Best BLACK+DECKER 12 Amp 16 in. Electric

Best BLACK+DECKER 12 Amp 16 in. Electric

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

If you searched for best blackdecker 12 amp 16 in. electric, the product in question is the BLACK+DECKER CS1216, a corded electric chainsaw. Its listing describes a 12-amp motor, a 16-inch chain and a low-kickback bar and chain, with a corded design rather than a battery. The listing does not state the cord length or the voltage, and it does not mention a chain brake. This post sets out what the listing says, what the safety guidance we opened asks of anyone running a saw like this, and when a different tool is the better choice.

Quick answer

  • It is a corded electric chainsaw. The listing gives a 12-amp motor, a 16-inch chain length and a 550-watt figure in a field labelled Horsepower.
  • The listing describes the bar and chain as low-kickback. Extension guidance still treats kickback as the most dangerous reaction force, so grip and stance matter as much as bar design.
  • Cord length, voltage and chain brake are not stated in the listing.
  • Choose it for corded work close to an outlet, and skip it for overhead cutting or any job where you cannot keep the cord clear of the cut.

The product at a glance

The table uses only what the listing states. Where the listing is silent, the cell says not stated. The figures come from the listing record our scanner saved, checked on 2026-10-23.

Item What the listing states
Brand and model BLACK+DECKER, model CS1216 (manufacturer listed as Black & Decker Outdoor)
Power source Corded electric
Motor 12 amp (title and power bullet)
Power figure 550 watts in a field labelled Horsepower; not stated whether this is input or output
Voltage not stated
Cord length not stated
Chain length 16 inches (spec field)
Bar and chain Low-kickback bar and chain (bullet)
Chain tensioning Tool-free, per the listing
Oiling Automatic oiling system, with a clear window to view the oil level (bullets)
Chain brake not stated
Weight 10 pounds (spec field)
Dimensions 19 by 9 by 12 inches (spec field)
Included One chainsaw and one scabbard
Warranty 2-year limited warranty (spec field)
Runtime The listing says the corded design offers unlimited runtime

View on Amazon

Who it suits

This saw suits a homeowner with corded work close to an outlet, where a battery would otherwise be the limiting factor. The power bullet says the motor “provides enough power to cut through branches and logs”, so the listing aims the saw at limbs and logs. The bullets on tool-free chain tensioning and automatic oiling describe routine upkeep, and the listing presents both as built-in features rather than extra steps.

The listing says the corded design “offers unlimited runtime for even the biggest jobs”. In practice the limit is the cord and the outlet. The listing does not give the cord length, so measure the distance from your outlet to the work before you plan a session.

Reading the low-kickback claim

The listing says the bar and chain are low-kickback, and the agricultural safety guidance notes that most consumer chainsaws are equipped with low-kickback chains. The same guidance treats kickback as the most dangerous of the reaction forces, because the blade of the chainsaw usually is thrown into the head, neck, or shoulder area of the operator. Penn State Extension describes kickback as a leading cause of chainsaw-related injuries. A low-kickback chain is designed to reduce that energy. It does not remove the need for a firm grip and a safe stance. The same guidance describes chain brakes as a feature of gas chainsaws. The listing does not mention a chain brake on this corded saw, so that protection cannot be counted here.

Grip, stance and chain tension

Penn State Extension says operators should stand with their feet shoulder-width apart, ensuring stability and balance. The agricultural safety guidance says to hold the saw firmly with both hands using an encircling grip, and not to cut limbs or brush with the nose of the guide bar. Chain tension matters too. Penn State Extension says the chain should not be too loose or too tight. The listing says chain adjustments are quick and easy without extra tools, which makes the tension check easier, but it does not replace the check.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Cutting overhead. OSHA says “Do not cut directly overhead.” Penn State Extension says to avoid cutting above shoulder height, because overhead cutting increases the risk of kickback and recoil. For limbs out of reach, a pole saw is a different tool, and our Seesii vs EGO Power+ pole saw comparison covers those.
  • Cutting with a dull or loose chain. Penn State Extension says a dull chain requires more force and is more likely to cause kickbacks, and that the chain should not be too loose or too tight.
  • Letting the cord into the cut. OSHA says to keep cords away from the cutting surface of a power saw.
  • Skipping training. Penn State Extension recommends training before anyone uses a saw for the first time, and as a refresher for experienced users.

Keeping the cord out of the cut

Corded safety is separate from the saw’s own safety features. OSHA says to keep cords away from heat, oil, and sharp edges, including the cutting surface of a power saw, and to make sure cords do not present a tripping hazard. OSHA also warns that damage to a cord is often only to the insulation, which exposes energized conductors. Plan the cord route before you start, and look over the cord after each session. The listing does not state a cord length, so the route is a question to answer before you buy, not a detail to settle on the day.

Before the first cut

OSHA’s chain saw guidance lists a short pre-use routine. Check the controls, the chain tension, and all bolts and handles, and make sure they function properly and are adjusted according to the manufacturer’s instructions. While the saw runs, keep hands on the handles and maintain secure footing. The listing does not describe the controls, so the manual that comes with the saw is the place to confirm them for this model.

Skip it if

  • The work is overhead. OSHA and Penn State Extension both advise against overhead cutting, so this saw is the wrong tool for high limbs.
  • You will limb fallen trees. The agricultural safety guidance says limbing with a chainsaw is perhaps the most dangerous activity the operator does in daily work. If limbing is most of your job, plan for training and protective gear, and look for a listing that states its safety features in full.
  • The outlet cannot sit near the work. The listing gives no cord length. A cord that is too short pushes you toward extension cords, and every extra connection is one more thing to check.
  • You need a stated chain brake. The listing does not mention one. Penn State Extension lists a chain brake among the safety features a chainsaw should have, so check the product before you rely on it.

What the listing does not say

These are the gaps that matter for a corded saw. Each one is a question to answer before you buy.

  • Cord length and voltage. Neither is stated. The title gives the 12-amp rating, and the listing gives a 550-watt figure in a field labelled Horsepower, without saying whether it is input or output.
  • Chain brake. The listing does not mention one.
  • Largest cut. The power bullet says the motor is enough “to cut through branches and logs”, but it gives no diameter.
  • Bar length and oil. The spec field gives a 16-inch chain length. The listing does not give a separate bar length, and it does not say whether bar oil is included.
  • Warranty terms. The listing gives a 2-year limited warranty but not the coverage terms.

The listing record we read does not mention protective equipment. The agricultural safety guidance says proper personal protective equipment, along with stance, grip and cutting technique, may significantly reduce the risk from reaction forces. Treat that gear as part of the purchase.

How we chose

This post covers one product, ASIN B00TJ3FBOY, the BLACK+DECKER CS1216 12 amp 16 inch corded electric chainsaw. It was the product assigned to this keyword in our scan batch, and we considered no other product for this post. The site’s category is trimmers, edgers and blowers, but this product is a chainsaw, so the post covers that tool and the safety rules that apply to it. Safety guidance is included because a chainsaw carries kickback risk that a product listing does not explain in full.

The first rule for inclusion was whether the record describes a complete tool. It does: the title and spec fields describe a corded saw with its scabbard, so it is not a part, a bare tool or an attachment. The second rule was whether the record gives enough figures for a useful guide. It gives the motor rating, the chain length, the weight, the warranty and the included items. It leaves out the cord length, the voltage and the chain brake, which is why those gaps are set out in full above.

The data in this post was read on 2026-10-23 from the listing record our scanner saved. The safety guidance comes from Penn State Extension, an agricultural safety extension page and two OSHA eTools, all opened on 2026-10-22. We did not use retail, review or price information.

What we could not verify

The sources we opened do not cover the points below, and the listing does not settle them. Confirm each one against the product itself or the manufacturer’s material before you rely on it.

  • The cord length and the voltage.
  • Whether the saw has a chain brake, since the listing does not mention one.
  • Whether the 550-watt figure is input or output power.
  • The largest branch or log the saw cuts. The listing says it cuts “branches and logs” but gives no size.
  • The coverage terms behind the 2-year limited warranty.
  • How the low-kickback bar performs on your work. The sources we opened describe kickback in general, not this model.

No manufacturer page for the CS1216 is part of this post, so no manufacturer specification is used here.

FAQ

Is the BLACK+DECKER CS1216 a corded or a battery chainsaw?

It is a corded electric chainsaw. The listing gives the power source as corded electric and says the corded design offers unlimited runtime. Battery runtime does not apply, but the cord length is not stated.

Does this chainsaw have a chain brake?

The listing does not mention a chain brake. Penn State Extension says a chainsaw should be equipped with safety features such as a chain brake, throttle lock, and anti-vibration systems. If a chain brake matters to you, check the product before you buy.

Do I need training before I use a corded chainsaw?

Penn State Extension recommends training before anyone uses a saw for the first time, and as a refresher for people with experience. The listing does not mention training, and this post does not replace it.

Can I cut overhead with it?

No. OSHA says not to cut directly overhead, and Penn State Extension advises avoiding cuts above shoulder height. For limbs out of reach, a pole saw is a different tool; see our EGO Power+ vs Autubin pole saw comparison.

How heavy is the saw and how long is the bar?

The listing gives a weight of 10 pounds and a chain length of 16 inches. It does not give a separate bar length, so the 16-inch figure is the only length the listing states.

How do I keep the cord safe while I cut?

Keep the cord away from the cutting surface, out of the path of the bar, and clear of walking routes. Look over the cord after each session, because OSHA warns that damaged insulation can expose energized conductors.

Bottom line

Decision rule: buy this saw only if the work is close to an outlet, stays below shoulder height, and you will keep the cord out of the cut. If you need a stated cord length, a chain brake or a confirmed power figure before you buy, choose a listing that gives them.

Sources

  • BLACK+DECKER 12 Amp 16 in. Electric Chainsaw (CS1216), listing record saved from Amazon (opened 2026-10-23) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00TJ3FBOY
  • The Dangers of Using Chainsaws, Penn State Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://extension.psu.edu/the-dangers-of-using-chainsaws
  • Chainsaw Safety, Safety, Health and Wellness in Agriculture (opened 2026-10-22) https://ag-safety.extension.org/chainsaw-safety/
  • Safe Operation of a Chain Saw, OSHA eTool (opened 2026-10-22) https://www.osha.gov/etools/logging/manual-operations/logger/chain-saw/saw-operation
  • Electrical Incidents: Power Tools, OSHA eTool (opened 2026-10-22) https://www.osha.gov/etools/construction/electrical-incidents/power-tools

Similar Posts