Cordless mower shown alone with its empty battery compartment open

What “Tool Only” Means on a Cordless Mower Listing

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

If you are asking what does tool only mean on cordless mower listings, the short answer is that the battery and the charger are not in the box. The machine itself is the product being sold. Listings use several phrases for the same idea, such as Tool Only, Bare product, Bare tool and Not Included. This guide shows where those phrases appear on the manufacturer pages we opened, how to read them, and what the listings do not tell you about price, runtime or availability.

Quick answer

  • “Tool only” means the listing includes the tool and leaves out the battery and the charger.
  • Manufacturers show it in the listing title, in a buying option, in a spec table, or in a notice near the top of the page.
  • A tool-only mower needs a compatible battery and charger before it can run. The listing’s compatibility sentence tells you which batteries those are.
  • Read the battery and charger rows before you buy. If either says Not Included, confirm that you already own a compatible pair or choose a kit option.

What the phrase means on a listing

A tool-only listing describes a product without its power source. On a cordless mower, that is the mower without the battery pack and the charger. The sources we opened use different labels for this. Husqvarna’s US trimmer page shows the tool-only version as a buying option and gives the battery and the charger a Not included line in its specifications. EGO’s 21-inch mower page lists a Tool Only configuration with the battery and the charger each marked Not Included. DEWALT’s hedge trimmer page has a bare tool notice that says the item does not include a battery or charger.

Ryobi’s 40V mower page takes a different approach. It offers a choice under Shop Toolkit Options, with one option labeled Tool Only and another labeled as two 6Ah batteries with a charger. The second option includes the batteries and the charger. The first is the mower on its own. Ryobi’s ONE+ line appears in another guide on this site, the Ryobi 18V ONE+ cordless hedge trimmer guide, and cordless grass shears and hedge trimmers are covered in the cordless grass shear and hedge trimmer guide.

The phrase is a description of what is in the box, not a judgment about quality. A tool-only listing says nothing about the motor, the deck or the warranty unless the page states those things separately. Read each listing on its own terms rather than assuming that two mowers with similar names include the same parts.

Where the wording appears on a listing

On the pages we opened, the wording shows up in four places, and you should check all four before you buy.

The listing title

DEWALT puts the phrase in the listing title itself. Its hedge trimmer is titled 20V MAX 22 in. Cordless Hedge Trimmer (Tool Only). Husqvarna does the same with its trimmer, which is named 220iL (tool only). The name is the quickest signal, but it is not the only one.

The buying options

Husqvarna’s trimmer page offers two buying options under the same product: one for the tool only, and one for the battery and charger included. Ryobi’s mower page works the same way under its Shop Toolkit Options heading. When a page gives you a choice like this, the two choices are the most direct way to see what each price covers.

The specification or configuration table

The tables are where the details sit. On the Husqvarna tool-only page, the battery and battery charger lines both read Not included, and the number of batteries included is 0. On EGO’s mower page, the configuration table has columns for the battery and the charger. The tool-only row reads Not Included in both columns, while the kit row reads 6.0 Ah included under Battery and 320W included under Charger.

The notice near the product description

DEWALT’s hedge trimmer page includes a notice labeled Bare tool notice. It says the item does not include a battery or charger, and that compatible batteries and accessories can be found within the 20V MAX system. That sentence is the clearest plain-language statement of what tool only means on the pages we opened.

A reading checklist for any cordless mower listing

  1. Read the listing title. Look for Tool Only, tool only or a similar phrase in the title or the configuration name. If the name says nothing, keep going, because some pages put the detail in a table or option instead.
  2. Find the options or toolkit choices. A page with a Tool Only choice and a battery-and-charger choice is telling you what each price covers. Check which one you are looking at before you add it to a cart.
  3. Check the battery and charger rows. The Husqvarna and EGO pages show these as Not included or Not Included. A row that reads 6.0 Ah included or 320W included means the listed kit includes that item.
  4. Check the number of batteries. Husqvarna’s tool-only trimmer lists the number of batteries included as 0. If a page gives a number, use it rather than assuming a kit includes one.
  5. Read the compatibility sentence. EGO states that the 21-inch mower is compatible with all EGO 56V ARC Lithium batteries. That sentence names the battery family for that mower. If you own a different battery family, you still need the page to name it.
  6. Check your own battery family. If you already own a DEWALT 20V MAX pack, the product page you are buying is still the final answer. For one DEWALT example of battery choice, see the batteries for a DEWALT leaf blower guide on this site.

Side by side: what each listing says is included

The table below lists the battery and charger wording for each listing we opened. Where the page does not state the battery or charger for a particular option, the table says “not stated.”

Listing Battery wording Charger wording Options shown on the page Source
Husqvarna 220iL (tool only), US Not included Not included 220iL (tool only); 220iL (battery and charger included) Husqvarna US trimmer page
EGO POWER+ 21-inch Self-Propelled (Tool Only) Not Included Not Included Tool-only row and a kit row on the same configuration table EGO POWER+ 21-inch mower page
EGO POWER+ 21-inch Self-Propelled Kit (6.0Ah Battery) 6.0 Ah included 320W included Kit row on the same configuration table EGO POWER+ 21-inch mower page
DEWALT 20V MAX 22 in. Cordless Hedge Trimmer (Tool Only) Not included, per the bare tool notice Not included, per the bare tool notice Tool Only in the listing title DEWALT hedge trimmer page
RYOBI 40V HP Brushless 21-inch Self-Propelled Mower (RY40HPLM01B) Not stated for the Tool Only option Not stated for the Tool Only option Tool Only; (2) 6Ah Batteries/Charger RYOBI 40V mower listing

The table shows that the same phrase can come with different detail. EGO and Husqvarna give separate battery and charger lines, DEWALT gives one notice that covers both, and Ryobi gives option labels without a per-option breakdown. A buyer comparing these pages should not expect them to match line for line.

Two EGO rows in one mower family

EGO’s configuration table places the tool-only mower and the kit in the same family. The tool-only row is named with (Tool Only) and lists the battery and charger as Not Included. The kit row is named with a 6.0Ah battery and lists 6.0 Ah included under Battery. The two rows are different products in the same range, so the listing you choose decides what arrives.

EGO also states that the mower is compatible with all EGO 56V ARC Lithium batteries. A buyer who already owns one of those batteries still needs a charger, and the page does not state which chargers match the tool-only row. A buyer with a battery from another family cannot rely on that sentence, because it names only EGO’s 56V ARC Lithium line. The page says the battery and charger for the tool-only row are not included, so the match has to come from parts you own or from a kit option.

Safety before you connect a battery

Use only the battery and charger the listing names as compatible. DEWALT says compatible batteries and accessories can be found within its 20V MAX system. Husqvarna says its interchangeable batteries can be used in all Husqvarna battery tools. EGO names its 56V ARC Lithium line. None of the pages we opened says that a battery from one brand fits another brand’s tool, so do not assume a match across brands.

Remove the battery before you clean under a mower. EGO’s FAQ on its 21-inch mower page says to first remove the safety key and the battery before you clean the underside of that mower. The same FAQ tells owners to check the owner’s manual for complete instructions. That instruction is for EGO’s mower, so use your own mower’s manual for its procedure.

How we chose

We opened four manufacturer pages on 2026-10-22 and cite all four: the Husqvarna US trimmer page, the EGO POWER+ 21-inch mower page, the DEWALT hedge trimmer page and the RYOBI 40V mower page. The Husqvarna and DEWALT pages are not mowers. We cite them because they show the same wording and their specification detail. We did not cite a retail listing for any inclusion claim, and we did not rank the four listings. Each statement in this guide is tied to a quoted sentence on one of the four pages.

What we could not verify

  • Whether any listing above is available to order today. The EGO page shows Coming Soon text in its product list, and the text we opened does not say how that label applies to each row.
  • Whether the price of a tool-only option is lower than a kit that includes a battery and charger. None of the pages we opened gives a price comparison in the text we read.
  • Whether the battery you own is compatible with a specific tool-only mower. That depends on the listing’s compatibility sentence and the parts you already have.
  • Whether a retailer uses the same wording as the manufacturer. We did not open any retailer listing for an inclusion claim.

What the sources do not say

  • No page opened for this guide defines tool only in a standard or regulated sentence. Each brand uses its own wording.
  • No page says whether a tool-only option costs less than a kit. This guide does not compare prices.
  • No page lists every item that a tool-only box contains, such as manuals or accessories. Those details are not stated.
  • No page says that a battery from another brand works in a tool-only listing.

FAQ

What does tool only mean on a cordless mower listing?

It means the listing sells the mower without the battery and the charger. The EGO tool-only row reads Not Included for both, and the DEWALT bare tool notice says the item does not include a battery or charger. You need a compatible battery and charger before the mower can run.

Does tool only mean the mower has no motor or deck?

No. The mower is the product in the listing. What is left out is the power source, meaning the battery and the charger. Anything else the listing describes as part of the mower is still part of the product, although the pages we opened do not list every part in full.

Is the battery always missing from a tool-only listing?

The tool-only option leaves it out. The same product page may offer a kit option that includes one, as the EGO kit row and the Ryobi toolkit option show. Check which option you are adding to the cart.

Can I use a tool-only mower with a battery I already own?

Only if the listing names your battery as compatible. EGO says its mower is compatible with all EGO 56V ARC Lithium batteries. A battery from another family is not covered by that sentence, and the pages we opened do not say it fits another brand’s tool.

What does Number of batteries included 0 mean?

On Husqvarna’s tool-only trimmer page, the specification table lists zero batteries included. The same page offers a second option that includes a battery and charger. For that product, the zero is the tool-only count, not a general rule about every Husqvarna listing.

Where do I see what is in the box?

Look for the included list on the product page. EGO’s mower page has a See What’s Included link, and the specification or configuration tables show battery and charger rows. For anything the page does not list, the answer is not stated, so check the manual or ask the seller before you buy.

Bottom line

Before you buy, read the battery and charger rows on the exact listing you are adding to the cart. If either says Not Included, confirm that you own a compatible pair or choose a kit option that includes them.

Sources

Similar Posts