How Long a Cordless Blower Battery Runs
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
How long does a leaf blower battery last? On the manufacturer pages we opened, the stated runtimes run from 10 minutes to 150 minutes per charge. The number depends on the battery’s amp-hour rating, the speed you run, and the blower it powers. Each figure is a manufacturer claim for the conditions printed beside it. Real runtime changes with how hard you work the blower and with the battery’s condition, and the sources we opened do not say how much battery age changes it.
Quick answer
- The EGO POWER+ 765 CFM blower page states up to 90 minutes of average runtime with a 5.0Ah battery. Its 670 CFM page states up to 80 minutes with a 4.0Ah battery.
- The Ryobi pages we opened state 10 minutes for a 250 CFM blower on a 2Ah battery, and up to 16 minutes for a 450 CFM blower on a 4Ah battery.
- Speed changes the figure a great deal. The 765 CFM page lists 15 minutes on Turbo and 150 minutes on low for the same battery.
- Read the battery named beside each figure before you compare two numbers, because each figure assumes one specific pack.
What a runtime figure assumes
A runtime number on a product page is a claim with conditions attached, so read the words around it first. The EGO POWER+ 765 CFM page says the blower “delivers up to 90 minutes of average runtime on a single charge with the recommended 56V 5.0Ah ARC Lithium™ battery (available separately).” Four parts of that sentence matter. “Up to” marks a maximum. “Average” marks an average rather than a fixed figure. “On a single charge” means one full battery. The battery named is the one the figure assumes, and it is sold separately, so check which pack your figure uses.
The DeWalt blower kit page works the same way, with a footnote instead of a sentence. Its runtime line reads “Up to 17 Min. Runtime”, and the footnote beside it says “Per charge, at full speed using DCB208 battery”. Two conditions are stated there: full speed and the DCB208 battery. The page does not give that battery’s capacity in the text we opened, so a reader cannot convert the figure into amp-hours from this page alone.
The Ryobi pages are shorter. The 250 CFM blower page states “10 Minutes of Runtime Using 18V ONE+ 2Ah Battery”, and the Whisper Series page states “Up to 16 minutes of Runtime with an 18V ONE+ 4Ah Battery”. Neither page gives a speed or a load condition in the text we opened, so these two figures cannot be read the same way as the EGO and DeWalt figures.
Runtime figures from the blowers we opened
The table lists only what each page states. It is not a ranking, and it does not compare the blowers in use. Where a page is silent on a condition, the cell says “not stated”.
| Blower as named on the page | Battery named on the page | Runtime the manufacturer states | Condition the page states | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EGO POWER+ 765 CFM Blower | 56V 5.0Ah | Up to 90 minutes of average runtime; 15 minutes on Turbo and 150 minutes on low | Single charge, recommended battery | Source 1 |
| EGO POWER+ 670 CFM Blower | 56V 4.0Ah | Up to 80 minutes | Single charge, recommended battery | Source 2 |
| DeWalt 20V MAX XR Blower Kit | DCB208 (model number only in the text we opened) | Up to 17 minutes | Per charge, at full speed | Source 4 |
| RYOBI 18V ONE+ 250 CFM Blower | 18V ONE+ 2Ah | 10 minutes | Not stated | Source 5 |
| RYOBI 18V ONE+ Whisper Series 450 CFM Blower | 18V ONE+ 4Ah | Up to 16 minutes | Not stated | Source 6 |
Two of the five rows say “not stated” for the condition, so the Ryobi figures should not be read as if they were measured the same way as the EGO and DeWalt figures.
Worked calculation: speed on the EGO 765 CFM
The EGO 765 CFM page gives two speed figures for the same 5.0Ah battery: 15 minutes on Turbo and 150 minutes on low. You can express the Turbo figure as a share of the low-speed figure.
Formula: Turbo runtime share = Turbo minutes ÷ low-speed minutes.
Inputs: Turbo minutes = 15, and low-speed minutes = 150 (both from Source 1).
Result: 15 ÷ 150 = 0.10, or 10 percent. On the page’s own figures, Turbo runs for about one-tenth of the time that low speed does. The page calls its 90-minute figure an average, but it does not say how that average is built from the Turbo and low figures, so do not treat the average as a fixed setting.
Worked calculation: will one charge cover your job?
You can use a stated figure to estimate how many full batteries a job needs, as long as you use the figure for the speed you run. The job length below is an example input that you would replace with your own estimate. It is not a product figure.
Formula: Batteries needed = job minutes at your speed ÷ stated minutes at that speed, rounded up to a whole battery.
Inputs: Job minutes at full speed = 30 (an example). Stated minutes at full speed = 17 (DeWalt blower kit, Source 4).
Result: 30 ÷ 17 = 1.76, which rounds up to 2. On the DeWalt figure, the example job needs two full batteries at full speed. The page says “Up to 17 Min. Runtime”, so the real figure could be lower, and a spare battery is the safer plan.
The figure for a different speed or a different battery does not transfer to this calculation. Use the number that matches your speed and your pack.
Battery size, voltage and platform
Three labels appear on these battery listings: the voltage, the amp-hour rating, and the platform. The DeWalt 2Ah battery page explains the voltage label. It states “Nominal voltage is 18.” It also gives 20 volts as the maximum initial voltage, “measured without a workload”. The page offers “consistent runtime” as a claim but gives no minute figure. Use voltage to match a battery to a tool, not to predict minutes.
The amp-hour rating is the capacity a runtime figure assumes. The pages do not let you compare a bigger pack on the same blower, because each figure names one battery. The Ryobi 250 CFM page pairs a 2Ah pack with 10 minutes, and the 450 CFM page pairs a 4Ah pack with up to 16 minutes, but those are different blowers. An amp-hour number alone does not predict runtime across tools.
Platform decides what a battery will power. The EGO POWER+ 56-Volt 7.5Ah battery listing says the pack “is compatible with all EGO outdoor power equipment.” The DeWalt 2Ah page says “This battery is compatible with 20V MAX* tools and chargers.” Each page limits compatibility to its own system, and neither page names another brand. Do not assume a battery from one brand fits another brand’s tool. If you are choosing a pack for a DeWalt blower, the batteries for DeWalt leaf blowers guide covers that platform.
What changes the number on the job
The sources give three factors to check on the page. The first is speed. The EGO 765 CFM page shows the gap between Turbo and low, and the DeWalt footnote ties its figure to full speed. The second is the kind of debris. The EGO page says “Activate turbo mode when you need to power through heavy debris including wet leaves, rocks, mud, and snow,” and its Turbo figure of 15 minutes is the lowest figure on that page.
The third factor is the battery itself. The sources we opened say nothing about how a worn battery changes these figures, and none of them gives a runtime for an aged pack. Treat each figure as a starting point, and compare your job’s minutes against it with the calculation above. For a wider look at what the voltage and amp-hour labels mean across mower packs, see the lawn mower battery voltage and amp-hour guide.
Safety: handling and disposal
The runtime pages we opened do not cover battery safety, so the safety points in this post come from one source, the EPA page on used lithium-ion batteries. Its statements cover handling and disposal. They do not cover charging or storage temperatures.
- Do not put a used lithium-ion battery in household trash or recycling. EPA says these batteries “should NOT go in household garbage or recycling bins” and should go to separate collection points (Source 7).
- Protect the terminals. EPA advises that you “tape battery terminals and/or place lithium-ion batteries in separate plastic bags” to prevent fires (Source 7).
- If a battery is damaged, contact the manufacturer for handling information. EPA says that “If the Li-ion battery becomes damaged, contact the battery or device manufacturer for specific handling information” (Source 7).
- Leave repairs to the maker. EPA notes that “Not all batteries are removable or serviceable by the user” (Source 7), and this post gives no repair steps.
How we chose
The criteria were simple. Each figure had to come from a manufacturer product page or from EPA, and each figure had to appear with the battery or the speed it assumes. We opened eight pages on 2026-10-22 and cite seven of them. The eighth, a DeWalt mower page, gave a runtime with a stated condition, and no figure from it appears here.
We left out retail listings. We did not rank the blowers, and the table is not ordered by performance. The Ryobi figures are included because the pages state a battery and a minute count, even though they give no speed.
What we could not verify
- Real runtime for your work. The pages give “up to” and “average” figures and do not describe a standard job, so we cannot give a minute count for any particular yard or task.
- How battery age or wear changes runtime. None of the pages we opened gives a figure for an aged battery.
- The charging and storage temperature ranges for these packs. The EGO manuals that cover charging are PDF files, which the fetch tool cannot read, so this post gives no range.
- The capacity of the DCB208 battery named on the DeWalt blower page, which the text we opened does not give.
- The conditions behind the Ryobi figures. The 250 CFM and 450 CFM pages state a battery and a minute count, but not a speed or a load.
What the sources do not say
The sources do not say how many minutes a blower runs on a battery that is new, cold, hot or worn, because none of the pages gives those conditions. They also do not compare two battery sizes on one blower, so the effect of a larger pack on a single tool is not stated. The sources offer no independent runtime data. Every minute figure in this post is what the manufacturer states, and no figure here comes from a reviewer or a retailer. This post does not cover sound levels.
FAQ
How many minutes does a cordless leaf blower run on one charge?
The manufacturer pages we opened state figures from 10 minutes to 150 minutes. The 150-minute figure is the low-speed figure on the EGO 765 CFM page, and the 90-minute figure on that page is an average. The lowest figure, 10 minutes, is on the Ryobi 250 CFM page with a 2Ah battery.
Is the runtime on the box the same as the runtime I will get?
Not necessarily. The figures we opened are “up to” or “average” values for stated conditions, such as a single charge at full speed or with a named battery. Real runtime changes with how hard you run the blower, and the sources do not give a figure for an aged battery.
Does a bigger amp-hour battery always run longer?
The pages we opened do not compare two battery sizes on the same blower, so they do not show that a larger pack always adds minutes. The Ryobi figures pair different blowers with different packs, which means the amp-hour rating alone does not predict runtime across tools.
Why does one blower page show two different runtimes?
The EGO POWER+ 765 CFM page lists 15 minutes on Turbo and 150 minutes on low, both with the recommended 5.0Ah battery. The page ties turbo mode to heavy debris, so the speed you choose changes the runtime the page states. The page does not explain how its 90-minute average is built from those two figures.
Can I use a battery from another brand in my blower?
Do not assume so. The EGO 7.5Ah battery listing says the pack “is compatible with all EGO outdoor power equipment,” and the DeWalt 2Ah page says its battery is compatible with 20V MAX tools and chargers. Neither page says it works with another brand, so check the compatibility line on both the battery and the tool before you buy.
What should I do if a battery is damaged?
Contact the battery or device manufacturer for handling information, as EPA advises. Keep the battery out of household trash and recycling, and tape its terminals or bag it before you take it to a collection point. This post gives no repair steps, because EPA notes that not all batteries are serviceable by the user.
Bottom line
Read each figure with its battery and speed beside it. Divide the minutes your job needs at that speed by the stated minutes, round up, and bring that many full batteries. For blower picks, see cordless leaf blower picks.
Sources
- EGO POWER+: EGO POWER+ 765 CFM Blower (opened 2026-10-22)
- EGO POWER+: EGO POWER+ 670 CFM Blower (opened 2026-10-22)
- DEWALT: 20V MAX 2 Ah Battery (DCB203) (opened 2026-10-22)
- DEWALT: 20V MAX XR Blower Kit (DCBL724W1) (opened 2026-10-22)
- RYOBI: 18V ONE+ 250 CFM Blower (opened 2026-10-22)
- RYOBI: 18V ONE+ HP Brushless Whisper Series 450 CFM Blower (opened 2026-10-22)
- U.S. EPA: Used Lithium-Ion Batteries (opened 2026-10-22)