Best DEWALT 20V MAX Pruning Shears Garden

Best DEWALT 20V MAX Pruning Shears Garden

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

A search for best dewalt 20v max pruning shears garden points to one product: the DEWALT DCPR320B, a 20V MAX cordless pruner sold as a bare tool. The DEWALT page says the item does not include a battery or charger, and the battery and charger are sold separately. The listing describes non-stick coated blades, a blade-change tool and an on-board LED. This post covers what those sources state, where they disagree on weight and warranty, and when a hand pruner is the better choice for a garden job.

Quick answer

  • This is the DEWALT DCPR320B, a 20V MAX cordless pruner that ships as a bare tool. The battery and charger are not included.
  • The manufacturer page gives a 1-1/2-inch cut capacity for thick stems and shrubs, and it says the pruner weighs 3 lbs with the tool only.
  • Choose it if you already own a 20V MAX battery and want a powered pruner for stems and shrubs in the range the manufacturer states.
  • Skip it if most of your cuts are under 3/4 inch, the range Iowa State University gives for hand pruners, or if you need a settled weight and warranty term, since the sources disagree on both.

The product at a glance

The table lists what the listing record and the manufacturer page state. A cell says not stated where neither source says anything. The listing record was checked on 2026-10-23, and the manufacturer page was opened on 2026-10-28.

Item What the sources state
Brand DEWALT
Model DCPR320B
Power source Battery, 20V MAX cordless (manufacturer page and listing record)
Battery and charger Not included; “This item does not include a battery or charger.” (manufacturer page). The record title says Bare Tool Only.
Cut capacity 1-1/2 inches (manufacturer page); cutting width 1.5 inches (listing record)
Blade type Bypass (listing record)
Blade material High speed steel (listing record)
Blade coating Non-stick coated (listing bullet and manufacturer page)
Blade change Change tool included (listing bullet and manufacturer page)
Light On-board LED work light (listing bullet and manufacturer page); brightness not stated
Hand orientation Ambidextrous (listing record)
Cuts per charge Up to 1,100 (manufacturer page); the footnote ties the figure to a DCB203 battery sold separately cutting 10mm birch dowels
Weight 3 lbs, tool only (manufacturer page); 16 ounces (listing record). The two disagree.
Warranty 3 Year Limited Warranty, 1 Year Free Service, 90 Days Satisfaction Guaranteed (manufacturer page); 1 yr warranty on material and workmanship (listing record). The two disagree.
Blade edge not stated (the record field reads garbled)

View on Amazon

Who it suits

This pruner suits a gardener who already has a 20V MAX battery and wants a powered tool for stems and shrubs. The manufacturer page describes the 1-1/2-inch capacity as suited to thick stems and shrubs. It also says the on-board LED helps in dark work areas, although the sources give no brightness or light time.

The DEWALT page says “Compatible batteries and accessories can be found within the 20V MAX* system.” This post covers only packs from that system, and it does not claim that a pack from another brand fits.

Hand pruners are the simpler tool for smaller cuts. Iowa State University Extension says that “Hand pruners or pruning shears are generally used for cutting branches up to 3/4 inch in diameter.” The same page describes bypass pruners as having “curved blades that overlap (scissor action) when making the cut.” This record lists a bypass blade, so this pruner works on the scissor action rather than an anvil.

The same page warns that attempts to prune branches larger than 3/4 inch with hand pruners “often result in torn, jagged pruning cuts and may damage the pruning shears.” The manufacturer’s stated 1-1/2-inch capacity sits above that point. The sources do not show how the cut performs on any particular species, so the figure stays the manufacturer’s claim.

If the work is shrub shaping rather than stem cutting, our cordless hedge trimmer with extension pole guide covers a different job. For a DEWALT 20V tool that reaches higher, our DEWALT 20V MAX pole hedge trimmer guide covers that tool.

Hand-tool habits that carry over

The University of Maryland Extension page says “Tools must be sharp to give a good clean cut.” It adds that “Cut by moving the blade side of the pruner up and through or across the branch.” Those two rules are about the cut itself, so they apply to a powered pruner as well.

The University of Maryland Extension page also says that “By-pass pruners are superior to anvil pruners because they reduce the tearing or crushing of tissues.” That supports the bypass design this record lists. The sources do not compare this DEWALT pruner with any other bypass model, so the comparison stops at the design type.

Where it sits between hand pruners and loppers

Iowa State University Extension says that “The keys to pruning trees and shrubs are a basic understanding of pruning techniques and knowing when to prune plants.” It adds that “The best tool for the job is determined by the size of the plant material and the situation.” That is the question to ask before buying any pruner, powered or manual.

The same page places loppers in the middle range. It says that “Branches from 3/4 to 1-1/2 inches in diameter can be effectively cut with lopping shears.” The DEWALT capacity of 1-1/2 inches therefore reaches the top of the loppers range, and that overlap is the main thing a buyer should check. The page moves on to saws for larger wood, saying “Use a pruning saw on branches larger than 1-3/4 inches in diameter.”

In practice, this pruner covers cuts above the 3/4-inch hand-pruner range, up to the stated 1-1/2 inches. The sources do not say whether it can replace a long-handled pair of loppers, so this post does not make that claim.

Skip it if

  • You do not already own a 20V MAX battery and charger. The bare tool notice says the battery and charger are not included, and the manufacturer page says they are sold separately.
  • Most of your cuts are under 3/4 inch. Iowa State University Extension gives that size range for hand pruners generally, and a hand pruner covers it without a battery.
  • You need a settled weight. The manufacturer page says 3 lbs with the tool only, and the listing record says 16 ounces.
  • You need a settled warranty term. The manufacturer page lists a 3 Year Limited Warranty, while the listing record lists one year on material and workmanship.

What the listing does not say

Battery and charger. The title says Bare Tool Only. The manufacturer page says the item does not include a battery or charger, and the listing record’s included components field names one DEWALT 20V MAX Pruner DCPR320B and nothing else.

Weight. The manufacturer page says 3 lbs with the tool only. The listing record says 16 ounces, which is 1 pound. The two figures disagree, and this post shows both rather than choosing one.

Warranty. The manufacturer page lists a 3 Year Limited Warranty, 1 Year Free Service and 90 Days Satisfaction Guaranteed. The listing record lists a 1 yr warranty on material and workmanship. The two wordings do not match, and the post shows both.

Cuts per charge. The manufacturer’s figure of up to 1,100 cuts per charge comes with a footnote that ties it to a DCB203 battery sold separately, cutting 10mm birch dowels. The listing record gives no cut count. The sources do not say how a different battery or a different material changes the number.

Effort comparison. The manufacturer page says the pruner requires 16X less effort on average than a manual pruner. A footnote ties that comparison to a Fiskars tool cutting 19mm birch dowels, with a DCB203 battery. The comparison is limited to that tool and those conditions.

Blade edge. The listing record’s blade edge field reads garbled, with straight and convex both in one field. This post does not use that field.

Light. The LED is listed, but neither source gives brightness or how long it stays on.

Storage and care. The DEWALT page gives no storage or blade-care steps beyond the change tool, so this post gives none.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Buying the pruner and expecting a battery in the box. The bare tool notice says otherwise.
  • Reading the 1,100-cut figure as a result for your own cuts. The footnote names a battery and a material.
  • Choosing a powered pruner for branches under 3/4 inch, where the sources describe hand pruners as the usual tool.

How we chose

This post covers one product: ASIN B09YTM4F26, the DEWALT 20V MAX pruning shears garden tool, bare tool only, model DCPR320B. The keyword matches this model, and both the listing record and the manufacturer page describe it. Data dates: the listing record is from 2026-10-23, and the manufacturer page was opened on 2026-10-28.

The manufacturer page names the product 20V MAX 1-1/2-in Cordless Pruner (Tool Only) and lists the DCPR320B model, which matches the listing record. Both sources cover the same product.

The post does not rank this pruner against other pruners. It appears here because it matches the keyword and because the sources state enough figures to describe it, with the conflicts shown.

The hand-pruner sources were opened on 2026-10-22 and reused from earlier research on the same tool type. Their original opened dates are kept, and no retail page supplies a fact in this post. The university pages are general guidance on pruning, so this post uses them for background on branch size and cutting technique, and it uses the manufacturer page and the listing record for every figure about this pruner.

What we could not verify

The sources do not say how the pruner performs on specific shrubs, stems or woods. They give general hand-pruner guidance and the manufacturer’s own stated figures, and nothing more.

The weight and warranty conflicts remain open. The sources read cannot confirm which figure is correct, so this post shows both.

The 1,100-cut figure and the 16X effort figure both depend on conditions that appear only in footnotes. Those conditions are stated here, and the figures are not confirmed under other conditions.

The battery a buyer adds is outside what the sources state. Neither the listing nor the manufacturer text read gives runtime with a specific battery or a charge time. The sources also do not describe how the blade-change tool or blade replacement works in practice, so this post does not describe that step.

FAQ

Does the DEWALT DCPR320B include a battery and charger?

No. The manufacturer page says the item does not include a battery or charger, and the title says bare tool only.

How big a branch can it cut?

The manufacturer states a 1-1/2-inch cut capacity for thick stems and shrubs. Iowa State University Extension gives 3/4 inch as the general range for hand pruners, so the stated range of this powered pruner is larger.

Does it weigh 3 pounds or 1 pound?

The sources disagree. The manufacturer says 3 lbs with the tool only, and the listing record says 16 ounces. Check the figure with the seller before you decide.

How many cuts can one battery make?

The manufacturer says up to 1,100 cuts per charge, with a footnote that ties the figure to a DCB203 battery sold separately cutting 10mm birch dowels. The listing record gives no cut count, so this post does not estimate one.

How long is the warranty?

The manufacturer page lists a 3 Year Limited Warranty. The listing record lists one year on material and workmanship. The two do not match, so check the current terms on the manufacturer’s page before buying.

Does it have a light?

Yes. The listing and the manufacturer page both list an on-board LED work light. Neither gives its brightness or how long it stays on.

Bottom line

Buy this pruner only if you already own a 20V MAX battery and most of your work is stems and shrubs in the range the manufacturer states. For branches under 3/4 inch, a hand pruner covers the job without a battery.

Sources

  • 20V MAX* 1-1/2-in Cordless Pruner (Tool Only), DEWALT product page (opened 2026-10-28) https://www.dewalt.com/en-us/product/dcpr320b/dewalt-20v-max-1-12-cordless-pruner-tool-only
  • DEWALT 20V MAX Pruning Shears Garden Tool, Cordless, Bare Tool Only (DCPR320B), Amazon listing record (opened 2026-10-23) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B09YTM4F26
  • Guide to Pruning Equipment, Iowa State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://yardandgarden.extension.iastate.edu/how-to/guide-pruning-equipment
  • Pruning Tools, University of Maryland Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://extension.umd.edu/resource/pruning-tools

Similar Posts