Best Kärcher Pressure Washer K1700
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Looking for the best Kärcher pressure washer K1700? This page covers one electric model, rated at 1700 PSI with a stated maximum flow of 1.2 gallons per minute and a removable half-gallon detergent tank. The product facts come from the Amazon listing and from Kärcher’s own U.S. product page, both read on 2026-10-23. The two sources disagree on flow and on hose length, so this post shows both figures instead of choosing one. The safety points come from a university occupational safety page and an extension stored-energy guide.
Quick answer
- The K1700 is an electric pressure washer rated at 1700 PSI. Kärcher’s page gives a maximum flow of 1.2 gallons per minute.
- It suits home cleaning jobs within reach of a 120-volt outlet, such as cars, patios, decks and fencing, which the listing names as its intended tasks.
- The listing gives a maximum flow of 1.46 gpm in one table and 1.2 gpm everywhere else, and it gives three different hose lengths. Confirm the figure that matters to you before you order.
- Skip it if you need a warranty term in writing, a gas-powered unit, or a hose length you can count on from the listing alone.
The product at a glance
The table lists what the Amazon listing states and what Kärcher’s U.S. product page states. Where the two differ, both figures appear. A cell that says not stated means the source is silent on that point.
| Item | Amazon listing | Kärcher U.S. page |
|---|---|---|
| Brand | Kärcher | Kärcher |
| Model | K1700 (the size option named in the listing) | K1700, order number 1.106-109.0 |
| Power source | electric | electric pressure washer |
| Pressure | 1700 PSI TruPressure | max. 1700 psi |
| Flow | 1.2 gpm in the title and spec block; max GPM of 1.46 in the manufacturer grid | max. 1.2 gal/min |
| Motor | universal motor (grid) | reliable universal motor |
| Detergent tank | 0.5 gallon, removable | 0.5 gal, removable |
| Water feed temperature | not stated | max. 104 °F |
| Hose | 19 feet (spec block); 20 ft (manufacturer description); M22 18 ft (product description) | high-pressure hose listed; length not stated |
| Spray nozzles | 15 degree, turbo and 65 degree (soap) | not stated |
| Inlet filter | not stated | integrated water filter |
| Voltage | 120 volts (product voltage) | not stated |
| Certifications | CETA and CSA (spec block) | not stated |
| Weight | 20.7 pounds (item weight) | 20.7 lb without accessories; 28.7 lb with packaging |
| Dimensions | 17.25 x 16.5 x 33 inches | 17.25 x 16.5 x 33 in |
| Color | yellow | yellow |
| Warranty | term not stated; the listing links to a warranty PDF | term not stated in the text saved for this post |
| Documents | User Guide (PDF); User Manual (PDF) | User Manual (PDF) |
The two sources do not agree on everything, and the table is set up so you can see that. The flow figure is the one that matters most. The maker’s own page says 1.2 gallons per minute at most, which matches the listing’s title. The listing’s manufacturer grid says 1.46. The post does not pick a winner between them. It works the arithmetic for both in the next section.
What the flow figures mean in water
Flow sets how much water the unit uses while the trigger is open. The arithmetic below is simple: gallons used equals flow in gallons per minute times minutes of trigger time. It uses the two stated figures and no measured result.
| Minutes with the trigger open | At 1.2 gpm (gallons) | At 1.46 gpm (gallons) |
|---|---|---|
| 10 | 12.0 | 14.6 |
| 20 | 24.0 | 29.2 |
| 30 | 36.0 | 43.8 |
| 60 | 72.0 | 87.6 |
The gap between the two figures is 0.26 gallons per minute. Against the 1.2 figure, that is about 22 percent more water per minute at the higher number. Over a 30-minute wash, the difference is about 7.8 gallons. Use the table to judge whether a 22 percent swing in water use matters for your yard, your water bill or your hose supply, and keep in mind that the listing does not say which figure the unit delivers at its outlet.
The 1700 PSI figure is a maximum pressure, and it is the same on both sources. Neither source ties that pressure to a cleaning rate on any particular surface. The water feed temperature limit is different: the maker’s page gives a maximum of 104 °F for the water going into the unit, and the listing says nothing about temperature. Keep that limit in mind if you plan to connect a hot-water supply.
Safety points from the sources
The University of Kentucky occupational safety page advises wearing eye and hearing protection when you run a pressure washer, and it warns against letting the high-pressure stream reach your hands, feet or body. It also says never to point the spray wand at another person, even when the unit is off, because it can discharge unexpectedly. The same page warns against running a pressure washer where the water can reach electrical equipment.
The extension stored-energy guide says to check the hoses and fittings of any machine that runs on water pressure for wear before you operate it. That applies here because the K1700 uses a high-pressure hose and quick-connect fittings. The listing adds one electrical detail: its power cord plug has a ground fault circuit interrupter built in, and the listing says any replacement plug or cord must be an identical part.
Who it suits
The K1700 fits a homeowner who needs a plug-in unit for cars, patios, decks, siding and fencing, with an outlet close enough to the work area. The listing names those tasks, and the maker’s page describes high cleaning performance and ease of use. The points below follow the features each source actually states.
- Owners with a 120-volt outlet near the job. The listing states a product voltage of 120 and notes that a converter may be needed outside the United States. For cord choices on a corded electric yard tool, see our extension cord guide for electric lawn mowers.
- Anyone who wants a foot switch for stop-and-go work. The maker’s page describes an on/off foot switch, and the listing says the unit stops when the trigger on the gun is released.
- Buyers who want storage on the machine. The maker’s page describes a large removable storage bin for accessories and a power cord storage feature that keeps the plug overhead and easy to reach.
- Owners who plan to use soap. The removable 0.5-gallon tank and the 65 degree soap nozzle are the two features the sources name for detergent use.
A homeowner with a small patio and a driveway has the easiest fit, because the stated features match that kind of job. A larger property with long runs from the outlet will need the hose length confirmed before the purchase, because the sources do not agree on it. Neither source gives a power cord length either, so measure the run from the outlet to the far corner of the work area before you buy.
Skip it if
- You need a warranty term before you buy. The listing links to a warranty PDF without giving a term, and the maker’s page says the unit is backed by its best warranty without naming the length in the text saved for this post.
- You cannot reach a 120-volt outlet. The listing gives only the 120-volt rating, and says a converter may be needed outside the United States. For the wider trade-offs between plug-in and battery or gas tools, see our pros and cons of electric mowers.
- You need hot water at the inlet. The maker’s page sets a maximum feed temperature of 104 °F.
- You need a hose length you can rely on without asking the seller. The listing gives 19 feet, 20 feet and 18 feet across three of its blocks.
What the listing does not say
The listing is short on several points a buyer usually checks, and the maker’s page does not fill every gap. These are the items to confirm before you buy.
- The warranty term. The listing says “For warranty information about this product, please click here,” and gives no length.
- The hose length. Three figures appear, and they do not match.
- The amp rating and motor power. The listing gives a 120-volt product voltage and nothing about current draw.
- The nozzle set on the maker’s page. The listing names three nozzles, and the maker’s page text saved for this post does not list them.
- The certifications on the maker’s page. The listing names CETA and CSA, and the maker’s text saved for this post does not repeat them.
- The maintenance schedule. Neither source gives a service interval for the pump or the filter.
How we chose
This post covers one product: ASIN B01N20PROC, the Kärcher K1700 pressure washer. The model was on this batch’s assigned list for pressure washers. We did not rank it against other pressure washers and did not choose it as a best option. The post describes the one ASIN and nothing else.
The product facts come from two places: the Amazon listing, read on 2026-10-23 for its title, bullets, and specification and description blocks, and Kärcher’s U.S. product page, fetched on 2026-10-23. We did not record the listing’s price, rating or seller blocks, because they are outside what this post covers. Where the two disagree, both figures appear in this post. The safety points come from two pages opened on 2026-10-22 for other posts in this batch, and we keep that original date for both.
What we could not verify
- Which flow figure the unit delivers, 1.2 or 1.46 gpm. The maker’s page gives 1.2 at most, and the listing’s grid gives 1.46.
- Which hose length is correct for this unit. The listing gives 19, 20 and 18 feet across three blocks, and the maker’s page does not give a length.
- The warranty term. The listing links a PDF without a term, and the maker’s page text saved for this post does not give one.
- Cleaning performance on any particular surface. The sources here do not cover it.
- The current draw at 120 volts. Neither source states an amp rating.
FAQ
Is the Kärcher K1700 electric or gas?
It is electric. The listing gives the power source as electric, and the maker’s page calls it an electric pressure washer. It runs from a 120-volt outlet, so plan the cord route before you start. The listing names no battery, so the outlet and the cord are the only power supply to plan around.
Which flow rate should I use for planning, 1.2 or 1.46 gpm?
Use the maker’s figure of 1.2 gallons per minute as the starting point, because it is the figure Kärcher publishes on its own product page. The listing’s grid shows 1.46, and the listing does not explain the difference. Ask the seller to confirm the number before you rely on either one.
How long is the hose?
The sources disagree. The listing’s spec block says 19 feet, its manufacturer description says 20 feet, and its product description says an M22 18-foot hose. The maker’s page does not give a length. Measure the distance you need to cover before you buy.
Can I use hot water with the K1700?
The maker’s page gives a maximum water feed temperature of 104 °F. The sources here say nothing about hot-water use above that limit, so do not connect a hotter supply.
Does the K1700 come with soap and nozzles?
It has a removable 0.5-gallon detergent tank, which the maker’s page describes as holding up to a half-gallon. The listing names three nozzles: 15 degree, turbo and 65 degree, the last one for soap. The maker’s page text saved for this post does not list the nozzles.
What safety steps should I follow?
Wear eye and hearing protection, keep your hands, feet and body clear of the spray, and never point the wand at another person. Check the hoses and fittings for wear before each use, and keep the unit away from electrical equipment, as the University of Kentucky page advises.
Bottom line
Buy the K1700 only if a 120-volt outlet can reach your work area and the hose length works for your layout, and get the hose length and warranty term confirmed by the seller before you order.
Sources
- Kärcher Pressure Washer K1700, CETA Certified, Amazon listing (opened 2026-10-23)
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N20PROC - Pressure washer K1700, Kärcher U.S. product page (opened 2026-10-23)
https://www.karcher.com/us/en/home-and-garden/products/k1700-p11061090 - Pressure Washer Safety, Occupational Health and Safety, University of Kentucky (opened 2026-10-22)
https://ohs.uky.edu/worker-safety/pressure-washer-safety - Mechanical Hazards: Stored Energy, Ag Safety and Health Community of Practice, Extension (opened 2026-10-22)
https://ag-safety.extension.org/mechanical-hazards-stored-energy/






