Best Scotts PS45010S 10-Inch 8-Amp Corded Pole
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Shoppers searching for best scotts ps45010s 10-inch 8-amp corded pole want one answer first: is this a plug-in pole saw that can reach the branches they need without gasoline? The Scotts PS45010S is a corded electric pole saw with a 10-inch Oregon bar, an 8-amp motor and a fully extended pole that the listing gives as 9 feet 3 inches. The listing does not state the cord length, the largest branch the saw cuts, or the warranty period, so those gaps matter before you buy.
Quick answer
- Choose this saw if you want to prune small overhead limbs from the ground, want no gasoline to buy or store, and have an outdoor outlet close enough to the tree.
- The listing states a corded electric 8-amp motor rated at 960 watts, a 10-inch Oregon bar and chain, a fully extended pole of 9 feet 3 inches, and an item weight of 7 pounds.
- The listing names an automatic oiling system with an oil level window, tool-free chain tension adjustment and a blade cover for storage.
- The listing does not say whether chain oil is in the box, how far the cord reaches, how large a branch the saw cuts, or how long the warranty runs.
The product at a glance
The table shows only what the saved listing text says. Cells say “not stated” where the listing is silent. Figures marked as bullets come from the listing’s feature bullets; figures marked as specification come from its specification table.
| Feature | What the listing states |
|---|---|
| Brand | Scotts |
| Model | PS45010S (listing title: 10-Inch 8-Amp Corded Pole Saw with Adjustable Head) |
| Power source | Corded electric (specification) |
| Motor | 8-amp electric motor (bullets); 960 watts (specification) |
| Bar and chain | 10-inch Oregon bar and chain (bullets); blade length 10 inches (specification) |
| Blade material | High speed steel (specification) |
| Cutting head | Adjustable head; cutting angle 30 degrees (specification); 5 adjustable cutting head angles (bullets) |
| Fully extended pole | 9 feet 3 inches (bullets) |
| Oiling | Automatic oiling system with oil level window (bullets) |
| Chain tension | Tool-free tensioner chain adjustment (bullets) |
| Handle | Rubber over molded handle with foam grip (bullets); handle material rubber (specification) |
| Blade cover | Included (bullets) |
| Item weight | 7 pounds (specification) |
| Item dimensions | 85 inches long, 4 inches wide, 5 inches high (specification) |
| Battery and charger | Not applicable: the listing says corded electric |
| Warranty | Warranty type Limited (specification); length not stated |
| Chain oil included | not stated |
| Cord length | not stated |
| Maximum branch diameter | not stated |
| Surface recommendation | Wood (specification) |
The listing gives the dimensions as item dimensions. It does not say whether those figures describe the saw alone or the box it ships in.
The listing for this exact model is here: View on Amazon
What the pole and motor figures mean for you
Nine feet three inches is 111 inches. The listing gives an item length of 85 inches, which is shorter than the fully extended pole. The listing does not say how the pole is packed, so the 85-inch figure cannot be read as the assembled length at full extension. Check how the pole comes packed before you assume a size for storage or for a car trunk.
The 7-pound weight is about 3.2 kilograms. The listing gives that weight for the item as a whole and does not give a balance point. For most buyers the practical question is how long the saw stays overhead at full pole length, and the listing does not answer it.
The motor figures agree with each other at one common voltage. The listing gives 8 amps and 960 watts, and it does not state a voltage. If the saw runs on a standard 120-volt household circuit, 8 amps multiplies to 960 watts, which matches the wattage figure in the listing. That 120-volt reading is our assumption, because the listing does not state the voltage.
The listing gives a 10-inch blade length. It does not give a maximum branch diameter, so the bar length alone does not tell you which limbs the saw can cut.
Cutting head and oiling
The feature bullets describe the cutting head as 30 degree and 5-adjustable, and the specification table gives a cutting angle of 30 degrees. The listing does not explain how the angles are set, so this post does not describe the adjustment steps.
The listing names an automatic oiling system and an oil level window. It does not say how often to check the window, which bar oil to use, or whether the oil is included. Treat the window as the place to look before each session and check the oil type with the seller before you order.
Who it suits
This saw suits a homeowner who needs to trim small overhead limbs from the ground and does not want to climb a ladder for each cut. The listing presents it as a plug-in alternative to gas pole saws for tree trimming, and the stated 9-foot-3-inch pole sets the reach. The stated 10-inch bar and 8-amp motor point to yard pruning rather than clearing large trees.
It also suits a buyer who already has an outdoor outlet near the trees and a plan for the cord. Because the listing says the saw requires no gas, there is no gasoline to buy, store or mix. The listing also describes a rubber over molded handle with a foam grip, which may matter for longer sessions, though the listing does not give a comfort rating.
Skip it if
- You need to cut large trunks or thick limbs. The listing gives no maximum branch diameter, so you cannot confirm the saw’s capacity from the listing.
- Your trees are far from any outdoor outlet. The listing does not state the cord length, and a corded tool is only as useful as its reach.
- You need a long warranty. The listing gives the warranty type as Limited and does not state a period.
- You want a battery-powered saw. This listing is for a corded model. For cordless alternatives, see Seesii vs EGO Power+ pole saws compared and DocSmart vs AVADA pole saws compared.
What the listing does not say
- Battery and charger: none needed, because the listing says corded electric. There is no battery or charger to compare.
- Runtime: not applicable to a corded tool, and the listing gives no run-time figure.
- Cord length and plug: not stated.
- Maximum branch diameter: not stated. The only cutting dimension given is the 10-inch blade length.
- Chain oil in the box: not stated.
- Warranty length: not stated. The listing gives the type as Limited.
- Balance and weight at full extension: not stated beyond the 7-pound item weight.
Using a pole saw safely
The OSHA tree care hazards page lists the main dangers in this work. It says: “Overhead power lines, falling branches, and faulty safety equipment are just a few of the dangers.” It also says: “Many hazards in the tree care industry are potentially fatal.” Look up before the first cut, and look for wires and falling limbs before you start.
The OSHA tree trimming activity sheet is direct about power lines. It says: “Assume that electrical lines are energized until proven otherwise.” It also says: “Unless deenergized and visibly grounded, maintain proper distance from overhead electrical power lines”. If a line is in the work area, the same sheet advises: “Contact utility company to assist in locating, marking, and shutting off/purging utility lines”. For a homeowner, that means calling the utility company rather than cutting near the line.
Protective gear is basic. The OSHA landscaping hazards page says: “Wear safety goggles.” It also says: “Wear ear protection when using power equipment.” and “Wear gloves.” The listing does not mention protective gear, so these points come from the safety page, not from the product.
Kickback is the chain risk to plan for. The Oklahoma State University Extension storm cleanup page says: “Kickback occurs when the rotating chain hits a solid object or the chain is pinched in a cut.” It adds: “To prevent kickback, keep the saw moving at a fast speed when entering or leaving a cut.” That page is about chainsaws, and this listing describes a chainsaw on a pole, so the same chain point applies here. The sources we opened do not cover the pole-specific case in more detail.
Before the first cut: a checklist
- Check the outlet and the cord route, and keep the cord out of the cutting path. The listing does not state the cord length.
- Look up and scan the tree for power lines. If a line is near the work, assume it is energized and call the utility company.
- Check the oil level window before you start. The listing names this feature but does not say how often to check it.
- Check that the chain is sharp. The Oklahoma State page says to keep the chain properly sharpened.
- Wear goggles, ear protection and gloves before you start the saw.
Mistakes to avoid
- Buying on bar length alone. The listing gives a 10-inch blade length and no maximum branch diameter, so the bar length does not tell you the saw’s capacity.
- Reading the 85-inch item length as the working length. The fully extended pole is 9 feet 3 inches, which is 111 inches, so the item length is not the full reach.
- Planning the cord last. The listing does not state the cord length, so the outlet distance has to be checked before the saw arrives.
- Assuming chain oil comes with the saw. The listing does not say whether chain oil is in the box.
- Treating a small saw as safe near wires. The OSHA trimming sheet says to assume electrical lines are energized until proven otherwise, whatever the size of the saw.
How we chose
This post covers one product: the Scotts PS45010S corded pole saw, ASIN B07J5HTH37. We did not rank it against other pole saws. It was assigned to this post in the batch plan, and the saved product data did not include this ASIN, so the listing was read directly on 2026-10-23. We recorded only the title, the feature bullets and the specification rows. The three safety pages were opened on 2026-10-22 for an earlier post on pole saw safety, and they are reused here with that original opened date. Two pole saw comparisons on this site are linked for readers who want cordless models.
What we could not verify
The sources we opened do not cover the saw’s real cutting capacity, its cord length, its weight at full extension, the warranty period, or whether chain oil comes in the box. The listing does not state those points either. We did not confirm the 9-foot-3-inch pole length against a manufacturer page, because we did not find one that the sources we opened could confirm. The safety pages cover tree care in general and do not describe this model’s oiling or chain tension.
FAQ
Does the Scotts PS45010S need gasoline?
No. The listing describes it as a plug-in pruning chainsaw that requires no gas, and the power source is listed as corded electric.
How long is the pole?
The listing says the fully extended pole is 9 feet 3 inches. The same listing gives an item length of 85 inches, which is shorter than the extended pole, so the packed size and the assembled size are different figures.
Does the saw come with chain oil?
The listing does not say. It names an automatic oiling system with an oil level window, but the saved text does not state whether bar oil is in the box. Check the listing or ask the seller before you order.
How much does the saw weigh?
The listing gives an item weight of 7 pounds, which is about 3.2 kilograms. It does not give a balance point, so the weight felt at full extension is not known from the listing.
Can it cut branches near power lines?
Do not cut near an overhead power line. OSHA’s tree trimming sheet says to assume electrical lines are energized until proven otherwise and to keep proper distance from overhead electrical power lines. The sheet advises contacting the utility company to help locate and shut off utility lines.
What is the warranty?
The listing gives the warranty type as Limited and does not state the length. Read the warranty terms from the seller or the manufacturer before you buy.
Bottom line
Decision rule: buy this corded pole saw only if an outdoor outlet sits within cord reach of the branches you plan to cut, and only after the seller confirms the cord length and whether chain oil is included. The listing gives enough stated figures to shortlist it, but it does not state a maximum branch diameter, so check your limb sizes against the 10-inch bar before you order.
Sources
- Scotts PS45010S 10-Inch 8-Amp Corded Pole Saw with Adjustable Head, Amazon listing text (opened 2026-10-23): https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07J5HTH37
- Tree Care Industry – Hazards and Solutions, OSHA (opened 2026-10-22): https://www.osha.gov/tree-care/hazards-solutions
- eTool: Hurricane eMatrix, Waste debris removal and reduction: Tree Trimming, OSHA (opened 2026-10-22): https://www.osha.gov/etools/hurricane/activity-sheets/waste-debris-removal/tree-trimming
- Landscape and Horticultural Services – Hazards and Solutions, OSHA (opened 2026-10-22): https://www.osha.gov/landscaping/hazards
- Chainsaw safety is vital during storm cleanup, Oklahoma State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22): https://extension.okstate.edu/articles/2023/chainsaw_safety






