A cordless 21-inch push mower on a trimmed lawn, with its battery and charger placed beside it.

Best 21 Inch Electric Lawn Mower: What to Check Before You Buy

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

The best 21 inch electric lawn mower for your yard depends on the battery kit, the cutting height you need and whether the listing’s deck width is the one you expect. This guide covers one 21-inch cordless mower and explains what its listing includes. It also shows where the listing’s figures disagree, and what a manufacturer runtime claim does and does not tell you. Use the guide to decide whether a cordless 21-inch mower fits your yard. Then check the listing before you order, especially the included battery and charger.

At a glance: the listed EGO Power+ mower’s specs

Field Listed value Flag
Cutting width 21 inches Item type name says “22-Inch” while the cutting width fields say 21 inches — rely on the cutting width field
Cutting height range 1.5 to 4 inches Bullets and specification fields state different minimum cutting heights — confirm before relying on either
Battery 56V 4.0Ah battery and charger included —
Battery life 35 minutes average —
Weight Not stated Check current listing if lifting/storage weight matters
Depth (storage) 67.5 inches deep May not fit a small storage space

Specs are from the product’s Amazon listing, checked 2026-10-11 (full citation in this guide’s sources section). The listing has two internal conflicts (deck width label and minimum cutting height) — this guide flags both rather than resolving them silently.

Quick answer

Choose a 21-inch cordless mower if you want a wide cut and you accept a battery-based kit. The EGO Power+ LM2112 listing states a 21-inch cutting width and says it includes a 56V 4.0Ah battery and charger. The listing gives up to 35 minutes of run time per charge, which is a manufacturer claim. Real run time varies with grass height, terrain and the cutting setting. Check the cutting height range before you buy, because the listing states two different minimums. If you need a corded mower, skip this model.

What changes the choice for a 21-inch mower

Deck width is the first check. The listing’s item type name says 22-Inch, while its cutting width fields say 21 inches. Rely on neither figure alone, and measure the deck on the mower you are considering.

Battery kit is the second check. The title says the mower includes a 56V 4.0Ah battery and charger. Battery platforms are brand-specific, so do not assume a battery from another brand or platform will work. Check the manufacturer’s platform list before you buy a second battery.

Run time is the third check. The listing gives up to 35 minutes per charge, and its specification field also lists 35 minutes as the average battery life. Both figures come from the manufacturer. Treat them as a starting estimate, not a guarantee.

Cutting height is the fourth check. The bullets state a range of 1.25 to 4 inches. The specification fields list a minimum of 1.5 inches. Rely on neither minimum until you confirm the lowest setting in the manual.

Bagging and discharge are the fifth check. The listing says the mower can mulch, bag or side discharge. It does not state the bag capacity, so compare bag size only if the listing gives it.

Weight is missing from the listing. Check the product page for the mower’s weight before you plan storage or transport.

Picks

1. EGO Power+ Electric Lawn Mower, Cordless Push, Includes 56V 4.0Ah Battery and Charger – LM2112 (Best overall)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-11):

  • Cutting width: 21 inches
  • Maximum Adjustable Cutting Height: 4 inches
  • Minimum Adjustable Cutting Height: 1.5 inches
  • Battery Average Life: 35 minutes
  • Power Source: Battery Powered

Pros

  • The title states that a 56V 4.0Ah battery and charger are included
  • The bullets state 3-in-1 function: mulching, bagging, side discharge
  • The bullets state a high-efficiency brushless motor and push-button start
  • The bullets state bright LED headlights

Cons

  • The listing does not state the weight
  • The item type name says 22-Inch while the cutting width fields say 21 inches
  • The bullets and specification fields state different minimum cutting heights

Best for: Readers who want a cordless mower with the battery and charger included and a deck wider than many smaller push mowers.
Skip if: You need a corded mower, a cutting height below the range the manual confirms, or a mower that fits a small storage space at 67.5 inches deep.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

How to choose

Choose this model when you want a cordless mower, a battery and charger in the box, and a wider cut than many smaller push mowers. Choose a different type if you need a corded mower or a very low cutting height. Choose by the listing’s dimensions too, because the listed size is 67.5 inches deep, 22.4 inches wide and 36.2 inches tall. Check that your storage space can take a mower of that size before you order.

Worked example: deck width and cutting path

Step 1: Area = 35 x 50 = 1,750 square feet. Step 2: 21 inches = 21 / 12 = 1.75 feet. Step 3: Cutting path for one pass = 1,750 / 1.75 = 1,000 feet.

This counts one pass with no overlap. Real mowing overlaps each row, so the actual path is longer. Measure your own deck to confirm the width before you plan the route.

Mistakes to avoid

Buying on the deck width in the title alone is a mistake here, because the listing’s own fields disagree. Measure the deck first.

Treating the runtime claim as a guarantee is the second mistake. Plan for shorter runs on tall or wet grass, and keep a second charged battery if your lawn is large.

Assuming a battery from another brand will fit is the third mistake. Check the platform list from the manufacturer.

Ignoring the cutting height range can leave you with a mower that does not match your grass. Confirm the lowest setting before you buy.

For more on battery figures, our lawn mower battery voltage and amps guide explains how those terms are usually written. For charging questions, see our charging system for lawn mowers guide. If you are weighing a bagging model, our small electric lawn mower with bag guide covers bag choices in more detail.

FAQ

Is a 21-inch electric lawn mower the same as a 22-inch model?

The listing says both. Its item type name states 22-inch, and its cutting width fields state 21 inches. Measure the deck before you choose.

Does the EGO LM2112 include a battery and charger?

The title states that it includes a 56V 4.0Ah battery and charger. Confirm the kit contents on the listing before you buy.

How long will the battery run?

The listing states up to 35 minutes per charge. That is a manufacturer claim. Real run time depends on grass height, terrain and cutting setting.

Can I use this battery in other tools?

Do not assume so. Check the manufacturer’s platform list for compatible tools before you buy.

What is the lowest cutting height?

The listing states conflicting minimums: 1.25 inches in the bullets and 1.5 inches in the specifications. Confirm the lowest setting in the manual.

Does the mower bag grass?

The listing states that the mower can bag, mulch or side discharge. It does not state the bag capacity.

Is a cordless mower safer than a corded one?

The listing does not compare safety between the two types. Follow the manual, disconnect the battery before blade work and store the battery as the manual directs.

Does a safety standard apply to this type of mower?

A US standard, 16 CFR Part 1205, sets requirements for certain walk-behind power lawn mowers with a minimum 12-inch cutting width. The listing does not state that this model meets it. Check the label and manual.

Bottom line

Choose a cordless 21-inch mower when you want a battery kit in the box and a wide cut, and when the listing’s figures match your measurements. Skip it if you need a corded mower or a low cutting height the listing does not confirm. Before you order, measure the deck, confirm the cutting height and check the kit contents.

Sources

Similar Posts