Toro Zero-Turn Mower Battery: Types and Buying Tips
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
A Toro zero turn lawn mower battery has to match four things on your machine: voltage, cold cranking amps (CCA), physical size and terminal layout. Get one of those wrong and the battery may not fit the tray, the cable may not reach the posts, or the starter may struggle in cold weather. The eight replacement batteries below are all 12-volt units listed for Toro zero-turn models or for batteries that the listings describe as compatible. Each section uses only the facts printed in the listing data for that product.
Quick answer
- Match the voltage (12V on every product below) and confirm the CCA rating on your old battery label before you buy.
- Check the terminal layout. Several listings state positive on the left and negative on the right, which is the layout most of these lead-acid replacements use.
- The Mighty Max ML-U1 listings name specific Toro Time Cutter models, so they are the most direct starting point for those machines.
- The lithium option is the only product here that lists a five-year warranty, and it is the lightest in the group according to its listing.
Battery chemistry in this list
Three chemistries appear in this group, and the listings name each one differently, so it helps to know what each name means before you compare numbers.
Sealed lead acid (SLA) batteries are the traditional choice. The Mighty Max ML-U1 listings and the Casil 12V 33Ah listing both describe their batteries as sealed lead acid. The Mighty Max listings add that the battery is spill proof, can be mounted in any position, resists shocks and vibration, and performs in both high and low temperatures. Those are the claims the listings make, and they are worth reading against your own mower’s mounting space.
AGM batteries are sealed lead acid batteries with absorbed glass mat construction. The two AJC listings describe their units as maintenance free AGM. The listings say they arrive factory activated, fully sealed and charged, and that no acid or water needs to be added.
Lithium iron phosphate (LiFePO4) is the third option. The Mighty Max ML-U1-CCALI listing describes advanced LiFePO4 cells with an integrated battery management system (BMS). It states that the battery is up to 60 percent lighter than comparable lead-acid batteries, is maintenance free, and carries a five-year warranty. Weight savings matter most when you lift the battery into a tight compartment, and they matter less if your mower already sits in a stable frame position.
How to choose a replacement
Start with the battery that came out of your machine. Read the label for voltage and CCA, then measure length, width and height with a tape. The listings give dimensions in inches, so compare those figures directly. The Casil listing makes the same point: size, cold cranking amps, terminal location and battery type are the key factors, and the buyer should measure the old battery and compare dimensions before ordering.
Next, check the terminal layout. The Mighty Max listings state positive on the left and negative on the right. The AJC listings give terminal type as NB, which the listings do not explain further, so confirm that your cable ends fit the posts before you order. A battery that fits the tray but puts the posts on the wrong side will leave the cable too short or force it across the frame.
Check what is in the box. Several of these listings state that the battery and screws are included, but no wire harness and no mounting accessories are included. The ML-U1 listings say exactly that. The ML-U1-CCALI lithium listing says it includes nut and bolt hardware, and it also says the wire harness is not included. If your old battery cables are damaged, plan to buy them separately.
Finally, check the warranty statement. The ML-U1 listings for the Time Cutter SS4235 and MX5060 models mention a one-year warranty in different wording. The Casil and AJC listings do not state a warranty period in the data we have, so the listing does not state it.
Comparison at a glance
| Listing | Chemistry (as listed) | Voltage | CCA | Dimensions (listed) | Warranty (as listed) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mighty Max ML-U1, Time Cutter SS4235 | Sealed lead acid | 12V | 200 | 7.75 x 5.11 x 6.25 in | 1 year |
| Mighty Max ML-U1, Time Cutter MX5060 | Sealed lead acid | 12V | 200 | 7.62 x 5.00 x 7.00 in | Full one year warranty |
| Mighty Max ML-U1, Time Cutter SS4200 | Sealed lead acid | 12V | 200 | 7.62 x 5.00 x 7.00 in | Full one year warranty |
| Mighty Max ML-U1, Time Cutter SS5000 | Sealed lead acid | 12V | 200 | 7.62 x 5.00 x 7.00 in | Full one year warranty |
| Casil CA12330 33Ah | Sealed lead acid | 12V | Not stated | 7.68 x 5.16 x 7.13 in | Not stated |
| AJC, Titan MX5400 | AGM, maintenance free | 12V | 300 | Not stated | Not stated |
| AJC, Time Cutter SS4200 | AGM, maintenance free | 12V | 300 | Not stated | Not stated |
| Mighty Max ML-U1-CCALI, MX5060 | LiFePO4 lithium | 12V | 400 | 7.75 x 5.25 x 6.63 in, total height 7.25 in | 5 year |
Cells marked “Not stated” are gaps in the listing data. Check the product page for the current listing before you buy, since a listing can change after this article is written.
The eight products
1. Mighty Max ML-U1 200CCA for Toro Time Cutter SS4235
This listing names the Toro Time Cutter SS4235 zero-turn mower in its title. The battery is a 12V, 200 CCA sealed lead acid unit with model number ML-U1-CCA1097. Its listed dimensions are 7.75 by 5.11 by 6.25 inches. The listing states positive on the left and negative on the right, and says that it covers the battery and screws only, with no wire harness or mounting accessories included. The bullets also describe the battery as spill proof with a high discharge rate, wide operating temperatures, long service life and deep discharge recovery. The listing gives a one-year warranty. This is a straightforward choice for an SS4235 owner who already has a harness in place.
2. Mighty Max ML-U1 200CCA for Toro Time Cutter MX5060
This listing names the Toro Time Cutter MX5060. It uses the same 12V, 200 CCA sealed lead acid chemistry as the SS4235 listing, with model number ML-U1-CCA1092 and part number ML-U1-CCA. The listed dimensions are 7.62 by 5.00 by 7.00 inches, which is slightly shorter in length and taller in height than the SS4235 unit. The listing states a full one-year warranty, and it repeats the polarity note and the battery-and-screws-only inclusion. Owners of an MX5060 should compare the height figure against the room in their battery tray, because the taller dimension is the one most likely to cause a fit problem.
3. Mighty Max ML-U1 200CCA for Toro Time Cutter SS4200
The SS4200 listing names the Toro Time Cutter SS4200 zero-turn mower. The specifications match the MX5060 listing: 12V, 200 CCA, sealed lead acid, dimensions of 7.62 by 5.00 by 7.00 inches, and a full one-year warranty. The model number in the data is ML-U1-CCA1095. Because the physical figures match the MX5060 listing, the main thing to confirm on an SS4200 is the Toro model itself rather than the battery size. The listing does not state a different CCA or chemistry for this model, so it should be read as the same battery sold under a different machine name.
4. Mighty Max ML-U1 200CCA for Toro Time Cutter SS5000
This listing names the Toro Time Cutter SS5000. It carries the same 12V, 200 CCA sealed lead acid specification, with the same 7.62 by 5.00 by 7.00 inch dimensions and a full one-year warranty. The model number is ML-U1-CCA1100. The listing gives the same polarity and inclusion notes as the other Mighty Max ML-U1 units. This is a reasonable pick for an SS5000 owner who wants a like-for-like replacement with no change in size.
5. Casil CA12330 12V 33Ah replacement battery
This Casil listing is the largest-capacity battery in the group. It is a CA12330 12V 33Ah sealed lead acid battery with nut and bolt connectors. Its title names the Toro Time Cutter SS5000 and a Toro Z255 zero-turn model. The listed dimensions are 7.68 by 5.16 by 7.13 inches. The bullets also describe the battery for Jazzy scooters, Pride mobility scooters and Jazzy power chairs, so the listing covers more than mower use. The listing does not state a cold cranking amp rating or a warranty period. Buyers should measure the old battery, confirm the Toro model, and treat the amp-hour rating as the capacity figure the listing gives, not as a cranking rating.
6. AJC Battery for Toro Titan MX5400 Zero-Turn U1
This AJC listing names the Toro Titan MX5400 Zero-Turn U1 lawn mower and tractor battery. It is a 12V unit rated at 300 cold cranking amps with NB terminals. The listing describes it as an AJC brand replacement, factory activated, fully sealed, charged and ready to use. It uses maintenance free AGM technology, and the listing says no acid or water needs to be added. The listing does not state dimensions or a warranty period, so measure the old battery before you order. The higher CCA figure makes this listing one of the two options in the group with a rating above 200.
7. AJC Battery for Toro Time Cutter SS4200 Zero-Turn U1
This AJC listing names the Toro Time Cutter SS4200 Zero-Turn U1 mower and tractor battery. Its stated figures match the MX5400 AJC listing: 12V, 300 CCA, NB terminals, factory activated, sealed, and maintenance free AGM. The listing does not give physical dimensions or a warranty period. Because it names the SS4200, it is a direct comparison to the Mighty Max SS4200 option. The Mighty Max unit is rated at 200 CCA, while this AJC unit is rated at 300 CCA. Whether the difference matters depends on your climate and how hard your starter has to work, and the listings do not say more than the ratings above.
8. Mighty Max ML-U1-CCALI 12V lithium 400 CCA for Toro Time Cutter MX5060
This is the lithium option. The listing describes a 12V lithium iron phosphate battery rated at 400 CCA with an integrated battery management system. It is listed with model number ML-U1-CCALI-1506. The listing says it is up to 60 percent lighter than comparable lead-acid batteries, is fully sealed and maintenance free, and mounts in multiple positions except upside down. The listed dimensions are 7.75 by 5.25 by 6.63 inches, with a total height of 7.25 inches. The positive terminal sits on the left and the negative on the right, nut and bolt hardware is included, and the wire harness is not included. The listing states a five-year warranty. The listing excludes upside-down mounting, which is a practical limit for a tray install.
Who each option suits
An owner who wants the closest like-for-like swap should start with a Mighty Max ML-U1 listing that names their exact Toro model. The sealed lead acid units match on voltage and CCA, and the listings give the same dimensions across most Time Cutter models. That makes them the simplest choice when the goal is to replace the battery without changing anything else.
An owner who wants more cranking reserve in the same voltage class should compare the AJC listings. Their stated 300 CCA rating is higher than the Mighty Max 200 CCA rating. The trade-off is that the AJC listings do not give dimensions or a warranty period, so you will need to measure the tray before you order.
An owner who wants the lightest option, and who is comfortable with a lithium battery, should look at the Mighty Max lithium listing. Its five-year warranty is the longest in this group. Because lithium batteries of this type are sensitive to the charger they are used with, check that your existing charging equipment is listed as suitable for a lithium iron phosphate battery before switching.
An owner who wants a larger amp-hour capacity for a different battery role may find the Casil listing useful. It is a 33Ah battery that the listing also describes for scooters and power chairs. For a mower swap, confirm the Toro model and the physical fit before choosing it over a closer match.
Mistakes to avoid
- Matching only the voltage. Two 12V batteries can differ in CCA, size and terminal layout, and any one of those can stop an install.
- Assuming a Toro model named in a title means the battery fits every machine in a series. Read the title and bullets to see which Toro model is named.
- Ignoring the cable. The Mighty Max and lithium listings say the wire harness is not included, so a damaged cable can delay the job.
- Installing a battery upside down when the listing says it must not be mounted that way.
- Leaving a battery on a charger after it is full. Follow the charger instructions for the battery chemistry you choose.
FAQ
Do I need a Toro-specific battery for a Toro zero-turn mower?
The listings in this group are built around Toro model names, but the battery itself is a 12V unit defined by its size, CCA rating and terminal layout. Confirm those three things against the label on your old battery. If they match, the battery will work in the same tray. If the listing names a different Toro model than yours, check the physical figures before you assume the fit.
What does CCA mean on a lawn mower battery?
Cold cranking amps measure how much current a 12V battery can deliver at a low temperature for a set period. A higher rating gives the starter more reserve. The Mighty Max and lithium listings give 200 and 400 CCA ratings, and the AJC listings give 300. Use the rating printed on your old battery as the minimum reference, and compare the listings with it.
Why does terminal layout matter?
The cable on your mower reaches the battery posts in one position. If the battery puts the positive post on the other side, the cable may not reach or may cross the frame. The Mighty Max and lithium listings state positive on the left and negative on the right. The AJC listings give NB terminals, which the data does not explain further.
Is a lithium battery a good swap for a lead-acid one?
The lithium listing says it is lighter, maintenance free and warranted for five years. It also says it is not for upside-down mounting, and it does not include a wire harness. Check that your charging system is suitable for lithium before switching, and follow the manufacturer instructions for the charger you use.
Where should I look for a warranty statement?
The Mighty Max SS4235, MX5060, SS4200 and SS5000 listings state one-year warranties. The lithium listing states five years. The Casil and AJC listings do not state a warranty period in the data, so check the product page or the seller information for the current terms.
How should I store a battery between mowing seasons?
Storage habits affect battery life more than the choice of listing. Our guide on storing a lawn mower battery over winter covers charge level, temperature and cleaning steps that apply to lead-acid and lithium batteries alike.
Bottom line
For a Toro zero-turn mower battery, start with the voltage, CCA, size and terminal layout printed on the battery you are replacing. If a Mighty Max ML-U1 listing names your exact Toro model and matches those figures, it is the most direct choice. If you want more cranking rating, compare the AJC listings. If you want the lightest unit with the longest stated warranty, the lithium listing is the one to check first, provided your charger is suitable for it. Read the listing for your exact model before you order.
For more on keeping a battery ready between seasons, read how to store a lawn mower battery for winter. If you want to know how long a charge should take before the mower is ready, see how long to charge a lawn mower battery.

