Best Weed Eater for the Money
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
The best weed eater for the money is the one whose battery, cutting width and box contents match what you already own and what your yard needs. This guide compares eight electric and cordless string trimmers from one scan of Amazon listings, using only the figures each listing states. It suits homeowners with small to mid-size yards who want a string trimmer without a gas engine. The scan holds no prices, so this post names none and calls no model cheap, budget or good value.
Quick answer
- For no battery to buy, the BLACK+DECKER BESTA510 is the corded option here. Its listing states a 14-inch cutting width and a 2 year limited warranty, but no cord length.
- For a battery and charger in the box, the DCA 20V 14-inch and the RAXONE 21V 12-inch listings both state that those items come included.
- If you already own a DEWALT 20V MAX battery, the NAYDERTL and Lacoco listings say they accept it, and neither includes a battery.
- No model here is called cheap or good value, because the scan has no prices to compare.
Side-by-side figures
The table shows only the columns the listings state. “Not stated” means no listing sentence covers that cell.
| Model | Power | Battery and charger | Cutting width | Weight | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DCA 20V 14-inch View on Amazon | Battery, brushless motor | One 4.0Ah battery and a charger (title) | 14 inches; 12 to 14 adjustable (bullet) | 5 pounds (specs); 7.6 pounds with battery (bullet) | listing |
| RAXONE 21V 12-inch View on Amazon | Battery | Two 4.0Ah batteries and a charger (bullet) | 12 inches (specs) | 5.95 pounds (bullet) | listing |
| BLACK+DECKER BESTA510 14-inch corded View on Amazon | Corded electric, 6.5 amp (title) | None listed; cord length not stated | 14 inches (specs) | 6.3 pounds (specs) | listing |
| BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX LCC222 trimmer and sweeper kit View on Amazon | Battery, 20V MAX | Two 1.5Ah batteries and a charger (title) | 10 inches (specs) | 10.5 pounds for the kit (specs); trimmer 4.5 pounds (bullet) | listing |
| Ohey ST-01 4-in-1 cordless View on Amazon | Battery, 800W (bullet) | Two 3000mAh batteries; charger not stated | 11 inches (specs); 6 to 12 by attachment (bullet) | Not stated | listing |
| NAYDERTL cordless weed wacker, tool only View on Amazon | Battery | None; battery and charger not included | 12 inches (specs) | 6.4 pounds (specs) | listing |
| Houselife trimmer and blower combo, tool only View on Amazon | Battery | None; battery and charger not included | 12 inches (specs) | 7.2 pounds for two items (specs) | listing |
| Lacoco GCJ-06B 14-inch, tool only View on Amazon | Battery | None; battery not included | 14 inches (specs) | 5 pounds (specs) | listing |
Product notes
DCA 20V 14-inch cordless trimmer
The listing says this is a battery trimmer with a brushless motor and two speeds: 4600 RPM for light trimming and edging, and 6200 RPM for thick weeds. The specification table gives a 14-inch cutting width, and a bullet says the head adjusts from 12 to 14 inches. The title says the set includes a 4.0Ah battery and a charger, and the specification table lists one battery as included.
The weight appears two ways. The specification table gives 5 pounds, and a bullet gives 7.6 pounds with the battery, so check which figure matches the setup you plan to use. A bullet says the battery gives up to 60 minutes at low speed and 36 minutes at high speed. The manufacturer states those runtimes, and real runtime changes with grass, height and terrain. The specification table gives a 2 year warranty. To read what the 4.0Ah rating means, see how volts and amp-hours are read on lawn tool batteries.
It is in the post because the title and the specification table both state that a battery is included, and its 14-inch cut is one of three 14-inch widths in this set. View on Amazon
RAXONE 21V 12-inch cordless trimmer
The listing says this is a battery trimmer with a 9500 RPM motor, a 12-inch cutting path and an automatic line feed. The head turns 90 degrees for edging and tilts from 0 to 90 degrees for tight spots. The bullets say the set includes two 4.0Ah batteries, a fast charger and ten spools.
The bullets give the weight as 5.95 pounds and state that the two batteries provide 60 to 90 minutes of runtime, which is a manufacturer claim. The listing names only a 21V label and does not say whether these batteries work with any other brand’s tool. The bullets also describe a dual-interlock switch that needs two points pressed at once before the trimmer starts.
It is in the post because the listing states the batteries, the charger and the spare spools together, with a stated 12-inch cutting width. View on Amazon
BLACK+DECKER BESTA510 14-inch corded trimmer
This is a corded electric trimmer, so there is no battery to buy or charge. The title states a 6.5-amp motor, and the specification table lists 8000 RPM, a 14-inch cutting width and a weight of 6.3 pounds. The included components are the string trimmer, an AF-100 spool, an auxiliary handle and a guard. The specification table states a 2 Year Limited Warranty and a 30 Day Money Back Guarantee.
The bullets describe automatic spool feed, a cord retention system that the listing says prevents accidental cord disconnection, and a conversion to a wheeled edger by rotating the head. The listing does not state a cord length or a cord gauge. Measure the distance from your outlet to the far end of the lawn before you buy, and do not assume the cord reaches. For a related read on cords, see choosing an extension cord for an electric lawn mower.
It is in the post as the corded choice, for a reader who does not want a battery to buy or charge. View on Amazon
BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX LCC222 trimmer and sweeper kit
The listing calls this a 20V MAX weed eater, edger and sweeper combo. The title says it includes two batteries and a charger, and the specification table lists two lithium-ion batteries as included. The bullets describe each battery as 1.5Ah and say the battery holds its charge for up to 18 months. The specification table gives a 10-inch cutting width, and the bullets give the trimmer weight as 4.5 pounds.
The sweeper is a second tool in the kit. The bullets give its weight as 3.7 pounds, and the title gives its rating as a 130 mph hard surface leaf blower. The specification table gives 10.5 pounds for the kit as a whole, and the listing states a 2 year limited warranty. The listing gives no runtime. Of the battery sets that state a rating in this post, the 1.5Ah battery is the lowest, below the 3000mAh and 4.0Ah sets of the other picks.
It is in the post because the battery, the charger and the 10-inch width are all stated in the listing. For another 20V Black and Decker model, see the Black and Decker 20V cordless weed eater guide. View on Amazon
Ohey ST-01 cordless trimmer
The listing says this is a cordless trimmer with an 800W motor and up to 20000 RPM. The bullets describe two 21V 3000mAh batteries, 6000mAh in total, and the specification table says the batteries are included. The table gives an average battery life of 120 minutes, and a bullet says the manufacturer states 90 to 120 minutes of runtime when the batteries are used alternately. The listing does not name a charger, so check that before you buy.
The cutting width depends on the attachment. The specification table gives 11 inches. A bullet lists 11 to 12 inches with the edging wheel and longest line, 7 to 8 inches with the steel blade, and 6 to 7 inches with the brush cutter blade and auxiliary wheels. The shaft adjusts from 43 to 55 inches, the head turns from 0 to 90 degrees, and the listing describes five long lines, five short lines, four steel blades and two brush cutter blades. A bullet states a 3-year warranty covering the machine and the battery system.
The listing also says the tool is not for cutting, slicing, grinding or shearing materials. It is in the post because two batteries and a 3-year warranty are both stated, and the line and blade options are listed in detail. The table leaves the weight as not stated. View on Amazon
NAYDERTL cordless weed wacker (tool only)
The listing says the battery and charger are not included, and the title and bullets describe it as tool only. The title says it is made for DEWALT 20V MAX batteries, and a bullet lists the models DCB200, DCB201, DCB203, DCB204, DCBP320 and DCBP034. The specification table gives a 12-inch cutting width and a weight of 6.4 pounds.
The bullets describe a brushless motor rated at 960W, a telescopic shaft from 41 to 55 inches, and a head that angles from 0 to 90 degrees. The listing describes four blade types, with blade sizes of 10.6, 8.7, 7.5 and 7 inches, for edging, mowing, thick grass and branches. The bullets also say the unit has a dual switch and a protective guard.
It is in the post because the listing names specific DEWALT 20V MAX models, so a reader who owns one of those batteries can check the listed model numbers before buying. If you do not own a compatible battery and charger, add them to the cost of this tool. View on Amazon
Houselife 12-inch trimmer and blower combo (tool only)
This set ships tool only, and the listing says the battery and charger are not included. It is two tools: a 12-inch string trimmer with auto line feed and a 400 CFM, 130 MPH handheld blower. The listing says it is designed for DEWALT 20V MAX XR batteries. The specification table gives 8500 RPM, a 12-inch cutting width and 7.2 pounds for the two items together, and a bullet gives the trimmer weight as 4.2 pounds.
The table gives an average battery life of 30 minutes and a 1-year warranty. The bullets describe a 180-degree adjustable handle, a 90-degree tilting head and dual safety locks with a flower guard. The listing also calls the set cost-effective. This post does not repeat that claim, because the scan has no prices to check it against.
It is in the post because it is a 12-inch trimmer with edging use and a named battery platform. A reader who wants only a trimmer should choose a different pick. For a DEWALT-branded trimmer on the same battery family, see the DEWALT 20V MAX brushless weed eater guide. View on Amazon
Lacoco GCJ-06B 14-inch cordless trimmer and edger (tool only)
The listing says NO BATTERY, and the bullets say the tool is sold without a battery or charger. It says it is compatible with DEWALT 18V to 21V lithium-ion batteries and lists model numbers such as DCB206, DCB205 and DCB200. The specification table gives a 14-inch cutting width, 20000 RPM and a weight of 5 pounds.
The bullets describe a 750W motor, a body that adjusts through 180 degrees, an auxiliary handle that also adjusts through 180 degrees, and a cutting head that angles 60 degrees. The title says the set includes eight spools of grass cutter line. The listing describes three modes, trimmer, edger and mower, and calls the mower mode a mini lawn mower. This post does not check that mower claim.
It is in the post because it is the widest tool-only model here, at 14 inches and 5 pounds. Add a battery from the model numbers the listing names if you do not already own one. View on Amazon
Safety rules for battery and corded trimmers
Trimmer heads throw debris, and the Ohio State fact sheet says contact with rotating cutters and flying debris can cause serious injury. The fact sheet recommends safety glasses with side shields or goggles, a face shield over them when you use the cutting head, and long pants with a snug long-sleeved shirt.
Clear the area before you start. Remove visible stones, sticks, wires and other debris, because the head can throw them. Keep your hands and feet away from the moving head, which the fact sheet also advises.
Lithium-ion batteries need careful handling. The EPA used-battery page recommends taping the terminals or placing each battery in its own plastic bag to prevent fires. It also notes that not all batteries can be removed or serviced by the user, and that a damaged battery should be handled as the manufacturer directs.
A swollen battery is a warning sign. The EPA questions page says swelling shows damage and a potential fire hazard, and it advises storing the battery in a safe place away from flammable materials until you find a disposal option. Keep batteries at room temperature rather than in long periods of heat or cold, such as a car dashboard in sun.
Before you change the line, the head or a blade, disconnect the power. The Ohio State fact sheet gives this step for gas engines, where it says to disconnect the spark plug wire before maintenance or changing attachments. The sources opened for this post do not give a battery removal step for battery trimmers, so follow your model’s manual for removing the battery. Charge and store the battery as the manual says.
How we chose
The scan file lists 12 products and records a listing read date of 2026-10-13. We applied three rules. The main tool must be an electric or cordless string trimmer, not a mower, a hedge trimmer, a grooming trimmer or an edger alone. The specification table must give a cutting width of at least 10 inches. The listing must say clearly whether a battery is included, and must not contradict itself on the battery type.
Eight products passed and are in the post. Four did not pass:
- BLACK+DECKER BESTA512CM: the listing’s item type is an electric lawn mower with a detachable mower deck, so it is a mower kit, not a string trimmer.
- ALSOGO 24V: the specification table gives a 6-inch cutting width, below the 10-inch rule.
- Windpost 5-in-1: the width is 5.9 inches, below the rule. Its specification table lists AAA batteries, while its bullets describe two 21V 4000mAh rechargeable batteries. The listing does not resolve which is right.
- Myeljnergy DEWALT-compatible trimmer: the specification table gives a cutting width of 15 centimeters, about 5.9 inches, below the rule.
The product order follows the battery situation, not a ranking. The product notes repeat listing figures and do not describe any use of these tools. The listing data is dated 2026-10-13, and the sources cited in this post were opened on 2026-10-30.
What we could not verify
- Real runtime for any model. The runtimes in the listings are manufacturer claims, and no source opened for this post covers trimmer runtime.
- Whether a charger comes with the Ohey model. The listing does not name one.
- The cord length and cord gauge for the BESTA510.
- DEWALT battery compatibility for the NAYDERTL, Houselife and Lacoco models. The listings state it, and the sources do not cover it.
- The DCA weight. The specification table and a bullet give different figures, and the listing does not say which applies to the trimmer alone.
- The Ohey weight, which the listing does not state.
What the sources do not say
The Ohio State fact sheet covers gas-engine trimmers and brush cutters, so its engine steps do not apply to battery or corded trimmers. The two EPA pages cover battery handling, storage and recycling, not trimmer use. None of the three sources opened for this post gives a cutting width, a cord length, a cord gauge, a runtime, or DEWALT battery compatibility for these models.
Buying checklist
- Confirm whether the battery and charger are included. The NAYDERTL, Houselife and Lacoco listings say they are not.
- If you own a battery, match the platform named in the listing. The NAYDERTL and Lacoco listings name DEWALT models, and the Houselife listing names DEWALT 20V MAX XR.
- Compare the cutting width with the edges you trim most, since the Ohey width changes with the attachment.
- Check the weight you will carry. The DCA listing gives two figures, and the Ohey weight is not stated.
- For a corded trimmer, confirm the cord length before you buy. The BESTA510 listing states none.
- Read the warranty term. DCA and BESTA510 state 2 years, LCC222 states a 2 year limited warranty, Ohey states 3 years in a bullet, and Houselife states 1 year.
Mistakes to avoid
- Buying a tool-only model and assuming a battery comes with it. Check the box contents for NAYDERTL, Houselife and Lacoco, which leave both out.
- Reading DEWALT compatibility as a promise. The listings state it, and the sources opened for this post do not confirm it.
- Ignoring the cutting width. The 10-inch LCC222 kit cuts a narrower path than the 14-inch DCA, BESTA510 and Lacoco models, so the same lawn takes more passes.
- Skipping the cord check on a corded model. The BESTA510 listing does not state a cord length.
FAQ
Is there one best weed eater for the money in this list?
No single model is ranked first here. The scan has no prices, and this post does not rank the products. A better guide to fit is the battery you own, the cutting width you need and the items in the box.
Do I need to buy a battery for these trimmers?
Some do not come with one. The NAYDERTL, Houselife and Lacoco listings say the battery and charger are not included. The DCA and RAXONE listings include a battery and a charger. The Ohey listing includes two batteries but does not name a charger, and the LCC222 kit includes two batteries and a charger.
Will a DEWALT battery work with these trimmers?
The NAYDERTL and Lacoco listings say they are compatible with DEWALT batteries and list model numbers. The Houselife listing says it is designed for DEWALT 20V MAX XR batteries. These are listing claims, and the sources opened for this post do not cover them. Check the listed model numbers against the markings on your battery, and see the choosing a battery for a DEWALT leaf blower guide for battery choices on a related DEWALT tool.
What cutting width should I look for?
Most picks state widths between 10 and 14 inches. A wider path covers more ground per pass, and a narrower path needs more passes over the same area. The Ohey listing gives 11 inches in its table and a range from 6 to 12 inches by attachment in a bullet, so check the attachment you plan to use.
Is a corded trimmer a good choice for a small yard?
It can be, if an outlet is near the yard. The BLACK+DECKER BESTA510 is the only corded model in this post, with a 6.5-amp motor and a 14-inch cutting width. The listing does not state a cord length, so measure the distance before you buy and check the manual for cord rules.
How long will a battery trimmer run?
The figures below are manufacturer claims. DCA gives up to 60 minutes at low speed and 36 minutes at high speed. Ohey gives 90 to 120 minutes with its batteries used alternately, and RAXONE gives 60 to 90 minutes. Houselife’s table gives 30 minutes as average battery life, and the LCC222 listing gives no runtime. Real runtime depends on the grass, height and terrain you cut.
Bottom line
Start with the battery you already own. If a listing names your battery platform and you have no spare battery, buy the tool-only model that names it. If you own no battery, buy a set whose listing includes a battery and charger, or the corded BESTA510 when an outlet is near the yard.
Sources
- Ohio State University Extension: Handheld Trimmers and Brush Cutters (opened 2026-10-30)
- U.S. EPA: Used Lithium-Ion Batteries (opened 2026-10-30)
- U.S. EPA: Frequent Questions on Lithium-Ion Batteries (opened 2026-10-30)






