Best CRAFTSMAN WEEDWACKER® String Trimmer
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
If you are searching for best craftsman weedwacker® string trimmer, you want a clear answer on this CRAFTSMAN model. It is a corded electric string trimmer and edger with a 14-inch cutting width and a 6.5 amp motor, according to its listing. Corded means an outlet has to reach the work area and no battery is involved. This review covers what the listing states, which details it leaves out, and the safety points that university extension pages give for string trimmers and edgers.
Quick answer
- The listing describes a corded electric string trimmer and edger with a 14-inch cutting width, a 6.5 amp motor and a 0.065-inch line.
- No battery or charger is listed, because the tool runs on a cord. The listing does not state the cord length, so measure your run before you buy.
- It suits a yard with an outlet within reach of the edges you trim, where a light tool that switches between trimming and edging is enough.
- Skip it if you need to work far from an outlet or want cordless freedom. The Virginia Tech guide says the power cord limits the area an electric trimmer can cover.
The product at a glance
The table lists only what the listing states, drawn from the stored scanner record for this ASIN. A cell that says “not stated” means the listing is silent on that point.
| Item | What the listing says |
|---|---|
| Brand | CRAFTSMAN |
| Model number | CMEST913 |
| Product title | CRAFTSMAN WEEDWACKER® String Trimmer, 6.5 Amp, 14-Inch (CMEST913) |
| Power source | Corded electric |
| Motor | 6.5 amp, described as a high performance motor |
| Cutting width | 14 inches |
| Line size | 0.065-inch line |
| Line feed | Push-button feed system |
| Modes | Trimming and edging, changed quickly |
| Pole | Adjustable length |
| Item weight | 5.7 pounds |
| Item dimensions | 6.54 in long, 14 in wide |
| Included components | CMEST913 14-in. string trimmer/edger, spool, auxiliary handle, guard |
| Recommended uses | Edging, trimming |
| Battery | No battery listed; the power source is corded electric |
| Charger | No charger listed |
| Cord length | not stated |
| Warranty | not stated |
| Storage | Integrated hook for the VersaTrack Wall Organization System, sold separately |
Corded power and the cord limit
The listing’s power source is corded electric, so the cord sets how far you can work from an outlet. The Virginia Tech guide describes the trade-off plainly: electric trimmers “are relatively light and easy to maneuver and operate. However, they lack flexibility, and the length of the power cord limits the area that can be covered.” The same guide says electric trimmers are generally less powerful than gasoline models. The listing’s 6.5 amp rating is its own description of the motor. It does not give watts, rotation speed or a test result, so the rating tells you the motor class, not how the trimmer will cut.
The cord is also a hazard in its own right. The Oklahoma State teen safety sheet notes that “It’s easy to lose track of where the cord is when you’re in the middle of trimming along a fence line or the edges of a lawn, increasing the chance of tripping over the cord or hitting the cord with the trimmer.” Plan the cord path before you start, and keep it behind you as you work.
The 14-inch cut and the 0.065-inch line
The listing gives a 14-inch cutting width and a 0.065-inch line. It describes the width as adding “efficiency,” which is a claim, not a measured result. The line size is a fact the listing states directly. Use the line size the manual recommends when you replace the spool, because the teen sheet notes that spool installation “can differ between models.”
Push-button feed and string length
The listing describes a push-button feed that lets you “control the 0.065-inch line with the push of a button.” That means you decide when more line comes out. The Virginia Tech guide advises checking the trimmer string length periodically, because extra string raises the chance of striking the operator.
Fence lines, trunks and house trim
Fence lines, tree trunks and house trim are where a trimmer does damage that has nothing to do with the grass. The Oklahoma State trimmer and blower article says these tools “can cause damage to tree trunks, landscape plants, house trim, fences and people.” It adds that “Trimming too close to these things can result in gouges in the surface.” The Oklahoma State teen sheet gives the mechanism for trees and posts: “Because of the way trimmers operate, getting too close to trees or fence posts can result in gouges in the post or bark.” Keep the string head clear of the surface you are trimming near, and keep the cord out of the trimmer’s path.
Slopes and footing
Trimmers are easier on slopes than mowers. The Oklahoma State teen sheet says “Trimmers, unlike mowers, are easier to use on slopes because they are held off the ground.” Footing still matters. The Ohio State fact sheet advises that you “Operate the unit only on stable ground, and maintain good balance and secure footing to avoid potential slips and falls.” It also says to “Maintain a firm grip on the handles, and work slowly to minimize kickout and the risk of hitting hidden objects.” On a corded trimmer, the footing also has to keep you clear of the cord, so check where it runs before you step.
Who it suits
This trimmer suits a homeowner whose edging and trimming jobs stay within a cord’s reach of an outlet. The listing names edging and trimming as its uses, and it describes a quick switch between the two modes. That makes it a practical choice for a walk, a fence line or a bed border where the work stays close to one outlet.
It also suits someone who wants a lighter tool than a gas trimmer. The listing gives 5.7 pounds, and the Virginia Tech guide says electric trimmers are “relatively light and easy to maneuver and operate.” The adjustable-length pole lets you set the shaft to your height, which the listing presents as a fit feature. Storage on a VersaTrack wall system is an extra if you already own that system, since the wall system is listed as sold separately.
Before you buy
Four checks follow from the gaps listed later in this review. First, measure the path from your outlet to the far edge you plan to trim, and add slack for the cord, since the listing gives no cord length. Second, confirm the guard and auxiliary handle are in the box, because the listing names both as included. Third, plan where the cord will run, because the Oklahoma State teen sheet names cord tripping and cutting as a hazard for electric trimmers. Fourth, decide whether you want wall storage. The hook works with the VersaTrack system, which the listing says is sold separately.
Skip it if
- You need to work far from an outlet. A cord limits the area you can reach, and the listing does not state the cord length, so it is unclear how far you can go.
- You want cordless freedom. Two cordless options covered on this site are the Black and Decker Cordless Weed Eater 20v and the Dewalt 20v Max Brushless Weed Eater.
- You want a figure for cutting power. The listing gives the 6.5 amp rating and calls the motor high performance, but it gives no output figure to compare against another trimmer.
- You need a warranty to rely on. The listing does not state one.
What the listing does not say
The listing covers the basics, but several points are missing. Each one matters before you buy and before you first use the tool.
- Cord length: not stated, so the working radius from an outlet is unknown.
- Battery and charger: no battery and no charger are listed, because the tool is corded.
- Edging method: the listing says the tool switches to edging, but it does not say whether edging uses the string head or a blade.
- Output: the listing gives amps but no watts, rotation speed or cutting test figures.
- Warranty: not stated.
- Spool capacity: the listing names a spool in the included components but not its capacity or part number.
Safety points from the guides
The listing says nothing about safety, so the points below come from several university extension sources. The Ohio State University fact sheet on handheld trimmers and brush cutters says these tools “can cause serious injury including cuts and lacerations” from rotating cutters and flying debris. Its protective-gear list starts with eyes: “Wear safety glasses with side shields or goggles to protect the face and eyes from flying debris when using the cutting attachments.” It adds leather gloves and sturdy footwear. The fact sheet covers gas-powered units as well, so this review quotes only its general gear and debris steps.
The main hazard is the one the Oklahoma State teen sheet names directly: “The major hazard with string trimmers and edgers is two-fold: objects getting launched outward by the trimmer string or edger blade, and the trimmer string or edger blade itself breaking and flying out.” Clear the area first. The Ohio State fact sheet says to “remove all visible stones, sticks, wires or other debris” and to “Be aware of bystanders in the event of thrown objects. Allow at least a 50 feet of safe distance.” Keep children and pets away, as the Oklahoma State extension guide on lawn tools advises.
For the corded design, the Virginia Tech guide adds three rules. “Watch for exposed electrical wires, communication lines, and extension cords to avoid damaging them.” “Inspect power cords on electric trimmers for cuts, nicks, or scrapes. Replace damaged cords immediately.” And before any inspection or maintenance, “Unplug electric trimmers and turn off gas-powered trimmers.” The same guide says to “Secure long hair above the shoulder while operating a string trimmer” and to “Avoid over-reaching and always keep the string head below waist level.”
How we chose
This post covers one product: ASIN B083WPHY59, the CRAFTSMAN WEEDWACKER String Trimmer that matches the search term. The keyword names this brand and trimmer line, so the reader’s question has one clear product answer. We did not compare it with other trimmers, so this page does not rank it against any other model. The product data is the stored scanner record for this ASIN, checked 2026-10-23. No retail, blog or review page was a source for facts. The safety points come from university extension pages on the same tool type, and each source carries its opened date in the list below.
What we could not verify
We could not verify how the trimmer cuts, how long the line lasts, or how well the edging mode holds a straight edge. The 6.5 amp rating and the “high performance” wording come from the listing, and no independent source in this post checks them. The cord length, the warranty terms, the spool capacity and the VersaTrack fit all remain unconfirmed. Before you rely on the safety points, read the operator’s manual for your unit, because the guides are general and the manual is specific.
FAQ
Does the CRAFTSMAN WEEDWACKER string trimmer need a battery?
No. The listing gives the power source as corded electric and names no battery. A cord and an outlet are what power it.
How long is the cord on this trimmer?
The listing does not state the cord length. Measure the distance from the outlet to the farthest edge you plan to trim, and add some slack, before you buy.
What does the 6.5 amp rating tell me about cutting?
It tells you the motor class the listing describes. The listing calls the motor high performance, but it gives no watts, speed or cutting test, so the rating does not show how the trimmer will cut tough growth.
Can this trimmer also edge?
The listing says you can change quickly from trimming to edging, and it lists edging as a recommended use. It does not say whether edging uses the string head or a blade, so read the manual before you edge near hard surfaces.
What line size does it take?
The listing states a 0.065-inch line, and it describes a push-button feed for that line. Use the line size and spool the manual recommends when you replace the spool.
What should I wear when I use it?
Wear safety glasses with side shields or goggles, leather gloves and sturdy footwear. The Oklahoma State trimmer and blower article recommends wearing protective clothing when you operate a weeder, edger or trimmer, and it advises keeping children and pets out of the area.
Bottom line
Buy this trimmer only if an outlet can reach every edge you plan to trim and you want a corded tool that also edges. If the cord would not reach, choose a cordless model instead.
Sources
- CRAFTSMAN WEEDWACKER String Trimmer, 6.5 Amp, 14-Inch (CMEST913), Amazon listing as stored by our scanner (opened 2026-10-23) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B083WPHY59
- Handheld Trimmers and Brush Cutters, Ohio State University Extension fact sheet aex-79037 (opened 2026-10-22) https://ohioline.osu.edu/factsheet/aex-79037
- Powered Hand Tools Safety: Lawn Care Training Guide, Virginia Tech Virginia Cooperative Extension publication BSE-50 (opened 2026-10-22) https://pubs.ext.vt.edu/BSE/BSE-50/BSE-50.html
- Beyond The Mower: Safe Use Of Trimmers, Edgers And Blowers, Oklahoma State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://extension.okstate.edu/announcements/grow-gardening-columns/2025/august-24-2025.html
- Lawn Care Safety and Basic Maintenance Tips for Teens, Oklahoma State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://extension.okstate.edu/fact-sheets/lawn-care-safety-and-basic-maintenance-tips-for-teens






