Best WEN 41130 Electric Wood Chipper and Shredder

Best WEN 41130 Electric Wood Chipper and Shredder

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

If you are looking for the best wen 41130 electric wood chipper and shredder, this page covers one model: the WEN 41130 electric wood chipper and shredder with a 15-amp motor, ASIN B0DG6QJ56L. The listing says the unit shreds sticks and branches up to 1.75 inches in diameter and includes a 13-gallon collection bin and a two-year warranty. It does not state the voltage, the cord length or the hopper size. The listing data here is a saved record dated 2026-10-23, and the sections below explain what that means for a yard with branches to clear.

Quick answer

  • The listing describes a 15-amp electric chipper and shredder for sticks and branches up to 1.75 inches in diameter.
  • It includes two 7-inch cutting blades, two 7-inch wheels, a push stick and a 13-gallon collection bin, and it states a two-year warranty.
  • The listing says a safety mechanism prevents startup while the hopper is open.
  • The listing does not state the voltage, the cord length or the hopper size. Ohio State University Extension advises keeping bystanders at least 50 feet away and wearing eye protection.

The product at a glance

The table lists only what the saved listing record states. Where the listing is silent, the cell says “not stated”. Capacity, the safety features and the power setup matter most for this machine. In this table, the 1.75-inch figure is the diameter of the largest stick or branch the listing says the unit shreds.

Item What the listing says
Brand WEN (Manufacturer field)
Model number 41130
Item type Electric Wood Chipper and Shredder
Motor 15-amp motor
Capacity sticks and branches up to 1.75 inches in diameter
Cutting rate up to 8000 cuts per minute
Cutting blades two 7-inch cutting blades
Wheels two 7-inch wheels
Push stick included, with onboard storage
Collection bin 13-gallon rigid polypropylene
Enclosure enclosed housing and collection bin
Safety mechanism prevents startup when the hopper is still open
Item weight 28.8 pounds
Dimensions (as labeled) 22.1 x 17.5 x 36.8 inches
Department Lawn and Garden
Voltage not stated
Cord length not stated
Hopper size not stated
Warranty two-year warranty (terms not stated)

View on Amazon

Who it suits

It suits a yard owner who clears sticks and branches up to 1.75 inches across and wants the output collected in a bin. The listing says the unit turns “excess lawn clippings, twigs and foliage” into mulch. That mulch claim is the listing’s own statement, and this post does not verify it.

It suits a person who can keep bystanders well back. Ohio State University Extension says to keep bystanders away from the equipment and to allow at least 50 feet of safe distance when objects may be thrown. A yard that cannot offer that distance from the working area is a poor match, whatever the machine’s size.

It suits a person who wants to move the machine around the yard. The listing names two 7-inch wheels and describes the enclosed housing and collection bin as making transportation easier. The listing gives a weight of 28.8 pounds, which is about 13 kilograms, so plan the lift before you load it into a vehicle. The 13-gallon bin is about 49 liters.

The gear list is part of the job. Ohio State recommends safety glasses with side shields or goggles, leather gloves, sturdy leather work boots or hard-soled shoes, and pants with a snug-fitting, long-sleeved shirt. A person who will not wear that gear should skip this machine, whatever its capacity.

The Ohio State factsheet says the most common types of chippers used by farmers and gardeners are smaller portable units and tractor-mounted, PTO-driven units, and that selection should be based on the work to be performed. The listing describes this WEN unit as having wheels and an enclosed housing, which suggests a portable design, but the listing does not use the word portable. Match the unit to your branch sizes and volume rather than to the category alone.

Skip it if

  • Your branches are larger than 1.75 inches. The listing sets that diameter as the limit for sticks and branches.
  • You need the voltage or the cord length before you buy. The listing is silent on both.
  • You expect to process a large pile of material without a stated hopper size or throughput. The listing gives a cutting rate, not a shredding rate, and no hopper size.
  • You cannot keep bystanders at least 50 feet away while the machine runs. Ohio State University Extension gives that distance as the minimum to allow.
  • You need a warranty with clear terms. The listing states a two-year warranty but not its terms.

What the listing does not say

The listing describes the machine’s capacity and safety feature clearly. It leaves out the points that decide whether it fits a particular yard.

  • Voltage and cord. The listing says “Electric” and “15-amp motor”. It does not state the voltage, the plug type or the cord length.
  • Hopper and feed opening. No hopper size or feed opening size is stated beyond the 1.75-inch diameter.
  • Feeding method. The listing includes a push stick with onboard storage. It does not say whether the unit draws material in on its own. Ohio State’s warning about self-feeding chippers applies only to that type, and this listing does not say which type this is.
  • Throughput. “Up to 8000 cuts per minute” describes the cutting action, not how much material the unit processes in an hour.
  • Bin emptying. The listing gives a 13-gallon bin but does not say how it is emptied or whether it has a lid.
  • Blade replacement. The listing names two 7-inch cutting blades and does not give replacement or sharpening information.
  • Full bin. The listing gives the bin’s capacity but not the weight of a full bin, so plan how you will empty it.
  • Warranty terms. The listing gives the length of the warranty, a two-year warranty, but not its terms.
  • Other interlocks. The listing describes one safety mechanism, which prevents startup while the hopper is open. It does not describe any other protective feature.

If the branches you clear are still too big or too long to feed in, the pole saw comparison for EGO Power and Avada covers cutting tools for reaching and trimming branches. For leaves and light clippings, the Black and Decker cordless leaf blower and vacuum post covers a different yard task.

Buying checklist

  • Ask the seller for the voltage and the cord length. The listing states neither, and both decide where the chipper can run.
  • Measure the largest branch you plan to feed. The listing’s limit is 1.75 inches in diameter, about 4.4 centimeters, and a branch over that size is outside the stated capacity.
  • Check the 13-gallon bin against the amount of material you expect. The listing gives no hopper size, so there is no stated figure for how much goes in at once.
  • Check the hood latch before each run. Ohio State warns that an unlatched, improperly secured, or damaged hood can be thrown from the chipper.
  • Set a bystander zone before you start, at least 50 feet away, as Ohio State advises.
  • Ask whether the two-year warranty covers the blades and the wheels. The listing gives the length of the warranty but does not say what it covers.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Feeding branches larger than 1.75 inches. The listing sets that as the capacity limit.
  • Working alone. Ohio State’s training module says “Do not work alone when using a chipper or a shredder.”
  • Letting the work area get cluttered. The same module says to “Keep the area around the chipper or the shredder free of tripping hazards.”
  • Assuming the mulch claim is verified. The listing states it, and the sources opened for this post do not address it.
  • Assuming the output is ready to use without checking it. The listing gives no guidance on how the mulch should be used.

How we chose

This post covers one product: ASIN B0DG6QJ56L, listed as the WEN 41130 Electric Wood Chipper and Shredder, 15-Amp, Black. The keyword names this exact model, so no other model is compared here. The model number 41130 appears in the listing title and in the item model number field, so the match is exact. The data is the saved listing record dated 2026-10-23 (CHECKED), limited to the title, bullets and specs. Seller details, ratings, availability and images are not part of this post.

The model is in the post because the keyword names it, and because the listing gives the figures a buyer uses to judge a chipper: capacity, motor, blades, bin, safety mechanism and warranty. Where a figure is missing, the table or the sentence says so.

The two non-retail sources are two Ohio State University Extension factsheets on wood chippers and shredders. They are used for the safety guidance that applies to chippers in general. They are not used for facts about this WEN model.

The fields checked were the title, brand, model number, item type, motor, capacity, cutting rate, blades, wheels, push stick, bin, enclosure, safety mechanism, weight, dimensions, department and the bullet text. The listing states the capacity, the safety mechanism, the included parts and the warranty length. It is silent on voltage, cord length and hopper size, which a buyer needs before ordering.

What we could not verify

  • The 1.75-inch capacity, the 8000 cuts per minute figure and the two-year warranty are listing statements. None of the sources opened for this post checks them for this model.
  • The voltage, cord length, hopper size and feeding method are not in the listing, and the sources opened do not cover this model.
  • The Ohio State factsheets describe engine-powered and training-module chippers. They give general safety guidance, not statements about this electric unit.
  • The mulch claim is the listing’s own. The sources do not address whether this unit produces usable mulch.
  • The metric conversions in this post, such as 1.75 inches as about 4.4 centimeters, are arithmetic and not figures from the listing or the sources.

FAQ

What size branches does the WEN 41130 handle?

The listing says it shreds sticks and branches up to 1.75 inches in diameter. Branches larger than that are outside the listing’s stated capacity, so cut them down before they go into the chipper.

Does the listing state the voltage or cord length?

No. The listing names a 15-amp motor and calls the unit electric, but it does not state the voltage, the plug type or the cord length. Confirm those with the seller before you buy, because they decide where the machine can run.

What comes in the box?

The listing names two 7-inch cutting blades, two 7-inch wheels, a push stick with onboard storage, and a 13-gallon rigid polypropylene collection bin, along with a two-year warranty. The listing does not describe any other accessory.

Does it have a safety feature?

The listing says an internal safety mechanism automatically prevents startups when the hopper is still open. Ohio State’s factsheet adds that an unlatched, improperly secured, or damaged hood can be thrown from a chipper, so check the hood before each use.

What do the Ohio State factsheets say about bystanders?

They say to keep bystanders away from the equipment and to allow at least 50 feet of safe distance, because objects can be thrown from the blades. They also say to be aware of children and other bystanders when objects may be thrown.

Can I put leaves and clippings through it?

The listing says the unit turns excess lawn clippings, twigs and foliage into mulch. That is the listing’s own statement, and the sources opened for this post do not address how well any chipper handles leaves.

Bottom line

Buy this WEN chipper only if your branches are 1.75 inches or less in diameter, you can confirm the voltage and cord length before you buy, and you can keep bystanders at least 50 feet away while it runs. If any of those three conditions fails, choose a different chipper. Before you order, also check what the two-year warranty covers and how the bin is emptied, since the listing states neither.

Sources

  • WEN 41130 Electric Wood Chipper and Shredder, 15-Amp, Black, Amazon listing record (opened 2026-10-23): https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0DG6QJ56L
  • Wood Chippers and Shredders, Ohioline, Ohio State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22): https://ohioline.osu.edu/factsheet/aex-79034
  • Wood Chippers and Shredders Safety for Trainers and Landscapers, Ohioline, Ohio State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22): https://ohioline.osu.edu/factsheet/aex-892285

Similar Posts