Best Greenworks 40V 8-Inch Cordless Polesaw

Best Greenworks 40V 8-Inch Cordless Polesaw

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

If you are looking for the best Greenworks 40V 8 inch cordless polesaw for light pruning, the short answer is that it suits people who want a battery saw on a pole for branches they can reach from the ground. The saved listing describes a 40V saw with an 8-inch bar and chain, an automatic oiler, and a three-piece aluminum shaft. The 2.0Ah kit includes the battery and charger. This page sticks to what the listing says and to three university and federal pages on yard tools and tree trimming. It flags where the listing is silent and where it leaves the oil question open.

Quick answer

  • It is an 8-inch battery polesaw on the Greenworks 40V platform. The 2.0Ah style includes a 2.0Ah battery, a charger and the operator’s manual.
  • The listing says the shaft “extends up to 9ft (11ft max reach)”. Plan branch work inside that 11-foot figure.
  • The listing describes an automatic oiler and also says “no gas, oil, or emissions”. It does not name the oil the oiler uses, so check that before first use.
  • The saved text gives no warranty, cut count, maximum branch diameter or model number.

The product at a glance

The table uses what the saved listing text states. Where the text is silent, the cell says “not stated”. The listing was read on 2026-10-23.

Feature What the listing states
Brand Greenworks (manufacturer listed as Greenworks)
Type Electric pole saw, 8-inch bar and chain
Power source Battery powered
Style shown Polesaw (2.0Ah), with battery and charger
Other style listed Brushless Combo Kit (2.5Ah); not covered in this post
Bar and chain 8-inch bar and chain; chain length 8 inches
Shaft Three-piece aluminum; extends up to 9 ft, 11 ft max reach
Oiling Automatic oiler; oil type not stated
Chain adjustment Quick tightening (the listing says “Easy Adjust”)
Horsepower Listed as 1
Item weight 7.8 pounds
Dimensions 106 in L x 6 in W x 4 in H
Included items 40V 8-inch polesaw, 2.0Ah battery, charger, operator’s manual
Replacement chain Greenworks Replacement Chain (2905402), named in the product description
Recommended gear Helmet (GWSH0), protective chaps (GWCC0), protective gloves (GWCG0), per the product description
Warranty Not stated in the saved text
Cut count or runtime Not stated
Model number Not stated in the saved text

Reading the reach figure

The listing gives two numbers for reach. The shaft extends up to 9 feet, and the maximum reach is 11 feet. The gap is two feet. The saved text does not say how the 11-foot figure is measured, so treat it as the listing’s own number rather than a field result. For work at the top of that range, you will be cutting with the saw held at full extension, which is where the safety guidance later in this post matters most.

The battery and charger

The 2.0Ah style lists a battery and a charger as part of the kit, and the bullets say the kit includes them. The saved text does not give the battery’s runtime, cut count or charge time. The style options also show a Brushless Combo Kit with a 2.5Ah battery. The saved text gives no contents for that style beyond its name, so this post does not describe it.

The oil question

The listing has two statements that do not sit easily together. One bullet reads “Maintenance-Free Operation: Enjoy a hassle-free experience with no gas, oil, or emissions.” Another describes an “Automatic Oiler: Prolong the life of your chain with an oiler that ensures durability and continuous lubrication.” An automatic oiler moves a chain lubricant, and the listing does not name it. Before the first cut, check the manual or the label on the saw for the oil type and the fill level.

Current listing details are on the product page: View on Amazon

Who it suits

This saw fits some owners better than others, based on the listing and the safety pages.

  • Owners who trim small branches and limbs from the ground. The 9-foot extended shaft and 11-foot maximum reach cover that kind of work as the listing describes it.
  • Buyers who want the battery and charger in the box. The 2.0Ah style lists both as included.
  • Users who would rather not tighten the chain by hand every session. The listing describes a quick tightening feature, and the 2.0Ah style also lists an automatic oiler.
  • Owners who want one saw for the jobs named in the listing title: pruning, trimming branches, reaching hard-to-reach areas, and storm cleanup.
  • People who already own Greenworks 40V tools. The product description refers to the “extensive Greenworks 40V platform”, but the saved text does not list which other tools share this battery, so confirm that before you assume it.

Protective gear before you cut

The listing recommends a helmet, chaps and gloves in its product description. The university pages add eye protection. The OSU teen safety page says “Figure 1a. Impact-resistant safety glasses provide eye protection from flying debris.” The Illinois page adds that “Face shields provide basic protection and are not a substitute for safety glasses.” It also explains why covering the body matters: “Proper clothing : Gloves, boots, long sleeves, and pants protect your body as mowers fling rocks and sticks.” The OSHA page adds a hard hat for overhead work: “Hard hat for overhead impact or electrical hazards.” Both pages were written for lawn tools rather than pole saws, so read the advice as general. Wear glasses under any face shield, and wear gloves and work boots.

The OSU teen page also says “It is recommended to wear steel-toe boots while operating a lawn mower or string trimmer.” That is a statement about mowers and trimmers rather than pole saws, so treat it as general guidance for the same kind of yard work.

Power lines and overhead cuts

The OSHA tree trimming page is the most direct guidance in this set on overhead work. It says “Do not cut directly overhead.” It also says “Unless deenergized and visibly grounded, maintain proper distance from overhead electrical power lines (at least 10 feet) and/or provide insulating barriers.” Before you raise the saw, check where any lines run relative to the branch, because the reach figure does not show that.

Skip it if

  • You need reach past the 11-foot maximum. The listing gives no figure beyond that.
  • You want the Brushless Combo Kit (2.5Ah) style. This post covers the 2.0Ah style only.
  • You need to cut large limbs or heavy wood. The listing gives an 8-inch bar and no maximum branch diameter.
  • You need a warranty or model number before buying. The saved text gives neither.
  • You want a clear answer on bar oil. The listing names an automatic oiler and also says “no … oil”, so the oil type is unresolved.

What the listing does not say

The saved text leaves several points open. These are the questions to settle before you order.

  • Warranty: not stated in the saved text.
  • Cut count or runtime: not stated. The product description names no run time for the battery.
  • Model number: not stated, though the replacement chain number 2905402 appears in the description.
  • Weight basis: the 7.8 pounds is listed, but the text does not say whether the battery is counted.
  • Chain brake and hand guard: the saved text does not describe either.
  • Oil type: the listing names an automatic oiler but not the lubricant.
  • Other tools sharing the battery: named only as “the extensive Greenworks 40V platform”.
  • Storm cleanup capacity: the title names storm cleanup, but the bullets give no cutting capacity for storm debris.

Before you buy

  1. Measure the tallest branch you need to reach, and compare it with the 11-foot maximum.
  2. Confirm the oil type and fill level from the manual or saw label.
  3. Ask Greenworks for the warranty terms and the model number printed on the saw.
  4. Check which other Greenworks 40V tools use the same battery, if you plan to buy more.
  5. Decide whether a spare battery is worth having. The listing does not say how many cuts one battery gives, so you cannot estimate how many spares a job needs.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Reading the 11-foot figure as a cutting height. The listing gives it as maximum reach, and the saved text does not explain how it is measured.
  • Working with people or pets close by. The Illinois page says that for string trimmers, “passersby like people or pets are at an increased risk of being hit by launched debris”, That page is about string trimmers, not pole saws, so read it as a general warning about bystanders.
  • Assuming the “no oil” bullet means no lubricant is needed.
  • The same listing describes an automatic oiler.

  • Cutting overhead to save a ladder move. The OSHA tree trimming page says “Do not cut directly overhead”.
  • Working near power lines with a pole tool. The OSHA page advises at least 10 feet of distance, unless the lines are deenergized and visibly grounded.

How we chose

This post covers one product: ASIN B07M9YC1CZ, the Greenworks 40V 8 inch electric pole saw. It was assigned to this batch of single-product reviews and was not in our stored product file, so the listing was read once in Claude in Chrome on 2026-10-23 and saved as the listing record for this post. We kept to the facts that record states, and we did not use prices, star ratings, review counts or badges. We searched for a Greenworks product page for this model. The page we found could not be opened, so the post uses no manufacturer page. For safety guidance we chose two university pages on powered yard tools, which cover eye protection and personal protective equipment, and one OSHA page on tree trimming, which covers overhead cutting and power line distance. We did not compare this saw with other pole saws, so the post does not rank it.

What we could not verify

  • The manufacturer’s own product page for this model could not be opened during this review, so the manufacturer’s specifications are not checked here.
  • Whether the 11-foot maximum reach matches what you get on a branch.
  • The oil type the automatic oiler uses, and the fill interval.
  • Warranty terms, cut count, runtime and maximum branch diameter.
  • Whether the saw has a chain brake or hand guard.
  • Which other Greenworks 40V tools take the same battery.

FAQ

Does the Greenworks 40V 8 inch polesaw come with a battery and charger?

The 2.0Ah style lists a 40V 8-inch polesaw, a 2.0Ah battery, a charger and an operator’s manual as included. The Brushless Combo Kit (2.5Ah) is a separate style and is not covered here.

How far can the polesaw reach?

The listing says the three-piece shaft extends up to 9 feet, with an 11-foot maximum reach. The saved text does not explain how the 11-foot figure is measured.

Does it need bar oil?

The listing describes an automatic oiler and also says “no gas, oil, or emissions.” It does not name the lubricant, so check the manual or saw label for the oil type before your first use.

What safety gear should I wear?

The listing recommends a helmet, protective chaps and protective gloves. The OSU teen safety page adds impact-resistant safety glasses, and the Illinois page says face shields are not a substitute for safety glasses.

Can I cut overhead with a pole saw?

The OSHA tree trimming page says “Do not cut directly overhead.” It also advises at least 10 feet of distance from overhead electrical power lines, unless they are deenergized and visibly grounded.

What warranty comes with this saw?

The saved listing text does not state a warranty. Ask Greenworks for the current terms before you buy, and keep the model number from the saw label with your records.

Bottom line

If the branches you trim sit within the listed 11-foot maximum reach, buy the 2.0Ah kit only after you have confirmed the oil type and the warranty with Greenworks.

For a comparison with another battery pole saw, see our Seesii vs Autubin pole saws comparison, and for Greenworks string trimmers, our Greenworks vs EGO Power+ string trimmers comparison.

Sources

  • Amazon listing for the Greenworks 40V 8 in Electric Pole Saw, 2.0 Ah Battery and Charger, read in Claude in Chrome (checked 2026-10-23) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07M9YC1CZ
  • Maintaining Lawn Equipment, Illinois Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://extension.illinois.edu/lawns/maintaining-lawn-equipment
  • Lawn Care Safety and Basic Maintenance Tips for Teens, Oklahoma State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://extension.okstate.edu/fact-sheets/lawn-care-safety-and-basic-maintenance-tips-for-teens
  • Tree Trimming, Occupational Safety and Health Administration (opened 2026-10-22) https://www.osha.gov/etools/hurricane/activity-sheets/waste-debris-removal/tree-trimming

Similar Posts