Best CRAFTSMAN Lawn Edger Tool

Best CRAFTSMAN Lawn Edger Tool

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

If you are searching for the best craftsman lawn edger tool, this page covers one corded electric edger: the CRAFTSMAN Lawn Edger Tool, Corded, 12 Amp, model CMEED400, ASIN B083X62NTD. The listing states a corded electric power source, a 12 amp motor, a 10.6 inch cutting width, three blade-depth settings and an 11.5 pound weight. It does not state a cord length, a guard or a warranty. The Virginia Tech guide and two Oklahoma State pages cover lawn edgers in general, not this model. Use the sections below to decide whether a corded edger fits your yard.

Quick answer

  • The listing says this is a corded electric edger with a 12 amp motor. You need a working outlet near the edges you plan to cut.
  • The listing gives a 10.6 inch cutting width and three blade-depth settings. The sources we opened do not confirm how this model performs with either.
  • The listing does not state the cord length or whether the edger has a guard. Check both before you buy, because the safety sources treat the cord and the guard as central.
  • The listing gives an item weight of 11.5 pounds, which is heavier than the figure the Virginia Tech guide gives for smaller electric edgers. Treat that comparison as rough.

The product at a glance

The table lists only what the stored listing scan states, and it marks “not stated” where the listing is silent. The data was read from a stored scan dated 2026-10-11.

Item What the listing states
Brand CRAFTSMAN
Model CMEED400
Item type Edger
Power source Corded electric
Motor 12 amp, described as high torque
Cutting width 10.6 inches
Blade-depth settings 3
Line cutting guide Included, per the bullets
Handle Adjustable auxiliary handle
Item weight 11.5 pounds
Dimensions 14.39 in long, 9.55 in wide
Included parts CMEED400 Electric Edger and Edger Blade
Cord length Not stated
Battery and charger None listed; the power source is corded electric
Guard Not stated
Blade material and diameter Not stated
Warranty Not stated
Storage VERSATRACK hook, per the bullets

View on Amazon

Who it suits

This edger suits a person who has a working outlet close to the edge line and who wants a corded tool rather than a battery tool. The listing describes a “12 Amp high torque motor of the edger trimmer” that “cuts through tough turf.” That is the listing’s own claim. The sources we opened do not cover this model’s cutting performance, so read the claim as unverified.

It also suits someone who wants more control over the depth of the cut. The listing says “3 blade-depth settings allows you to control the cut for detailed edging.” It adds a “Line cutting guide” that the listing says gives “precision and control while edging along hard surfaces or trenching around borders.” Those are features the listing names. Whether they work as described is not something the sources we opened address.

The 10.6 inch figure is labeled cutting width in the specs, and the listing does not explain how that width is determined. Do not read it as the depth of the cut, which the listing does not give in inches at all.

The category needs context. The Virginia Tech guide states that “Edgers may be manual or mechanical.” It says that “Mechanical edgers are powered either by a small two-cycle gasoline engine or by an electric motor,” and that “The smaller electric edgers weigh approximately 3 pounds and generate about 0.10 to 0.125 horsepower.” The listing’s 11.5 pound weight is far above that figure. The guide does not say what counts as a smaller electric edger, so the comparison shows the difference in weight, not a verdict on this model.

Skip it if

  • You need to edge far from an outlet. The listing states a corded electric power source, and it gives no cord length, so plan the outlet route before you start.
  • You work on gravel. The Virginia Tech guide says “Do not use a lawn edger on gravel surfaces.” The listing does not say whether this model is meant for gravel.
  • You need a guard you can confirm. The Virginia Tech guide says “Do not operate a lawn edger without protective guards or shields in place.” The listing does not say whether this model has a guard.
  • You want a cordless option. This model is corded. For a cordless comparison, see the WORKPRO vs WORX trimmers and accessories comparison.

What an edger does

The Virginia Tech guide defines the job: “A lawn edger is a garden tool used to separate a lawn from a walkway or other paved surfaces, such as concrete sidewalks or asphalt paths.” The listing says its “Line cutting guide provides precision and control while edging along hard surfaces or trenching around borders,” which is a claim about the tool and not a result from a source.

The Oklahoma State column explains why the edge matters: “String trimmers and edgers can separate a good lawn care job from an excellent one.” It also says “These tools give the lawn a polished, clean look and can increase curb appeal.” The column warns that these tools “can cause damage to tree trunks, landscape plants, house trim, fences and people,” and that “Trimming too close to these things can result in gouges in the surface.” A corded edger has the same contact risk as any other edger, so keep the blade clear of trunks, plant bases, house trim and fences.

Cord and guard safety

The cord is the first safety issue for this model. The Oklahoma State column says “Homeowners using electric-powered equipment need to be aware of where the cord is at all times to avoid a tripping hazard or inadvertently cutting the cord.” The Virginia Tech guide adds “Watch for exposed electrical wires, communication lines, and power cords that could be struck by the edger.” Plan the cord route so it stays out of the blade path.

The Oklahoma State teen fact sheet describes cord hazards for electric trimmers, not edgers. It says “Additional hazards that are unique to electric trimmers can be due to the electrical cord,” and that “Hitting the cord may result in damage to the trimmer and possibly electrical shock.” The listing describes this CRAFTSMAN as an electric edger with a cord, so we read the same cord risks as worth planning for. The fact sheet does not describe this model.

The guard is the second safety issue. The Virginia Tech guide says “Do not operate a lawn edger without protective guards or shields in place.” The listing does not say whether this model has a guard, so ask the seller before you buy and read the operator guide before first use. The Oklahoma State column says “As always, be sure to read the operator’s guide before using any lawn tool.”

The blade needs attention before each use. The Virginia Tech guide says to “Check and make sure the edger blade and other parts are firmly attached.” It also says “Never leave a lawn edger running while unattended.” and “Do not inspect, repair, or carry out maintenance work on a lawn edger with its power unit running.” The listing names an “Edger Blade” in the included parts but does not state its material, so the guide’s warning about metal blades cannot be tied to this model from the listing alone: “Lawn edgers with metal blades are capable of cutting through underground objects, splintering concrete, and causing sparks.”

People nearby are the last safety issue. The teen fact sheet says “The major hazard with string trimmers and edgers is two-fold: objects getting launched outward by the trimmer string or edger blade, and the trimmer string or edger blade itself breaking and flying out.” It advises “Make sure children and pets are not in the area before beginning” and says “Keep an eye out for passersby, especially when trimming or edging near sidewalks or in public areas.” The Oklahoma State column adds “Wear protective clothing when operating a weeder, edger or trimmer.”

What the listing does not say

  • Cord length: not stated.
  • Cord type and gauge: not stated.
  • Guard: not stated, and the Virginia Tech guide makes guards a safety point.
  • Blade material and blade diameter: not stated. The listing names only “Edger Blade” in the included parts.
  • Cutting depth in inches: not stated. The listing gives three blade-depth settings but no depth figures.
  • Battery and charger: none listed, because the listing describes a corded tool.
  • Runtime: not applicable to a corded tool, and the listing gives no runtime figure.
  • Warranty: not stated.
  • Motor performance: the “cuts through tough turf” statement is a listing claim with no stated conditions or source.

Buying checklist

  • Map the outlet route before you buy, since the listing gives no cord length.
  • Ask the seller whether the edger has a guard, because the listing does not say.
  • Ask for the cord length and cord type in writing.
  • Ask for the blade material, since the Virginia Tech guide’s warning about metal blades depends on it.
  • Confirm the warranty terms, because the listing states none.
  • Skip gravel edging, as the Virginia Tech guide advises.
  • When the tool arrives, check that the blade and other parts are firmly attached before you plug it in.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Assuming the cord is long enough. The listing gives no cord length.
  • Reading 10.6 inches as the depth of the cut. The listing labels it cutting width and gives no depth in inches.
  • Comparing the 11.5 pound weight directly with the guide’s figure for smaller electric edgers. The guide does not define “smaller.”
  • Edging gravel. The Virginia Tech guide says “Do not use a lawn edger on gravel surfaces.”
  • Starting with people nearby. The teen fact sheet says “Make sure children and pets are not in the area before beginning.”

How we chose

This post covers one product, the one tied to ASIN B083X62NTD, because each post in this batch covers one product. It does not rank the CRAFTSMAN edger against other edgers, and it does not claim the product is the best choice. The listing details come from a stored scan dated 2026-10-11. The Virginia Tech guide and the two Oklahoma State pages were chosen because they discuss lawn edgers and edging safety in general. Each of those pages had to open with an HTTP 200 response and name edgers in its own text. The teen fact sheet was included because it covers the electric cord hazard, even though it discusses trimmers.

What we could not verify

The sources we opened do not cover this CRAFTSMAN model. We did not open a manufacturer page for it in this batch, so the following points remain unverified:

  • The listing’s claim that the motor “cuts through tough turf.”
  • The cord length, cord type and whether the cord is included in a usable length.
  • Whether the edger has a guard.
  • The blade material and diameter.
  • How the three blade-depth settings compare in actual edging depth.
  • Whether the 10.6 inch cutting width is determined the same way as other edgers’ widths.
  • Whether a warranty applies.

FAQ

Is this CRAFTSMAN edger cordless?

No. The listing gives the power source as corded electric and describes a 12 amp motor. Plan an outlet near the work before you buy.

How long is the cord?

The listing does not state the cord length. Ask the seller for the length in writing, because the cord is the main limit on where you can use this edger.

Does the box include a blade?

The listing names an “Edger Blade” among the included components, along with the CMEED400 Electric Edger itself. The listing does not state the blade material or diameter.

Does this edger have a guard?

The listing does not say. The Virginia Tech guide says “Do not operate a lawn edger without protective guards or shields in place.” Ask the seller before you buy.

Can I use it on gravel?

The Virginia Tech guide says “Do not use a lawn edger on gravel surfaces.” The listing does not say whether this model is meant for gravel, so treat the guide’s advice as the default.

Is this edger heavier than other electric edgers?

The listing gives 11.5 pounds for this model. The Virginia Tech guide says the smaller electric edgers weigh approximately 3 pounds, but it does not define “smaller,” so the two figures are a rough comparison only.

Bottom line

Buy this CRAFTSMAN edger only if you have an outlet close to the edges you will cut, the seller confirms the cord length and guard, and you accept a listing with no stated warranty. If you need to edge far from power or over gravel, choose a different product, and for a broader trimmer comparison read the Greenworks vs EGO Power+ string trimmer comparison.

Sources

  • Amazon product listing for the CRAFTSMAN Lawn Edger Tool, Corded, 12 Amp (CMEED400) (opened 2026-10-11): https://www.amazon.com/dp/B083X62NTD
  • Powered Hand Tools Safety: Lawn Care Training Guide, Virginia Cooperative Extension, Virginia Tech (opened 2026-10-22): https://pubs.ext.vt.edu/BSE/BSE-50/BSE-50.html
  • Beyond The Mower: Safe Use Of Trimmers, Edgers And Blowers, Oklahoma State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22): https://extension.okstate.edu/announcements/grow-gardening-columns/2025/august-24-2025.html
  • Lawn Care Safety and Basic Maintenance Tips for Teens, Oklahoma State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22): https://extension.okstate.edu/fact-sheets/lawn-care-safety-and-basic-maintenance-tips-for-teens

Similar Posts