Best Greenworks 40V 8 inch Brushless Edger
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
The person typing best greenworks 40v 8 inch brushless edger wants to know what this 8-inch Greenworks edger does, whether a battery and charger come with it, and which edging safety points apply. The listing describes a 40V edger with an 8-inch blade, a brushless motor and tool-less depth adjustment, and it says battery and charger not included, per the listing. You will need to buy a 40V battery and a charger separately. This page uses the listing and four extension pages, and it says what none of them cover.
Quick answer
- Battery and charger not included, per the listing. Buy a 40V battery and charger separately, or the edger will not run.
- The listing describes an 8-inch edger blade with a curb wheel, a brushless motor and tool-less depth adjustment.
- The listing gives a no-load speed of 6500 RPM, plus or minus 10 percent, and an item weight of 8.6 pounds.
- The listing gives no runtime, charge time, warranty or cut depth in inches, and the Virginia Tech guide says not to use a lawn edger on gravel.
The product at a glance
The table lists what the Amazon listing states. Where the listing is silent, the cell says not stated. The listing was checked on 2026-10-23. We did not open a Greenworks product page for model STF407, so the figures below come from the listing alone.
| Item | What the listing states |
|---|---|
| Product | Greenworks 40V 8-inch brushless edger |
| Manufacturer | Greenworks (the listing’s brand field is blank) |
| Model number | STF407 |
| Voltage | 40V (listing title) |
| Battery and charger | Battery and charger not included, per the listing |
| Blade | 8-inch edger blade with curb wheel |
| Motor | Brushless, per the listing |
| No-load speed | 6500 RPM, plus or minus 10 percent |
| Depth adjustment | Tool-less |
| Item weight | 8.6 pounds |
| Product dimensions | 66.14 x 8.43 x 11.81 inches |
| Maintenance | The listing says virtually maintenance free, with no gas, no oil and no emissions |
| Runtime | not stated |
| Charge time | not stated |
| Warranty | not stated |
| Cut depth in inches | not stated |
| Included components | not stated |
Two rows need a word of explanation. The brand field on the listing is blank, so the manufacturer field is the only maker name in this table. The no-load speed is the listing’s figure for the motor with no load, and the table keeps it that way.
Who it suits
This edger suits a homeowner who wants a battery-powered edger for walks, curbs and the lawn edge along beds, and who already has a 40V battery and charger or plans to buy them. The listing says the edger is light: “LIGHTWEIGHT / EASY TO USE – ultra lightweight design, along with superior ergonomics allow for reduced user fatigue.” That matters if you edge for a long stretch, and it is the listing’s own claim.
The listing says the blade comes with a curb wheel, and that the tool-less depth adjustment gives added control over cutting depth. The listing says the curb wheel “guarantees the perfect edging every time,” which is the listing’s own claim and not a result we checked. The depth adjustment is the feature to check on your own edge, and a buyer can judge it without any listed figure.
The listing also says the edger is virtually maintenance free, with no gas, no oil and no emissions. For a buyer moving from a gas edger, that is the main practical change: no fuel to mix and no oil to add. Those are the listing’s statements, and we did not check them against a manufacturer manual.
The listing describes an edger, not a trimmer head. Many powered hand tools are used in lawn care, and the Virginia Tech guide lists “string trimmers, lawn edgers, hedge trimmers, and leaf blowers” as separate tools. If you also need to trim grass around posts and fences, plan for a second tool. The edger does the crisp line along a walk.
Clean edges are the reason to edge at all. The Utah State University extension guide says: “Although it is more work, finished, neat edges can make a landscape look polished and attractive.” The same guide suggests planning beds so they need less edging: “Design the landscaped area so it requires a minimal amount of edging or trimming.” A walk or bed laid out that way needs less edger time, and that cuts the work for any tool, this one included.
Edging is a power-tool job with real hazards. The Virginia Tech powered hand tools guide defines the job: “A lawn edger is a garden tool used to separate a lawn from a walkway or other paved surfaces, such as concrete sidewalks or asphalt paths.” Before you start, check the blade and guards. The guide says: “Check and make sure the edger blade and other parts are firmly attached,” and “Do not operate a lawn edger without protective guards or shields in place.”
The same guide asks you to watch the work area. It says: “Watch for exposed electrical wires, communication lines, and power cords that could be struck by the edger.” It also says: “Do not start an edger with the blade in contact with the ground so as to avoid uncontrolled movement and possible injuries,” and “Never leave a lawn edger running while unattended.” Along the road, the Oklahoma State University column says: “When edging the lawn next to the road, be aware of traffic.” The Virginia Tech guide adds: “Stay close to the curb to avoid accidents when edging along the roadways.”
For eyes, the Oklahoma State fact sheet on lawn care safety says: “Safety glasses (Figure 1a) should be chosen to help protect your eyes from both debris impact hazard and dust hazard.” The same fact sheet says that mowers, trimmers and blowers “dislodge debris and propel the debris at high speed in several directions.” That statement is about those machines, not edgers. We read it as a reason to keep the same eye protection on when you edge.
Skip it if
This edger is the wrong pick if any of the following fits your situation.
- You need the battery and charger in the box. The listing says battery and charger not included, per the listing, so you must buy both before the first edge.
- You plan to edge gravel. The Virginia Tech guide says: “Do not use a lawn edger on gravel surfaces.” The Oklahoma State column also names gravel as a hazard for edgers and trimmers.
- You need a runtime, a charge time or a warranty term to plan your purchase. None is stated in the listing.
- You need a cut depth in inches to match a specific edge. The listing says the depth adjustment is tool-less, but it gives no figure in inches.
- You want a tool for trimming grass around posts and fences, not for a crisp edge along a walk. The listing describes an edger head with an 8-inch blade, not a trimmer head.
- You want the model number STF407 confirmed on a Greenworks product page. We did not open one for this model.
If you are comparing edgers and string trimmers from other brands, see Greenworks vs EGO Power+: String Trimmers compared. For Greenworks battery mowers, see Best Greenworks 40v Electric Lawn Mower.
What the listing does not say
Battery and charger not included, per the listing. The title says so directly, which means the edger is a bare tool in this listing, and a 40V battery and a charger are not part of the box. Nothing in this post should be read as a kit. The 40V voltage appears in the listing title and not in its bullets.
- Runtime: not stated. With no battery in the box, there is no runtime to report.
- Charge time: not stated. The listing names no charger.
- Battery and charger models: not stated.
- Warranty: not stated.
- Cut depth in inches: not stated. The listing says the depth is tool-less adjustable.
- Included parts: not stated beyond the edger itself.
- Brand field: blank on the listing. The manufacturer field names Greenworks.
Before you order, confirm three things the listing leaves open: the battery and charger you will buy and whether they match the 40V tool, the warranty terms, which the listing does not state, and the cut depth you can expect, which is tool-less but not given in inches. The listing does not answer any of these, so check with the seller or Greenworks first.
How we chose
This edger is in the post because it is the Greenworks 40V 8-inch brushless edger on our plan, with the ASIN B09VY66872. We read the listing on 2026-10-23 and used its title, bullets and specifications. The model number STF407, the 40V voltage and the battery and charger status come from that listing.
We did not compare it with other edgers, and we did not rank it. The extension pages were picked for edger safety and edging practice, not for product facts, and they do not describe this model. The internal links point to Greenworks comparison and mower posts, so you can check the alternatives. We kept the Virginia Tech, Oklahoma State and Utah State pages because each one covers edgers or edging directly, and we used only the passages that match this tool.
The facts we kept were the listing’s battery and charger status, its voltage in the title, its model number, brand and manufacturer fields, its weight and dimensions, and its stated speed, depth adjustment and maintenance statements. Those are what a buyer needs before ordering. Each performance statement is labelled as the listing’s claim, and where the listing is silent the table says not stated.
What we could not verify
- Battery runtime and charge time, because the battery and charger are not included and the listing gives no figures.
- Warranty terms. The listing states none.
- Cut depth in inches, and how the depth adjustment behaves in use.
- Whether the STF407 number matches a manufacturer model page. We did not open a Greenworks product page for this model number.
- Speed under load. The listing gives a no-load figure only.
- How the curb wheel holds the blade on uneven ground. The listing does not describe ground contact.
- Whether the 40V voltage in the title matches the battery platform you plan to buy. The listing names the voltage but not a battery platform name.
The extension pages cover edgers in general. They support the safety and edging points above, but they say nothing about this model, so no product claim in this post rests on them.
FAQ
Does the Greenworks 40V 8 inch edger come with a battery?
No. The listing says battery and charger not included, per the listing. You need to buy a 40V battery and charger separately before you start.
How fast does the blade spin?
The listing gives a no-load speed of 6500 RPM, plus or minus 10 percent. It does not give a speed under load, so the figure should be read as a no-load number only.
How heavy is this Greenworks edger?
The listing gives an item weight of 8.6 pounds and product dimensions of 66.14 x 8.43 x 11.81 inches. It does not state a weight for the battery, since the battery is not included.
Can I use this edger on a gravel driveway?
The Virginia Tech powered hand tools guide says not to use a lawn edger on gravel surfaces. Use it on lawn edges along paved walks and curbs instead.
Does the listing give a warranty for this edger?
No. The listing does not state a warranty term, so check with the seller and the manufacturer before you buy.
Can I set the cutting depth without tools?
The listing says the edger has tool-less depth adjustment that allows added control over cutting depth. It does not give the depth in inches, so judge the setting on your own edge.
Bottom line
Buy this edger only if you already have a 40V battery and charger, or you will buy them with it. Decision rule: if you need the battery and charger in the box, choose a listing that says battery and charger included, because this one does not.
Sources
- Greenworks 40V 8″ Brushless Edger, Battery and Charger Not Included, Amazon listing (opened 2026-10-23) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B09VY66872
- Powered Hand Tools Safety: Lawn Care Training Guide, VCE Publications, Virginia Tech (opened 2026-10-22) https://pubs.ext.vt.edu/BSE/BSE-50/BSE-50.html
- Beyond The Mower: Safe Use Of Trimmers, Edgers And Blowers, Oklahoma State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://extension.okstate.edu/announcements/grow-gardening-columns/2025/august-24-2025.html
- Lawn Care Safety and Basic Maintenance Tips for Teens, Oklahoma State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://extension.okstate.edu/fact-sheets/lawn-care-safety-and-basic-maintenance-tips-for-teens
- Tips for Edging Your Lawn, Utah State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://extension.usu.edu/archive/tips-for-edging-your-lawn



