Gifts for Homeowners With a Lawn: 5 Tools Compared
Disclosure: bestelectriclawnmower.org is an Amazon affiliate site. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases at no extra cost to you. Links marked “View on Amazon” are affiliate links.
Gifts for homeowners with a lawn are easy to get wrong when the gift is a cordless tool. A trimmer or edger is only useful when it works with the battery the owner already has, or when the box includes a battery and charger. This guide compares five lawn-care tools from Amazon listings we read on 20 October 2026, shows how to match each one to the owner’s setup, and lists the safety items worth adding to the gift.
Quick answer
- Match the battery first. A tool without a battery is a good gift only for someone who already owns that brand’s battery.
- For a complete cordless gift, the Greenworks 24V kit and the Ryobi 18V kit are the clearest choices in this list, because the listings say a battery and charger are included.
- Choose the corded BLACK+DECKER BESTA510 only if the lawn is close to an outdoor outlet and the owner does not want to charge batteries.
- Add eye and ear protection and a spare line to the box. Both are on the safety sources below.
What a lawn owner actually uses these tools for
Trimming and edging do different jobs. A string trimmer cuts the grass a mower cannot reach, around fence posts, along walls and under shrubs. An edger cuts a clean line along a walkway, a driveway or a garden bed, which is the step that makes a lawn look finished. Many of the tools in this guide do both: the listings describe a trimmer that converts to an edger, or a trimmer that switches between trimming and edging without changing tools.
That overlap is useful for a gift. If the owner has one long edge along a sidewalk and a lot of fence line, a converting tool covers both jobs without a second machine. If the yard is mostly open lawn, a trimmer with a wider cutting path will cover more ground per pass, and the listings give different cutting widths, so check the one that fits the yard.
Buy into the battery the owner already has
The most common mistake with cordless yard tools is buying a tool that shares no battery with what the owner already owns. The five listings in this guide use four battery systems and one cord:
- Worx 20V PowerShare: the Worx WG163.9 is listed as “Battery & Charger Not Included”, so the owner needs a PowerShare 20V battery already.
- Ryobi ONE+ 18V: the kit includes a 2.0 Ah battery and a charger. The listing says the battery swaps between the trimmer, the blower and other Ryobi tools.
- DEWALT 20V MAX: the DCKO215M1 kit is listed with a battery and charger included.
- Greenworks 24V: the kit includes a 2.0 Ah battery and a 30W USB-C charger. The text we read does not confirm whether this battery works with other Greenworks tools.
- Corded: the BLACK+DECKER BESTA510 runs on 120 volts from an outlet. It has no battery to match.
If you do not know which battery the owner has, a complete kit is the safer gift. If you do know, a tool-only option such as the Worx WG163.9 is a smaller and simpler present, as long as the battery matches.
The five picks compared
Sizes and weights come from the Amazon listings as we read them. Where a listing does not state a figure, the table says so. Check the product page for the current details before you buy.
| Tool | Power | Cutting path (as listed) | Battery | Weight (as listed) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Worx WG163.9 2-in-1 trimmer and edger | 20V PowerShare | 12 in | Not included | 4.6 lb |
| Ryobi ONE+ 18V trimmer/edger and blower kit | 18V | 10 in | 2.0 Ah, included | Not stated |
| DEWALT 20V MAX trimmer and leaf blower kit (DCKO215M1) | 20V MAX | Not stated | Included | Not stated |
| Greenworks 24V 12 in trimmer and 270 CFM blower | 24V | 12 in | 2.0 Ah, included | 4.08 lb (trimmer, without battery) |
| BLACK+DECKER BESTA510 corded trimmer and edger | 6.5 amp, 120 V | 14 in | Not applicable (corded) | Not stated |
The five picks in more detail
Worx WG163.9 2-in-1 cordless string trimmer and edger
The listing describes a trimmer that converts to an edger in seconds, a command-feed spool that feeds line on a button press, a telescopic shaft that adjusts to the user’s height, and a shaft that tilts 90 degrees for sloped or hard-to-reach edges. The listing gives a weight of 4.6 lb.
- Good for: an owner who already has a Worx PowerShare 20V battery and wants one tool for trimming and edging.
- Skip if: the owner does not have a PowerShare 20V battery, because the battery and charger are not included in the style that the listing shows. Skip it also if you need a cut path wider than 12 inches.
- Keep in mind: the listing says the battery and charger are not included, so this gift is complete only with a battery the owner already has.
Ryobi ONE+ 18V string trimmer/edger and blower combo kit
The product description says the trimmer has a 10-inch cut swath, an auto-feed line head and a rotating shaft, so the user switches between trimming and edging without changing tools. The blower is described for clearing hard surfaces, with a debris scraper for loosening stuck dirt and leaves.
- Good for: an owner who already uses Ryobi ONE+ 18V tools, or someone who wants one battery to run both a trimmer and a blower.
- Skip if: you need a cut path wider than the listed 10 inches, or the owner has no Ryobi ONE+ 18V tools and would rather buy into a different battery.
- Keep in mind: the text we read does not give the weight of the trimmer or the blower, so check the product page before you choose it for an owner who will carry it for long periods.
DEWALT 20V MAX string trimmer and leaf blower kit (DCKO215M1)
The listing describes a lightweight kit with two tools, a trimmer and a blower, and says the kit runs with no gas, cords or fumes. The title says the battery and charger are included.
- Good for: an owner who already uses DEWALT 20V MAX tools, or who wants a battery-included kit that covers trimming and blowing.
- Skip if: you need a cut width, weight or runtime figure before you buy. The text we read gives none of these.
- Keep in mind: this is the least-documented pick in the table. Treat the details as unknown until you read the full product page.
Greenworks 24V 12 in string trimmer and 270 CFM blower combo
The listing describes a brushless 12-inch trimmer with a 0.065-inch single line and an auto-feed system, and a brushless blower rated at 270 CFM and 130 MPH. The trimmer weighs 4.08 lb without its battery. The listing says the kit includes a 2.0 Ah battery, a 30W USB-C charger and a three-year warranty on both tools.
- Good for: a gift that covers trimming and blowing in one box, with the battery and charger included.
- Skip if: the owner needs a battery size other than the listed 2.0 Ah, or a battery system that does not match Greenworks 24V.
- Keep in mind: the listing gives the 2.0 Ah size but does not give a runtime, and the text we read does not confirm whether the battery works with other Greenworks tools.
BLACK+DECKER BESTA510 corded 2-in-1 trimmer and edger
The listing describes a 6.5-amp motor, a 14-inch cut path, automatic line feed that avoids bumping the tool to release line, and a wheeled edge guide that converts the trimmer to an edger. It also lists a cord retention system that helps prevent the cord from disconnecting by accident.
- Good for: a lawn that is close to an outdoor outlet, and an owner who does not want to charge batteries.
- Skip if: the yard is far from an outlet, or the owner wants a cordless tool to move freely around the yard.
- Keep in mind: the listing does not say whether an extension cord is included, and the text we read does not give a weight.
Safety items worth adding to the gift
Trimmers and edgers throw debris, and the safety sources we opened say so plainly. The Texas A&M AgriLife lawn-maintenance safety sheet says: “Weed trimmers can throw stones, sticks, and other objects at high speeds.” The same sheet warns that “Automatic-feed and bump-feed trimmers may let out more string than you think”, which matters for the picks with an automatic or command feed: the Worx, Ryobi, Greenworks and BESTA510 listings describe one. The DEWALT text we read does not say.
The same sheet recommends protective clothing and equipment “such as long-pants, long-sleeve shirts, gloves, hard boots, goggles or safety glasses, and ear plugs.” The Virginia Tech Extension sheet on powered hand tools says to wear full eye and ear protection when operating powered hand tools, and recommends keeping bystanders, children and pets at least 50 feet from the work area.
A pair of safety glasses and a pair of ear protectors are the two items we would add to any tool in this guide. A spare line spool is useful for the trimmers that use one, because the owner will need it eventually and a spare is easier to give now.
Batteries also need a plan at the end of their life. The EPA says Li-ion batteries “should therefore be recycled at certified battery electronics recyclers that accept batteries rather than being discarded in the trash or put in municipal recycling bins.” If you give a battery-powered kit, include a note that tells the owner where to take the old battery.
How we chose
- We started with the lawn-care trimmer and edger listings we could read on Amazon, and kept five that cover cordless, corded and trimmer-blower combinations.
- We kept a listing only when it gave at least one cutting width, battery or weight figure, so each card has something to check.
- We include one corded option so a buyer with a yard close to an outlet can compare.
- We did not use prices, star ratings or review counts. Those change often, and the product pages show the current numbers.
What we could not verify
- The DEWALT listing text we read gives no cutting width, weight or battery capacity.
- No cordless listing in the text we read gives a runtime, so we do not compare how long any battery lasts.
- The BESTA510 listing does not say whether an extension cord is included.
- The Greenworks text does not confirm whether the 2.0 Ah battery works with other Greenworks tools.
- The Texas A&M sheet is undated and cites injury figures from earlier Consumer Product Safety Commission data. The sheet is cited here only for general safety points.
Checklist before you buy
Use this list on any product page in this guide. Each item is something the listings either state or leave out, so the checks are about the gap between what you need and what the page says.
- Battery brand and voltage. Confirm the owner’s battery brand and voltage first. Worx PowerShare 20V, Ryobi ONE+ 18V, DEWALT 20V MAX and Greenworks 24V are four separate systems in this list.
- Cut path against the job. Measure the edges the owner trims most. The listings here give cut paths of 10, 12 and 14 inches. A wider path covers more ground per pass, but it is also heavier to swing along a narrow strip.
- Feed type. The Worx, Ryobi, Greenworks and BESTA510 listings describe an automatic or command feed that releases line without bumping the tool. The DEWALT text we read does not say how the line is fed, so ask the seller or check the full page before you buy.
- Weight for the person who carries it. The Worx WG163.9 and the Greenworks trimmer list their weights. The Ryobi, DEWALT and BESTA510 text we read does not, so check the product page if the owner has a sore back or wrist.
- Cord length for corded tools. The BESTA510 listing does not give a cord length or say whether an extension cord is included. Measure the distance from the outlet to the farthest edge before you buy.
- Battery included or not. The Worx WG163.9 ships without a battery and charger. The Ryobi, DEWALT and Greenworks listings say a battery and charger are included.
- Safety items. Add safety glasses and ear protection to the box, and a spare line spool if the tool uses one.
If the owner has one long edge along a sidewalk and a lot of fence line, pick a converting tool such as the Worx WG163.9 or the BESTA510. If the yard is mostly open lawn with a few edges, a trimmer-and-blower kit covers more of the chores.
Frequently asked questions
Is an edger or a trimmer the better gift?
It depends on the yard. A converting tool such as the Worx WG163.9 or the BESTA510 does both jobs, so it is a good choice when you are not sure. If the owner already has a trimmer, an edger-only tool or a converting tool that replaces the trimmer may be more useful.
Do I need to buy a battery with the tool?
Only if the owner does not already have one for the same brand. The Worx WG163.9 is listed without a battery, so buy it only for an owner with a PowerShare 20V battery. The Ryobi, DEWALT and Greenworks kits list a battery and charger included.
Is a corded trimmer still worth it?
Yes, if the lawn is close to an outlet and the owner does not want to manage batteries. The BESTA510 listing says it runs on 120 volts and has a cord retention system, so the cord is less likely to come loose during use. The owner still needs a route for the cord that keeps it clear of the blade.
What safety items should I add?
Safety glasses and ear protection are the two that the sources support. Add a spare line spool if the tool uses one, and a note about where to take old batteries.
Does the listing include replacement line?
The Worx and BESTA510 listing pages show replacement line as a separate item, sold in packs. Check the current listing for the line that fits your tool before you buy it.
Bottom line
Buy the battery platform the owner already has, or choose a kit that includes a battery and charger. Add safety glasses and ear protection to the box. If the yard is close to an outlet and the owner does not want to manage batteries, a corded trimmer and edger is a reasonable choice.
Related guides
- For more cordless trimmer comparisons, see our guide to cordless string trimmers for edging, trimming and small yards.
- For a broader list of trimmers, see our line trimmer guide.
Sources
- U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, “Used Lithium-Ion Batteries”, https://www.epa.gov/recycle/used-lithium-ion-batteries (opened 20 October 2026).
- Texas A&M AgriLife Extension, “Lawn Maintenance Safety” sheet, https://agsafety.tamu.edu/files/2011/06/LAWN-MAINTENANCE-SAFETY3.pdf (opened 20 October 2026; undated).
- Virginia Cooperative Extension, Virginia Tech, “Lawn Care: Powered Hand Tool Safety”, Publication BSE-97P (2019), https://accomack.ext.vt.edu/content/dam/pubs_ext_vt_edu/BSE/BSE-41/BSE-97.pdf (opened 20 October 2026).