoting head

This model comes with a battery and charger, so you can use it right away. The listing describes a seven-position lateral pivoting head and an 8-foot pole that folds for transport and storage. It is listed as a cordless pole saw pruner with non-stick coated blades and a tool-less blade change. The listing says it cuts up to 900 cuts per charge, but it does not give the wood type or battery size behind that figure. The listing gives a 3-year limited warranty and a total weight of 4.94 kg.

The battery size is worded two ways on the listing. The title says a 2 Ah battery, and the kit description says a 1.5 Ah lithium-ion battery. Check the battery in the item you receive before you rely on a runtime figure. This model suits a CRAFTSMAN V20 owner who wants a complete kit, and it is the only roundup product that uses the V20 platform.

View on Amazon

6. AVADA 2-in-1 8-inch and 6-inch pole saw for DeWalt 20V MAX

The AVADA kit combines an 8-inch and a 6-inch mini chainsaw with an extension pole. It is a bare tool that works with several DeWalt 20V MAX batteries, including the DCB200, DCB201, DCB203, DCB204, DCB205, DCB206, DCB230, DCB240, DCB246 and DCB248. The battery and charger are not included. The telescoping pole adjusts from 5.6 to 9.9 feet and reaches up to 15.9 feet for a 6-foot user at shoulder height. The head rotates from 0 to 180 degrees. The listing gives a motor rated at 1200 watts and a chain speed of up to 38 feet per second, with auto lubrication and tool-free chain tensioning.

This is the one model with two bar sizes, which lets you switch between a light trimming chain and a larger one. The package includes goggles, anti-slip gloves, a shoulder strap, a brush and a 2-in-1 screwdriver. The listing says the oil is not included. Its warranty is described as a standard customer support warranty, so read the terms before buying.

View on Amazon

7. F FINEC 4-in-1 cordless pole saw and pruner kit for Milwaukee M18

This kit includes an 8-inch electric chainsaw and a 1.2-inch power pruner, both on a four-section extension pole. The listing says it is compatible with Milwaukee 18V batteries and that the battery and charger are not included. The pole reaches up to 15 feet based on a 6-foot user. The head rotates through 180 degrees, and the listing describes an 800-watt brushless motor, a chain speed of 26 feet per second and an LCD display that shows battery level and cut count. Three chains are included, and the listing says chain oil is not included.

The safety features include a switch that stops accidental startup and a double-click trigger on the pruner. The kit comes with a storage bag. The listing does not state a weight, so compare the handling in person if weight is your main concern. This kit is the best fit for a Milwaukee owner who also wants a small pruner for thinner stems.

View on Amazon

Deeper look: how to read a listing before you buy

Use a short checklist when you read any pole saw page. First, find the battery platform and confirm that the model number of your battery is on the compatibility line. Second, find the total reach and check whether it assumes a user height. Third, find the chain pitch, gauge and drive links so you can buy the right spare chain. Fourth, check whether the battery and charger are included, because a bare tool can look like the smaller purchase until you add a battery to it. Fifth, read the warranty terms, since they differ from brand to brand.

Cutting safety matters as much as reach. A pole saw can kick back if the tip contacts a branch, and the low kickback designs in this group reduce that risk but do not remove it. Keep both hands on the grip, stand clear of the falling limb, and never cut above your shoulder height. Wear eye protection and gloves, and keep bystanders out of the drop zone.

FAQ

Can I use my own battery with a battery operated pole saw?

Yes, if the listing names your battery. Five models in this roundup are bare tools, so you need a compatible battery and a compatible charger. The DeWalt 20V MAX and Milwaukee M18 platforms each appear in more than one listing. Check the model number of your battery against the compatibility line before you order.

What battery size should I use?

The Houselife listing recommends a battery rated 4.0Ah or higher for the best cutting power. The Paxwrenx listing ties its cuts-per-charge figure to a 4.0Ah battery. A larger battery generally runs longer between charges, but the listing does not compare runtimes across different models, so use the battery size named in each listing as your guide.

What is the difference between pole length and total reach?

Pole length is the extended length of the pole alone. Total reach adds the height of the user, usually measured at shoulder height. The Paxwrenx and AVADA listings both give total reach with a 6-foot user. Compare models on the same basis, or you will overestimate one of them.

Do these saws need oil?

Most listings describe an automatic oiler, and most say the oil is not included. Fill the reservoir with bar and chain oil before you cut. A dry bar and chain wear faster, so check the oil level during longer jobs.

Which model should I choose if I want a kit with batteries included?

The Gisam 6-in-1 kit lists two 4.0Ah batteries as included. The CRAFTSMAN V20 kit lists a battery and charger as included. Check the listing again before you buy, because included accessories can change between sellers and model numbers.

Bottom line

Pick your battery platform first. If you already own a DeWalt 20V MAX or Milwaukee M18 battery, a bare tool from the matching list will avoid a second battery purchase. If you need a complete kit, choose the CRAFTSMAN or Gisam model, and compare the reach figures on the same basis before you decide. For a long reach with a compatible battery, check the Paxwrenx and AVADA listings first.

For more guidance, read our Best Cordless Pole Saws: Reach, Battery Fit and Chain Specs guide and our SEESII 6-in-1 Cordless Pole Saw Review.

Similar Posts