Best Battery-Powered Pole Saws for Trimming Branches
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
If you searched for the best battery pole saw 2025 listings, the first thing to settle is which battery platform you already own. Cordless pole saws are sold as bare tools, as kits with a battery and charger, and as combos with a hedge trimmer. The eight listings below cover DeWalt 20V, Milwaukee M18, Greenworks 40V, Craftsman V20 and several brands with their own packs. Each entry shows what the listing states about reach, oiling, battery and included parts, so you can match a model to the limbs you plan to cut.
Quick answer
- If you already own a DeWalt 20V MAX battery, three of the listings in this roundup are bare tools built for that platform.
- If you want a kit that includes the battery and charger, the Greenworks 40V combo and the Supstable kit list them as included.
- For the longest listed reach, the Torrmoss and Supstable listings state about 15 to 16 feet with the pole fully extended.
- Check the battery voltage and the included parts on each page, because several titles and bullets describe different batteries or packs.
How to choose a battery pole saw
Start with the battery. A cordless pole saw is only as useful as the battery that runs it, and most brands sell their saws on a single platform. If you already have a DeWalt 20V MAX, a Milwaukee M18 or a Craftsman V20 pack, you can skip buying a second battery by choosing a bare tool that matches it. If you have no battery, choose a kit that includes one. The listings in this roundup are clear about which ones include a battery and charger and which ones do not.
Next, look at reach. Most listings in this group describe a telescoping pole, sometimes with an extra section you can add. The listed reach ranges from about 10 feet to about 16 feet, and the figures usually assume the pole is fully extended and measured with a person of average height standing on the ground. Reach is not the same as cutting height, so measure the highest limb you need to reach and choose a pole that gives you a margin.
Then look at the chain and oiling. A chain that runs dry heats up and dulls faster, so an automatic oiler is a useful feature. Several listings here describe auto-oiling and tool-free tensioning, which means you can adjust the chain without a wrench. Those features reduce routine maintenance, but you should still fill the oil reservoir before each job.
Finally, consider weight and balance. A lighter saw is easier to hold overhead for a long session, while a heavier saw may have a stronger motor or a larger battery. The weights in this roundup range from about 7 pounds to about 11 pounds, depending on the listing and the included parts.
Specs at a glance
| Listing | Battery platform | Included with the tool | Stated reach | Stated weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Paxwrenx 8 in. (B0H3GST2VM) | DeWalt 20V MAX | Bare tool | Up to 15 ft | Not stated |
| Greenworks 40V 8 in. combo (B01ID88KUW) | Greenworks 40V | 2.0 Ah battery and charger | Not stated | 11 lb |
| Houselife 8 in. (B0FY1HZSRN) | Milwaukee M18 | Bare tool | Up to 14.8 ft | 7 lb |
| Craftsman V20 8 ft (B0DVTGL5VD) | Craftsman V20 | Pruner, battery and charger | 8 ft pole | Not stated |
| AVADA 2-in-1 8 in. and 6 in. (B0FDB34119) | DeWalt 20V MAX | Bare tool | Up to 15.9 ft | Not stated |
| F FINEC 4-in-1 8 in. (B0GTMX1DZP) | Milwaukee M18 | Bare tool with attachments | Up to 15 ft | Not stated |
| Torrmoss 2-in-1 8 in. (B0H72C54HS) | DeWalt 20V | Bare tool | Up to 15 ft | 8 lb |
| Supstable 6 in. and 8 in. (B0FH4MDXK1) | Supstable pack | Two 4.0 Ah batteries and charger | Up to 16 ft | 10 lb |
Where a listing does not state a figure, the cell says so. Reach figures come from each listing’s own wording.
The roundup: eight battery pole saws
1. Paxwrenx 8 in. Cordless Pole Saw for DeWalt 20V MAX (B0H3GST2VM)
This is a bare tool built for the DeWalt 20V MAX platform. The listing names compatible batteries including the DCB200, DCB201, DCB203, DCB204, DCB205, DCB230 and DCB240, and says the battery and charger are not included. It describes an 8 inch low-kickback bar and a three-section pole that reaches up to 15 feet when fully linked. The listing mentions a 90 degree head, tool-free chain tensioning and an auto oiler. Choose it if you own a DeWalt 20V battery and want a single tool without extra packs. The listing gives 90 cuts per charge on 4×4 pressure-treated wood with a 4.0 Ah battery, which is a useful figure if you plan a long session.
2. Greenworks 40V 8 in. Pole Saw and Hedge Trimmer Kit (B01ID88KUW)
This kit pairs an 8 inch pole saw with a 20 inch pole hedge trimmer. The listing says the 2.0 Ah battery and charger are included, which makes it the most complete option for a first purchase. The pole saw uses an 8 inch bar and chain, with easy tension adjustment and automatic oiling. The hedge trimmer head has a seven-position pivoting design. The listing describes the pair as maintenance free, with no gas or oil, and gives a 3-year warranty. Choose it if you want both tools and a battery in one box. The listing does not state reach or the pole length, so check those before buying if height is your main concern.
3. Houselife 8 in. Cordless Pole Saw for Milwaukee M18 (B0FY1HZSRN)
This bare tool is listed for the Milwaukee M18 18V platform. The listing says the battery and charger are not included and recommends a battery rated 4.0 Ah or higher for optimal cutting power. It describes a telescoping pole that extends from 7.4 to 8.8 feet for a total reach of up to 14.8 feet, and a four-position pivot head that adjusts up to 45 degrees. The listing gives a weight of 7 pounds and a dual-side safety trigger for left or right hand use. Choose it if you own an M18 pack and want a lighter tool. The listing also says the oil is not included, so buy bar oil separately.
4. Craftsman V20 8 ft Cordless Pole Saw (B0DVTGL5VD)
This Craftsman kit includes a V20 battery and charger and is built around a pruner head. The listing says the pole folds for transport and storage, and it describes a seven-position lateral pivoting head for different cutting angles. It states non-stick coated blades for sap buildup and rust resistance, and tool-less blade changes. The listing says the battery gives up to 900 cuts per charge. The title says a 2 Ah battery, while one bullet describes a 1.5 Ah battery in the kit contents, so confirm which pack you receive. Choose it if you already use V20 tools or want a Craftsman-branded kit with a 3-year limited warranty.
5. AVADA 2-in-1 8 in. and 6 in. Cordless Pole Saw (B0FDB34119)
This AVADA listing is a 2-in-1 design: an 8 inch and a 6 inch mini chainsaw that switches to a pole saw with an extension pole. The listing is for the DeWalt 20V MAX platform and says the battery and charger are not included. It describes a 0 to 180 degree cutting head, a third-generation brushless motor and an auto-lube system that the listing says runs the chain at up to 38 feet per second. The listing gives a wattage of 1200 watts and a total reach of up to 15.9 feet on the pole. Choose it if you want to switch between a handheld chainsaw and a pole saw with one tool.
6. F FINEC 4-in-1 Pole Saw and Pruning Shears (B0GTMX1DZP)
This F FINEC kit combines an 8 inch pole saw with a 1.2 inch electric pruner. The listing says it is compatible with Milwaukee 18V batteries and that the battery and charger are not included. It describes a four-section modular pole that reaches up to 15 feet with a 6 foot user, an 800 watt brushless motor, and an LCD display on the pruner that shows battery level and cut count. The kit includes three chains, an automatic oiler and tool-free tensioning. Choose it if you want a pruner and a pole saw on one platform and you already own an M18 battery.
7. Torrmoss 2-in-1 8 in. Pole Saw and 19 in. Hedge Trimmer (B0H72C54HS)
This Torrmoss combo is a bare tool for DeWalt 20V MAX batteries. It pairs an 8 inch pole saw with a 19 inch pole hedge trimmer, and the listing says you can switch between the two heads without tools. The listing states up to 15 feet of total reach with the 6 foot user basis and weighs 8 pounds. It describes continuous automatic lubrication for the chain and guide bar, plus tool-free tensioning. Choose it if you want a hedge trimmer head with the pole saw and already own a DeWalt 20V battery.
8. Supstable 6 in. and 8 in. Mini Chainsaw and Pole Saw Kit (B0FH4MDXK1)
This Supstable kit is the most complete package in the roundup. The listing says two 4.0 Ah batteries and a charger are included, along with a telescopic pole, a spare chain, gloves, goggles and an oil bottle. It describes a 180 degree adjustable cutting head, a brushless motor and a 30 millilitre oil tank with a transparent window. The listing gives up to 100 minutes of runtime and a chain speed of 30 feet per second, plus a 2-year manufacturer warranty. Choose it if you want everything in one box and do not already own a battery platform.
Review: the Paxwrenx DeWalt bare tool in depth
If you already own a DeWalt 20V MAX battery, the Paxwrenx listing is the cleanest choice to study in detail. It is a bare tool, so you are not paying for a pack you do not need, and the listing names the battery models it supports. The pole and the head are the two parts to evaluate.
The pole uses three sections. The listing says you can link two sections for a 7.5 foot setup on mid-level brush, or link all three for a 10 foot pole and about 15 feet of total reach with the user standing on the ground. Two sections keep the saw easier to control in tight spaces. Three sections give you the reach for tall limbs, but a longer pole is also more sensitive to wind and to your balance.
The 8 inch bar and chain are the cutting parts. The listing describes low-kickback construction and a speed of 18 feet per second. Kickback is the sudden upward or backward motion of the saw when the chain catches the wood at the wrong point, so the low-kickback design is a helpful feature. Still, keep the saw on the side of the limb and avoid cutting with the nose of the bar.
The 90 degree head lets you orient the cut without twisting your body. The listing says the head maximizes downforce, which means it presses the chain into the wood more consistently. For overhead cuts, that stability helps you keep the saw under control.
The tensioning and oiling systems are tool-free and automatic. The listing describes a tool-free tensioning system and an auto oiler that pumps continuously. Check the oil before each session, and check chain tension after the first few cuts because a new chain stretches as it settles.
The battery figure in the listing is 90 cuts per charge on 4×4 pressure-treated wood with a 4.0 Ah battery. Your own results will depend on the wood, the battery condition and the cutting method. Use the figure as a comparison point rather than a promise.
The warranty bullet lists a 90 day return policy, a 1 year replacement and a 3 year limited warranty. Read the terms that come with your package before you rely on them.
Safety comes first with any powered pole saw. Wear eye and hearing protection, keep the chain away from your body, and never cut near overhead power lines. If a limb touches a line, call the utility company or a qualified electrician. Keep bystanders out of the drop zone, and do not climb a ladder with the saw in your hand.
Choosing by battery platform
Pick the listing that matches the battery you already own, then compare reach and oiling. If you own a DeWalt 20V MAX pack, the Paxwrenx, AVADA and Torrmoss listings are the bare-tool choices. If you own a Milwaukee M18 pack, the Houselife and F FINEC listings match your battery. If you own a Craftsman V20 pack, the Craftsman listing is built for that platform. If you own no battery, the Greenworks and Supstable kits include one.
The kits are the easiest first purchases because they arrive ready to run. The bare tools cost less up front but depend on a battery you may need to buy. Weigh the battery price against the kit price before deciding, and do not assume a kit is the cheaper route if you already have a pack you can use.
Mistakes to avoid
- Buying a bare tool without checking that your battery platform matches the listing.
- Assuming a battery is included when the listing says it is not.
- Running the saw without filling the oil reservoir.
- Using the longest pole length in wind, where balance is hardest to hold.
- Cutting with the nose of the bar, which increases kickback risk.
FAQ
Which battery platform should I choose?
Choose the platform of the battery you already own. Several listings here are built for DeWalt 20V MAX, Milwaukee M18, Greenworks 40V, Craftsman V20 or the Supstable pack. Without a battery, a kit with one included is the simpler route.
How far can these pole saws reach?
The listings state reach from about 8 feet to about 16 feet, depending on the model and the number of pole sections. The figures assume a fully extended pole and a user standing on the ground. Measure the highest limb you need before choosing.
Do these saws include a battery and charger?
Some do and some do not. The Greenworks combo and the Supstable kit list a battery and charger as included. The Paxwrenx, Houselife, AVADA, F FINEC and Torrmoss listings say the battery and charger are not included.
What is the difference between a pole saw and a pole hedge trimmer?
A pole saw has a chain bar for cutting branches. A pole hedge trimmer has a blade for shaping hedges. The Greenworks, Craftsman, F FINEC and Torrmoss listings combine both heads, so check which head you need.
How often should I oil the chain?
Fill the oil reservoir before each job and watch the level while you cut. The listings describe automatic oiling, but the reservoir still needs oil. Check the owner’s manual for the schedule that matches your saw.
Are the warranties the same across brands?
No. The Greenworks listing states a 3-year warranty, the Craftsman listing states a 3-year limited warranty and the Supstable listing states a 2-year manufacturer warranty. Several listings do not state a warranty, so check the seller and the packaging before buying.
Bottom line
For a first cordless pole saw, buy a kit that includes the battery and charger, such as the Greenworks combo or the Supstable kit. If you already own a DeWalt, Milwaukee or Craftsman battery, choose the bare tool that matches it and save the cost of a second pack. Compare the reach, the oiling and the weight, then confirm the battery and charger contents on the listing you are buying.
For technique on overhead cuts, read how to prune branches with a pole saw. Before you compare battery pole saws, the overview of cordless pole saws for reach, battery fit and chain specs covers the same battery and chain questions in more detail.



