Best Gardena Robotic Lawn Mower

Best Gardena Robotic Lawn Mower

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

The best gardena robotic lawn mower for your yard depends on three things: the lawn area the listing states, the slope limit, and what the box includes. This post covers the three Gardena robotic mowers in the scanned listing data: the SILENO minimo, the SILENO City and the SILENO flex. It suits owners who want a boundary-wire robot from one brand and who will check the model code on the box before buying. Where a listing or a Gardena page does not state a figure, the tables say not stated.

Quick answer

  • For a smaller lawn and the lightest listed weight: the SILENO minimo. Its listing says it covers lawns up to 2700 sq ft and weighs 13.2 pounds.
  • For a larger lawn: the SILENO City. Its listing says it covers lawns up to 5400 sq ft and slopes up to a 35 percent gradient.
  • For a 12-inch cutting width and a clear cutting height range: the SILENO flex. Its listing does not state lawn area, slope limit or battery.
  • Before you buy, confirm the slope limit for your model code on a Gardena page. The minimo US listing says 35 percent, while the Gardena pages we opened give 25 percent inside the mowing area for the minimo.

Stated figures side by side

The first table uses the US listing data for each model. Each figure is what the listing states. “Not stated” means the listing does not give that figure.

Model and listing code Lawn area Slope Cutting width Weight Battery in the box Wire and box contents Source
SILENO minimo, 15201-41 View on Amazon Up to 2700 sq ft Up to 35 percent gradient (19°) 6.2 inches 13.2 pounds One lithium ion battery, included Loop wire and stakes named; wire length not stated listing
SILENO City, 15002-41 View on Amazon Up to 5400 sq ft Up to 35 percent gradient (19°) 6.3 inches 14.5 kg One lithium ion battery, included Not itemized; listing says everything needed is in the box listing
SILENO flex, 15301-41 View on Amazon Not stated Not stated 12 inches 22 pounds Not stated Not stated listing

What the Gardena pages say about slope and passages

The Gardena pages we opened are not US product pages. They list model codes and limits that differ from the US minimo listing, so this table keeps each page’s figures separate. The UK page calls the slope figures “maximum slope performance” for the installation. The international FAQ gives limits for the mowing area.

Gardena page and model code Lawn area Slope inside the mowing area Slope at the boundary Narrow passage Source
SILENO minimo 250 m², UK page, 15201-28 250 m² 25 percent 10 percent Not stated Source 1
SILENO minimo, international FAQ, 15201-20 Maximum 250 m² +/- 20% Maximum 25% Not stated Minimum 60 cm, wire to wire Source 2
SILENO minimo, international FAQ, 15202-20 Maximum 500 m² +/- 20% Maximum 25% Not stated Minimum 60 cm, wire to wire Source 2
SILENO city, international FAQ, 15002-20 Maximum 500 m² +/- 20% Maximum 35% Not stated Minimum 60 cm, wire to wire Source 2
SILENO flex, 15301-41 Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated No page we opened covers this model

SILENO minimo (listing 15201-41)

The listing says the minimo is an automatic, battery-powered robotic lawn mower with Bluetooth app control. It states a lawn size of up to 2700 sq ft and a slope of up to a 35 percent gradient (19°). It gives a cutting width of 6.2 inches, a weight of 13.2 pounds and product dimensions of 20.4 by 13.38 by 8.66 inches.

The items-delivered line names the mower with its base, charging station, 3 m low-voltage cable, power supply unit, connectors, couplers, loop wire, stakes and operator’s manual. The listing also states one lithium ion battery, included. This model is not tool-only. The listing gives a two-year manufacturer warranty.

It is in this post because, of the three listings, the minimo states the smallest lawn area and the lowest weight. That matters if you will lift or carry the mower yourself. If you want other robot options for a small lawn, see the robot lawn mowers for a small lawn post.

The figures disagree on slope. The US listing says 35 percent. The UK Gardena page for a 250 m² minimo, article 15201-28, says 25 percent inside the mowing area and 10 percent at the boundary, and the international FAQ says 25 percent for model 15201-20. The sources we opened do not say which figure applies to 15201-41, so this post shows all of them and does not pick one.

The listing does not give a usable maximum cutting height. Its cutting-height fields conflict with each other, so this post leaves them out. It also does not state a runtime.

View on Amazon

SILENO City (listing 15002-41)

The listing says the SILENO City covers lawns up to 5400 sq ft and works on slopes up to a 35 percent gradient (19°). It states a cutting width of 6.3 inches, a weight of 14.5 kg and dimensions of 21.6 by 14.9 by 9.05 inches. Its listing gives an average battery life of 1 hour. That is a figure the listing states, not a measured result, and real runtime changes with grass, cutting height and terrain.

The listing states one lithium ion battery, included, so the City is not tool-only. It also says everything you need for setup is provided in the box, but it does not itemize the wire length, the stakes or the charger. Check the box contents before you buy.

It is in this post because it has the largest lawn area stated by any of the three listings. That is the first figure to check for a larger yard. If you are also comparing other brands, the Worx Landroid M 20V robotic lawn mower post covers that model.

The Gardena international FAQ lists a SILENO city under code 15002-20 for lawns up to 500 m², with a maximum inclination of 35 percent and a minimum narrow passage of 60 cm from wire to wire. The listing uses code 15002-41. The sources we opened do not confirm that the two codes are the same model.

The FAQ’s worked example for a SILENO city adds 35 cm from each house wall to the boundary cable and 60 cm between the wires, for a minimum passage of 130 cm between the walls. That is a layout example from the FAQ, not an installation step.

View on Amazon

SILENO flex (listing 15301-41)

The SILENO flex listing states a 12-inch cutting width, the widest of the three, and a weight of 22 pounds. Its dimensions are 18 by 15 by 12 inches, and the listing gives aluminum and plastic as the materials. It states a cutting height range of 2.5 to 4 inches with four positions. The listing’s bullets describe boundary wire as the way to define the mowing area.

The listing does not state whether a battery or a charger is included, so the flex may be tool-only or may come with them. The listing does not give a boundary wire length. Confirm the box contents before you buy.

It is in this post because it is the only one of the three whose listing gives a clear minimum and maximum cutting height in inches, and it has the widest stated cutting width. That suits a reader who wants a wider cut and a height choice. Before you pick a robot for any model, read the pros and cons of robotic lawn mowers guide, then confirm the lawn area and slope from another source, since the flex listing and the Gardena pages we opened do not state them.

View on Amazon

Safety rules for blades and batteries

These rules apply to all three models. Each rule carries a quote or is marked as a precaution. Where the sources do not cover a step for robotic mowers, the operating instructions for your model decide the detail.

  • Blade contact is one of the main causes of mowing accidents. Penn State Extension says “The majority of mowing accidents are the result of contact with a rotating mower blade, propelled objects, riding mower overturns, running over an individual, or burns.” That page is written for riding mowers, so read it as general mower guidance.
  • Stop the blades before any task other than mowing. The same page says “Disengage the blades and/or stop the engine.” It also says “If you leave for any reason, turn off the mower.”
  • The lift sensor stops the blades. The UK Gardena page for the 250 m² minimo says “When the tool is lifted, another set of sensors make the blades stop immediately, thus preventing injuries.” That is a manufacturer claim for that model, not a step you perform, so it does not replace the steps above.
  • Disconnect or remove the battery before blade work. This is a precaution, not a sourced instruction. The sources we opened do not state this step for these three models, so follow the operating instructions for your model before you touch the blade.
  • Treat a swollen battery as damaged. The US EPA says “Swelling is a sign of damage and defects in lithium batteries and can precede battery fires.” Keep any damaged battery away from other batteries, because the EPA says “Store damaged and defective batteries individually bagged in non-flammable materials.”
  • Store a damaged lithium battery in a non-flammable container. The EPA says “Store damaged and defective lithium batteries in non-flammable materials, such as buckets filled with sand, cat litter or vermiculite, or a mineral-based fire suppressant material”. The EPA states “Damaged or defective batteries are fire hazards and must be disposed of properly.”
  • Charge and store the battery as the operating instructions say. The sources we opened give no charging step for these models. The Gardena international FAQ points to the operation manual for model-specific details, and says “In the operation manual you can find exact model specific information regarding distances, dependent on the type of obstacle.” That quote covers obstacle distances, so the manual is the reference for charging as well.

How we chose

The criteria were simple. Each model had to be a Gardena robotic lawn mower with its own ASIN and listing in the scanned data, and its listing had to state at least one of these: lawn area, slope or box contents. The scan returned three products, all from Gardena, and all three are robotic lawn mowers with different ASINs and titles. None were left out, and no products from other brands were added. This post does not rank the three models. It sets out what each listing and each Gardena page states.

The listing data was read on 2026-10-30, the scan date in the data. The Gardena, EPA and Penn State pages were opened on 2026-10-30. The US Gardena site returned HTTP 403 when fetched, so no US product page is among the sources.

What we could not verify

  • The minimo slope limit. The US listing says 35 percent. The UK page for article 15201-28 says 25 percent inside the mowing area and 10 percent at the boundary, and the international FAQ says 25 percent for 15201-20. The sources we opened do not say which figure applies to 15201-41.
  • Whether the US listing codes match the Gardena page codes. The listing codes are 15201-41, 15002-41 and 15301-41. The pages we opened use 15201-28, 15201-20, 15202-20 and 15002-20.
  • Battery runtime. The City listing gives an average battery life of 1 hour. The UK page for the 250 m² minimo gives a typical mow time of 70 min on one charge. Both are figures the sources state, and real runtime changes with grass, cutting height and terrain.
  • Noise. The minimo and City listings give a noise figure with no stated conditions, so this post does not repeat it.
  • Cutting height on the minimo and the City. Their listing fields conflict. The minimo maximum field reads 20.4 inches, the same as its depth. The City maximum field reads 1 meter.
  • Wire length in the US boxes. The minimo names loop wire and stakes but gives no length, and the City does not itemize its wire.

What the sources do not say

  • The US EPA tip sheet covers damaged and end-of-life batteries. It does not give a routine charging step or a blade-service procedure for a robotic mower.
  • The Penn State Extension page covers riding mowers. Its blade and engine rules are the closest match among the pages we opened, but it does not cover boundary wire or robotic mowers.
  • The sources we opened do not give a battery-disconnect step for these models, a robotic blade-service procedure, or any boundary wire installation step beyond the manual.
  • No source we opened covers the SILENO flex (15301-41). Its lawn area, slope limit, wire length and battery are not stated in any source in this post.

Buying checklist

  • Measure the lawn area, then compare it with the area the listing states for the same model.
  • Find the steepest slope in the yard. For the minimo, check both the 25 percent and 35 percent figures before you decide.
  • Check the box for a battery and a charger. The flex listing does not state either.
  • Plan passages at least 60 cm wide between boundary wires, as the Gardena FAQ states, and check the manual for distances to each obstacle type.
  • Match the model code printed on the box to the code in this post.

FAQ

Which Gardena robotic lawn mower has the largest stated lawn area?

The SILENO City listing states lawns up to 5400 sq ft. The minimo listing states up to 2700 sq ft, and the flex listing does not state an area.

Do Gardena robotic lawn mowers need a boundary wire?

The minimo and City listings both describe a boundary wire. The UK minimo page lists the boundary type as a physical wire, and the Gardena FAQ describes passages measured wire to wire. The flex listing describes boundary wire as the way to define the mowing area.

What slope can the SILENO minimo handle?

The US minimo listing says slopes of up to a 35 percent gradient. The UK page for a 250 m² minimo with article 15201-28 says 25 percent inside the mowing area and 10 percent at the boundary. The two figures disagree, and the sources do not say which applies to 15201-41, so check the operating instructions before you buy.

Is a battery included with each Gardena robotic lawn mower?

The minimo and City listings each state one lithium ion battery, included. The flex listing does not state whether a battery is included, so confirm it before you buy.

How wide does a passage need to be for a robotic mower?

The Gardena FAQ gives a minimum narrow passage of 60 cm from wire to wire. Its worked example for a SILENO city adds 35 cm from each house wall to the boundary cable, for a minimum of 130 cm between the walls.

What should you do if a robotic mower battery shows swelling?

Treat the battery as damaged. The US EPA says that swelling is a sign of damage in lithium batteries and can precede battery fires, and that damaged batteries are fire hazards that must be disposed of properly.

Bottom line

Use one decision rule: buy the model whose stated lawn area and slope limit cover your yard, confirmed on a Gardena page for the same model code, and skip any model whose listing leaves those figures out. For a smaller yard, start with the minimo. For a larger yard, check the City. Treat the flex as an option only after you confirm its area, slope, wire and battery from another source.

Sources

Similar Posts