Best Long-Reach Pole Saws for Trimming High Branches

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

The longest pole saw is the one whose listing gives the greatest reach when the pole is fully extended, measured either as the pole length or as total reach with your height included. In our product set, the AVADA 2-in-1 pole saw lists the largest total reach at 15.9 feet, and the Paxwrenx 8-inch pole saw lists up to 15 feet with three sections. Those figures are the listing’s own, so this guide reports them as stated and does not measure them. The comparison below covers six cordless pole saws and one 8-foot pole saw, and it names where a listing does not state a reach figure.

Quick answer

  • The AVADA 2-in-1 lists total reach of up to 15.9 feet, with an 8-inch and a 6-inch chainsaw blade.
  • The Paxwrenx 8-inch lists up to 15 feet total reach with three sections, or 12.5 feet with two.
  • The 6-in-1 kit lists a 14.92-foot extended reach with two 4.0Ah batteries, and the Milwaukee M18 lists a 14.8-foot maximum reach.
  • The CRAFTSMAN V20 lists up to 14 feet of extended reach. Its shorter sibling, the CRAFTSMAN V20 8 FT, lists an 8-foot pole.

What reach means on a pole saw listing

Reach is the distance from the ground to the top of the cutting head when the pole is fully extended. Listings state it in two ways. Some give the pole length, which is the length of the extension itself. Others give total reach, which adds the height of the person holding the pole. The two figures are not the same, and a listing that gives total reach will look longer than one that gives pole length. Read the label before you compare two tools.

The bar length matters as well, but for a different reason. An 8-inch bar is the common size for a pole saw, and it fits branches up to a few inches thick. A 13-inch blade, such as the Barracuda-style tri-cut blades in our set, cuts larger limbs, but those are sold as separate blades rather than as complete pole saws. For a long-reach pole saw, the bar is usually 8 inches, and the reach is what separates one tool from another.

Battery setup is the third factor. A long pole adds weight at the top, and a battery that runs out mid-job leaves you holding a pole with nothing to cut. Several listings here include batteries and chargers, and others are tool only, so the battery line decides what you pay on the day you open the box.

The seven pole saws side by side

The table uses only the values in each listing. “Not stated” means the listing did not give that figure in the bullets reviewed.

Model Reach per listing Blade or chain bar Battery per listing Notes from the listing
AVADA 2-in-1 Cordless Pole Saw and Chainsaw, DeWALT 20V Total reach up to 15.9 feet 8-inch and 6-inch chainsaw Not included 1200W brushless motor
Paxwrenx 8-Inch Cordless Pole Saw, DeWALT 20V Up to 15 feet total (3 sections), 12.5 feet (2 sections) 8-inch bar Bare tool, not included Compatible with DCB200 and other DeWALT packs
CRAFTSMAN V20 Pole Saw (CMCCSP20B) Up to 14 feet extended reach Not stated Tool only Up to 325 cuts per charge
Milwaukee M18 8-Inch Pole Saw Up to 14.8 feet maximum reach 8-inch Not included, 4.0Ah or higher recommended Pole length range starts at 7.4 feet
6-in-1 Cordless Pole Saw and Hedge Trimmer Combo 14.92 feet extended reach 8-inch brushless chainsaw Two 4.0Ah batteries included 1000W brushless, 38.5 feet per second
CRAFTSMAN V20 8 FT Cordless Pole Saw 8-foot pole, folds for transport Not stated 2Ah battery and charger included Up to 900 cuts per charge
HEINPRO 8-Inch Cordless Pole Saw, DeWALT 20V Not stated 8-inch Battery and charger not included Compatible with DeWALT 20V MAX packs

The reach figures in this table are the listing numbers, and they are not comparable in a strict sense. The AVADA and Paxwrenx use total reach with height, the CRAFTSMAN V20 gives extended reach, and the Milwaukee gives maximum reach. Treat them as the best figure each maker chose to publish, and check the definition in each listing.

Roundup: the pole saws in this set

AVADA 2-in-1 Cordless Pole Saw and Chainsaw for DeWALT 20V

The AVADA listing gives the longest total reach in the set, at up to 15.9 feet. It combines an 8-inch and a 6-inch electric chainsaw with an extension pole in one tool. The bullets describe a 1200W brushless motor and say the tool works with DeWALT 20V MAX batteries, including DCB200, DCB201, DCB203 and others. The listing says the battery and charger are not included.

It suits a buyer who wants the most reach and a chainsaw option on the same pole, and who already owns a DeWALT 20V pack.

View on Amazon

Paxwrenx 8-Inch Cordless Pole Saw for DeWALT 20V Max Battery

The Paxwrenx listing is a bare tool with an 8-inch bar. Its extension, in the listing’s own words, runs to 7.5 feet on two sections or 10 feet on three, and the total reach with user height is up to 12.5 feet on two sections or 15 feet on three. The listing lists compatibility with DeWALT 20V batteries, including DCB200, DCB201, DCB203, DCB204, DCB230 and DCB240.

It suits a buyer with a DeWALT pack who wants the longest reach that uses a standard 8-inch bar.

View on Amazon

CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless Pole Saw, Tool Only

The CRAFTSMAN CMCCSP20B lists up to 14 feet of extended reach, with an angled head and blade. Its bullets say it cuts up to 325 times per charge, and the listing describes it as a cordless tree trimmer for the V20 platform. It is tool only, so the battery and charger are an extra purchase.

It suits a CRAFTSMAN V20 owner who wants a 14-foot reach from a battery they already have.

View on Amazon

Milwaukee M18 8-Inch Cordless Pole Saw

The Milwaukee-compatible pole saw lists a maximum reach of 14.8 feet. Its bullets say the pole extends from 7.4 to 8 feet, and the listing gives the reach as a safe, ladder-free option for elevated work. The battery and charger are not included. The listing recommends a battery rated 4.0Ah or higher for the best cutting power.

It suits a buyer who already has M18 batteries and wants a reach close to 15 feet without buying a full kit.

View on Amazon

6-in-1 Cordless Pole Saw and Pole Hedge Trimmer Combo Kit

This kit lists a 14.92-foot extended reach and comes with two 4.0Ah batteries. It is a combo: the listing describes a pole saw, a grass shear, a hedge trimmer, an 8-inch brushless chainsaw and a 16-inch electric hedge trimmer in one kit. The motor is listed at 1000W brushless, with a blade speed of 38.5 feet per second.

It suits a buyer who wants the most tools in one kit in the set and a reach close to 15 feet with two packs in the box.

View on Amazon

CRAFTSMAN V20 8 FT Cordless Pole Saw with Battery and Charger

The 8-foot CRAFTSMAN is the shortest-reach model in this group, and the listing says its pole folds for transport and storage. It includes a 2Ah battery and charger, which makes it ready to use when it arrives. The bullets say it cuts up to 900 times per charge, and the head pivots through seven positions.

It suits a buyer who needs a ready-to-use pole saw for branches within about 8 feet, and who wants it to store compactly.

View on Amazon

HEINPRO 8-Inch Cordless Pole Saw for DeWALT 20V Max

The HEINPRO listing describes an 8-inch cordless pole saw designed to work with DeWALT 20V MAX batteries. The battery and charger are not included. The listing does not state a reach figure in the bullets reviewed, so it cannot be ranked on length. It is included here because it is an 8-inch pole saw for DeWALT packs, and the reach should be confirmed in the full listing.

View on Amazon

In-depth look: the AVADA 2-in-1 for maximum reach

If the longest reach is the main requirement, the AVADA listing is the one to read in full. Its title sets total reach at 15.9 feet, and the bullets explain how the tool gets there. The pole carries an 8-inch and a 6-inch electric chainsaw, so you can switch between the two heads for different branch sizes. The listing describes a 1200W brushless motor, which is the power figure for the cut itself.

The reach figure is a total-reach number, which includes the height of the person holding the pole. That makes it a practical figure for trimming a high branch from the ground, but it is not the same as the pole length. Check the pole length in the full listing before you compare it with a pole-length figure from another model.

The battery is the open item. The listing says the battery and charger are not included, so the first cost is a DeWALT 20V pack and charger if you do not own them. For a buyer already on that platform, the AVADA is the simplest route to a 15-foot reach.

Close alternatives in this set: the Paxwrenx is the closer match if you want a standard 8-inch bar with the same DeWALT compatibility, and the 6-in-1 kit is the closer match if you want two batteries and a set of trimming tools in one box.

How to choose the longest reach that suits your trees

Start with the highest branch you need to reach. Add a margin of a foot or two, because the head has to sit above the cut and you need room to pull the branch clear. A 14- to 15-foot reach covers most two-story branches from the ground, and an 8-foot pole covers low limbs.

Then check the battery platform. If you already own a DeWALT 20V pack, the AVADA and Paxwrenx fit. If you own an M18 pack, the Milwaukee-compatible model fits. If you own a CRAFTSMAN V20 battery, the V20 pole saw matches. The 6-in-1 kit and the 8-foot CRAFTSMAN include their batteries.

Finally, weigh the pole. A longer pole adds weight at the top and makes the tool harder to control. The listings give pole length and reach but do not always give the total weight, so check the weight line in the full listing before you buy.

Mistakes to avoid with a long-reach pole saw

  • Comparing total reach with pole length. The two figures differ, so check which one each listing gives.
  • Cutting above your shoulders from a ladder. A long pole saw is built to keep your feet on the ground.
  • Ignoring the battery line. Several listings here are tool only, and the battery is a separate purchase.
  • Cutting branches that are too thick. An 8-inch bar is for small to medium limbs, and bigger cuts need a pruning saw.
  • Working near power lines. Keep well clear of electrical lines when you use any pole saw.

FAQ

Which pole saw in this set has the longest reach?

The AVADA 2-in-1 lists the longest total reach at 15.9 feet. The Paxwrenx lists up to 15 feet total with three sections. The 6-in-1 kit and the Milwaukee-compatible model list reaches of 14.92 and 14.8 feet.

Are batteries included?

The 6-in-1 kit includes two 4.0Ah batteries, and the 8-foot CRAFTSMAN includes a 2Ah battery and charger. The AVADA, Paxwrenx, Milwaukee-compatible and HEINPRO listings do not include batteries. The CRAFTSMAN V20 pole saw is tool only.

What bar size is common?

Most pole saws in this set use an 8-inch bar. The AVADA includes an 8-inch and a 6-inch chainsaw, and the 6-in-1 kit includes an 8-inch brushless chainsaw.

Can I use a pole saw on tall branches from the ground?

Yes, that is the design purpose. The listings describe reach that lets you cut from the ground, which the Paxwrenx and AVADA listings name directly. Keep the head below any power line and follow the listing’s safety notes.

Which model is the shortest?

The CRAFTSMAN V20 8 FT has an 8-foot pole, which is the shortest in this group. It folds for transport and suits low limbs.

Bottom line

For the longest reach in this set, the AVADA 2-in-1 lists 15.9 feet of total reach, and the Paxwrenx lists up to 15 feet with three sections. Choose by battery platform as much as by reach: a DeWALT owner should look at the AVADA or Paxwrenx, an M18 owner at the Milwaukee-compatible model, and a V20 owner at the CRAFTSMAN. Confirm the reach definition and battery line in each full listing before you buy.

For related guidance, read How to Use a Pole Saw Safely and How to Prune Branches With a Pole Saw.

Similar Posts