Greenworks Cordless Chainsaw Review
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
The Greenworks cordless chainsaw line covers several bar lengths, battery platforms and kit configurations, from 12-inch 24V saws to 82V 20-inch models. This review focuses on the Greenworks 40V 16-inch brushless chainsaw sold with a 4.0Ah battery and charger, listed as model 20312. It is the kit that fits a homeowner who wants one saw for storm cleanup, limbing and firewood, without a gas engine to start or fuel to mix. Every figure below comes from the listing data for that product or the two alternatives named later.
Quick answer
- The 40V 16-inch kit with a 4.0Ah battery and charger is the main pick here, and its listing names a 1.5kW brushless motor and a 16-inch bar and chain.
- The listing says the saw handles trees and limbs up to 28 inches in diameter, and it includes a mechanical chain brake, low-kickback design and an automatic oiler.
- The listing gives a 3-year tool and battery warranty and says the 40V battery works with other Greenworks 40V tools.
- If you want a lighter saw, the 40V 12-inch 2.0Ah model lists a 6-pound weight. If you want more capacity, the 82V 16-inch kit is the step up in the same brand.
Who this saw suits
A cordless chainsaw in the 16-inch class fits a yard with a few mature trees, a line of limbs after a storm, or a woodpile that needs cutting to length. It is a practical choice for a homeowner who cuts occasionally and does not want the maintenance of a two-stroke engine. The listing describes the saw for tree felling, firewood cutting, storm cleanup, limbing and pruning, which matches that use.
It is less suited to continuous professional work or to cutting large-diameter trunks every day. The listing itself points to the 16-inch bar as the right size for trees and limbs up to 28 inches in diameter, and anything beyond that calls for a longer bar or a different saw. Think about the largest cut you expect to make before you choose the bar length.
What the listing states
The listing for model 20312 gives the following points, in the order the bullets present them.
- 16-inch brushless power. The listing describes a 1.5kW brushless motor paired with a 16-inch bar and chain for heavy-duty yard work.
- A 40V 4.0Ah lithium-ion battery. The listing says the battery holds its charge for 12 months or more, so you do not have to recharge between every use.
- A two-step easy start. The listing describes starting without gas, priming or pulling a cord, and it adds a chain brake and low-kickback design for safety.
- An overmolded grip for comfort during longer sessions.
- A built-in automatic oiler with a flip-up cap and a transparent window, so you can see the oil level.
- Tool-free chain tensioning, which the listing says makes bar and chain adjustments quick.
- A 40V platform that works with other Greenworks 40V tools, so the battery has cross-use value.
- A 3-year tool and battery warranty.
The listing does not give a weight for this kit. The tool-only 40V 16-inch saw in the same family, model CS40L02, lists an item weight of 9.7 pounds in its specification fields, which is a useful reference point. The kit with the battery will weigh a little more, and the listing does not say by how much.
Power and battery
The listing describes the motor as brushless and gives a 1.5kW figure. Brushless motors are generally quieter and more efficient than brushed motors, and the listing repeats that claim. The 40V 4.0Ah battery is the energy source. The listing does not give a cutting count for this specific kit, but the tool-only 40V 16-inch saw in the same family is listed as getting up to 100 cuts on 4×4 lumber on a single charge. That figure applies to the tool-only listing, and you should check whether the kit battery matches it before relying on it.
A battery figure worth knowing is the 12-month charge-hold claim in the kit listing. Lithium-ion batteries lose a little charge when stored, and the listing describes the battery as holding charge for a long period. Store the battery indoors at room temperature when you are not using the saw, and charge it before a storm, when you will need it most.
The battery platform matters if you already own Greenworks 40V tools. The listing says the 40V battery works across the 40V line, so a battery bought for a string trimmer or a blower can run this saw. That is a practical advantage over a saw that uses a battery nobody else in the household has.
Cutting and safety features
The listing names three safety features: a mechanical chain brake, a low-kickback design and a two-step start that reduces accidental starts. A chain brake stops the chain when it is activated, and the listing describes it as added protection against kickback. Learn where the brake lever sits before your first cut, and test that it engages with the saw off the ground.
Kickback is the main hazard with any chainsaw. It happens when the tip of the bar contacts wood or another object and the saw jerks back toward the operator. A low-kickback chain reduces that risk, but it does not remove it. Keep the tip clear of the log, hold the saw with both hands, keep your feet set, and avoid cutting above shoulder height.
Protective gear is part of the setup. Use eye protection, hearing protection, cut-resistant chaps or pants, sturdy boots and gloves. A cordless saw is quieter than a gas saw, but it still throws chips and generates noise, and the listing does not replace the manufacturer’s safety instructions in the operator’s manual.
Check the chain tension before every session. The tool-free tensioning in the listing makes this quick, but a loose chain can derail, and a tight chain can overheat the bar. Adjust it with the saw powered off and the battery removed.
Maintenance
The automatic oiler is one of the main maintenance features in this kit. It feeds oil to the bar and chain while the saw runs, and the flip-up cap and transparent window let you check the reservoir without guessing. Fill the reservoir with the oil the manufacturer recommends, and check the level before each use. A dry bar wears quickly and can damage the chain.
Clean the bar groove, remove sawdust from the area around the motor vents, and inspect the chain for dull teeth or damaged links. A dull chain forces more pressure through the saw and makes it work harder, so sharpen or replace the chain when the cut slows. Our guide to electric chainsaw sharpeners compares bench, kit and cordless sharpening options, and a sharp chain asks less of the motor and the battery.
Store the saw with the battery removed, the chain covered and the bar oiled. Keep the scabbard on the bar when you carry the saw. If the saw will sit for a long time, follow the manufacturer’s storage guidance and keep it dry. Protecting the tool from rain and moisture extends its life, and our guide to protecting cordless yard tools from rain covers the basics.
Alternatives in the same line
Two other Greenworks listings in the same family help frame the choice.
Greenworks 40V 14-inch chainsaw with 2.5Ah battery and charger, model CS40L2511
This 40V kit has a 14-inch bar and chain and includes a 2.5Ah battery, fast charger, scabbard and operator’s manual. The listing says it reaches up to 75 cuts on 4×4 lumber on a single charge, and it describes a brushless motor that the listing says provides more torque than a brushed motor. Choose this kit if you cut smaller limbs, want a lighter saw, and do not need the 16-inch bar’s reach. The listing names the 2.5Ah battery in its included components. It does not compare runtime with the 4.0Ah kit, so check the battery size on each listing if run time matters most.
Greenworks 82V 16-inch chainsaw with 4.0Ah battery and charger, model 82CS24-4DP
This 82V kit has a 16-inch bar and chain, a 2.4kW brushless direct drive motor and a 4.0Ah battery rated at 288 watt-hours. The listing says it provides 55cc gas-equivalent power, reaches up to 225 cuts on 4×4 lumber on a single charge, and includes an automatic oiler, mechanical chain brake and wrap-around handle. It is not compatible with Greenworks 80V products, which is an important point if you already own an 80V tool. Choose this model if you need more cutting capacity and are willing to buy into a separate battery platform.
How the main kit compares
| Feature (as listed) | 40V 16-inch kit, model 20312 | 40V 14-inch kit, CS40L2511 | 82V 16-inch kit, 82CS24-4DP |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bar and chain | 16 inches | 14 inches | 16 inches |
| Battery | 40V 4.0Ah | 40V 2.5Ah | 82V 4.0Ah, 288 Wh |
| Motor | 1.5kW brushless | Brushless (power not stated) | 2.4kW brushless direct drive |
| Cut count, 4×4 lumber | Not stated for this kit | Up to 75 | Up to 225 |
| Warranty | 3-year tool and battery | Not stated | Not stated |
| Included | Battery and charger | Battery, charger, scabbard, manual | Battery and charger |
Blank cells mean the listing data does not state the figure.
Buying checklist
- Confirm the bar length against the largest limb or trunk you plan to cut.
- Decide whether you want a kit with a battery and charger or the tool only. The 40V 16-inch model 20312 is the kit version, and the tool-only listing is a separate product.
- If you already own a Greenworks 40V tool, the 40V kit lets you share the battery.
- Check the warranty length in the listing. The 40V 16-inch kit lists three years for the tool and battery.
- Read the operator’s manual before the first cut, and learn the chain brake and start sequence.
FAQ
How big a tree can the 40V 16-inch saw handle?
The listing says the 16-inch bar and chain handles trees and limbs up to 28 inches in diameter. That figure describes the saw’s listed reach, not a promise for every species or cutting angle. For a trunk near the top of that range, take smaller cuts from each side and keep the bar in the straight line of the cut.
Does the battery last a full day of cutting?
The listing does not give a runtime for this kit in hours. It describes the battery as holding charge for 12 months or more between uses. How long one battery lasts while you are cutting depends on the wood, the bar length and the sharpness of the chain. Carry a second battery if you plan a long session.
Is a cordless chainsaw strong enough for firewood?
The listing describes firewood cutting as a use for the 16-inch saw, and the 40V 14-inch listing names firewood cutting too. For regular firewood production, the listing does not give a figure for splitting or bucking volume, so judge the saw by how it handles your typical log diameter.
Can I use the 40V battery with other tools?
Yes, according to the listing. It says the 40V platform works with Greenworks 40V tools. Confirm the battery model matches the tool before buying, since the listing for the 82V alternative says that platform is not compatible with 80V products.
What is the difference between tool only and the kit?
The tool-only listings name the saw, scabbard and operator’s manual, without a battery or charger. The kit listings include a battery and charger. If you already have a compatible Greenworks 40V battery, the tool-only listing lets you skip the battery and charger, but confirm the battery matches the tool before buying.
Bottom line
The Greenworks 40V 16-inch cordless chainsaw kit is a reasonable choice for a homeowner who wants one saw for storm cleanup, limbing and firewood, with a brushless motor, an automatic oiler, a chain brake and a 3-year warranty listed. Choose the 16-inch kit if you cut trunks up to the 28-inch figure in the listing and want the 40V battery to work with other tools. Choose the 14-inch kit for a lighter saw with a smaller battery, and the 82V 16-inch kit when you need more cutting capacity and do not already own 80V products.
Before you buy, read the operator’s manual, check the warranty terms and confirm the battery platform you want to commit to. For related cordless yard tool guidance, read our guide to electric chainsaw sharpeners and how to protect cordless yard tools from rain.


