Best Push Lawn Mowers With High Cutting Height

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

A push lawn mower with high cutting height is one whose listing states a maximum deck height of about 3 inches or more, so it can leave tall grass long enough to stay healthy in hot weather or on uneven ground. The models in this roundup range from corded and cordless electric push mowers to gas units with 144cc to 201cc engines. The highest maximum heights stated in these listings are 4 inches on a corded 20-inch mower and 3.9 inches on a 21-inch self-propelled gas mower. Where a listing does not state a maximum height, this guide says so rather than guessing.

Quick answer

  • For the highest stated cut, look at the corded 20-inch Black+Decker models, which list adjustments from 1.5 to 4 inches.
  • For a gas push mower with a high stated maximum, the 21-inch AMERISUN lists 1.5 to 3.9 inches, and the 201cc BILT HARD lists 1.2 to 3.75 inches.
  • For a cordless option, the 24V-X2 Sun Joe lists a 1 to 3 inch range on a 17-inch deck.
  • Check the maximum figure on the listing, not just the number of height positions. A 10-position lever can still top out below a 3-position one.

What “high cutting height” means on a mower listing

Cutting height is the distance from the ground to the bottom of the blade when the mower is set. A higher setting leaves more leaf surface on the grass, which helps the plant keep shading the soil and reduces the scalped look that low cuts can leave. For the purposes of this roundup, a high cutting height means a listed maximum of about 3 inches or more. Lower-profile mowers may still have a useful setting for short turf, but they are not the focus here.

Listings state height in different ways. Some give a range such as “1.5 to 4 inches,” others give a count of positions such as “6-position,” and a few give only the position count with no inches. A count of positions tells you how many steps the lever has, but it does not say how high the top step is. This guide reports the stated range and marks the gaps as “not stated.”

Height ranges at a glance

The table lists the height figures and engine or motor type stated on each listing. A blank cell means the listing does not state that figure.

Model Power Stated height range Stated deck width Height adjustment
BLACK+DECKER 20-inch corded push mower (MM2000) 13-amp corded 1.5 to 4 inches 20 inches Single lever, 7 settings
BLACK+DECKER 20-inch corded push mower (BEMW213) 13-amp corded 1.5 to 4 inches 20 inches Single lever, 6 settings
AMERISUN 21-inch 3-in-1 self-propelled gas mower 170cc gas 1.5 to 3.9 inches 21 inches 6 positions
BILT HARD 21-inch 3-in-1 gas push mower (144cc) 144cc gas 1.0 to 3.0 inches (bullets); 1.2 to 3.75 inches (specs) 21 inches 6 positions in bullets, 8 or 10 in title
BILT HARD 21-inch 3-in-1 gas push mower (201cc) 201cc gas, 9.0 ft-lb torque 1.2 to 3.75 inches 21 inches 10 positions
DORTALA 14-inch corded electric push mower 12-amp, 1500W 1 to 2.5 inches 14 inches 3 positions
Sun Joe 24V-X2 cordless 17-inch push mower 670W brushless, two 24V 4.0Ah packs 1 to 3 inches 17 inches 6 positions
Greenworks 48V 17-inch push mower Brushless, two 4.0Ah packs Not stated 17 inches 6 positions

The highest stated maximum on any electric unit is the 4-inch figure on the corded Black+Decker models. The highest stated maximum on a gas unit is 3.9 inches on the AMERISUN, with the 201cc BILT HARD at 3.75 inches. The BILT HARD 144cc has a conflict between its bullets and its specification fields, and the page should be checked before buying.

Corded, cordless or gas: what changes at a high setting

The power source matters more than the height figure when you are choosing a mower for tall grass. A corded mower like the 13-amp Black+Decker runs as long as it is plugged in, so the cord is the limit, not the battery. Its listing describes a 13-amp motor that supplies power for thick grass and overgrowth. The DORTALA also uses a corded 12-amp motor, rated 1500W, and lists a 3800 RPM cutting speed. Corded models are usually the lightest to set up, but the cord needs to be kept clear of the blade.

Cordless mowers trade the cord for batteries. The Sun Joe 24V-X2 is listed with a 670-watt brushless motor and two 24V 4.0Ah lithium-ion batteries, for a total of 48V. The bullets state up to 25 minutes of cordless runtime for that setup. The Greenworks 48V 17-inch unit uses the same two-pack format, and its bullets give a 45-minute runtime claim and a cut of up to a quarter acre. Runtime depends on the grass, the height setting and the deck load, so treat the figures as seller statements.

Gas mowers give the longest run time between refills and the most power at a high setting, but they are heavier and need fuel, oil and seasonal maintenance. The AMERISUN is self-propelled and lists a 170cc four-stroke engine. The BILT HARD 144cc lists 3.4 HP and 5.75 ft-lb of torque, and the 201cc unit lists 9.0 ft-lb of torque. Its listing also gives an item weight of 73.8 pounds in the specification field, which is heavier than the electric models and is worth checking before you buy if you need to lift it into a vehicle.

Deck width and how it affects high-cut mowing

Deck width changes how much grass a single pass covers and how much power the mower needs. The roundup spans 14-inch decks on the DORTALA and 17-inch decks on the Sun Joe and Greenworks, up to 20-inch and 21-inch decks on the Black+Decker and the gas models. A wider deck covers more ground but needs more engine or motor power to keep the blade turning at a high setting. The narrower decks are easier to store and handle around beds and tight spots.

The Greenworks listing states that its 17-inch deck works with a 2-in-1 system for mulching or bagging, and its bullets describe collapsible handles for compact storage. The Sun Joe lists an 11-gallon grass catcher with a window that shows when the bag is full. The DORTALA lists a 9.3-gallon collection box that can be attached for side discharge or removed. These options matter because tall grass produces more clippings, and a high-cut mower with a bag that fills quickly means more stops.

Height adjustment: lever, positions and wheel

Most of the mowers in this roundup use a single lever that adjusts all wheels together. The Black+Decker models describe a tool-free single lever. The BILT HARD units describe a synchronized four-wheel height lever, which keeps the deck level as the height changes. The Sun Joe lists a six-position adjustment from 1 to 3 inches. The Greenworks lists six positions but does not state the inches for each setting.

For a high cut, the single lever is easier to set because it lets you raise the whole deck in one movement. Test the lever on your own mower before mowing, and make sure the deck stays level across all four wheels.

Position count is not the same as height range. The DORTALA has three positions that top out at 2.5 inches, while the 10-position BILT HARD tops out at 3.75 inches. A user who wants to keep grass long in summer should look at the maximum figure first and the number of positions second.

The roundup: seven push mowers compared

Each block below uses only the facts printed on the listing. Where a figure is not stated, it is left out.

1. BLACK+DECKER 20-inch corded push mower with seven height settings

This corded mower is listed with a 13-amp motor and a 20-inch EdgeMax deck. The single lever adjusts the cut through seven settings from 1.5 to 4 inches, which is the highest maximum stated in this roundup. The bullets describe three cutting modes: mulching, bagging and side discharge. A 13-gallon fabric grass bag is included, and the fabric shows when it is full. The listing also names a 2-year warranty. The specification fields give a 20-inch cutting width. Choose this model if you need the highest stated cut and a cord is practical.

View on Amazon

2. AMERISUN 21-inch self-propelled 3-in-1 gas mower

The AMERISUN is listed with a 170cc four-stroke OHV engine and self-propelled drive. Its six-position adjustment runs from 1.5 to 3.9 inches, the second-highest maximum on a gas model here. The bullets describe 10-inch rear wheels and 7-inch front wheels, which the listing says help it move across uneven ground and slopes. A 1.4-bushel grass catcher is included, and the handle folds for storage. The steel deck is listed as heavy-duty. The spec fields do not state a weight, so check the listing for that before buying. It fits a user who wants a self-propelled gas mower with a high stated cut.

View on Amazon

3. BLACK+DECKER 20-inch corded electric push mower with side discharge

This second Black+Decker model shares the 13-amp motor and the 1.5 to 4 inch range, but it lists six settings rather than seven. Its bullets describe a winged blade designed for cutting and collecting grass, and a tool-free height lever. The package includes a collection bag and a side discharge chute. The spec fields give a 20-inch cutting width, a corded electric power source and a dimension set of 34.8 inches deep, 22.95 inches wide and 16.06 inches high. The listing states a 2-year limited warranty. Choose this version if you prefer a six-setting lever and a compact footprint.

View on Amazon

4. BILT HARD 21-inch 144cc 3-in-1 push mower

This gas push mower is listed with a 144cc four-cycle engine, 3.4 HP and 5.75 ft-lb of torque. The bullets describe six cutting positions from 1.0 to 3.0 inches, with a synchronized single-lever adjustment. The specification fields list a range of 1.2 to 3.75 inches and show a title with “8-Positions” and another with “10-Positions,” so the page should be checked for the exact setting count and range. The deck is a 21-inch steel deck with oversized 10-inch wheels, and the package includes a grass bag and a side discharge chute. The listing names an easy-start feature. It is a sound choice for a gas mower whose bullets state the lower range, and the upper figure should be confirmed.

View on Amazon

5. BILT HARD 21-inch 201cc 3-in-1 push mower with 10 positions

The 201cc BILT HARD is listed with a 4-cycle OHV engine that delivers 9.0 ft-lb of torque. Its single-lever adjustment offers ten positions from 1.2 to 3.75 inches, which is the upper figure stated consistently in both the bullets and the specification fields. The deck is 21 inches and the mower has mulching, side discharge and rear bagging. The specification fields give an item weight of 73.8 pounds, which is much heavier than the electric units in this roundup, so plan for that if you need to move it. The listing also names an easy-start design with no choke. It fits a user who wants the most consistent stated range among the gas models.

View on Amazon

6. DORTALA 14-inch corded electric push mower

The DORTALA is a corded electric mower with a 12-amp, 1500W motor and a listed cutting speed of 3800 RPM. Its three positions are listed at 1, 1.8 and 2.5 inches, so its maximum is lower than the Black+Decker and gas models. The 14-inch deck is the narrowest in the group that gives a stated maximum. A 9.3-gallon collection box, listed at 35 liters, can be attached for side discharge or removed. The spec fields give a weight of 15.5 pounds and dimensions of 45 by 16 by 35 inches. Choose it for a small yard where a 2.5-inch top setting is enough.

View on Amazon

7. Sun Joe 24V-X2 cordless 17-inch push mower

The Sun Joe is a cordless mower with a 670-watt brushless motor and two 24V 4.0Ah lithium-ion batteries, listed as 48V in total. The six-position lever runs from 1 to 3 inches on a 17-inch steel blade, and the 11-gallon grass catcher has a window that shows when the bag needs emptying. The bullets state up to 25 minutes of runtime and a dual-port charger. The package is a cordless alternative to the corded models, and its top setting is 3 inches. Choose it if you want a battery mower with a 17-inch deck and a bag that holds more clippings.

View on Amazon

Review: the BLACK+DECKER 20-inch corded mower in depth

The BLACK+DECKER 20-inch corded mower with seven settings is the model in this roundup with the highest stated maximum cut, 4 inches, so it is the most direct answer to the keyword. The listing gives a 13-amp motor and a 20-inch EdgeMax deck, which the listing says is designed to cut close to edges. Those are the two numbers that matter most for a tall-grass mower: the motor sets the load it can carry, and the deck sets how much grass is cut in each pass.

The height system is a single lever with seven settings between 1.5 and 4 inches. The lever is tool-free, which means you can change height without a wrench. For a high cut, the top settings are the ones that matter, and the listing gives 4 inches as the maximum. The mower can mulch, bag or discharge to the side, and the listing states a fabric bag of 13 gallons. The bag is a useful feature because tall grass produces heavy clippings, and the fabric design shows when it is full.

The package also includes a 2-year warranty as stated in the listing. Using every listed feature, the advantages are the seven settings, the 4-inch top, the mulch and bag options and the 13-amp motor. The limitations come from the corded design. The cord must be kept clear of the blade, and the mower needs an outlet within reach. The listing does not state a cord length, a weight or a runtime, so confirm those on the page.

The close alternatives in this roundup are the second Black+Decker, which shares the 1.5 to 4 inch range with six settings, and the AMERISUN, which gives a 1.5 to 3.9 inch range on a gas engine with self-propelled drive. The second Black+Decker is a good choice if you prefer a six-setting lever and a side discharge chute in the box. The AMERISUN is the choice if you want self-propelled gas power and can accept the fuel and maintenance.

Mistakes to avoid when choosing a high-cut push mower

The first mistake is comparing position counts instead of maximum heights. A 10-position lever that tops out at 3.75 inches is not higher than a 6-position lever that tops out at 4 inches. The second mistake is trusting a title over the specification fields. The BILT HARD 144cc lists “8-Positions” and “10-Positions” in different places, and the bullets give 1.0 to 3.0 inches while the specification fields give 1.2 to 3.75 inches. Confirm the range on the listing before buying.

The third mistake is ignoring the grass bag. A high cut produces more clippings, and a small bag means more stops to empty. The listings state bag sizes that range from 1.4 bushels on the AMERISUN to 13 gallons on the corded Black+Decker, 9.3 gallons on the DORTALA and 11 gallons on the Sun Joe. Pick the size that matches how often you can empty it.

The fourth mistake is skipping safety steps. Keep hands and feet away from the blade, disconnect a corded mower before clearing the deck, and wear eye and foot protection. For gas models, check the oil and fuel before each use and follow the manual’s guidance on starting. None of the listings replaces the owner’s manual, so read it before the first use.

The fifth mistake is assuming a high cut always means healthier grass. Height is one part of lawn care, and the right height depends on the grass type, the season and the shade in the yard. The listings do not make health claims, so use the height guidance from your local extension service or the grass seed label before you set the mower.

FAQ

Which push mower has the highest stated cutting height?

Among the models in this roundup, the BLACK+DECKER 20-inch corded mower with seven settings states a range of 1.5 to 4 inches, which is the highest maximum on any listing here. The AMERISUN gas mower follows at 3.9 inches, and the 201cc BILT HARD at 3.75 inches. Confirm each figure on the listing before purchase.

Is a corded or cordless push mower better for tall grass?

A corded mower gives steady power for as long as it is plugged in, and the listed corded models here reach 4 inches. A cordless mower has no cord to manage, and the 24V-X2 Sun Joe reaches 3 inches on two 4.0Ah packs. Choose the power source that fits your outlet access and the size of the yard.

Do I need a gas mower for a high cut?

No. The corded Black+Decker reaches 4 inches, which is higher than the listed maximum on the cordless Sun Joe. Gas mowers are a good fit for larger yards where cordless or corded runtime would be a limit, but they require fuel and maintenance.

What does a position count mean on a mower?

A position count is the number of steps on the height lever. It does not say how high the top step is. A 6-position lever can top out at 3 inches, and a 10-position lever can top out at 3.75 inches. Read the stated range as well as the count.

Does a bigger deck always cut higher?

No. Deck width affects how much grass is cut per pass, and height is set by the lever and wheel system. A 14-inch deck can reach 2.5 inches, and a 21-inch deck can reach 3.9 inches. Compare each model’s stated maximum rather than assuming a wider deck is higher.

Can I bag clippings from a high cut?

Most models here list a bag or a collection box. The Black+Decker lists a 13-gallon fabric bag, the Sun Joe lists an 11-gallon bag with a fill indicator, and the DORTALA lists a 9.3-gallon box. Check the bag size against how often you mow.

Bottom line

If the highest stated maximum is what you need, choose the corded BLACK+DECKER 20-inch mower with seven settings, which lists 1.5 to 4 inches. If you want gas power and self-propelled drive, compare the AMERISUN and the 201cc BILT HARD on their stated ranges. If you want a cordless option, the Sun Joe 24V-X2 reaches 3 inches. Decide on the maximum height first, then the power source, then the bag size.

For a broader look at setting the deck, see How to Set the Cutting Height on a Mower. For tall-grass options from the same site, see Best Lawn Mowers for Mowing Tall Grass: Cutting Height Compared.

Similar Posts