Best PowerSmart 15A Corded Electric Wood Chipper
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
If you are looking for the best powersmart 15a corded electric wood chipper, this page covers one machine: the PowerSmart 120V 15A corded electric wood chipper and shredder, Amazon ASIN B0DG5TF2NW. The listing gives a corded electric power source, a 120V 60Hz 15A motor and a branch capacity of 1.77 inches, which is 45 mm. It lists two model numbers and two weights, so the record disagrees with itself in places. It does not state a cord length or a warranty. The data is a saved record dated 2026-10-23, and the Ohio State pages below cover chipper safety.
Quick answer
- The listing describes a corded electric chipper and shredder with a 120V, 60Hz, 15A motor and a branch capacity of 1.77 inches, which is 45 mm.
- The listing gives two model numbers, DB6610 and PS10A, and two weights, 22.7 pounds and 27.9 pounds. Both are shown below, because the record does not say which applies.
- Ohio State University Extension advises keeping bystanders at least 50 feet away and wearing eye protection before you start.
- The listing does not state a cord length, a warranty or how material is fed into the machine, so check those before you plan the job.
The product at a glance
The table shows what the saved listing states. Where a field is silent, the cell says “not stated”. Where the record gives two figures for the same thing, both appear in the same row.
| Item | What the listing says |
|---|---|
| Brand and manufacturer | PowerSmart |
| Model | DB6610 (Model field) and PS10A (Model Number field); both stated |
| Item type | Wood Chipper |
| Power source | Corded Electric |
| Motor | 120 V, 60 Hz, 15A |
| No-load speed | 3700 RPM |
| Branch capacity | 1.77 inches in diameter (Branch Diameter field); bullet text says up to 1-3/4 inch (45 mm) |
| Collection | Collection bag (Discharge field); bag size not stated |
| Wheels | 7 inches |
| Switch | one-button switch; operation mode listed as Automatic |
| Protection | double insulation, IPX4 waterproof, overload protector (bullet text) |
| Item weight | 22.7 pounds (Item Weight field) and 27.9 pounds (Weight field) |
| Product dimensions | 14 x 12.6 x 24.4 inches (Product Dimensions field) |
| Item dimensions | 22.5 x 21 x 37.5 inches (Item Dimensions field) |
| Cord length | not stated |
| Hood, latch and feed opening | not stated |
| Warranty | not stated |
Who it suits
This chipper suits a homeowner who needs to reduce garden prunings and branches up to the stated 1.77-inch capacity, using mains power rather than an engine. The listing says the discharge goes into a collection bag, so the chips gather in one place for cleanup. The bullets describe the work as garden debris, which fits the size range.
A corded machine suits a job that stays near an outdoor outlet. The record gives no cord length, so plan the reach before you move the machine. The listing states a 120V motor and does not describe any other supply. To plan that run, read our extension cord guide for electric lawn mowers. For a yard-debris machine that is not corded, see our Black and Decker cordless leaf vacuum guide.
- Clearing prunings and branches up to 1.77 inches in diameter, near an outdoor outlet.
- Owners who want a bag at the outlet rather than a loose pile.
- Owners who will follow the Ohio State rules on bystanders, eye protection and gloves.
Skip it if
- Your branches are thicker than 1.77 inches. The bullet text rounds the figure to 1-3/4 inch, so the limit is close to the spec figure and should not be pushed.
- You need a cord-free machine. The listing states a corded electric power source.
- No outlet is near the work and you cannot plan a safe cord run. The listing does not give a cord length.
- You cannot keep bystanders at least 50 feet away while the machine runs.
What the branch figures mean
The spec fields and the title agree on the size. The title says 45mm Branch Capacity, and 45 mm is 1.77 inches, since 45 divided by 25.4 is 1.772. The bullet text rounds the same limit down to 1-3/4 inch, which is 1.75 inches. The gap is 0.02 inch, so the two figures describe one limit, and the spec figure is the more precise of the two.
The listing also gives a no-load speed of 3700 RPM. A no-load figure describes the motor running without material in the chute, so it does not show how a branch will feed. The record does not say whether the machine draws material in by itself or whether the operator feeds it. That matters for safety, as the next section explains.
The Ohio State guide gives a general rule for choosing a machine: selection should be based on the work to be performed, operator experience and preference. A 1.77-inch capacity suits small prunings and light branch work. Heavier wood calls for a different machine, and the guide does not argue for forcing the largest branch through a small unit.
Power, bystanders and safety
The Ohio State guide is direct about bystanders. It says to keep bystanders away from the equipment and to have them maintain a clear distance, to avoid being struck by objects thrown from the blades. It also says to be aware of children and other bystanders when objects are thrown, and to allow at least 50 feet of safe distance. Those rules apply however the machine is powered, so the corded listing does not change them.
The listing’s bullets describe the machine as user-friendly for seniors and children, and they describe a one-button switch. This post does not repeat that claim. The Ohio State guide asks for distance from children and bystanders, and it does not describe any machine as suitable for children to operate.
The listing says the machine has double insulation and IPX4 waterproof protection, and that an overload protector prevents motor overheating. These are the listing’s words. The Ohio State pages do not cover electrical ratings, so this post does not confirm them. The guide does cover personal protection. It says to wear safety glasses with side shields or goggles, leather gloves, sturdy leather work boots or hard-soled shoes, and pants with a snug-fitting, long-sleeved shirt, to avoid being caught or pulled into the machine.
The guide also covers feeding and hood hazards. It says workers feeding materials into self-feeding chippers or shredders can get caught in the knives, and that an unlatched, improperly secured or damaged hood can be thrown from the machine. It advises against working alone and asks that the area around the machine be kept free of tripping hazards. The listing does not describe a hood, a latch or a feed design, so check those on the machine before you run it.
What the listing does not say
- Cord length, plug type and whether a cord is supplied. The listing states a corded power source and a motor rating only.
- Which model number applies. The record gives DB6610 in the Model field and PS10A in the Model Number field.
- Which weight applies. The Item Weight field says 22.7 pounds and the Weight field says 27.9 pounds. The gap is 5.2 pounds, which is about 23 percent more than the lower figure.
- Which dimensions apply. The product dimensions are 14 x 12.6 x 24.4 inches and the item dimensions are 22.5 x 21 x 37.5 inches. The record does not say which describes the machine as shipped.
- Bag size and how the bag attaches. The record names a collection bag and gives no capacity.
- The “Number of Positions: 3” field. The record does not say what it counts.
- Warranty and manual. The bullets mention user manuals and assembly guidelines, but no warranty term is given, and no manual was among the pages we opened.
How we chose
This post covers one product: ASIN B0DG5TF2NW, the PowerSmart 120V 15A corded electric wood chipper and shredder. It is here because the search phrase names a 15A corded electric chipper, and the listing gives a power source, a motor rating and a branch capacity that a reader can check against the machine.
The listing record was read on 2026-10-23 from the Playwright scanner record. The two Ohio State University Extension pages were opened on 2026-10-22 for another post, and their saved text is reused here with the original date kept. The PowerSmart product page for model DB6610 returned a not-found error, so no manufacturer page is used for facts in this post. We did not rank this machine against other chippers, and this post does not use ratings, review counts or badge labels.
What we could not verify
- Which model number, DB6610 or PS10A, applies to the machine a buyer receives.
- Which weight and dimensions apply, since the record gives two of each.
- The cord length, the plug type and the warranty term.
- How the chipper handles a 1.77-inch branch in practice. The Ohio State pages describe safety rules and selection, not this machine’s feed performance.
- Whether the machine self-feeds, and whether it has a hood and latch. The listing does not say.
- The electrical protection claims. Double insulation and IPX4 are the listing’s words, and we did not check them against a certification page.
Buying checklist
- Confirm the model number on the box or the label, DB6610 or PS10A, since the listing gives both.
- Check your largest branch against the 1.77-inch figure from the spec fields, and keep wood above that size out of the machine.
- Plan the cord run before the job. The record gives no cord length, so mark the reach and keep the cord clear of the work area.
- Set out the protective gear the Ohio State guide lists before the first run: eye protection, gloves, sturdy footwear and a long-sleeved shirt.
Mistakes to avoid
- Feeding branches above the stated 1.77-inch capacity, since the listing sets that limit and the guide does not recommend forcing wood through.
- Working alone. The Ohio State guide says not to work alone when using a chipper or a shredder.
- Letting children or bystanders near the discharge. The guide asks for at least 50 feet of safe distance.
- Running the machine with an unlatched or damaged hood, if your unit has one. The guide says a hood in that state can be thrown from the machine.
- Reaching into the knives without gloves. The guide says to wear gloves when handling the knives.
- Trusting one weight or one model number without checking the label, since the listing gives two of each.
FAQ
Is the PowerSmart 15A wood chipper corded?
Yes. The listing gives Power Source: Corded Electric and a motor rating of 120 V, 60 Hz, 15A. The record does not state the cord length, so measure the reach from the outlet before you plan the job.
What is the largest branch it handles?
The spec fields give a branch diameter of 1.77 inches, which is 45 mm. The bullet text rounds the figure to 1-3/4 inch. Both describe the same limit, and the spec figure is the more precise one.
Which model number is correct, DB6610 or PS10A?
The listing gives both: DB6610 in the Model field and PS10A in the Model Number field. The record does not say which one applies, so check the label on the machine you receive.
How much does it weigh?
The listing gives two weights. The Item Weight field says 22.7 pounds, and the Weight field says 27.9 pounds. The difference is 5.2 pounds, and the record does not say which applies.
Does it come with a warranty?
The listing does not state a warranty term. The bullets mention user manuals and assembly guidelines, but the record gives no warranty length, and no manual was among the pages we opened.
How far away should bystanders stand?
The Ohio State guide says to allow at least 50 feet of safe distance, and to keep bystanders away from the equipment so they are not struck by objects thrown from the blades.
Bottom line
Buy this corded chipper when your largest branch is 1.77 inches (45 mm) or less, an outdoor outlet can reach the work, and you can keep bystanders at least 50 feet away. If you need a cord-free machine, a settled model number or a warranty term, resolve those before you buy.
Sources
- PowerSmart 120V 15A Corded Electric Wood Chipper, Shredders with 45mm Branch Capacity, Collection Bag for Garden, Amazon listing (opened 2026-10-23) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0DG5TF2NW
- Wood Chippers and Shredders, Ohioline, Ohio State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://ohioline.osu.edu/factsheet/aex-79034
- Chipper and Shredder Safety, Ohioline, Ohio State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://ohioline.osu.edu/factsheet/aex-892285






