Best Cordless Chainsaws With Battery and Charger

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

A cordless chainsaw with battery and charger is a battery-powered saw sold as a complete kit, so you can start cutting without buying a separate battery or charger. In this group only one of the four chainsaws includes both: the CRAFTSMAN Mini Chainsaw kit with a V20 battery and charger in the box. The other three are listed as tool-only, meaning you buy the battery and charger separately. This guide sets out what each listing says about bar length, chain speed, battery platform and included parts, so you can see which saw fits a complete-kit purchase and which fits a battery you already own.

Quick answer

  • If you want one box with a saw, battery and charger, the CRAFTSMAN CMCCS610D1 is the only chainsaw here that lists all three. Its bar is 10 inches, and the listing says it cuts up to 8 inches thick.
  • If you already own an EGO 56V battery, the EGO CS1610 (16-inch bar) and CS1810 (18-inch bar) are listed as chainsaw-only and compatible with the EGO 56V ARC Lithium range.
  • If you already own a 40V Kobalt battery, the Kobalt 14-inch chainsaw is listed as bare tool, with battery and charger sold separately.
  • Check the battery and charger separately for every tool-only option. The listings give different battery recommendations, and the EGO CS1810 lists a larger battery for its cut count.

How to choose a cordless chainsaw with battery and charger

Start with the kit question. A chainsaw with battery and charger included saves you a purchase and avoids a platform mismatch. A tool-only chainsaw costs less up front, but you then need the right battery and charger for the saw’s platform. Many buyers already own a battery from another tool in the same family, so the tool-only option makes sense if the voltage and battery type match what you have.

Next, match the bar length to the wood you cut. The listings in this group give bar lengths of 10, 14, 16 and 18 inches. The CRAFTSMAN listing describes its 10-inch bar as designed for cuts up to 8 inches thick. The EGO CS1610 lists a 16-inch bar and a 3/8-inch pitch chain, and the EGO CS1810 lists an 18-inch bar with a 3/8-inch low-profile chain. The Kobalt listing gives a 14-inch bar and says it is for efficient trimming and cutting. Bar length matters for the largest branch you expect to cut, so check it against your typical work.

Then compare the weight and power figures. The listings give weights of 9 pounds for the EGO CS1610, 10.1 pounds for the EGO CS1810, 7.9 pounds for the CRAFTSMAN, and 11.1 pounds for the Kobalt, all as listed. Horsepower figures are given as 2.3 for the EGO CS1610, 1.5 KW for the CRAFTSMAN, and 1.2 hp for the Kobalt. The EGO CS1810 listing does not state horsepower, but it describes a 2500W brushless motor. These figures come from different listings and different units, so use them as a rough guide rather than a direct ranking.

Comparison at a glance

Chainsaw Bar length Weight (listed) Power or chain speed (listed) Battery and charger
EGO CS1610 (B09RTSDQCQ) 16 inches 9 pounds 2.3 horsepower; chain speed 20 m/s Not included; 56V ARC Lithium, 2.5Ah recommended
CRAFTSMAN CMCCS610D1 (B08T6DRN38) 10 inches 7.9 pounds 1.5 KW Included: V20 2.0Ah battery and V20 charger
EGO CS1810 (B0G6YM9DWX) 18 inches 10.1 pounds 2500W motor; chain speed 22 m/s Not included; 56V 6.0Ah recommended
Kobalt 40V 14-inch (B088X2B4YN) 14 inches 11.1 pounds 1.2 hp Not included; sold separately

EGO POWER+ CS1610 16-inch (B09RTSDQCQ)

The EGO CS1610 is a 16-inch battery chainsaw with a brushless motor. The listing describes it as equivalent to a 40cc gas chainsaw, with chain speeds up to 20 meters per second. The bar is 16 inches, the chain is 3/8-inch pitch with a 0.043-inch gauge and 56 drive links, and the listing says it suits hardwood, softwood and branches.

The listing says the saw delivers up to 130 cuts on a 4×4 with a recommended 2.5Ah battery, which is sold separately. It says the saw is compatible with all EGO 56V ARC Lithium batteries. The included components are listed as chainsaw only, so you need a battery and a charger from EGO before you can run it.

The chain tensions with a dial and no tools, according to the listing. The listing also says the saw is IPX4 rated for weather resistance and has a low-profile dial design that lets you cut flush to the ground. The product dimensions are 31.6 by 8 by 9.9 inches. The listing names EGO’s model number as CS1610.

This saw suits a buyer who already has an EGO 56V battery and wants a 16-inch bar for larger branches than the CRAFTSMAN can handle. The listing gives the recommended battery size, so you can check the cut count you need before you buy the battery.

View on Amazon

CRAFTSMAN CMCCS610D1 Mini Chainsaw kit (B08T6DRN38)

The CRAFTSMAN Mini Chainsaw is the only chainsaw here that includes a battery and charger. The kit contains the CMCCS610 chainsaw, a V20 CMCB202 2.0Ah lithium-ion battery, a V20 lithium-ion charger, a bar cover and a wrench. The listing describes the battery as V20 max 2.0Ah and says it delivers reliable performance.

The bar is 10 inches, and the listing says it is designed for cuts up to 8 inches thick. The saw weighs 7.9 pounds, and the listing gives a power rating of 1.5 KW. It has an auto-oiling feature for continuous lubrication and bolt-lock chain tensioning for consistent bar clamping. The listing says the saw has an integrated hook for hanging on the VERSATRACK wall system, which is sold separately.

The product dimensions are 8.69 by 8.56 by 21.46 inches. The model number is CMCCS610D1, and the UPC appears in the listing. The kit includes the V20 battery and charger, so no separate purchase is listed as needed to start.

This kit suits a buyer who wants a complete package for smaller limbs and light cutting. The 10-inch bar limits the thickness it can handle, so it does not replace a longer saw for heavy work.

View on Amazon

EGO POWER+ CS1810 18-inch (B0G6YM9DWX)

The EGO CS1810 is the longest bar in this group. The listing describes a 50cc gas equivalent with a 2500W brushless motor and chain speeds up to 22 meters per second. It has an 18-inch bar with a 3/8-inch low-profile chain, a 0.50-inch gauge and 62 drive links. The listing says the saw can cut up to 330 times on a 4×4 with a recommended 56V 6.0Ah ARC Lithium battery, which is sold separately.

The saw has a digital display with cut speed controls, battery charge status, an LED work light and a safety brake on and off indicator. The listing says the work light helps when you cut at dusk. It is IPX4-rated for weather resistance, and it has a tool-free chain tensioning dial. Large metal bucking spikes are listed for stability and leverage.

The listing gives a weight of 10.1 pounds and product dimensions of 36.3 by 8.9 by 10.4 inches. The warranty is listed as a 5-year tool warranty. The battery and charger are not included, and the listing says the saw is compatible with all EGO 56V ARC Lithium batteries.

This saw suits an owner who already has a 56V battery, wants the longest bar in this group, and values the display and work light. Because it is tool-only, budget for a battery and charger separately if you do not have them.

View on Amazon

Kobalt 40V 14-inch brushless chainsaw (B088X2B4YN)

The Kobalt is a 40V lithium-ion bare tool with a 14-inch low-kickback bar and chain. The listing says the battery and charger are not included and are sold separately. It has an automatic oiler for smooth chain operation, and the listing describes it as lightweight and ergonomically designed.

The listing gives a horsepower figure of 1.2 hp and a weight of 11.1 pounds, which is the heaviest saw in this group as listed. It is a 14-inch bar, so it sits between the CRAFTSMAN and the 16-inch EGO CS1610 for bar length. The listing does not state a warranty or a cut count, so check the seller’s terms before you buy.

This saw suits a buyer who already has a Kobalt 40V battery and charger. Because the listing is short, rely on the bar length, weight and automatic oiler rather than any cut count or runtime claim.

View on Amazon

Battery and charger notes

Because three of the four saws are tool-only, the battery and charger decision matters as much as the saw. The EGO listings name the 56V ARC Lithium platform, and they name a 2.5Ah battery for the CS1610 and a 6.0Ah battery for the CS1810 as recommended. The CRAFTSMAN kit uses a V20 2.0Ah battery and charger. The Kobalt listing names a 40V battery platform but does not state a battery capacity.

Check the battery voltage and platform before you buy any battery or charger. A battery from a different platform will not fit, even if the voltage looks close. The listings also give a few battery facts that matter for planning. The CS1610 listing says up to 130 cuts on a 4×4 with the recommended 2.5Ah battery, and the CS1810 listing says up to 330 cuts on a 4×4 with the recommended 6.0Ah battery. These figures come from the listings and depend on wood and cut type.

Look after the battery between jobs. Keep it charged and stored according to the owner’s manual, and keep the contacts clean. Our guide on cleaning battery contacts on cordless tools covers the basics, and the note on making cordless mower batteries last longer applies to any cordless battery pack.

When you compare the four saws, start with the battery you already own. The CRAFTSMAN kit is the simplest starting point for an owner with no battery, since its listing includes the battery and charger in the box. The EGO CS1610 and CS1810 suit an owner who already has an EGO 56V battery and wants a longer bar. The Kobalt suits an owner with a Kobalt 40V battery who wants a 14-inch bar. Write down your battery platform, the thickest branch you cut and the cut count you need before you buy anything else.

Routine care matters on every saw. The CRAFTSMAN and Kobalt listings describe automatic oiling, and the EGO listings describe tool-free chain tensioning. These features help the chain run smoothly and stay tight, but they do not replace the checks in the owner’s manual for oiling, chain tension and bar care before each use.

Common mistakes to avoid

  • Buying a tool-only saw without checking the battery platform. The EGO and Kobalt listings both say the battery and charger are sold separately.
  • Choosing the bar length by price rather than by the thickest wood you cut. The CRAFTSMAN listing states its 8-inch thickness limit.
  • Assuming the horsepower figures compare directly. The listings use different units and different ways of stating power.
  • Ignoring the cut count. The EGO listings give cut counts on a 4×4 with a stated battery, so compare like with like.
  • Skipping the chain tension check. The EGO and CRAFTSMAN listings describe tool-free tensioning, but the chain still needs a check before each use.

FAQ

Which cordless chainsaw comes with a battery and charger?

The CRAFTSMAN CMCCS610D1 Mini Chainsaw kit. The listing says the kit includes the CMCCS610 chainsaw, a V20 CMCB202 2.0Ah battery, a V20 charger, a bar cover and a wrench.

Do the EGO chainsaws include a battery?

No. Both the CS1610 and CS1810 listings say the battery and charger are not included. The listings name a recommended battery for each saw, which you buy separately.

What bar length should I choose?

The bars in this group are 10, 14, 16 and 18 inches. Choose the length that covers the thickest wood you cut. The CRAFTSMAN is rated up to 8 inches thick, and the EGO CS1810 has the longest bar at 18 inches.

Can I use one battery on more than one chainsaw?

Only within the same platform. The EGO listings say the saws work with all EGO 56V ARC Lithium batteries. The Kobalt is a 40V tool, and the CRAFTSMAN is V20. Check the platform label on your battery before you buy.

How many cuts can I expect on a charge?

The EGO listings give up to 130 cuts on a 4×4 for the CS1610 with a 2.5Ah battery, and up to 330 cuts on a 4×4 for the CS1810 with a 6.0Ah battery. The listings do not give cut counts for the CRAFTSMAN or Kobalt. Cut counts depend on wood type and cut size.

Is a cordless chainsaw as strong as a gas saw?

The EGO CS1610 listing says it is equivalent to a 40cc gas chainsaw, and the CS1810 listing says 50cc gas equivalent. These are listing claims, and the other two listings do not make the comparison. Use the bar length and cut count as the real guide to what a saw will handle.

Bottom line

If you need a saw, battery and charger in one purchase, the CRAFTSMAN CMCCS610D1 is the only option here that includes all three, and its 10-inch bar suits smaller limbs. If you already own an EGO 56V battery, choose between the 16-inch CS1610 and the 18-inch CS1810 by the bar length you need. If you own a Kobalt 40V battery, the 14-inch Kobalt is the match. Confirm the battery platform before you buy, and do not assume a tool-only saw will run on a battery from another brand.

For more on keeping a cordless battery in good shape, read Making a Cordless Mower Battery Last Longer. If you are still deciding which cordless tools to buy, the How to Clean Battery Contacts on Cordless Tools guide covers the contacts you will rely on.

Similar Posts