Best Cordless Pole Chainsaws for Tree Pruning
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
A cordless pole chainsaw is a battery-powered saw on a telescoping pole, so you can cut high limbs from the ground without a ladder. The best choice depends on three things: which battery platform you already own, how far you need to reach, and how thick the branches are. The eight models below come from the product data pack for this guide, and each section sticks to what its listing states. Where a listing does not give a figure, this guide says “not stated” instead of guessing.
Quick answer
- If you already own a DeWalt 20V MAX battery or a Milwaukee M18 battery, look at the tool-only AVADA and ANJOSISSEL models. Their listings say batteries and chargers are not included.
- For a full kit with batteries and a charger, the Supstable, Autubin and Zitrodge listings each name two batteries in the included components.
- For the longest stated overhead reach, the AVADA listings give up to 15.9 ft, and the Zitrodge listing gives up to 15 ft. The Gisam listing gives 14.92 ft and the Autubin listing gives 16 ft based on a 6 ft user.
- For thicker wood, the 8-inch bar models are the realistic minimum. The 6-inch SIEARPUORL model lists a cut of up to 5 inches.
What a pole chainsaw is built from
Most of these tools have the same three parts: a motor head that drives a chain on a guide bar, a telescoping pole that the head clips onto, and a handle with a trigger and safety lock. Some models can also be used as a handheld mini chainsaw without the pole, which is why many listings call them “2-in-1.” The chain and bar size set how thick a branch the saw can handle in one pass. The pole length sets how high you can reach from the ground. The battery platform decides whether you can share batteries with your other tools.
The listings also differ on the drive. Several state a brushless motor. The SIEARPUORL listing does not name a motor type, and the Supstable listing describes its power as 800 watts. Where a model lists wattage, it appears in the comparison table below, along with the listing’s chain speed when one is given.
How to choose by battery platform
Battery platform is the first filter, because a pole saw is only as convenient as the batteries it runs on. Here is what each listing says about power.
- DeWalt 20V MAX: The AVADA model for DeWalt lists compatibility with DCB200, DCB201, DCB203, DCB204, DCB205, DCB206, DCB230, DCB240, DCB246 and DCB248, and states that batteries and charger are not included. The ANJOSISSEL model lists compatibility with DCB200, DCB201, DCB203, DCB204, DCB205, DCB206, DCB230, DCB240, DCB260, DCB246, DCB248 and DCB606, and is also tool only.
- Milwaukee M18: The AVADA model for Milwaukee lists compatibility with batteries 48-11-1820, 48-11-1850, 48-11-1852, 48-11-1860 and 48-11-1862, and is tool only. The listing says the saw works with the 18V battery system, and it is tool only.
- Included batteries: The Gisam listing includes two 4.0Ah batteries. The Supstable listing includes two 4.0Ah batteries and a charger. The Autubin listing includes two 4.0Ah 21V batteries. The Zitrodge listing includes two batteries and a fast charger. The SIEARPUORL listing includes two 21V lithium batteries and a charger.
If you do not own any of these platforms, a kit with batteries and a charger removes one purchase decision. If you do own tools in one of these systems, a tool-only model can be the simpler buy because you skip a second battery and charger.
How to choose by reach and pole length
Reach is the number most buyers look at first, but listings describe it in different ways. Some give the pole length alone, and some give a total reach based on a person of a stated height. When you compare, read the reach statement, not only the pole range.
- AVADA (DeWalt and Milwaukee versions): The pole telescopes from 5.6 ft to 9.9 ft. The listing says up to 15.9 ft of overhead reach, based on a 6-foot person extending the saw straight at shoulder height.
- ANJOSISSEL: The pole extends from 5.4 ft to 7.2 ft, and the listing says up to 13.2 ft of reach for a 6-foot person at shoulder level.
- Autubin: The pole extends from 4 ft to 9 ft, and the listing gives a maximum reach of 16 ft based on a 6 ft user. The head adjusts from 0 to 180 degrees.
- Supstable: The listing gives a reach of up to 16 ft.
- Zitrodge: The telescopic pole extends from 5.5 ft to 8.7 ft, and the listing says up to 15 ft of overhead cutting distance for a 6 ft person at shoulder level.
- Gisam: The listing gives 14.92 ft of extended reach with the pole.
- SIEARPUORL: The pole is listed as 4.4 ft. The listing does not state a maximum overhead reach.
A taller reach is not always better. A longer pole is heavier at the tip, and the listings that give a shoulder-height reach are describing the best case. If most of your work is branches within 10 feet, a shorter pole can be easier to control.
How to choose by bar size and branch thickness
The bar and chain set the cutting capacity. Most of the listings in this group use an 8-inch bar. The Zitrodge kit includes 8-inch and 10-inch guide bars and chains, so it covers the widest range of bar sizes in this group. The Autubin listing gives chain specifications of 8 inch, 1/4 inch pitch, .043 inch gauge and 46 links. The SIEARPUORL listing uses a 6-inch guide chain and says it cuts through wood and thick branches up to 5 inches thick. The Supstable listing says the tool cuts branches up to 8 inches.
A bigger bar is useful for thicker limbs, but it also adds weight and asks more of the battery. A 6-inch bar is easier for light pruning, and an 8-inch bar is the more common middle choice for small trees and storm cleanup. Keep the chain sharp and tensioned, because a dull or loose chain slows the cut and makes the saw harder to control.
Comparison table
The table uses only the values in each listing. “Not stated” means the listing did not give that figure.
| Model (listing brand) | Bar size | Battery and kit | Pole reach stated | Weight stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gisam 6-in-1 kit (B0GXFKSR9Y) | 8 in chainsaw | Two 4.0Ah batteries included | 14.92 ft | 2.54 lb (listing bullet) |
| AVADA for DeWalt 20V (B0FDB34119) | 8 in and 6 in | Tool only | up to 15.9 ft | 5.7 lb |
| Supstable S5 Sky (B0FH4MDXK1) | 8 in and 6 in | Two 4.0Ah batteries and charger | 16 ft | 10 lb |
| Autubin 2-in-1 (B0FCBHMYGT) | 8 in | Two 4.0Ah 21V batteries | 16 ft | 6.9 lb |
| Zitrodge pole saw and hedge trimmer kit (B0FS7QQF8C) | 8 in and 10 in | Two batteries and fast charger | 15 ft | 8.8 lb |
| AVADA for Milwaukee M18 (B0G1H4WXS5) | 8 in and 6 in | Tool only | up to 15.9 ft | not stated |
| SIEARPUORL 2-in-1 (B0H259MQ9H) | 6 in | Two 21V batteries and charger | 4.4 ft pole, overhead reach not stated | not stated |
| ANJOSISSEL for DeWalt 20V (B0H87B8D7L) | 8 in | Tool only | up to 13.2 ft | 6 lb |
Model notes from the listings
Gisam 6-in-1 cordless pole saw and hedge trimmer kit
This kit is the most complete set in this group for a single purchase. The listing says it includes a pole saw, an electric hedge trimmer, grass shears and a pole, with two 4.0Ah batteries included. The chainsaw head is an 8-inch brushless model, and the listing gives a 1000 watt motor and a chain speed of 38.5 feet per second. The head pivots 180 degrees with five lockable positions, and the listing says the chain tension adjusts without tools. The blade length is listed as 23 inches and the blade material as SK5. A bullet in the listing gives a weight of 2.54 lb, and the specs do not give a separate kit weight, so confirm the full-kit weight on the product page. The Gisam model is a good fit if you want one pole for hedges as well as branches.
AVADA 2-in-1 pole saw for DeWalt 20V MAX (tool only)
This model combines an 8-inch and a 6-inch chainsaw with a telescoping pole. The listing says it works with DeWalt 20V MAX batteries, and that batteries and charger are not included. It lists a 1200 watt brushless motor, a 0 to 180 degree cutting head, an auto-lube system that works at up to 38 feet per second, a tool-free chain install and an automatic chain tensioner. The telescoping pole extends from 5.6 ft to 9.9 ft, and the listing gives up to 15.9 ft of reach for a 6-foot person. The listing’s accessories include a shoulder strap, anti-slip gloves, goggles, an oil bottle with no oil, a brush and a screwdriver. The listing says the oil bottle ships empty, so you will need to add bar and chain oil before use.
Supstable S5 Sky 6-inch and 8-inch mini chainsaw kit
The Supstable listing is a full kit. It includes two 4.0Ah batteries and a charger, an upgraded extension pole, a spare chain, a chain protective sleeve, a pole belt and an oil bottle. The listing describes a 30 ml leak-proof oil tank with a transparent window, tool-free chain tensioning and a 180 degree adjustable head. It gives 800 watts, a chain speed of 30 feet per second, a chain length of 8 inches and a stated runtime of up to 100 minutes. The listing gives a reach of up to 16 ft and a manufacturer warranty of 2 years. The weight is listed as 10 lb, which is heavier than most other models in this group, so this model suits users who are comfortable with a heavier pole.
Read the Supstable review on this site for a deeper look at the model: Supstable electric pole saws for tree trimming.
Autubin brushless 2-in-1 pole saw and mini chainsaw
The Autubin model is one of the simpler two-in-one designs in this group. It comes with two 4.0Ah 21V batteries, and the listing says alternating between them supports up to 120 minutes of trimming. An LED display shows remaining battery power. The listing describes a 1200 watt pure copper brushless motor, a high-speed steel chain with a chain speed of 26.2 feet per second, and a telescopic pole that extends from 4 ft to 9 ft. The head adjusts from 0 to 180 degrees. The chain is listed at 8 inch with 1/4 inch pitch, .043 inch gauge and 46 links. The model weighs 6.9 lb according to its specs. The Autubin model is a sound choice for a user who wants a pole saw that also works as a handheld mini chainsaw.
For a comparison with a different pole design, see the Autubin review on this site: Autubin brushless 2-in-1 cordless pole saw and mini chainsaw.
Zitrodge pole saw and hedge trimmer kit (listed as ProfessionalTools)
This kit covers the widest set of cutting tools in this group. The listing title names ProfessionalTools, while the specs name Zitrodge as the brand, so check the seller details on the product page. The kit includes a chainsaw, a 20-inch hedge trimmer, an extended pole, three pairs of 8-inch and 10-inch guide bars and chains, a guide bar protector, two batteries and a fast charger. The listing states a 15 ft maximum cutting distance from the ground, a telescopic pole from 5.5 ft to 8.7 ft, an automatic oiling system and a power display. The listing also says a tool-free chain tensioning knob and a non-slip handle with a shoulder strap are included. The warranty is listed as 24 months in the specs. The total weight is listed as 8.8 lb.
AVADA 2-in-1 pole saw for Milwaukee M18 (tool only)
This is the Milwaukee M18 version of the AVADA design. The listing says it is compatible with Milwaukee M18 batteries 48-11-1820, 48-11-1850, 48-11-1852, 48-11-1860 and 48-11-1862, and that batteries and charger are not included. The listed specs are the same as the DeWalt version: a 1200 watt brushless motor, a 15.9 ft overhead reach for a 6-foot person, a 0 to 180 degree head and an auto-lube system. The listing says the voltage is 18 volts. This version is a good match if your existing tools are in the Milwaukee M18 system.
SIEARPUORL 2-in-1 cordless pole saw and mini chainsaw
This is the smallest model in the group by bar size. The listing describes a 6-inch guide chain and a high-efficiency motor that the listing says cuts wood and thick branches up to 5 inches thick. The pole extends to 4.4 ft and detaches from the chainsaw. The kit includes two 21V lithium batteries, a charger, two chains, goggles, gloves and a manual. The listing describes a safety lock button to help prevent accidental starts. The listing gives a horsepower figure of 1 hp and an item size of 9 by 5 by 23 inches. It does not state a maximum overhead reach or a weight, so the buyer will have to check those details on the listing before purchase. This model suits light pruning of small limbs.
ANJOSISSEL 2-in-1 cordless pole saw for DeWalt 20V (tool only)
The ANJOSISSEL listing describes a removable 8-inch chainsaw head that works alone or on the telescoping pole, with no tools needed to switch. It lists compatibility with a long list of DeWalt 20V MAX batteries, including DCB200, DCB201, DCB203, DCB204, DCB205, DCB206, DCB230, DCB240, DCB260, DCB246, DCB248 and DCB606. The head rotates 180 degrees, and the pole extends from 5.4 ft to 7.2 ft, with a stated reach of up to 13.2 ft for a 6-foot person at shoulder level. The listing gives a 1200 watt brushless motor, an automatic oiling system, a transparent oil tank and a power display. The weight is listed as 6 lb. The listing also states a 12-month after-sales service. Batteries and charger are not included.
Review: the Autubin model in more depth
Of the eight models, the Autubin listing gives the most complete set of figures for a single purchase, so it is the one to examine closely. The listing states four points that matter for a pole saw: the batteries, the motor, the reach and the chain. The kit includes two 4.0Ah 21V batteries, which the listing says support up to 120 minutes of trimming when used alternately. The LED display shows the remaining charge, which helps you plan a job without running a battery flat in the middle of a cut.
The motor is a 1200 watt pure copper brushless design, and the listing gives a chain speed of 26.2 feet per second. That speed is lower than the 38 to 38.5 feet per second in the AVADA and Gisam listings, so the Autubin model is a steady cutter rather than the fastest one in the group. The chain is 8 inches with a 1/4 inch pitch and a .043 inch gauge, with 46 drive links. Those figures matter if you plan to buy a replacement chain, because the chain must match the pitch, gauge and link count of the bar.
The telescoping pole runs from 4 ft to 9 ft. The listing gives a maximum reach of 16 ft based on a 6 ft user, and the head adjusts from 0 to 180 degrees. In practice, a head that rotates fully helps when a limb is above you and you need to cut on the far side. The Autubin listing gives a weight of 6.9 lb, which is in the middle of this group.
The weak point in the listing is the lack of detail on maintenance intervals and oil. The listing describes a chain that is 8 inch, but it does not state the oil tank capacity. Read the product page for those details before you buy, and check what the seller includes in the box. Also note that the listing gives its battery as 21V with 4.0Ah capacity, so confirm that your charger matches the packs you receive.
Two alternatives from the same group are worth comparing. The Supstable kit includes two 4.0Ah batteries, a charger and a 2-year warranty, but it weighs 10 lb. The Gisam kit is the more complete hedge and pole set, with a 1000 watt motor and a 23-inch blade length listed. If your work is mostly branch pruning and you want a single pole saw with a longer documented chain, the Autubin model is the simpler choice.
Mistakes to avoid when buying a pole chainsaw
- Buying a tool-only model without a battery. Several listings in this group say batteries and chargers are not included. Count that cost before you choose.
- Assuming the pole length equals the reach. Compare the reach statements, which some listings base on a 6-foot person at shoulder height.
- Ignoring the chain. A dull or loose chain is the most common reason a pole saw bogs down. Check the chain tension before each use.
- Forgetting the oil. The AVADA listings say the oil bottle ships without oil. Buy bar and chain oil before the first job.
- Working near power lines. A pole saw is not a tool for lines or large limbs over structures. For work near wires, call an electrician or a licensed tree service.
- Overreaching on a ladder-free job. A long pole is heavier at the tip. Keep your footing firm and reach only as far as you can control the cut.
Who each model suits
- Owners of DeWalt 20V MAX tools: AVADA (DeWalt) or ANJOSISSEL, both tool only.
- Owners of Milwaukee M18 tools: AVADA (Milwaukee), tool only.
- Buyers who want one kit with everything: Gisam, Supstable, Zitrodge or Autubin.
- Buyers who want a hedge trimmer as well: Gisam or Zitrodge.
- Buyers who want a lighter, smaller tool for light limbs: SIEARPUORL, with a 6-inch bar.
FAQ
Can a cordless pole chainsaw cut a thick branch?
The listings give different limits. The SIEARPUORL listing says it cuts up to 5 inches thick. The Supstable listing says it cuts branches up to 8 inches. The 8-inch bar models in this group are the realistic choice for branches above a few inches. Check the stated cutting capacity on the listing before you cut anything thick.
Do these models need batteries?
It depends on the model. The Gisam, Supstable, Autubin, Zitrodge and SIEARPUORL listings include batteries. The AVADA (DeWalt), AVADA (Milwaukee) and ANJOSISSEL listings are tool only, and their listings say batteries and chargers are not included.
How far can a pole saw reach?
The listings give a range of figures, from 13.2 ft for ANJOSISSEL to 16 ft for Autubin and Supstable. Several of these figures assume a 6-foot user at shoulder height, as each listing states. Your actual reach depends on your height, the angle of the cut and the limb’s position. The SIEARPUORL listing does not state an overhead reach.
What does the 2-in-1 design mean?
A 2-in-1 pole saw can be used as a handheld mini chainsaw without the pole, or as a pole saw with the pole attached. The AVADA, ANJOSISSEL, Autubin and SIEARPUORL listings all describe this design. It saves storage space and cost compared with buying two tools.
Which oil should I use?
The listings name an oil bottle but do not name a specific oil type, except where stated. Use bar and chain oil, and check the product manual for the correct grade. Do not use oil that is not intended for a chain saw.
Is a pole saw safe for a beginner?
Several listings describe features that help a beginner, such as a safety lock button, tool-free chain tensioning and a shoulder strap. Those features help, but they do not remove the risk of a cut. Wear the gloves and goggles listed in the kit, keep both hands on the tool, and stay clear of power lines. For large or high limbs, ask a licensed arborist.
Bottom line
If you already own a DeWalt 20V MAX or Milwaukee M18 battery, choose a tool-only AVADA or ANJOSISSEL model and save the cost of a second battery. If you need a complete kit, the Autubin and Supstable listings are the clearest, with two batteries and a charger in each. Choose the Gisam or Zitrodge kit if you also want a hedge trimmer. Match the bar size to the thickest branch you plan to cut, and confirm the reach statement before you buy.


