Black+Decker 22 Inch Cordless Hedge Trimmer Review
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
The Black & Decker 22 inch cordless hedge trimmer is a 20V MAX tool with a 22-inch dual-action steel blade, and the version reviewed here ships with its battery and charger. The listing states a dual-action blade for less vibration, a cutting capacity of up to 3/4 inch, and a weight of 5.7 pounds. This review uses only the product data for the model LHT2220 and two sister listings, so every figure below comes from a listing, not from our own use.
Quick answer
- The reviewed model is the BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Cordless Hedge Trimmer, model LHT2220, with a 22-inch blade and a battery and charger included.
- The listing states a 22-inch dual-action blade, cuts branches up to 3/4 inch thick and a weight of 5.7 pounds.
- The listing claims up to 3,000 square feet of hedge trimmed per charge. That is a manufacturer figure.
- If you already own a 20V MAX Black+Decker battery, the tool-only model LHT2220B is the cheaper match.
Who this trimmer suits
This model fits a homeowner who trims hedges, shrubs and small branches on a regular schedule and wants a cordless tool without a cord to manage. A 22-inch blade gives a longer cutting stroke than the 18-inch and 17-inch options in the same family of listings, which can mean fewer passes across a long hedge. Buyers who need to trim tall hedges from the ground will want a pole model or a taller tool, and buyers with thick branches over 3/4 inch should look at a model with a sawblade, such as the BEHTS400 corded version in the data.
Specifications from the listing
| Feature | Stated value |
|---|---|
| Model | LHT2220 (Black+Decker 20V MAX) |
| Blade length | 22 inches, alloy steel, dual-action |
| Cutting capacity | Branches up to 3/4 inch |
| Voltage | 20 volts |
| Weight | 5.7 pounds |
| Overall size | 36 x 6.7 x 7.75 inches |
| Battery and charger | Included: LBXR20 battery and LCS20 charger |
| Warranty | 2-year limited, per the title and bullets |
What the listing says about the blade
The listing describes a dual-action blade in which two blades move against each other. The bullets say this design produces up to 40 percent less vibration than single-action blades. Black+Decker calls the blade the highest performance blade on its trimmers, and says it gives longer life, greater durability and truer cuts. The listing does not give a blade hardness or a tooth count, so those details are not part of this review. The cutting capacity is stated as 3/4 inch, which is a useful upper limit for hedge and shrub branches. Anything thicker is outside what the listing supports.
What the listing says about battery and runtime
The package includes a 20V MAX lithium-ion battery and a charger, so you can start cutting after the first charge. The bullets say up to 3,000 square feet of actual hedge trimmed per charge. That is the listing’s own runtime claim, and it depends on the hedge density and your technique. Because the battery is part of the 20V MAX system, the same pack can run other Black+Decker 20V MAX tools that the bullets name, as described in the POWERCONNECT and 20V MAX bullets on sister listings. Check the pack’s compatibility before buying a second tool.
Handle, grip and control
The listing describes a wrap-around front handle for vertical and horizontal trimming, a full-length trigger and a soft grip. The bullets say these features add comfort during use. A wrap-around front handle is useful when you trim hedges at shoulder height, because it lets you keep both hands on the tool and steer the blade along the line. The soft grip is a comfort feature. Neither the handle nor the grip is measured in the data, so judge comfort by holding the tool before you buy if you can.
Weight and balance
At 5.7 pounds, the trimmer is not the lightest in its family. The Westinghouse and Houselife 22-inch listings in the data state weights of about 4.4 to 4.5 pounds, but they are not Black+Decker products. A 5.7-pound weight is moderate for a 22-inch blade, and most users will feel it after long sessions. If arm fatigue is your main concern, compare the stated weights before you buy.
Alternatives from the same brand
Three other Black+Decker listings in the data cover close needs. Each is listed with its stated facts only.
| Model | Power | Blade and capacity stated | Battery setup stated | Notes from the listing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| LHT2220 (reviewed) | 20V MAX cordless | 22-inch dual-action; 3/4 inch | Battery and charger included | 5.7 pounds; 2-year limited warranty |
| LHT2220B (tool only) | 20V MAX cordless | 22-inch dual-action, hardened steel | Battery and charger sold separately | Same blade family; uses the 20V MAX battery system |
| LHT321 Powercut | 20V MAX cordless | 22-inch dual-action; 3/4 inch branches | Battery system not stated as included | Powercut button to clear jams; EasyFeed and PowerBoost family named |
| BEHT350 (corded) | Corded electric, 4.0 amp | 22-inch dual-action hardened steel; 3/4 inch | Not applicable; cord retention | Cordless is not stated; cord retention prevents accidental unplugging |
The LHT2220B is the same blade family as the reviewed model, but it is a tool only, so the battery and charger are sold separately. That is the best choice if you already own a 20V MAX Black+Decker battery. The LHT321 Powercut is also a 22-inch 20V MAX model, and its listing names a button that clears jams. The BEHT350 is corded, so it is not a cordless option, although it shares the 22-inch dual-action blade. It is useful if you have an outlet near the hedge.
Other 22-inch options outside Black+Decker
The data also lists 22-inch cordless hedge trimmers from other brands, such as Westinghouse and Houselife, which are described as DeWalt or Westinghouse compatible or as tool-only units. They are not Black+Decker products, so they are not the match for a Black+Decker search, but they may suit buyers who want a 22-inch blade at a lower stated weight.
Setup and first use
Because the LHT2220 ships with its battery and charger, the first step is simply to charge the battery with the included LCS20 charger before you cut. The listing does not state a charge time, so follow the charger label and the owner’s manual. Keep the battery off the tool while you assemble or clean the blade, and check the blade for loose fasteners before each session, since a loose blade reduces cut quality whatever the blade design. The listing gives no maintenance schedule, so the general routine is to wipe sap and debris from the blade after each use and store the trimmer with the blade cover on, if one is supplied with your model.
Start with a short test cut on a branch you can throw away. That shows you how the dual-action blade feeds through the stem, and whether the 3/4-inch limit is realistic for your plants. Work with the blade at a steady pace rather than forcing it, because the listing’s vibration claim assumes the blade is cutting, not pushing.
What the listing does not state
Several details a buyer might want are missing from the listing data. It does not state the blade hardness beyond “hardened steel” on the sister listing, the blade tooth count, the stroke speed in strokes per minute, the decibel level, the length of the battery charge time, or the warranty terms beyond the two-year limited warranty in the title and bullets. Where a detail is missing, this review leaves it out rather than estimating it. Check the box and the manufacturer’s manual for those values before you buy if they matter to your decision.
Mistakes to avoid
- Confusing the 22-inch model with the 18-inch LHT218C1 or the 17-inch corded BEHT150, which have shorter blades.
- Buying the tool-only LHT2220B without a 20V MAX battery and charger.
- Expecting the corded BEHT350 to run without an outlet. Its listing describes cord retention, not a battery.
- Trimming branches thicker than the stated 3/4 inch capacity. The listing does not support larger branches with this blade.
- Starting a trimmer without reading the safety instructions in the owner’s manual.
FAQ
Does the Black+Decker 22 inch cordless hedge trimmer include a battery?
Yes, the LHT2220 listing includes the LBXR20 battery and the LCS20 charger. The LHT2220B listing is tool only, and its battery and charger are sold separately.
How thick a branch can it cut?
The listing states a cutting capacity of up to 3/4 inch. The bullets for the LHT321 and LHT2220B listings also state 3/4 inch, so the figure is consistent across the family.
How much does it weigh?
The listing gives a weight of 5.7 pounds for the reviewed model.
Is there a corded 22-inch model?
Yes. The BEHT350 is a 22-inch electric hedge trimmer with a 4.0 amp motor and cord retention. It is corded, so it does not use a battery.
How much hedge can one charge trim?
The listing claims up to 3,000 square feet of actual hedge per charge. That is the manufacturer’s figure, and real results depend on the hedge and the work pace.
Bottom line
Buy the LHT2220 if you want a 22-inch cordless Black+Decker hedge trimmer with a battery and charger in the box and a stated 3/4-inch cutting capacity. Buy the LHT2220B if you already own a 20V MAX Black+Decker battery and charger. Choose a corded model only when an outlet is close to the work. For a longer list of options from the same brand, read Best Black & Decker 20V Cordless Hedge Trimmer Options, or see Best Black and Decker Hedge Trimmer Battery and Charger Picks for battery-included models.



