Best Sun Joe 24V IONMAX Cordless Hedge Trimmer

Best Sun Joe 24V IONMAX Cordless Hedge Trimmer

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

Shoppers searching for the best sun joe 24v ionmax cordless hedge trimmer want to know whether this 18-inch battery trimmer fits their hedge and what it needs to run. The listing states an 18-inch blade, a 250-watt motor, a 2.0-Ah battery and charger in the kit, a 2-year warranty and a safety switch. It states a cut thickness of 0.6 inches. It does not state runtime, charge time or weight. This page covers those figures, a pass count for a hedge, and the safety points from university pruning and trimmer pages.

Quick answer

  • The Sun Joe 24V-HT18-LTE is an 18-inch handheld battery hedge trimmer, and the listing names a 2.0-Ah battery and charger in the kit.
  • It suits a short to medium hedge, where an 18-inch blade covers each face in a few segments.
  • Skip it if you need a runtime or weight figure, a cut thickness above 0.6 inches, or a long hedge that needs more segments than you want to cut.
  • Keep the blade guard and cover in place and clear the work area, as Ohio State’s trimmer fact sheet advises.

The product at a glance

The table lists only what the listing states. Where the listing is silent, the cell says not stated.

Item What the listing states
Brand Sun Joe
Model number 24V-HT18-LTE
Title 24-Volt IONMAX Cordless Handheld Hedge Trimmer Kit, 18-inch
Power Battery powered (spec field); 24-Volt IONMAX (title)
Battery 2.0-Ah, included (title and included components)
Charger Included (included components)
Blade length 18 inches (title and bullet)
Blades 18-inch rust-resistant dual-action blades (bullet)
Cut thickness Branches up to 0.6 inches thick (bullet)
Motor 250-watt electric motor (bullet)
Speed Up to 2,800 RPM (bullet)
Vibration Up to 40 percent less than single-action blades, per the listing (bullet)
Safety Built-in safety switch to prevent accidental starting, and a blade safety cover (bullet)
Other included parts Safety blade cover, safety guard, blade support (included components)
Warranty 2 years (manufacturer warranty field)
Runtime not stated
Charge time not stated
Weight not stated
Dimensions not stated

View on Amazon

Segments for a hedge run

Divide the length of the hedge by the 18-inch blade length and round up to get the number of segments. The count assumes each segment is one blade length with no overlap, because the listing gives no overlap guidance. The arithmetic is ours and rests only on the stated blade length.

Hedge length Length in inches Segments at 18 inches
6 ft 72 4
10 ft 120 7
20 ft 240 14
30 ft 360 20

Segments count length only. They do not measure time, and they do not show how much height one cut reaches. A tall hedge may need more than one pass per segment. The listing gives no height reach, and it calls the trimmer handheld, so plan for reaching the top of the hedge yourself.

Reading the cut thickness

The listing states that the 18-inch blades cut branches up to 0.6 inches thick. Iowa State’s pruning guide says hand pruners or pruning shears are generally used for branches up to 3/4 inch in diameter, which describes a different tool family. The two figures do not conflict, but they describe different tools, so do not read them as one capacity.

The Penn State guide sorts the tools by job. It names bypass hand pruners for small cuts, loppers for smaller-diameter branches, pruning saws for larger branches, and a hedge trimmer for shearing. By that list, the trimmer’s job is shaping, and thicker wood goes to a saw.

Sharpness matters for any cutting tool. The University of Maryland extension page says tools must be sharp to give a good clean cut, and it recommends keeping cutting edges sharp with a file, diamond sharpener or whetstone. The listing does not describe how the blades are sharpened or replaced, so check the manual before you service them.

Pruning habits to plan around

A trimmer shapes a hedge quickly, but the sources frame the work as pruning, and plant health depends on how the cuts are made. Penn State says pruning is cutting a plant to shape it, to maintain its health, or to improve the quality of its fruit or foliage. Those three purposes set the cutting plan before the trimmer starts.

Timing matters as much as the tool. The same Penn State guide says that if you want to keep plants at a specific size, it is best to prune them each year rather than cut them back severely after they have grown too large. For a hedge, that points to small regular trims rather than one hard cut every few seasons.

Thinning is a different job. Penn State describes thinning as cutting off older, thicker stems near ground level, or cutting branches back to a larger branch. A battery trimmer with a 0.6-inch cut thickness fits the regular shaping work. It does not replace the thinning cut on thick stems, which the sources send to hand pruners, loppers and saws.

Iowa State’s guide also covers the hand pruners most buyers will own alongside a trimmer. Bypass pruners have curved blades that overlap, scissor-style, when they make the cut. Anvil-type pruners have a sharpened upper blade that cuts against a flat surface. The guide says bypass hand pruners are generally preferred over the anvil types, which is a useful check when you choose the pruners to go with this trimmer.

Who it suits

The Sun Joe 24V-HT18-LTE suits a homeowner with a short to medium hedge who wants a battery trimmer with the battery and charger named in the kit.

  • A homeowner who trims a hedge of a few tens of feet, where the segments table gives under about 20 cuts.
  • A buyer who wants a kit with a 2.0-Ah battery and charger listed as included.
  • A buyer who wants the 2-year warranty the listing states on the tool.
  • A buyer who shapes shrubs and small hedges with branches no thicker than the listing’s 0.6-inch figure.

Skip it if

  • Your hedge is long enough to need more than about 20 segments. The count shows the work, and the listing gives no time per segment.
  • You need to cut branches thicker than 0.6 inches. The Penn State guide points to saws for larger branches.
  • You need a runtime or weight figure before you buy. The listing states neither.
  • You need a pole or extension reach. The listing calls the trimmer handheld and names no pole.

For another 18-inch cordless trimmer to compare, read our Ryobi 18V ONE+ cordless hedge trimmer review. If reach matters more than a short blade, see our guide to cordless hedge trimmers with an extension pole.

Safety points from the sources

The listing says the trimmer has a built-in safety switch to prevent accidental starting, and a blade safety cover. These are the manufacturer’s stated features. The sources we opened do not verify them independently, and the captured listing text gives no further safety instructions.

Ohio State’s trimmer fact sheet advises not cutting near hard objects when using rigid blades. The listing does not say whether its blades are rigid, so this advice applies only once you confirm the blade type. The same fact sheet advises inspecting the unit and its attachments for signs of wear and damage, and checking that the shields and deflector guards are in place and that the safety features are not overridden.

The Penn State guide also advises removing dead, diseased or damaged wood as well as branches that cross each other. That is a pruning point rather than a safety rule, but it sets the job the trimmer should be used for.

What the listing does not say

Several facts a buyer needs are missing from the captured listing text. Each one is a question for the seller or the manual.

  • Runtime on the 2.0-Ah battery, and the charge time.
  • Weight and packed dimensions.
  • Whether the battery works with other Sun Joe or IONMAX tools. The listing states no compatibility.
  • How the 0.6-inch figure was measured, and whether it applies to every branch shape.
  • What the listing means by its speed and power figures in practice. It gives 250 watts and up to 2,800 RPM, and no torque or runtime figure.

The listing’s only power figures are 250 watts and up to 2,800 RPM. It does not link either figure to a cut thickness or a runtime, so do not read them as a promise about thick wood or long sessions.

How we chose

This page covers one product: the Sun Joe 24V IONMAX 18-inch cordless hedge trimmer kit, model 24V-HT18-LTE, with ASIN B0848LJ795. It belongs in this set because it is an 18-inch battery hedge trimmer with a stated battery, charger and blade, which matches the electric trimmer work this site covers. The listing was read and saved on 2026-10-23 (CHECKED date). We did not rank it against other trimmers, so nothing here is a ranking.

The criteria are the stated blade length, cut thickness, motor, battery and charger, warranty and safety features; what the listing leaves out; and university guidance on pruning tools and trimmer safety. We kept only figures the listing states, and marked the rest as not stated.

What we could not verify

  • The manufacturer’s product page for model 24V-HT18-LTE. The sources we opened do not include that page, so the manufacturer’s runtime, weight and warranty terms remain unverified.
  • Runtime, charge time and weight for the kit.
  • Battery compatibility with other tools.
  • How the trimmer performs on the 0.6-inch branches the listing names, in real hedges.
  • The vibration figure, which the listing states as up to 40 percent less than single-action blades, without a test condition.

Checklist before you buy

  1. Measure the hedge length and count segments with the table above.
  2. Check the thickest branch you need to cut against the listing’s 0.6-inch figure, and plan saws or loppers for anything thicker.
  3. Confirm the battery and charger in the box, since the listing names both as included.
  4. Check the blade cover and guard before each use, as Ohio State advises.
  5. Check the blades for sharpness and keep the cutting edges sharp with a file, diamond sharpener or whetstone.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Reading 0.6 inches as the capacity for all wood. The listing states it for branches up to that thickness, and the Penn State guide assigns larger branches to saws.
  • Counting one pass for a tall hedge. The listing gives no height reach, so a tall hedge may need more than one pass per segment.
  • Cutting near hard objects with rigid blades. Ohio State’s guidance warns against it.
  • Letting the blades go dull. The University of Maryland page says tools must be sharp to give a good clean cut.
  • Pruning hard once every few seasons when a yearly trim would do. Penn State says yearly pruning avoids severe cut-backs after plants grow too large.

FAQ

Does the kit include a battery and charger?

Yes. The listing’s included components field names a 2.0-Ah battery and charger, along with a safety blade cover, a safety guard and a blade support.

How thick a branch can it cut?

The listing states branches up to 0.6 inches thick. Iowa State says hand pruners are generally used for branches up to 3/4 inch, which describes a different tool, and Penn State assigns larger branches to saws.

How long is the blade?

The listing gives an 18-inch blade in the title and in the blade bullet.

How long does the battery run?

The listing does not state a runtime or a charge time, so ask the seller or check the manual before you buy.

Is there a warranty?

The listing states a 2-year manufacturer warranty. It does not give the full terms in the captured text, so ask the seller for the written terms.

What safety features does it have?

The listing names a built-in safety switch to prevent accidental starting and a blade safety cover. Ohio State advises checking that the guards are in place and that the safety features are not overridden.

Bottom line

Buy the Sun Joe 24V-HT18-LTE only if your hedge needs an 18-inch handheld trimmer, the branches you cut stay under the listing’s 0.6-inch figure, and you accept that the listing gives no runtime figure. For thicker wood, use loppers or a saw.

Sources

  • Amazon listing for Sun Joe 24V-HT18-LTE 24-Volt IONMAX Cordless Handheld Hedge Trimmer Kit, 18-inch (opened 2026-10-23): https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0848LJ795
  • University of Maryland Extension, Pruning Tools (opened 2026-10-22): https://extension.umd.edu/resource/pruning-tools
  • Iowa State University Extension, Guide to Pruning Equipment (opened 2026-10-22): https://yardandgarden.extension.iastate.edu/how-to/guide-pruning-equipment
  • Penn State Extension, Pruning Needled Evergreens (opened 2026-10-22): https://extension.psu.edu/pruning-needled-evergreens
  • Penn State Extension, Keeping Plants Well Groomed (opened 2026-10-22): https://extension.psu.edu/keeping-plants-well-groomed
  • Ohio State University Extension, Ohioline, Handheld Trimmers and Brush Cutters (opened 2026-10-22): https://ohioline.osu.edu/factsheet/aex-79037

Similar Posts