Best Ryobi 40V Cordless Hedge Trimmers With Battery
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
A Ryobi 40V hedge trimmer with battery is a cordless hedge trimmer from the Ryobi 40V line that ships with a rechargeable battery and charger in the kit. The Ryobi kits in this set use 24-inch or 26-inch blades, and their listings give cut capacities of 1 inch. They run on the 40V battery platform, so the battery can also power other 40V Ryobi tools. This guide compares the kits by what each listing states, and adds a few 40V hedge trimmers from other brands as close alternatives.
Quick answer
- Pick a kit that includes a battery and charger if you want to start cutting without extra purchases. Three Ryobi listings in this set are kits with a battery and charger.
- Check the blade length first. The Ryobi kits list 26-inch and 24-inch blades, each with a 1-inch cut capacity.
- Expect runtime to depend on the battery. The 26-inch Ryobi kit lists up to 35 minutes with its included 2Ah battery.
- Confirm the battery matches your tools. The Ryobi 40V tool-only listing does not include a battery, so buy one separately if you choose that model.
How to choose a 40V cordless hedge trimmer
Start with the hedge height and the branch thickness you plan to cut. Blade length is the first number to check. Longer blades reach more of a hedge at once and help with wide, flat surfaces, while shorter blades are easier to hold for close work. The Ryobi kits use 26-inch or 24-inch blades, and the Greenworks, SKIL and BLACK+DECKER alternatives use 24-inch or 22-inch blades. The listings state cut capacities of 1 inch for the Ryobi and Greenworks models, and 3/4 inch for the SKIL and BLACK+DECKER models.
Next, look at the battery. A cordless hedge trimmer is only as useful as its battery. The Ryobi kit with a 2.0Ah battery and the SKIL kit with a 2.5Ah battery are listed as kits with a battery and charger. The Greenworks kit lists a 2.0Ah USB battery and charger, and the BLACK+DECKER kit includes a battery and charger too. If you already own 40V Ryobi batteries, the tool-only Ryobi listing lets you skip the extra battery.
Then check the weight. The Greenworks listing gives 9.9 pounds for the trimmer, and the Ryobi listings do not state a weight in their bullets. Weight matters when you trim overhead for a long time, because the arm and shoulder take the load. A balanced design and a rotating or wraparound handle can help, and several listings in this set mention those features.
Finally, consider the rest of the kit. The Ryobi 26-inch kit includes the trimmer, a 40V 2Ah battery and a 40V charger. The Ryobi 24-inch kit includes a battery and charger. The Ryobi tool-only listing includes the trimmer alone. Read the included-items line before ordering so you are not surprised by missing parts.
Comparison at a glance
The table uses only values stated on each listing. “Not stated” means the listing does not give that value.
| Model | Brand | Blade length | Cut capacity | Battery and charger | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RYOBI 40V HP 26 in. Hedge Trimmer Kit (RY40604BTL) | RYOBI | 26 in. | 1 in. | Yes, 40V 2Ah battery and 40V charger | Not stated |
| RYOBI 40V HP Brushless 26 in. Hedge Trimmer with 2.0 Ah Battery and Charger | RYOBI | 26 in. | Not stated | Yes, 2.0 Ah battery and charger | Not stated |
| RYOBI 40V 24 in. Hedge Trimmer Kit with Battery and Charger | RYOBI | 24 in. | Not stated | Yes | Not stated |
| RYOBI 40V HP Brushless Whisper Series 26 in. Hedge Trimmer (Tool Only) | RYOBI | 26 in. | Not stated | No, tool only | Not stated |
| Greenworks 40V 24 in. Cordless Hedge Trimmer | Greenworks | 24 in. | 1 in. | Yes, 2.0Ah USB battery and charger | 2 years |
| SKIL PWR CORE 40 24 in. Hedge Trimmer Kit (HT4221-10) | Skil | 24 in. | 3/4 in. | Yes, 2.5Ah battery and Auto PWR JUMP charger | Not stated |
| BLACK+DECKER 40V MAX Hedge Trimmer (LHT2436) | BLACK+DECKER | 24 in. | 3/4 in. | Yes, battery and charger | Not stated |
Roundup: Ryobi 40V hedge trimmers and close alternatives
RYOBI 40V HP 26 in. Hedge Trimmer Kit (RY40604BTL)
This Ryobi kit is the most detailed Ryobi listing in the set. The bullets say the 40V HP system delivers more power than a 21cc gas trimmer, which is the listing’s comparison and not a measured result. The 26-inch blades have a 1-inch cut capacity, and the listing says they tackle thick hedges. The kit includes the RY40604BTL 40V HP brushless 26-inch hedge trimmer, an OP40204 40V 2Ah battery and an OP404 40V charger. The listing states up to 35 minutes of runtime with the included battery. Its model number is RY40640 in the specs. This kit fits a buyer who wants a long blade, a battery and a charger in one box.
RYOBI 40V HP Brushless 26 in. Cordless Battery Hedge Trimmer with 2.0 Ah Battery and Charger
This listing is a 26-inch Ryobi 40V HP brushless hedge trimmer that comes with a 2.0Ah battery and charger. The listing bullets are empty, so the details here come from the title and the specs. The model number is RY40640, which matches the model shown in the first Ryobi kit. Because the title lists the battery and charger, you know the kit includes both. If you want the bullet-point detail on runtime and cut capacity, the RY40604BTL listing above gives those values.
RYOBI 40V 24 in. Hedge Trimmer KIT with Battery and Charger
This Ryobi kit gives you a 24-inch blade instead of 26 inches, with a battery and charger in the kit. The model is listed as RY40HG01K. The listing bullets are empty, so the title is the main source here. If you want a shorter blade for easier handling around shrubs and tight hedges, this kit fits that need, and it keeps the Ryobi 40V battery platform.
RYOBI 40V HP Brushless Whisper Series 26 in. Hedge Trimmer (Tool Only)
This Ryobi listing is the tool only version, and the title says so directly. It has a 26-inch blade and is part of the Whisper Series, which the listing presents as a quieter line. No battery or charger is included, so you need a Ryobi 40V battery and charger separately. Choose this model if you already own a 40V Ryobi battery and want to save on the kit. The model number is RY40606BTL.
Greenworks 40V 24 in. Cordless Hedge Trimmer (not a Ryobi model)
This Greenworks model is not a Ryobi, but it is a 40V cordless hedge trimmer with a battery and charger included. The 24-inch steel blades have a 1-inch cut capacity, and the listing says it has a rotating rear handle and a three-sided wraparound auxiliary handle. The battery is a 2.0Ah USB battery, and the listing says the trimmer weighs 9.9 pounds. The warranty in the specs is 2 years. Choose it if you want a 40V trimmer from another brand with a stated weight and warranty.
SKIL PWR CORE 40 Brushless 24 in. Hedge Trimmer Kit (not a Ryobi model)
This SKIL model is a 40V brushless kit with a 24-inch dual action blade and a 3/4-inch cut capacity. The kit includes a 2.5Ah battery and an Auto PWR JUMP charger. The listing says the charger brings the battery from 0 to 30 percent in about 15 minutes, based on the 2.5Ah battery. It is a close alternative to the Ryobi kits if you want a larger battery and a faster starting charge. It is not a Ryobi product.
BLACK+DECKER 40V MAX Hedge Trimmer, 24-Inch Blade (not a Ryobi model)
This BLACK+DECKER model is a 40V MAX cordless hedge trimmer with a 24-inch dual action blade and a 3/4-inch cut capacity. The battery and charger are included. The listing gives a state of charge indicator and a full length trigger with a soft grip, and it says it cuts up to 6000 square feet of hedges per charge. The listing also notes that the initial battery voltage is 40V, while the nominal voltage is 36V. It is not a Ryobi model, so it works as a close alternative if you want a 40V kit with a stated cut capacity smaller than the Ryobi 1-inch models.
Review: Ryobi 40V HP 26 in. Hedge Trimmer Kit
If you want one Ryobi 40V hedge trimmer to look at in detail, the RY40604BTL kit gives the most listed information. It combines a 26-inch brushless hedge trimmer with a 40V 2Ah battery and a 40V charger, and it lists a 1-inch cut capacity and up to 35 minutes of runtime with the included battery. Those are the two numbers most buyers compare first, and this listing gives both.
The blade length is the main feature to think about. A 26-inch blade reaches more of a hedge at once than a 24-inch blade, which helps with long, flat runs. The listing describes the blades as able to tackle thick hedges, and the 1-inch cut capacity is the upper limit for branch thickness. If you usually trim branches thicker than an inch, a pole saw or a gas tool is a better match, which the listing does not claim to cover.
The battery is a 2Ah model, so runtime will depend on how dense your hedge is and how long you cut in one session. The listing states up to 35 minutes with the included battery. A second 40V battery helps for larger jobs, and the Biswaye 6Ah battery shown in the roundup set is an option that the listing describes as compatible with Ryobi 40V tools. It is a third-party battery, so check the listing before buying one.
The listing describes the 40V HP system as delivering more power than a 21cc gas trimmer. That is the manufacturer’s comparison. It is not a measured result, and this guide does not claim to have measured it. The best way to judge power for your hedge is to check the cut capacity, the blade length and the runtime together.
The kit is cordless and does not need gas or oil, which the listing presents as an advantage. A cordless trimmer is quieter than a gas trimmer and starts without a pull cord, but it depends on charge level. Keep the battery charged before a big job, and carry the charger if you plan to work away from an outlet.
Close alternatives
If you want a shorter blade, the RYOBI 40V 24-inch kit keeps the Ryobi battery platform with a battery and charger. If you want a 40V trimmer from another brand with a stated 2-year warranty, the Greenworks model is the closest alternative with a battery and charger included.
Mistakes to avoid when buying a 40V hedge trimmer
- Assuming the tool-only Ryobi model includes a battery. The Whisper Series listing is tool only.
- Buying a 22- or 24-inch blade when you need reach. Check your longest hedge run before choosing.
- Confusing 40V with 18V. The Ryobi ONE+ 18V hedge trimmer in this set is an 18V tool, so it is not part of this 40V comparison.
- Ignoring the battery’s capacity. A 2Ah battery and a 2.5Ah battery run for different times on the same job.
- Choosing a cut capacity smaller than your branches. The listings state 1 inch and 3/4 inch, so check the thickest branch you plan to cut.
FAQ
Which Ryobi 40V hedge trimmer comes with a battery?
Three Ryobi listings in this set are kits with a battery and charger: the 26-inch RY40604BTL kit, the 26-inch RY40640 listing with a 2.0Ah battery and charger, and the 24-inch RY40HG01K kit. The Whisper Series listing is tool only.
How long does the battery last?
The 26-inch RY40604BTL kit lists up to 35 minutes of runtime with its 40V 2Ah battery. Runtime depends on the hedge and how often you stop, so treat the number as the listing’s best case.
What is the cut capacity?
The Ryobi 26-inch kit lists a 1-inch cut capacity. The SKIL and BLACK+DECKER alternatives list 3/4 inch, and the Greenworks alternative lists 1 inch.
Can I use a 40V battery from another brand?
The Biswaye battery in this set is listed as compatible with Ryobi 40V Max tools. It is a third-party battery, and the listing lists the compatible Ryobi models and chargers. Check the listing and your tool’s manual before using it.
Is a 40V hedge trimmer as strong as a gas trimmer?
The Ryobi listing compares its 40V HP system to a 21cc gas trimmer, which is the manufacturer’s statement. This guide has not measured power, so compare the cut capacity and blade length with your hedge needs.
Are the non-Ryobi trimmers worth considering?
Yes, if you want a stated warranty, a different battery size or a different weight. The Greenworks model lists a 2-year warranty and 9.9 pounds, and the SKIL kit lists a 2.5Ah battery with a fast charger.
Bottom line
For a Ryobi 40V hedge trimmer with a battery, the 26-inch RY40604BTL kit gives the most listed detail: blade length, cut capacity, battery, charger and runtime. Choose the 24-inch Ryobi kit for a shorter blade, or the tool-only Whisper Series model if you already own a 40V Ryobi battery. If you want another brand with a stated warranty or a larger battery, the Greenworks and SKIL kits are the closest alternatives.
Related reading on this site: Best Ryobi 40v 24 in Cordless Battery Hedge Trimmer covers the 24-inch model in more depth, and Cordless Hedge Trimmers Compared: 9 Models by Battery, Blade and Weight lists more models side by side.


