Best Shop-Vac 15-Amp Electric Wood Chipper

Best Shop-Vac 15-Amp Electric Wood Chipper

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

Looking for the best shop vac 15 amp electric wood chipper? This page covers one model, the Shop-Vac 15-Amp Electric Wood Chipper with a 1-3/4 inch cutting diameter, using its Amazon listing as read on 2026-10-23. The listing says it has a 15-amp motor, a 3700 RPM maximum speed, two blades, a 45L collection bag and a safety push paddle with automatic shutoff. It does not state the cord length, voltage, warranty or dimensions. Below we list those figures, check them with simple arithmetic, and set out the safety points from two university fact sheets.

Quick answer

  • The listing says this is an electric chipper with a 15-amp motor, a 3700 RPM maximum speed and a cutting diameter of 1-3/4 inch.
  • The listing says it has two blades, a 45L collection bag, a safety push paddle and an automatic shutoff.
  • The listing does not state the cord length, voltage, warranty or dimensions, so check those before you buy.
  • Feed only branches within the stated 1-3/4 inch capacity, and keep hands away from the feed opening, because a university training page warns that self-feeding chippers can catch workers.

The product at a glance

Every figure in this table is what the listing states, read on 2026-10-23. “Not stated” means the text we read did not give that figure.

Item What the listing states
Brand Shop-Vac
Model Not stated
Power source Electric, 15-amp motor
Maximum speed 3700 RPM
Cutting diameter 1-3/4 inch (45 mm)
Blades Two blades that rotate simultaneously
Collection bag 45L
Safety features Safety push paddle and automatic shutoff
Weight 10.3 kg (22.7 lbs)
Cord length Not stated
Voltage Not stated
Battery and charger Not applicable; no battery is mentioned
Warranty Not stated
Dimensions Not stated

View on Amazon

What the listing’s figures add up to

The listing’s numbers agree with each other, but a listing can carry a conversion slip, so we checked the figures that convert. Each check is a plain calculation from the listing’s own number.

Figure Listing value Calculation Result
Cutting diameter 1-3/4 inch 1.75 x 25.4 mm 44.5 mm; the listing gives 45 mm
Weight 10.3 kg 10.3 x 2.2046 lb 22.7 lb; matches the listing’s pound figure
Collection bag 45L 45 / 28.32 cubic feet About 1.6 cubic feet

The two diameter figures are the same size, rounded differently, so the 45 mm figure is not a second specification. The bag is a volume, not a rate. At about 1.6 cubic feet, the bag tells you how often you will empty it, not how fast the machine chips, and the listing does not state a chipping rate.

The 3700 RPM figure is the maximum speed the listing gives for the motor. The listing does not say what speed the blades run at under load, or what branch size brings the machine up to that speed.

Measuring branches against the 1-3/4 inch limit

Most people guess branch size by eye, and a guess can be off by an inch on a thick limb. A tape measure gives a better check. Wrap it around the branch at the spot you plan to cut, then divide the circumference by pi (3.1416) to get the diameter. The 1-3/4 inch figure corresponds to a circumference of about 5.5 inches.

Measured circumference Calculation Diameter Within 1-3/4 inch?
3.0 in 3.0 / 3.1416 0.96 in Yes
4.0 in 4.0 / 3.1416 1.27 in Yes
5.5 in 5.5 / 3.1416 1.75 in At the limit
6.5 in 6.5 / 3.1416 2.07 in No

Measure the thickest point of the branch you will feed, not the thin end. A branch that tapers from 2 inches to 1 inch is over the figure at its thick end. The listing gives 1-3/4 inches as the size the machine handles, and it does not describe what happens with larger branches, so stay at or below that size.

Who it suits

On the listing’s figures, the Shop-Vac 15-Amp Electric Wood Chipper fits these buyers:

  • A homeowner clearing yard debris made of branches up to 1-3/4 inches. The listing says it handles branches up to 45mm (1-3/4 inches) in diameter.
  • A buyer who wants a bag included with the machine. The listing names a 45L collection bag as part of the package.
  • A buyer who wants two blades that rotate at the same time. The listing says the blades rotate simultaneously.
  • A user who will move the machine around the yard. The listing gives a weight of 10.3 kg (22.7 lbs), mentions a transport handle, and calls the unit portable.

Skip it if

  • You need to chip branches thicker than 1-3/4 inches. That is the capacity the listing states.
  • You expect to fill the bag often and want a larger one. The listing gives a 45L bag and no larger option.
  • You need a stated cord length, voltage or warranty before you buy. None of those appear in the text we read.
  • You need a stated duty rating for long sessions. The listing does not give one.

If your debris is mostly leaves rather than branches, our cordless leaf vacuum guide covers a different tool. If the chipper will sit far from the house, check your reach first with our extension cord guide for electric lawn mowers. The same reach questions apply, although the chipper listing does not state its cord.

What the listing does not say

  • Cord and voltage: not stated. The listing says “Electric” and “15-amp” and nothing about the plug or the supply.
  • Battery and charger: not applicable. No battery is mentioned.
  • Warranty: not stated.
  • Dimensions and feed opening size: not stated.
  • Duty rating and chipping rate: not stated.
  • Replacement blades: not stated. The listing describes two blades but not how to replace them.
  • Included items beyond the bag, paddle and shutoff: not stated.

Feeding and safety, from two university pages

The two Ohio State University Extension fact sheets in our research describe chippers and shredders in general. The first, Wood Chippers and Shredders, is written for gasoline-engine and PTO-driven units. The second is a training page for workers. Neither describes this model, and the listing does not say whether it follows the same guidance. Read both as general rules, not as the manufacturer’s instructions.

The fact sheet says to make sure the material to be chipped is free from stones, metal and foreign objects, and that the shields and guards are in place. It also says to keep bystanders away from the equipment, because objects can be thrown from the blades, and to wear safety glasses with side shields or goggles.

The training page warns that workers who feed materials into self-feeding chippers or shredders can get caught in the knives. The listing names a safety push paddle but does not say how it is used, so follow the instructions that come with the unit.

The training page also tells operators to allow all internal machine parts to come to a complete stop before opening the hood that covers the disc or drum, and not to work alone when using a chipper or a shredder.

The training page adds two more hazards. Workers can be pulled into the knives or struck by the chipper disc hood, and an unlatched, improperly secured, or damaged hood can be thrown from the chipper. It also says to shut the machine down right away if it makes unusual noises. Check the hood latch and the condition of the hood before each session, and treat any unusual sound as a reason to stop.

Setting up the chipper

The same training page gives placement rules that apply to any chipper. It says to position the chipper so workers do not have to stand on slopes when feeding material, and to keep the area around it free of tripping hazards. It also says the discharge chute should be positioned to prevent chips from being blown in any direction.

For a machine with a 45L bag, that means choosing level ground with room to reach the bag and a clear path for the chute. The listing does not state the chute direction or how the bag attaches, so check the unit before you start.

Buying checklist

  • Measure the largest branch you plan to chip and compare it with the 1-3/4 inch figure.
  • Estimate how many bags of debris you will make in one session, and compare that with the bag’s 1.6 cubic feet.
  • Find the cord length and voltage on the box or in the manual. The listing does not state either.
  • Confirm the bag, the paddle and the shutoff are in the box. The listing names all three as included.
  • Look for a model number on the box or the unit. The listing title does not show one.
  • Look for a warranty statement. None appears in the text we read.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Feeding branches above the stated capacity. The listing gives 1-3/4 inches as the figure to work to.
  • Reading the bag size as a chipping rate. The 45L bag tells you how often to empty it, not how fast the machine works.
  • Defeating a safety feature. The fact sheet says the safety features should not be overridden.
  • Clearing a clog before the blades stop. The training page says internal parts must come to a complete stop first.
  • Trusting the cord. The listing does not state a cord length or voltage, so measure the reach and confirm the supply yourself before you plug in.

How we chose

This post covers one product, ASIN B0GFCKP7DM, so it does not rank or compare chippers. The listing data was read on 2026-10-23 and marked CHECKED. We picked this model for the post because its listing states the figures buyers compare first: motor, cutting diameter, bag volume and safety features. We left out every other chipper because this post is about one product. The two Ohio State fact sheets were chosen as general, non-retail guidance on chippers and shredders, and we opened both on 2026-10-22. The list of sources at the end of this post gives their titles and addresses. We used the Amazon listing only for figures it states, and we did not use retail or review pages for any fact in this post.

What we could not verify

  • The manufacturer page. A search returned a Shop-Vac product page for this model, but our attempt to open it returned HTTP 429, so no manufacturer statement is used here.
  • Cord length, voltage and plug type. The listing does not state them.
  • Chipping rate and how long the bag lasts. Neither the listing nor the fact sheets state a rate.
  • Performance on green or wet wood. The listing does not say, and the fact sheets do not cover this model.
  • Warranty, dimensions and duty rating. Not stated in the text we read.
  • Whether the gasoline-oriented fact sheet applies to this electric model. The fact sheet does not describe it, and the listing does not confirm it.

FAQ

Is the Shop-Vac 15 amp electric wood chipper corded?

The listing says electric with a 15-amp motor. It does not say whether a power cord comes with the unit or how long the cord is, so check the listing and the box before you buy.

What is the largest branch it can chip?

The listing says it handles branches up to 45mm, which is 1-3/4 inches. Anything thicker is outside the capacity the listing states.

How big is the collection bag?

The listing says 45L. That is about 1.6 cubic feet, which tells you how often you will empty it, not how fast the machine chips.

Does it have a safety feature?

The listing says it includes a safety push paddle and an automatic shutoff. The Ohio State fact sheet says the safety features should not be overridden, so keep the guards and shutoff working as designed.

Is it heavy?

The listing gives 10.3 kg, which is 22.7 lb. It also mentions a convenient transport handle, but it does not say whether the unit has wheels.

How do I find the model number?

The listing title does not show a model number, and the text we read does not give one. Check the label on the unit or the box before you search for a manual or contact the seller.

Bottom line

Buy this chipper only if the branches you will feed are 1-3/4 inches or smaller, and you can confirm the cord and voltage before you order. For thicker branches, look for a machine with a larger stated capacity.

Sources

  • Shop-Vac 15-Amp Electric Wood Chipper, 1-3/4 Inch Cutting Diameter, Amazon product listing (opened 2026-10-23)
    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0GFCKP7DM
  • Wood Chippers and Shredders, Ohioline, Ohio State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22)
    https://ohioline.osu.edu/factsheet/aex-79034
  • Wood Chippers and Shredders Safety for Trainers and Landscapers, Ohioline, Ohio State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22)
    https://ohioline.osu.edu/factsheet/aex-892285

Similar Posts