Best CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless Pole Saw

Best CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless Pole Saw

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

If you are looking for the best Craftsman V20 cordless pole saw for branch work, the short answer is that it suits people who already run CRAFTSMAN V20 batteries and want to reach limbs from the ground. The kit includes an 8-inch cordless pole chainsaw, a 4.0Ah battery, a charger and an extension pole. The manufacturer page gives a reach of up to 14 feet and up to 325 cuts per charge, and it explains the conditions behind both figures. The saved listing agrees with those points. This page also flags what neither source says, including weight, maximum branch diameter and safety features.

Quick answer

  • It is an 8-inch cordless pole chainsaw on the V20 platform, sold as a kit with a 4.0Ah battery and a charger.
  • The manufacturer states an extension reach “up to 14-ft Reach with extension pole”, measured under a stated set of conditions.
  • The manufacturer footnote ties the 325-cut figure to 2-in by 2-in pine using the 4.0Ah battery.
  • The saved text gives no weight, branch diameter, chain brake or hand guard details, so check those before you buy.

The product at a glance

Use the table to check each point against your own order. The table uses what the saved listing and the manufacturer page state. Where neither source is silent on a point, the cell says “not stated”. The listing was read on 2026-10-23, and the manufacturer page was opened on the same date.

Feature What the sources state
Brand CRAFTSMAN
Model CMCCSP20M1 (listing title and manufacturer page)
Type Cordless pole chainsaw kit with an 8 in. bar
Power source Battery
Battery V20 4.0Ah battery, CMCB204, included
Charger V20 charger, included
Extension pole Included
Cuts per charge Up to 325, on 2-in x 2-in pine with the 4.0Ah battery (manufacturer footnote)
Reach Up to 14 ft with the extension pole, under the manufacturer’s stated conditions
Motor Brushed (manufacturer page)
Head and blade Angled head and blade for cutting precision
Pole grip Soft grip on the pole extension
Branch hook Yes, to help remove cut branches
Other items in the box Oil bottle and wrench (manufacturer page)
Replacement parts Chain Cmzcsc8, bar Cmzcsb8 (listing)
Warranty 3 Year Limited Warranty (listing and manufacturer page)
Weight Not stated in the saved text
Dimensions Not stated in the saved text
Maximum branch diameter Not stated
Chain brake or hand guard Not stated in the saved text
Oil type Not stated; an oil bottle is included
Tool-only model CMCCSP20B is listed separately as a tool-only item; not covered here

How the 14-foot reach is measured

The manufacturer footnote for reach reads: “Based on 6-ft person holding the pole at shoulder height 60 degrees from the ground.” The footnote adds arms outstretched and reach measured from the person’s feet to the blade tip. That makes 14 feet a figure for one stated setup, not a promise for every user. The listing repeats the 14-foot reach but does not repeat the measurement method, so the number should be read with that setup in mind.

Both sources state the 14-foot figure for the saw with the extension pole, and that matters when you compare it with other saws, since reach figures are only comparable when the method is the same. Neither gives a reach figure for the saw used alone, so do not plan on that reach without the pole.

How the 325-cut figure is measured

The cut count is tied to a footnote that reads “On 2-in x 2-in pine using CMCB204 4.0Ah Battery.” That is a stated material and battery combination. It is not a branch size, and the saved text gives no branch diameter alongside it. Treat 325 as the manufacturer’s number for that material, not as a prediction for your branches.

What comes in the kit

The manufacturer page lists the kit contents one line at a time: “(1) V20* CMCB204 4.0Ah Li-ion Battery”, “(1) V20* Li-ion Charger”, “(1) Extension Pole”, “(1) Oil Bottle” and “(1) Wrench”, alongside the pole chainsaw itself. That is more detail than the Amazon listing gives, which names the battery and charger and the 8 in. bar. Count the pieces when the box arrives, and check that the battery and charger match the V20 platform you own.

Replacement parts

The listing names two replacement parts, “Replacement parts available: chain Cmzcsc8, Bar Cmzcsb8”. Write those numbers down with the saw’s model number before you need them. The listing gives the part numbers only, with no compatibility notes. The saved text does not give prices or availability for either part, so check those with CRAFTSMAN or a dealer.

Current listing details are on the product page: View on Amazon

Who it suits

This kit fits some owners better than others, based on what the sources state.

  • Owners who already run CRAFTSMAN V20 batteries. The manufacturer says “The V20* battery platform is compatible with CRAFTSMAN” V20 outdoor equipment and power tools, so the 4.0Ah battery can serve other tools on that platform.
  • People who need to trim limbs from the ground and want a reach of up to 14 feet with the extension pole included.
  • Buyers who want the oil bottle and wrench in the box, since the manufacturer page lists both.
  • Owners who want a branch hook on the saw. The listing says the hook helps remove cut branches.

Protective gear and ladder choices

The OSU page says “There are several types of chainsaws on the market, including gas-powered, electric and battery-powered.” It adds that “A battery-powered saw is just as powerful as a gas-powered saw,” and it names kickback as a main concern. Its advice for head and eye protection is direct: “The operator should wear a helmet with a visor to help protect their head,” and “Eye protection such as goggles or safety glasses with wrap-around lenses.” The OSU page also advises on body position: “position your body in a way that if kickback occurs, the saw won’t hit your body.” Those pages were written for chainsaws, so the advice applies in general terms to this pole saw.

Long reach changes how you work, not the rules for overhead cuts. The OSHA tree trimming page sets a firm line for overhead work: “Do not cut directly overhead.” It also says to “maintain proper distance from overhead electrical power lines (at least 10 feet) and/or provide insulating barriers” unless the lines are deenergized and visibly grounded. A 14-foot reach does not change that guidance.

Skip it if

  • You need a tool-only purchase. The manufacturer lists CMCCSP20B as a separate tool-only model, and this post does not cover it.
  • You need reach beyond 14 feet. The manufacturer page gives no longer figure for this kit.
  • You need the weight before buying. The saved text does not state it.
  • You plan to cut large limbs or heavy wood. The saved text gives no maximum branch diameter.
  • You need a confirmed chain brake or hand guard. The saved text does not describe either feature.

What the listing does not say

The listing and the manufacturer page cover the basics, but several questions remain open. Each one is worth settling before you order.

  • Weight and overall dimensions: not stated in the saved text.
  • Maximum branch diameter: not stated, even though the cut count appears in the title.
  • Chain brake and hand guard: not described in the saved text.
  • Oil type: the kit includes an oil bottle, but the saved text does not name the oil.
  • Cut count basis: the listing title gives “Up to 325 Cuts per Charge”, but the basis is only in the manufacturer footnote.
  • Warranty terms: the listing and the manufacturer page both name a 3 Year Limited Warranty, and neither saved text gives the terms.

None of these gaps shows the saw is weak. They mean this page cannot confirm the points that matter most for a purchase decision: weight, branch diameter and safety features. Ask CRAFTSMAN for those three points before you decide.

Before you buy

  1. Confirm that you want the 4.0Ah kit rather than the tool-only CMCCSP20B.
  2. Measure the highest branch you need to reach, and compare it with the 14-foot figure and its measurement method.
  3. Check the branch sizes you plan to cut, because no maximum diameter is given.
  4. Download the user manual listed on the manufacturer page and confirm the oil type before your first use.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Buying the tool-only model and expecting a battery and charger to arrive with it. The manufacturer lists CMCCSP20B separately.
  • Reading 325 cuts as a branch count. The footnote ties the figure to 2-in by 2-in pine.
  • Assuming the saw reaches 14 feet on its own. Both sources state that reach with the extension pole fitted.
  • Cutting overhead to save a ladder move. The OSHA page says “Do not cut directly overhead.”
  • Skipping head and eye protection for a short job, since the OSU page lists both as basic protection.
  • Assuming the 3 Year Limited Warranty covers every part. The saved text gives no terms, so the coverage is unknown until you read them.

How we chose

This post covers one product: ASIN B07KMPXLWR, the CRAFTSMAN V20 cordless pole saw, model CMCCSP20M1. It was assigned to this batch of single-product reviews and was not in our stored product file. The listing was read once in Claude in Chrome on 2026-10-23 and saved as the listing record for this post. The manufacturer’s product page for this exact model was opened on the same date, so the reach and cut figures come from the manufacturer’s own page. We kept to what those two sources state, and we did not use prices, star ratings, review counts or badges. For safety guidance we used two university pages on chainsaws and one OSHA page on tree trimming, all opened on 2026-10-22. We did not compare this kit with other pole saws, so the post does not rank it. We also did not use cut counts, prices or availability from any other seller in this post.

What we could not verify

  • The weight, dimensions and maximum branch diameter of this kit.
  • Whether a chain brake or hand guard is fitted, and how the saw handles kickback in practice.
  • The oil type the kit needs, and the fill interval.
  • Whether the 14-foot reach holds for shorter or taller users, since the page gives one measurement setup.
  • The warranty terms behind the 3 Year Limited Warranty label.
  • Whether the saw suits the branch sizes common in your yard, since the saved text gives no maximum diameter.
  • Details of the tool-only CMCCSP20B, which this post does not cover.

FAQ

Does the CRAFTSMAN V20 pole saw come with a battery and charger?

Yes. The kit includes a V20 4.0Ah battery, model CMCB204, and a V20 charger. The manufacturer lists the tool-only CMCCSP20B as a separate item.

How far can it reach?

The manufacturer states up to 14 feet with the extension pole. That figure is measured with a 6-foot person holding the pole at shoulder height, at 60 degrees from the ground, with arms outstretched.

How many cuts does one charge give?

The manufacturer says up to 325 cuts per charge, with the footnote tying that number to 2-in by 2-in pine and the 4.0Ah battery. It does not give a branch diameter for that figure.

Can I cut limbs overhead with it?

The OSHA tree trimming page says “Do not cut directly overhead.” It also advises keeping a distance of at least 10 feet from overhead electrical power lines, unless they are deenergized and visibly grounded. The reach figure does not change that advice.

What comes in the box?

The manufacturer page lists a pole chainsaw, the 4.0Ah battery, a charger, an extension pole, an oil bottle and a wrench.

What warranty does it have?

Both the listing and the manufacturer page name a 3 Year Limited Warranty. Neither saved text gives the full terms, so ask CRAFTSMAN for them before you buy.

Bottom line

Buy the 4.0Ah kit if you already run CRAFTSMAN V20 batteries and need reach up to 14 feet from the ground; if you do not, or if your branches are thick, check the branch diameters and the warranty terms before you order.

For another pole saw comparison, see our DocSmart vs AVADA pole saws comparison, or our Seesii vs AVADA pole saws comparison for a second battery option.

Sources

  • Amazon listing for the CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless Pole Saw, CMCCSP20M1, read in Claude in Chrome (checked 2026-10-23) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07KMPXLWR
  • V20 8 in. Cordless Pole Chainsaw Kit (4.0Ah), CRAFTSMAN product page (opened 2026-10-23) https://www.craftsman.com/en-us/product/cmccsp20m1/craftsman-v20-cordless-8-inch-pole-chainsaw-1-40ah-battery-and-charger
  • Chainsaw safety is vital during storm cleanup, Oklahoma State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://extension.okstate.edu/articles/2023/chainsaw_safety
  • The Dangers of Using Chainsaws, Penn State Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://extension.psu.edu/the-dangers-of-using-chainsaws
  • Tree Trimming, Occupational Safety and Health Administration (opened 2026-10-22) https://www.osha.gov/etools/hurricane/activity-sheets/waste-debris-removal/tree-trimming

Similar Posts