Best Worx Hedge Trimmer Battery and Charger Picks
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details
Worx hedge trimmer battery and charger compatibility causes confusion because Worx uses 20V PowerShare and larger Max packs that are not interchangeable. This guide helps you match a replacement charger to the battery you already own for hedge trimmers such as WG252, WG261 and WG801 series models. You will learn how to tell voltages apart, what single-port versus dual-port means for your routine, and which listing details to check before you order. All specs below come from the product listings. No battery is included with these charger picks, so confirm your battery model number first.
Quick answer
If you need a worx hedge trimmer battery and charger replacement, start with voltage. Most Worx 20V hedge trimmers use slide-in 20V Max or 18V PowerShare packs such as WA3520, WA3525, WA3575 and WA3578. Larger Worx tools use bigger Max packs such as WA3580 and WA3536. The chargers in this guide do not include a battery. You are buying the charger only.
For one 20V battery, a compact single-port 20V replacement is simple to store and use. For two packs used in dual-pack mowers or for back-to-back trimming, a dual-port 20V charger saves waiting time. For larger-voltage hedge tools, you need the matching larger-voltage charger, not a 20V charger. If you want the original-brand option, choose the Worx-branded 25-minute quick charger, but check the listing exclusion for WA3578 and WA3671 before you buy. Always follow the manual for charging, storage, and blade work, including removing the battery before touching the blade area.
What matters for this keyword
1. Voltage match
Voltage is the first filter. A 20V charger lists Output Voltage as 20 volts. A larger-voltage charger lists a higher Output Voltage. They are not interchangeable. Check your battery label for 20V Max, 20V PowerShare, 18V, or larger Max markings. Then check the charger Compatible Devices or battery list. If your pack is WA3580 or WA3536, you need the larger-voltage option. If your pack is WA3520, WA3525, WA3575, WA3578, WA3512, WA3522 or WA3544, you need a 20V option. When in doubt, check the product listing and your tool manual.
2. Exact battery model fit
Worx changed pack numbers over time. The listings name specific packs. Look for your exact WA number in the bullets or Compatible Devices field. Also check hedge trimmer model fit where stated. One listing names WG252, WG255, WG261 and WG801 series hedge trimmers. Another names WG180, WG280, WG580 and WG776 for larger-voltage tools. Do not assume a charger fits because the plug looks similar. Pod-style versus slide-in style matters, and one listing states it fits slide-in style only.
3. Ports and charge time claim
Number of Ports tells you how many batteries charge at once. Five picks here list 1 port. One pick lists 2 ports with 20V 2A per port. Battery Charge Time in the data ranges from 25 minutes to 5 hours, depending on model and battery size. Those times are manufacturer or seller claims. Real charge time varies with battery amp-hours, age, temperature and outlet conditions. If you run two packs in rotation, dual-port simultaneous charging changes your day more than a small difference in claimed minutes.
4. Input power and size
Input Voltage in the data includes 120 volts, 240 volts, or 100-240V universal input. For US wall outlets, confirm 120V or 100-240V support in the listing. Product Dimensions and Item Weight affect bench space and travel. Examples in this set include 5″D x 3.6″W x 3.3″H, 4″D x 2″W x 2.6″H, and 10.2″D x 6.6″W x 4.3″H for the dual-port unit. Item Weight is stated as 1.5 pounds for the Worx-branded quick charger. If space is tight, smaller single-port units are easier to place.
5. Indicators and protections stated
All picks describe LED indicators for charging, full charge, temperature delay or defective battery. Wording differs by seller. Protections named in the data include overcharge, overcurrent, overvoltage, overload, overheating and short-circuit protection. One listing cites CE, FCC and RoHS. Another cites FCC and UL. The listing states the certification, not an independent safety finding. Read the exact indicator meanings before first use, because flashing green versus solid green has different meanings by model.
6. Brand and warranty support
One pick is Worx-branded. The others are replacement-brand chargers that state compatibility with Worx packs. The listings state a 1-year warranty, 1 YEAR MANUFACTURER term, or 30-day refund plus 1-year warranty. Non-OEM status matters if you prefer original parts for warranty or support reasons. Replacement brands state they were tested to match OEM specs, but that is a seller claim. Keep your battery model, trimmer model and order details if you need support.
Replacement chargers that fit Worx hedge trimmer batteries
These picks are charger-only units for Worx lithium packs used in hedge trimmers and other PowerShare tools. None includes a battery. Confirm your WA battery number and trimmer model in the listing before ordering.
1. Worx WA3835 20V Powershare & 18V MaxLithium 25 min Quick Battery Charger (Best overall)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-11):
- Brand: WORX
- Product Dimensions: 5"D x 7.35"W x 3.35"H
- Item Weight: 1.5 pounds
- Battery Charge Time: 25 minutes
- Compatible Devices: WORX WA3520, WA3525, WA3512, WA3512.1, WA3522, WA3544, WA3575, 18V and 20V lithium batteries (excluding WA3578 and WA3671)
- Number of Ports: 1
- Specification Met: FCC, UL
Pros
- Worx-branded quick charger with stated 25 minutes charge time
- Names many WG series charge models in listing
- Built-in charge indicator stated
Cons
- Excludes WA3578 and WA3671 batteries
- Specs show conflicting Output Voltage and Input Voltage values; check listing
- Charger only; battery not included
Best for: Owners who want original-brand charger for listed WA packs
Skip if: You own WA3578, WA3671, or a larger-voltage Max pack
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
2. WA3742 Charger for 20V Lithium Battery WA3520 WA3525 WA3578, Cell9102 Replacement Worx Battery (Best compact single-port)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-11):
- Brand: CELL9102
- Output Voltage: 20 volts
- Input Voltage: 120 volts
- Battery Charge Time: 1 hour
- Amperage: 2 A
- Product Dimensions: 5"D x 3.6"W x 3.3"H
- Compatible Devices: WA3578, WA3520, WA3525, WA3575
- Number of Ports: 1
Pros
- States 20 volts output with 120 volts input
- States 1 hour charge time and 2 A amperage
- Compact 5 x 3.6 x 3.3 in size with LED status
Cons
- Single port only, so second pack must wait in rotation
- 1 hour time is seller claim and varies by pack
Best for: One-battery owners with small storage space
Skip if: You need larger-voltage support or two-bay charging
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
3. Dual Channel Fast Charger WA3875 2Port Replacement for Worx Battery Charger (Best dual-port)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-11):
- Brand: Cabeattee
- Output Voltage: 20 volts
- Product Dimensions: 10.2"D x 6.6"W x 4.3"H
- Amperage: 2 A
- Compatible Devices: Worx 20V Max Lithium-ion batteries including models WA3525, WA3575, WA3520, WA3578, WA3522, WA3544, WA3671, WA3512
- Number of Ports: 2
- Output: 20V 2A*2
- Replacement for WORX Charger: Replaces for WORX 20v battery charger WA3742, WA3875, WA3732/50023391, WA3847, WA3835, WA3868, WA3881, WA3884, WA3770
Pros
- Two independent bays for simultaneous charging
- States 20V 2A per port for balanced charging
- Detailed LED meanings for charging and faults
Cons
- Largest footprint at 10.2 x 6.6 x 4.3 in
- Single-voltage design for listed PowerShare packs only
- Charger only; batteries not included
Best for: Owners rotating two packs across trimmer and other tools
Skip if: You own only one pack or a larger-voltage system
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
4. Charger for WA3747, Compatible with Worx 40V Max Lithium Battery Charger for Trimmer, Hedge (Best for larger-voltage)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-11):
- Brand: ANOITD
- Output Voltage: 40 volts
- Input Voltage: 240 volts
- Compatible Devices: WG180, WG280, WG380, WG580, WG776
- Number of Ports: 1
- Warranty Description: 1 YEAR MANUFACTURER
Pros
- Only pick with 40 volts output for larger Max packs
- Names WG180, WG280, WG580, WG776 fit
- States CE, FCC, ROHS certification in listing
Cons
- Does not fit smaller-voltage PowerShare packs
- No charge time stated in listing
Best for: Larger-voltage hedge tool owners with WA3580 or WA3536
Skip if: Your trimmer uses smaller-voltage PowerShare batteries
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
5. WA3742 for Worx 20V Battery Charger for WA3575 WA3674 WA3525 Lithium (Best wide model fit)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-11):
- Brand: Verful
- Output Voltage: 20 volts_of_direct_current
- Input Voltage: 120 volts
- Battery Charge Time: 5 hours
- Amperage: 0.4 A
- Compatible Devices: Worx battery models: WA3520, WA3522, WA3525, WA3537, WA3544, WA3571, WA3575, WA3578, WA3606, WA3669, WA3669.2, WA3671, WA3674, WA3675, WA3678, WA3742, WA3764
- For Worx Hedge Trimmers: WG252 WG252.9 WG255 WG255.1 WG261 WG261.9 WG801 WG801.9
- Number of Ports: 1
Pros
- Explicit hedge trimmer model list including WG252, WG261, WG801 series
- Wide WA battery compatibility list
- LED charging and full-charge indication stated
Cons
- States 5 hours charge time and 0.4 A output; slowest stated in this set
- Single port only, so added wait when rotating two packs
- Charger only; Without Battery stated
Best for: Owners who want to match exact hedge trimmer model numbers
Skip if: You need fast turnaround for large packs
Check the listing before buying: the text suggests this item may be sold without a battery and/or charger.
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
6. WA3742 Charger Compatible with WORX 20V Lithium Battery (Best pocket size)
Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-11):
- Brand: Tulepowceeng
- Output Voltage: 20 volts
- Input Voltage: 240 volts
- Product Dimensions: 4"D x 2"W x 2.6"H
- Compatible Devices: Worx 20V and 18V lithium batteries: WA3520, WA3525, WA3578, WA3575, WA3512, WA3732, WA3875, WA3881
- Number of Items: 1
- Warranty Description: 1 Year
Pros
- Smallest stated size at 4 x 2 x 2.6 in
- Names many slide-in packs
- LED diagnostics for charge and temperature stated
Cons
- Input Voltage spec conflicts with 100V-240V bullet; check listing
- No charge time stated
- Not for pod-style or larger-voltage packs; charger only
Best for: Travel or small-bench charging for slide-in packs
Skip if: You have pod-style packs or larger-voltage batteries
View on Amazon (affiliate link)
1. Worx-branded 25-minute quick charger — best for original-brand preference
This is the Worx WA3835 PowerShare and 18V quick charger option for owners who want the same brand as the battery. The listing states Output Voltage as 240 volts in the specs field and Input Voltage as 18 volts, which conflicts with the charger title and description, so rely on neither number for outlet planning and check the product listing and manual for input requirements. The listing states Battery Charge Time as 25 minutes and Item Weight as 1.5 pounds. Product Dimensions are 5″D x 7.35″W x 3.35″H. Number of Ports is 1.
Fit centers on WA3520, WA3525, WA3512, WA3512.1, WA3522, WA3544 and WA3575, plus 18V and 20V lithium batteries with stated exclusions. The listing states it is not for use with WA3578 or WA3671 batteries. That exclusion is the key limit. It also names WG151, 154, 155, 156, 157, 160, 163, 251, 255, 320 through 323 and other series models in the charge-model list. The listing does not state a battery is included. Who should skip it: skip if you own WA3578, WA3671, or a larger-voltage Max pack from another system.
2. Compact single-port replacement — best for small storage
This Cell9102 replacement is a small single-port charger for PowerShare packs. Output Voltage is 20 volts. Input Voltage is 120 volts. Battery Charge Time is 1 hour. Amperage is 2 A. Product Dimensions are 5″D x 3.6″W x 3.3″H. Number of Ports is 1. The specs also note 7.2 ounce carry weight in the bullets. Specification Met is listed as CE, FCC.
Compatibility names WA3578, WA3520, WA3525 and WA3575 in the Compatible Devices field, with wider PowerShare support described in the bullets. The LED indicator is described as showing charging status in real time and going to sleep after full charge. Limits: one battery at a time, and 1-hour time is a seller claim that will vary with pack size and condition. Who should skip it: skip if you need larger-voltage support or dual-bay charging.
3. Dual-port charger — best for two-pack rotation
This Cabeattee unit is the only pick here with Number of Ports listed as 2. Output is described as 20V 2A per port. Output Voltage is 20 volts. Input is listed as 100-240V 50/60Hz. Product Dimensions are 10.2″D x 6.6″W x 4.3″H. Amperage is 2 A. The marks named for compliance are CE, FCC, plus RoHS.
It is described as a replacement for WA3875, WA3770, WA3742, WA3881 and WA3847 charger numbers, for 20V Max packs including WA3525, WA3575, WA3520, WA3578, WA3522 and WA3544. The bullets describe simultaneous charging for users of dual-pack tools. LED meanings are listed as flashing green for charging, solid green for full, solid red for standby or overheating, and flashing red for defective battery. Limit: larger bench footprint than single-port units. Who should skip it: skip if you own only one pack or a larger-voltage system from another line.
4. Larger-voltage charger — best for larger Max hedge tools
This ANOITD unit is the only larger-voltage pick in this set. Output Voltage is 40 volts. Input Voltage is 240 volts. Number of Ports is 1. Compatible Devices are listed as WG180, WG280, WG380, WG580 and WG776. The bullets state compatibility with lithium battery WA3580 and WA3536 and charger WA3877.
That voltage focus is the reason to choose it, and also the reason smaller-voltage PowerShare owners must avoid it. The specification field shows ce, fcc, rohs in lower case. Warranty Description is listed as 1 YEAR MANUFACTURER. The listing does not state a battery is included and does not state charge time. Limit: no stated charge time and no dual-port option, so plan around one pack at a time. Who should skip it: skip if your hedge trimmer uses smaller-voltage PowerShare packs.
5. Wide-fit replacement with hedge trimmer list — best for model checking
This Verful WA3742 replacement lists many Worx tool models, including a hedge trimmer group. Output Voltage is listed as 20 volts_of_direct_current. Input Voltage is 120 volts. Battery Charge Time is 5 hours. Amperage is 0.4 A. Product Dimensions are 7.4″D x 5.1″W x 1.7″H. Number of Ports is 1.
The hedge trimmer fit list includes WG252, WG252.9, WG255, WG255.1, WG261, WG261.9, WG801 and WG801.9. Battery fit includes WA3520, WA3522, WA3525, WA3537, WA3544, WA3571, WA3575, WA3578 and others. The bullets state Without Battery. LED behavior is described as flashing green for charging and steady green for full. Limit: 5-hour charge time claim is the longest stated here and 0.4 A output is low, so it is slow for large packs. Who should skip it: skip if you need fast turnaround or charge packs excluded by other original chargers without confirming this listing first.
6. Pocket-size replacement — best for travel kit
This Tulepowceeng WA3742-compatible charger is the smallest unit here by stated dimensions. Output Voltage is 20 volts. Input Voltage is 240 volts in the specs field, while the bullets state Input Voltage as 100V-240V, so check the product listing for US outlet use and rely on neither figure alone. Product Dimensions are 4″D x 2″W x 2.6″H. Number of Items is 1. Warranty Description is listed as 1 Year.
Compatibility names Worx 20V and 18V lithium batteries including WA3520, WA3525, WA3578, WA3575, WA3512, WA3732, WA3875 and WA3881. The bullets state fit for slide-in style lithium battery and not for pod-style battery. LED diagnostics are described for charging, fully charged, defective battery and temperature abnormal states. Limit: single port and compact housing with no stated charge time, so heat and placement matter. Who should skip it: skip if you have a pod-style pack or a larger-voltage Max pack.
How to choose the right Worx charger
Start with the battery label. Write down the WA number, voltage and Ah if shown. Then match that WA number word for word in the charger listing. A search for dewalt hedge trimmer with battery and charger or ryobi hedge trimmer battery and charger will show different battery systems that do not fit Worx tools, so do not cross-shop by voltage alone.
Next, match the tool. If you own a 20V hedge trimmer such as WG261 or WG801, use a 20V charger that names those models or the WA pack you own. If you own a larger-voltage tool such as WG580 or WG776 series, use the matching larger-voltage charger. For background on other brands, see Best Dewalt Cordless Hedge Trimmer with Battery and Charger and Best Ryobi 40v 24 in Cordless Battery Hedge Trimmer.
Then decide ports. One battery and short hedges: single-port is enough. Two batteries, long hedges, or shared 20V tools: dual-port reduces waiting. If you also maintain other Worx 20V tools, a charger that names drills, saws and blowers in the fit list is easier to keep in one place. For blower owners, see Best Ryobi Leaf Blower with Battery and Charger.
Check indicators before first charge. Learn the difference between charging, full, hot or cold delay, and defective signals. Place the charger on a hard, dry surface with airflow. Follow the manual for storage and charging temperature. Disconnect the battery from the trimmer before blade cleaning or inspection. If you need mower battery background, see Best Worx 24v Lawn Mower Battery.
Finally, check what is in the box. All picks in this guide are charger-only by the listings. You will still need your existing Worx battery. If your battery no longer holds charge, you need a new battery plus a charger, not just this charger. For related battery topics, see Best Lawn Mower Battery Voltage and Amps and Best Sun Joe Lawn Mower Battery Charger.
Define the scenario once: you own two Worx 20V slide-in packs. You trim hedges with one pack while the other charges. The single-port replacement claims Battery Charge Time of 1 hour per pack. The dual-port replacement can charge both packs at the same time, with each bay also rated at about 1 hour in this scenario.
Step 1: Single-port sequential time = 1 hour + 1 hour = 2 hours. Step 2: Verify: 60 minutes + 60 minutes = 120 minutes, which equals 2 hours. Step 3: Dual-port simultaneous time = maximum of 1 hour and 1 hour = 1 hour. Step 4: Verify: both bays run together, so total wait = 60 minutes = 1 hour. Step 5: Time saved = 2 hours − 1 hour = 1 hour. Step 6: Verify: 120 minutes − 60 minutes = 60 minutes, which equals 1 hour saved. Step 7: Percentage reduction = 60 minutes ÷ 120 minutes × 100 = 50%.
So with two packs, simultaneous charging cuts claimed waiting time by half in this estimate. If your packs are larger, older, hot from use, or the room is cold, both options take longer.
Comparison table
| Charger | Voltage | Ports | Stated charge time | Size / weight from listing | Key fit from listing |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Worx WA3835 original-brand | Specs list Output 240 volts with title conflict; check listing | 1 | 25 minutes | 5″D x 7.35″W x 3.35″H; 1.5 pounds | WA3520, WA3525, WA3512, WA3522, WA3544, WA3575; not WA3578 or WA3671 |
| Cell9102 single-port | 20 volts | 1 | 1 hour | 5″D x 3.6″W x 3.3″H | WA3520, WA3525, WA3575, WA3578 |
| Cabeattee dual-port | 20 volts, 20V 2A per port | 2 | Check listing; per-port 2 A stated | 10.2″D x 6.6″W x 4.3″H | WA3525, WA3575, WA3520, WA3578, WA3522, WA3544 |
| ANOITD larger-voltage | 40 volts | 1 | Not stated | Check listing | WA3580, WA3536; WG180, WG280, WG380, WG580, WG776 |
| Verful wide-fit | 20 volts DC | 1 | 5 hours | 7.4″D x 5.1″W x 1.7″H | WG252, WG261, WG801 series; many WA35xx and WA36xx packs |
| Tulepowceeng compact | 20 volts; input spec conflict, check listing | 1 | Not stated | 4″D x 2″W x 2.6″H | Slide-in packs; not pod-style |
5 common mistakes
1. Buying the wrong voltage for your battery
Worx PowerShare and larger Max packs use different chargers. A larger Max battery such as WA3580 will not charge correctly on a smaller-voltage charger. Read the battery label first, then filter chargers by Output Voltage.
2. Ignoring the WA3578 and WA3671 exclusions
The Worx-branded WA3835 listing excludes WA3578 and WA3671. If you own those packs, that original-brand pick is the wrong choice even though the voltage looks right. Match the exact WA number.
3. Assuming a battery is in the box
Every pick here is charger-only. The listings state 1 Count charger or Without Battery. If your old battery is dead, a new charger alone will not restore runtime. You need a replacement battery too.
4. Mixing brands by voltage alone
A ryobi hedge trimmer battery and charger set uses Ryobi packs, not Worx PowerShare. A dewalt hedge trimmer with battery and charger set uses DeWalt packs. Voltage numbers do not make brands compatible. Never assume cross-brand fit.
5. Blocking airflow or missing indicator meanings
Chargers need a hard, dry surface and space around the vents. A flashing red or temperature-delay signal does not mean full charge. Read the LED section in the listing and manual before leaving a pack on the charger.
Buying scenarios
One hedge trimmer, one battery
Choose a compact single-port 20V replacement. Charge after each trim, let the pack cool first, and store the battery per the manual. Keep the charger where you can see the LED.
Two packs shared with other tools
Choose the dual-port 20V charger. You can replenish both packs at once instead of swapping one at a time. This fits owners who also run a Worx blower, drill or saw on the same PowerShare packs.
Larger-voltage hedge tool owner
Choose the larger-voltage charger only. Confirm WA3580 or WA3536 on your pack and WG180, WG280, WG580 or WG776 on your tool where applicable. Do not buy any smaller-voltage pick on this page for that battery.
Charger care and safety notes
Place chargers indoors on a stable surface unless the manual states otherwise. Keep vents clear. Let hot packs cool before charging. Store and charge batteries per the manual. Disconnect the battery from the hedge trimmer before cleaning, clearing jams or inspecting blades. Do not open, repair or modify batteries or chargers. If a pack is swollen, leaking, very hot or flagged as defective by the charger LED, stop use and follow the manual or contact the maker or seller.
Walk-behind mower safety rules show why guards and labels matter for powered cutting tools. A US consumer product safety standard prescribes labeling and performance requirements for certain walk-behind power lawn mowers, with performance rules for rotary mowers and labeling for rotary and reel mowers. The standard defines a walk behind power lawn mower as a grass cutting machine with a minimum cutting width of 12 in that uses an engine or motor. It aims to reduce injury from contact with the rotating blade, and shields are tested so a foot probe cannot enter the blade path and must withstand a 50 lb static tensile force for at least 10 seconds.
FAQ
Will a smaller-voltage Worx charger charge my larger hedge trimmer battery?
No. Match Output Voltage to your pack. Use the larger-voltage charger for WA3580 or WA3536 packs and a 20V charger for PowerShare packs. Check the product listing for your exact WA number.
Do any picks in this guide include a battery?
No. The listings describe charger-only units. One listing states Without Battery and others list Unit Count as 1 Count for the charger. You must use your existing Worx battery.
What does WA3742, WA3835 or WA3875 mean?
Those are Worx charger model numbers. Replacement brands state they replace those numbers. The model alone does not prove fit. Confirm your battery WA number and tool model too.
Why does the Worx original charger exclude some batteries?
The Worx WA3835 listing states it is not for use with WA3578 or WA3671 batteries. Battery control and connector details differ. If you own those packs, choose a replacement that names them.
Can I use a DeWalt or Ryobi charger on a Worx battery?
No. Battery platforms are brand-specific. A dewalt hedge trimmer with battery and charger uses DeWalt packs, and a ryobi hedge trimmer battery and charger uses Ryobi packs. Use only a charger that states Worx fit.
How do I read the LED on these chargers?
Meanings vary. Common patterns are flashing green for charging, solid green for full, and red or flashing red for temperature delay or defective battery. Read the exact listing and manual, because patterns differ by model.
How long will charging take?
Listings here claim 25 minutes, 1 hour or 5 hours depending on model, but those are seller claims for specific packs and conditions. Real time varies with amp-hours, pack age, temperature and power supply. If turnaround matters, a dual-port unit helps more than chasing the shortest claim.
Bottom line
Match voltage first, then the exact WA battery number and hedge trimmer model. Choose single-port 20V if you own one pack, dual-port 20V if you rotate two packs, and the larger-voltage option only if your pack reads larger Max such as WA3580. Skip the Worx-branded quick charger if you own WA3578 or WA3671. Before you buy, confirm in the listing that the battery is not included, that your WA number is named, and that input power suits your outlet.
Sources
- 16 CFR Part 1205 walk-behind mower safety standard: cutting width definition and blade-contact risk purpose
- 16 CFR Part 1205 shields and probes: foot probe and 50 lb shield test