Best LawnMaster GV1212B Scarifier and Dethatcher 12-Inch

Best LawnMaster GV1212B Scarifier and Dethatcher 12-Inch

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

If you searched for the best lawnmaster gv1212b scarifier and dethatcher 13-inch, this page covers one product: the LawnMaster GV1212B, a corded electric combo tool with a collection bag. The listing describes a 12-amp motor, 19 cutting positions and a 7.4-gallon bag, and it gives two different widths: 13 inches in the title and 12 inches in the cutting width spec. This guide sets out what the listing states, where it disagrees with itself, and what university pages say about thatch before you run a dethatcher.

Quick answer

  • The LawnMaster GV1212B is a corded electric machine. The listing says it switches between scarifying and dethatching, and it gives a 3,400 RPM motor figure marked with an asterisk.
  • The listing gives two widths. The title says 13-inch and the cutting width spec says 12 inches. This page reports both and does not choose one.
  • The listing gives 19 cutting positions and a 7.4-gallon collection bag. It states no warranty and no cord length.
  • University sources set the thatch threshold differently. UC says to plan to dethatch above 1/2 inch of thatch, and Oklahoma State says a cool-season lawn should not exceed 1/3 inch. Check your own thatch first.

The product at a glance

The table uses only what the listing states. “Not stated” means the listing is silent on that point. Where the listing gives two figures for one item, both appear.

Item What the listing says
Brand and model LawnMaster, model GV1212B
Manufacturer Cleva (the brand field reads LawnMaster)
Title LawnMaster GV1212B Scarifier and Dethatcher 13-Inch 12AMP
Power source Corded electric
Motor 12-amp; 3,400 RPM in the bullet, marked with an asterisk
Working width 13 inches in the title and item type; 12 inches in the cutting width spec. The two disagree
Adjustable cutting height Maximum 0.39 inch and minimum 0.19 inch (specs); the listing does not say these are depth settings
Cutting positions 19 adjustable positions (specs and bullet)
Collection bag 7.4-gallon (bullet)
Wheels 6.7-inch front wheels (bullet)
Handles Fold-down handles for compact storage (bullet)
Material Stainless steel
Operation mode Automatic (specs field); the bullets do not explain it
Weight 19.3 pounds
Dimensions 22 inches deep, 18 inches wide, 12 inches high
Battery and gas Not a battery or gas tool; the listing says it runs without gas or batteries
Tine or blade design Not stated
Cord length and gauge Not stated
Warranty Not stated
Coverage per hour or lawn area Not stated

View on Amazon

Who it suits

This machine fits a homeowner who has an outlet close enough to run the cord clear of the cut. The listing describes two functions, scarifying and dethatching, and it gives 19 positions for matted build-up, so it suits a lawn where one tool has to handle both jobs.

  • A homeowner with an outdoor outlet within reach of the lawn, who can keep the cord away from the cutting path.
  • A buyer who wants a collection bag with the tool. The listing gives a 7.4-gallon bag in the same bullet as the 2-in-1 function.
  • A user who wants compact storage. The listing describes fold-down handles and gives a weight of 19.3 pounds, so plan who will lift it.
  • A lawn owner who wants one tool for both jobs. The listing says it switches between scarifying and dethatching, so one machine is listed to cover both, subject to the width and depth questions below.

Skip it if

  • You need one working width to plan around. The title says 13 inches and the cutting width spec says 12, so the listing does not settle it.
  • You need a clear depth figure. The specs give 0.19 and 0.39 inch as adjustable heights, but the listing does not say whether they are depth settings.
  • Your thatch is under the threshold for your grass. UC says to plan to dethatch when thatch is more than 1/2 inch deep, and Oklahoma State says a cool-season lawn should not exceed 1/3 inch.
  • You need a warranty or a cord length before you buy. The listing states neither.

Thatch, timing and corded safety

Penn State Extension defines thatch as a loose, intermingled organic layer of dead and living shoots, stems, and roots that develops between the zone of green vegetation and the soil surface. It describes power rakes as machines with vertically rotating wire tines that remove thatch, and it says those are better suited to smaller jobs. The listing for this combo describes scarifying and dethatching, but it does not say how its tines or blades are built, so this page does not place it in either group.

Grass type changes the threshold. Oklahoma State says a cool-season lawn of fescue, bluegrass or ryegrass should not exceed 1/3 inch of thatch, and a warm-season lawn of bermudagrass, zoysiagrass or buffalograss should not exceed 1/2 inch. UC’s general rule is to plan to dethatch when thatch is more than 1/2 inch deep. Penn State adds that when thatch layers reach an inch or more, preventative practices will not provide adequate control.

Timing matters for the lawn as well as the machine. Penn State says not to remove thatch when turf is weak or under heat or drought stress, and to remove thatch from cool-season turf during late summer or early fall. UC gives a broader window for both cool and warm-season grasses: mid-to-late spring or early fall. Early fall is the one window that fits both sources.

The cord is the item to manage on every pass. OSHA says never to carry a tool by the cord. It says to disconnect tools when they are not in use, before servicing, and when changing accessories such as blades, bits, and the like. The listing does not describe accessory changes for this model, so the OSHA rule stands as a general one.

OSHA also says not to use electric tools in damp or wet locations unless they are approved for that purpose, and that cords should not present a tripping hazard. The rule is about locations, so a wet lawn is a case to check before you start. For a related question about electric mowers and wet grass, see our wet grass guide for electric lawn mowers.

Dethatching does not fix the cause. Illinois Extension says thatch may be torn out with a dethatcher or vertical mower, but will most likely return unless the cause is corrected. It also says mechanical dethatching is very destructive, because roots sit in thatch instead of soil, and that overseeding is usually required afterwards. Illinois also says that, despite popular belief, clippings dropped after mowing are not the cause of thatch buildup.

What the listing does not say

  • The working width. The title and the item type say 13-inch, and the cutting width spec says 12 inches. The listing does not say which is correct.
  • Whether the adjustable heights are depth settings. The specs list a maximum of 0.39 inch and a minimum of 0.19 inch, and the bullets give no depth scale.
  • Tine or blade design. The listing names scarifying and dethatching, but it does not describe the working parts.
  • Operation mode. The specs field reads Automatic, and the bullets do not explain what that means for the machine.
  • The footnote behind the 3,400 RPM figure. The bullet carries an asterisk, and the scan record does not include the footnote text.
  • Warranty, cord length, extension cord and lawn coverage. The listing states none of them.

The height figures matter most. If the 0.19 and 0.39 inch figures are depth settings, they describe how deep the tines reach. The thatch thresholds describe how much thatch the lawn has. The sources we opened do not link the two, and the listing does not say which one the height figures describe. A buyer who needs that answer should ask the seller or the maker before ordering.

Buying checklist

Before you order, check these points against the listing and your own lawn:

  • Confirm the working width on the box or in the manual, since the title and the spec disagree.
  • Check the thatch depth in several spots against the threshold for your grass type, and dethatch only when the thatch is over that threshold.
  • Plan the cord route from the outlet to the far corner. For cord choices in general, see our guide to the best extension cord for an electric lawn mower.
  • Ask how often the 7.4-gallon bag needs emptying on your lawn. The listing gives the bag size but no emptying rate or lawn coverage.
  • Ask the seller for the warranty and cord terms in writing, since the listing gives neither.

How we chose

We chose this model because its scan record is a complete corded combo tool, with a stated power source, motor, bag and cutting figures. It is not a battery unit, an attachment or a part. The ASIN is B09QSJJ7PQ. The listing data is from a stored scan dated 2026-10-23, and every listing fact on this page comes from that record.

The fields we compared are the ones a buyer needs to judge a dethatcher: power source, motor, working width, adjustable height, cutting positions, bag size, weight and warranty. Where the listing gave two figures for one field, both are shown. We kept both width figures in the table rather than choosing the one that reads better, so the comparison stays with what the listing says. The thatch thresholds, timing and safety points come from university and government pages, and retail or review pages were not used for facts. This page covers one product and does not rank it against other dethatchers.

What we could not verify

The 3,400 RPM figure is the listing’s own statement, and its footnote is not in the scan record. The 12-inch and 13-inch widths cannot both be right, and no source we opened settles which one applies to this model. The sources we opened do not cover this model or any dethatcher’s output, so no performance claim is checked here.

We did not open a manufacturer page or manual for model GV1212B. The warranty, the cord length and the tine or blade design therefore stay unverified. The thatch sources describe dethatching in general and do not describe this machine.

FAQ

Is the LawnMaster GV1212B corded or battery powered?

The listing gives the power source as corded electric, and it says the tool runs without gas or batteries. It names no battery and no charger.

Is the LawnMaster GV1212B 12 inches or 13 inches wide?

The listing gives both. The title and the item type say 13-inch, while the cutting width spec says 12 inches. The listing does not say which is correct, so check the box or the manual before you buy.

How many cutting positions does it have?

The listing says 19 adjustable cutting positions. It also gives a maximum adjustable cutting height of 0.39 inch and a minimum of 0.19 inch, but it does not say whether those figures are depth settings.

How much thatch is enough to dethatch?

UC says to plan to dethatch when thatch is more than 1/2 inch deep. Oklahoma State says a cool-season lawn of fescue, bluegrass or ryegrass should not exceed 1/3 inch of thatch. Compare your lawn with the threshold for your grass type.

Will the thatch come back after dethatching?

It can. Illinois Extension says thatch will most likely return unless the cause is corrected, and it says overseeding is usually required after mechanical dethatching.

When is the best time to dethatch?

Penn State advises removing thatch from cool-season turf in late summer or early fall, and not from weak turf or turf under heat or drought stress. UC gives mid-to-late spring or early fall for both cool and warm-season grasses.

Bottom line

Buy the GV1212B only when your thatch is over the threshold for your grass, the working width is confirmed on the box or in the manual, and an outlet can reach the whole lawn with a cord run you have checked. If any of those three checks fails, skip it.

Sources

  • LawnMaster GV1212B Scarifier and Dethatcher 13-Inch 12AMP, Amazon listing (opened 2026-10-23)
    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B09QSJJ7PQ
  • Managing Thatch in Lawns, Illinois Extension (opened 2026-10-22)
    https://extension.illinois.edu/lawns/managing-thatch-lawns
  • Managing Thatch in Lawns, Penn State Extension (opened 2026-10-22)
    https://extension.psu.edu/managing-thatch-in-lawns
  • Thatch Management in Lawns, Oklahoma State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22)
    https://extension.okstate.edu/fact-sheets/thatch-management-in-lawns
  • When to dethatch, UC Healthy Lawns, University of California (opened 2026-10-22)
    https://ipm.ucanr.edu/TOOLS/TURF/MAINTAIN/thatchtime.html
  • eTool: Construction – Electrical Incidents – Power Tools, Occupational Safety and Health Administration (opened 2026-10-22)
    https://www.osha.gov/etools/construction/electrical-incidents/power-tools

Similar Posts