Best Greenworks 24V 15 in Cordless String
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
If you searched for best greenworks 24v 15 in cordless string, the product in this listing is a Greenworks 24V 15-inch cordless string trimmer, model ST1512, sold as a bare tool. The listing says the battery and charger are not included. It also says the trimmer is compatible with Greenworks 24V batteries and chargers, so those are what you need to own or buy. This page covers what the listing says, what it leaves unstated, and who the trimmer suits for larger lawn areas.
Quick answer
- The listing describes a 15-inch cutting width, a brushless motor and a 0.080-inch dual twisted line, with a bump feed head.
- It is a bare tool. The listing says the battery and charger are not included, and that the trimmer works with Greenworks 24V batteries and chargers.
- The listing says the quick-load function reloads the line in under 60 seconds. It gives no battery capacity and no runtime.
- Buy it if you already own Greenworks 24V batteries and chargers and need a 15-inch trimmer for larger lawn areas. Skip it if you need a battery in the box or a runtime figure.
The product at a glance
The table lists what the listing states. Where the listing is silent, the cell says not stated. The battery and charger are not included in this bare tool.
| Item | What the listing says |
|---|---|
| Brand | Greenworks |
| Model | ST1512 |
| Product type | String trimmer |
| Voltage | 24V (from the listing title) |
| Power source | Battery powered |
| Battery and charger | Not included (bare tool); compatible with Greenworks 24V batteries and chargers |
| Battery capacity | Not stated |
| Runtime | Not stated |
| Cutting width | 15 inches |
| Line | 0.080-inch dual twisted line |
| Feed | Bump feed; quick-load reloading in under 60 seconds |
| Motor | Brushless (listing bullet) |
| Speed control | Variable speed trigger |
| Weight | Not stated (the listing calls the trimmer lightweight) |
| Dimensions | 59.06 inches long, 10.83 inches wide |
| Recommended use | Trimming |
| Color | Green |
| Warranty | 3-year warranty for the tool and battery (listing) |
What the listed features do
The listing describes three working features. The listing describes a bump feed system that allows continuous line feeding, and a quick-load function for reloading the 0.080-inch line. The variable speed trigger lets you adjust cutting speed while you move around plants and shrubs. The brushless motor is described as powerful, and the trimmer as lightweight to reduce fatigue during longer use.
The listing ties the 15-inch cutting path to trimming across larger areas. The listing does not give a coverage figure in square feet or a comparison with a 12-inch or 13-inch head.
Who it suits
This trimmer suits a homeowner who already runs Greenworks 24V batteries and wants a 15-inch cutting path for larger lawn areas. The listing ties the 15-inch path to trimming across larger areas and describes the trimmer for large lawn and yard trimming. It also suits someone who works around plants and shrubs, because the variable speed trigger lets you control cutting speed as you move.
It is a sensible match for a user who wants a light tool for longer sessions. The listing says the trimmer is designed to be lightweight and to reduce user fatigue during extended use, though it gives no weight figure. If you want to compare Greenworks with another brand of cordless trimmer, the Greenworks vs EGO Power+ string trimmer comparison covers the two side by side.
The Virginia Tech guide frames the trimmer’s job as grass and similar weeds, which matches the listing’s trimming use. A user whose work is mainly brush or woody growth is outside that frame.
Skip it if
Skip it if you need a battery in the box. The listing says this is a bare tool, and the battery and charger are not included. Add a 24V battery and charger to your plan, or look at a kit listing.
Skip it if you need a runtime figure to plan a job. The listing gives no battery capacity and no run time, so you cannot estimate how far one charge will take you on your lawn.
Skip it if you need to cut brush or thick stems. The listing names trimming as its recommended use and does not mention brush-cutting blades. Ohio State notes that some trimmers take brush-cutting blades as attachments, but this listing does not describe any.
Skip it if most of your work is above waist height. The Virginia Tech guide is clear that the string head should stay below waist level.
Safe use before you start
Ohio State University Extension advises that you always read and follow the manufacturer’s operator’s manual before using a trimmer and any attachment. It adds that many units look similar but can have safety and operation features unique to each brand or manufacturer. Read the manual that comes with this trimmer first.
The same publication warns that contact from rotating cutters and flying debris can cause serious injury, including cuts and lacerations. It advises a firm grip on the handles and slow work to reduce kickout and the risk of hitting hidden objects. It also recommends sturdy leather work boots or hard-soled shoes to protect the ankles and feet from the rotating cutter head and flying debris.
Virginia Tech’s BSE-50 publication says string trimmers are known to throw stones, sticks and other objects at high speeds. It recommends watching for exposed electrical wires, communication lines and extension cords, and it says to use a string trimmer only for grass and similar weeds.
The same guide warns that automatic-feed and bump-feed trimmers may release more string than needed, and that this increases the chances of striking the operator. It advises checking the string length periodically, avoiding over-reaching, and keeping the string head below waist level.
Working technique and footing
Virginia Tech’s guide says to maintain balance and firm footing, and to secure long hair above the shoulder while you operate a string trimmer. Ohio State’s advice on grip applies here too: a firm grip on the handles and slow work reduce kickout and the risk of hitting hidden objects.
The same Virginia Tech section says to make sure there are no bystanders, children or pets within a 50-foot radius before you start. The listing’s variable speed trigger is the only speed control it describes, and the guide’s height rule still applies at any speed.
Care and maintenance
Ohio State advises keeping the equipment and all attachments in good repair. It points to the maintenance schedule in the owner’s manual as the best source of information on servicing the unit.
The publication also says to inspect, adjust or replace all deflector guards and safety features. Virginia Tech adds that you should not remove protective guards and string guides.
What the listing does not say
The battery and charger are not included. The listing says it is a bare tool and that it works with Greenworks 24V batteries and chargers. Any battery or charger you use must be bought or already owned.
The listing gives no battery capacity, no run time and no weight. It names a 15-inch cutting width but gives no maximum grass or brush size.
The listing gives a 3-year warranty for the tool and battery, but it does not give the warranty terms or what the warranty covers beyond that statement.
Virginia Tech’s BSE-50 publication notes that battery life between charges can limit battery-powered trimmers, and that lithium-ion batteries are recommended for longer run time. The listing does not say which battery chemistry it uses. It also does not say how much line the head holds. For a related guide to line on another cordless model, the Ryobi One Plus weed eater string guide covers reloading line on a different tool.
The listing does not say how the head attaches to the shaft, whether the shaft is straight or splits, or what the head’s line capacity is. Its 59.06-inch length is the only length figure it gives.
Before you buy: a short checklist
- Confirm you own Greenworks 24V batteries and chargers, or add them to the total cost.
- Match the line to the listing’s 0.080-inch dual twisted line before you buy spare line.
- Ask the seller for the battery capacity and runtime, since the listing gives neither.
- Ask for the warranty terms, since the listing gives the length but not the terms.
- Check the guards and safety features in the manual before the first use.
- Check that you can keep the head below waist level for the whole job, as the Virginia Tech guide advises.
How we chose
This post covers one product: the Greenworks 24V 15-inch cordless string trimmer, ASIN B0GKFV4Q9F, model ST1512. The keyword names a 24V, 15-inch, cordless string trimmer, and this listing matches it. We picked it because it is a single Greenworks 24V tool with a stated cutting width and a clear bare-tool status. We did not rank it against other trimmers, and this post does not say it is the best choice for any lawn. Bare-tool status was the first thing we checked, because it changes what the buyer has to add.
The listing details come from a saved copy of the Amazon page, read on 2026-10-23. The Ohio State and Virginia Tech publications were opened on 2026-10-22. Every sourced fact here is tied to a quote from the saved listing or an opened page, and where a source is general, the post says so.
What we could not verify
We did not find a Greenworks page for model ST1512 that we could open, so the battery compatibility, the warranty statement and the feature list come from the listing alone. We could not read the warranty terms themselves.
We could not confirm the battery capacity, the run time, the weight or the shaft design. The listing does not give them.
The Ohio State and Virginia Tech publications cover handheld trimmers in general. They do not describe this model’s guard, head or line feed design.
FAQ
Does the Greenworks 24V 15 inch string trimmer come with a battery?
No. The listing describes a bare tool. It says the trimmer is compatible with Greenworks 24V batteries and chargers, so you need to own or buy those.
How long does the battery last on one charge?
The listing does not give a runtime or battery capacity, so there is no figure to plan around. Virginia Tech’s BSE-50 publication says battery life between charges limits battery-powered trimmers and recommends lithium-ion batteries for longer run time.
Is a 15-inch cutting width enough for a large lawn?
The listing gives a 15-inch cutting width and describes the trimmer for large lawn and yard trimming. It does not give an area coverage figure, so the answer depends on how much edge and grass you need to cover.
What does the warranty cover?
The listing says the warranty is 3 years for both the tool and the battery. It does not give the terms, so the statement is the only warranty detail we could check.
How do I reload the line?
The listing says the quick-load function lets you reload the 0.080-inch dual twisted line in under 60 seconds. It gives no step-by-step instructions, so follow the maker’s guidance for the head.
Can it trim brush or thick growth?
The only use the listing names is trimming, and it says nothing about brush-cutting blades. Ohio State notes that some trimmers take brush-cutting blades as attachments, so check before you use it on thick growth.
Bottom line
Buy this trimmer if you already own Greenworks 24V batteries and chargers and need a 15-inch cordless string trimmer for larger lawn areas. Decision rule: if you need a battery and charger in the box, skip it.
Sources
- Greenworks 24V 15 in Cordless String Trimmer, Tool Only, Amazon listing (opened 2026-10-23) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0GKFV4Q9F
- Handheld Trimmers and Brush Cutters, Ohioline Ohio State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://ohioline.osu.edu/factsheet/aex-79037
- Virginia Tech Extension publication BSE-50 on powered lawn and garden tools (opened 2026-10-22) https://pubs.ext.vt.edu/BSE/BSE-50/BSE-50.html






