Best Cordless Pole Saws With Battery and Charger
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
A cordless pole saw with battery and charger is a battery-powered branch saw on an extension pole, sold as a complete kit so you can start cutting without buying a separate battery or charger. This guide lists eight kits whose listings state that the battery and charger are included, and it explains what to compare in each listing: reach, bar length, battery capacity, cuts per charge, weight, and warranty. Every product fact below comes from the product listing data we hold for each item. Where a listing does not state a value, this guide says so.
Quick answer
- Choose a kit whose title or specs say the battery and charger are included. Several listings in this category sell the saw head alone, and those need a battery bought separately.
- For reach, check the stated maximum: some kits list about 8 feet of pole, others list up to 13 or 14 feet with the extension section fitted.
- Battery capacity is listed in amp-hours (Ah) or as a voltage system. Listings for 20V, 40V, 56V, 60V and 80V kits all appear here, so compare the stated cuts per charge rather than the voltage alone.
- Check the weight line before buying. The lightest saw in this group is listed at about 8 pounds, and the heaviest kit is listed at about 10 pounds without the battery in some listings.
How to choose a cordless pole saw kit
Start with the job. A pole saw is most useful for branches you cannot reach from the ground, and the listed reach decides whether a kit can do that job. Stated reach varies a lot in this group. The CRAFTSMAN V20 8 FT kit lists an 8-foot pole, while the CRAFTSMAN V20 kit with a 14-foot maximum reach lists an extension pole that brings the total to 14 feet. The EGO PS1001 lists a total reach up to 13 feet, and the Greenworks 40V listing gives a maximum extended reach of 11 feet. A kit that reaches farther is usually longer and heavier, so the reach figure has to be balanced against the weight figure.
Next, look at the bar and chain. Bar length controls the largest branch a saw can cut in one pass. Several kits in this list use an 8-inch bar. The BLACK+DECKER LPP120 lists an 8-inch cutting bar with a maximum cutting diameter of 6 inches. The Greenworks 80V and 60V kits list 10-inch bars. A longer bar cuts larger limbs but adds weight at the end of the pole, which matters for overhead work.
Third, compare battery capacity and runtime. Listings state runtime differently, so compare like with like. The CRAFTSMAN V20 8 FT lists up to 900 cuts per charge with its 2 Ah battery, while other listings describe cuts on a specific material or size. Read the full sentence in each listing before comparing numbers.
Fourth, check what is in the box. Some listings include a wrench, oil bottle, guard or shoulder strap. Others list only the saw, battery and charger. The BLACK+DECKER kit lists an oil bottle, wrench and blade guard, and the EGO PS1001 listing includes a shoulder strap hook. Those extras can save a purchase later.
Fifth, check the warranty and the battery platform. Warranty terms differ. The CRAFTSMAN V20 8 FT lists a 3-year limited warranty. The EGO PS1001 lists a limited lifetime warranty on the telescopic carbon fiber shaft. The Greenworks 40V listing says the tool and battery are covered by a 3-year warranty. If you already own batteries for other tools, check whether the kit uses the same platform. The WORX WG323 lists a battery that powers more than 75 tools in the PowerShare family, and the DEWALT bundle uses the 20V MAX system.
Sizing and fit
Pole saw sizing has two parts: how far the saw reaches and how heavy it feels at full extension. The listings give both numbers for most kits in this guide, and the table below uses only the figures the listings state. A cell that reads “not stated” means the listing did not give that value in the data we hold.
| Kit | Bar or blade size | Stated reach or pole length | Stated weight | Battery in the kit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CRAFTSMAN V20 8 FT Cordless Pole Saw (CMCPPR320D1) | Not stated as bar length | 8 ft pole | 4.94 kg (listed) | 2 Ah battery and charger |
| EGO Power+ PS1001 | 10 in bar | Up to 13 ft total | 9.4 lb | 56V 2.5Ah battery and charger |
| BLACK+DECKER LPP120 | 8 in bar | Up to 14 ft overhead reach | Not stated | 20V MAX battery and charger |
| WORX WG323 | 10 in | Up to 12 ft | 10 lb | PowerShare battery and charger |
| CRAFTSMAN V20 Pole Saw (CMCCSP20M1) | 8 in bar | Up to 14 ft with extension pole | Not stated | 4.0 Ah battery and charger |
| Greenworks 40V PS40B210 | 8 in bar | Up to 11 ft | Not stated | 2.0 Ah battery and charger |
| Greenworks 80V PS80L212 | 10 in bar | Extends over 9 ft; cuts to 14 ft | Not stated | 80V 2.0 Ah battery and charger |
| DEWALT DCPS620 bundle | 8 in bar | Up to 15 ft extension pole | Not stated | 20V MAX 4 Ah battery and charger |
Read the table as a sizing guide, not a ranking. A shorter pole is easier to hold for long periods, and a longer pole covers more height. Measure the tallest branch you need to reach from ground level before choosing a total reach.
Battery and charging
All eight kits in this guide ship with a battery and charger. The listings differ in battery size and in how fast they recharge. The Greenworks 40V listing says a full charge takes 60 minutes with its 2.0 Ah battery. The EGO PS1001 pairs a 56V 2.5 Ah battery with a 56V 210W charger. The CRAFTSMAN V20 8 FT ships with a 2 Ah battery in the listing bullets, while its component list names a 1.5 Ah battery, so check the box contents on the listing page before you buy.
Battery runtime depends on the cut. The listings give cut counts that refer to different test conditions. For example, the BLACK+DECKER listing gives up to 100 cuts of 1 1/2-inch pine branches per charge, and the EGO listing gives up to 100 cuts per charge with its 2.5 Ah battery. Those figures are not comparable across brands. Use them to compare kits within the same brand, or to judge whether a battery is in the right range for your yard.
If you already own cordless tools from the same brand, a shared battery can reduce the cost of a kit. Several listings in this group note platform compatibility, including the CRAFTSMAN V20 system and the WORX PowerShare system.
Materials and build
Blade and shaft materials are stated in some listings and missing in others. The CRAFTSMAN V20 8 FT lists alloy steel blades with a non-stick coating that helps reduce sap buildup, and it lists plastic handle material. The EGO PS1001 lists a telescopic carbon fiber shaft. The Greenworks 40V listing describes a three-piece lightweight aluminum shaft that comes apart for storage.
Where the listing does not state a material, this guide does not supply one. For example, the DEWALT bundle lists metal backing strips on its grip and tree hooks for removing pruned branches, but the material of the shaft is not stated in the data we hold.
Eight kits, one reason each
CRAFTSMAN V20 8 FT Cordless Pole Saw, 2 Ah Battery and Charger Included (CMCPPR320D1)
This kit is the most compact item in the list, with an 8-foot pole that folds for transport and storage. The listing says it includes a 2 Ah battery and charger, a tool-less blade change, and a seven-position lateral pivoting head. The listing states up to 900 cuts per charge and a 3-year limited warranty. It is a good fit for a homeowner who needs to reach low branches and wants a folding pole. The listing lists a total item weight of 4.94 kg, which is the number to check if you plan to hold the saw overhead for long periods.
EGO Power+ Pole Saw PS1001 with 2.5Ah Battery and Charger
The EGO PS1001 is the kit in this list with the most detailed reach figure. The listing states a total reach up to 13 feet, or up to 17 feet with the EP1000 extension pole sold separately. It includes a 56V 2.5 Ah battery and a 56V 210W charger. The listing gives up to 100 cuts per charge with the included battery, a 10-inch bar and chain with a 1/4-inch pitch, and tool-free chain tensioning. The telescopic carbon fiber shaft carries a limited lifetime warranty. The LED cut line indicator is a listed feature for cutting in shaded areas. The listed item weight is 9.4 pounds.
BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Cordless Pole Saw Kit (LPP120)
This BLACK+DECKER kit is a 20V MAX unit with a center extension that the listing says gives a usable length of 6.5 or 10 feet and an overhead reach of up to 14 feet. It has an 8-inch cutting bar and chain with a maximum cutting diameter of 6 inches. The listing says the battery is included, along with an oil bottle, wrench and blade guard. It also states that the unit disassembles for storage. The listing gives up to 100 cuts of 1 1/2-inch pine branches per charge. The listing does not state the item weight, so check it before buying if you plan long overhead work.
WORX Cordless Chainsaw WG323 2-in-1 Pole Saw with Battery and Charger
The WG323 is a 20V chainsaw that attaches to a pole. The listing says the pole attachment takes a few minutes with no tools, and that the saw reaches up to 12 feet with the pole and weighs 10 pounds. It includes automatic, tool-free chain tension and automatic chain lubrication with an oil level indicator. The listing says the battery and charger are included, and that the same PowerShare battery works with more than 75 other 20V, 40V and 80V tools. The listing also says oil is sold separately and the chain saw should be refueled with oil before use, so budget for a bottle of bar oil.
CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless Pole Saw, 14-Foot, With 4.0Ah Battery and Charger (CMCCSP20M1)
This CRAFTSMAN kit has the highest stated reach in the group that uses a 4.0 Ah battery. The listing says it reaches up to 14 feet with its extension pole, with an angled head and blade and a branch hook to pull cut branches down. The listing says the battery and charger are included and that the battery is a 4.0 Ah pack for extended runtime. It lists up to 325 cuts per charge and a 3-year limited warranty. The listing gives replacement chain and bar part numbers, which helps if you plan to keep the saw for years. The listing does not state the item weight.
Greenworks 40V 8 in Electric Pole Saw PS40B210 with 2.0Ah Battery and Charger
The Greenworks 40V kit uses an 8-inch bar and chain with a listed chain speed of 31.2 feet per second. The listing describes a three-piece lightweight aluminum shaft, extending to 11 feet, that comes apart for storage. It includes a 2.0 Ah battery and a 2A charger, and the listing says a full charge takes 60 minutes. The kit uses a two-step trigger start with no priming or gas mixing, and an auto chain oiler. The listing says the tool and battery carry a 3-year warranty. The listing does not state the item weight, but it compares the saw to gas pole saws as 70 percent lighter.
DEWALT DCPS620 20V MAX XR Pole Saw with 4 Ah Battery and Charger Starter Kit
This DEWALT bundle combines the DCPS620 pole saw with a 20V MAX 4 Ah battery and charger. The listing states a 15-foot extension pole, an 8-inch bar and low-kickback chain, and automatic lubrication. It has metal backing strips on the grip and tree hooks for removing pruned branches. The listing describes a comfortable grip handle. The listing does not state an item weight or a warranty term, so check those on the product page. The DEWALT 20V MAX platform is a practical choice if you already own DEWALT batteries, but the listing does not say whether this kit’s battery is interchangeable with other tools, so confirm that before buying.
RYOBI ONE+ 18V 8 in. Cordless Oil-Free Pole Saw with 1.5 Ah Battery and Charger
The RYOBI kit is an oil-free design, which the listing says removes the need to add bar oil. It extends up to 9.5 feet for longer reach and has an angled cutting head for better control. The listing describes a full-complement chain for faster cutting and tooled chain tensioning. The kit includes a RYOBI 18V lithium-ion battery and charger. This is a shorter-reach option than the 13- and 14-foot kits above, so it suits lower branches and small trees. The listing does not state the item weight.
Who each kit suits
- Low branches and small trees: the CRAFTSMAN 8 FT kit or the RYOBI 18V kit, because both have shorter poles and simpler setup.
- Taller trees with a stated overhead reach: the EGO PS1001, the BLACK+DECKER LPP120 or the CRAFTSMAN 14-foot kit.
- Owners of one battery platform: the WORX WG323 (PowerShare), the Greenworks 40V, 60V or 80V kits, or the DEWALT 20V MAX bundle, after checking compatibility in each listing.
- Shorter setup and storage: the Greenworks 40V kit with its three-piece shaft, and the BLACK+DECKER kit with its disassembling design.
Mistakes to avoid
- Buying a head-only unit when you expected a full kit. Check that the title or the bullet says the battery and charger are included.
- Comparing runtime figures across brands. Each listing measures cuts differently, so compare within a brand line first.
- Ignoring weight at full extension. A long pole with a heavy saw tires the arms quickly.
- Assuming a battery works across brands. Check each listing for its platform before you buy a second battery.
- Skipping the chain oil on kits that need it. The WORX WG323 listing says oil is sold separately, while the RYOBI kit is listed as oil-free.
FAQ
Does a cordless pole saw with battery and charger come ready to use?
Yes, for the kits in this guide whose listings state the battery and charger are included. Each listing names the battery size. Some kits also need a charge before first use, and the Greenworks 40V listing gives a 60-minute full charge time. Read the box contents on the listing page before you buy.
How much reach do these pole saws give?
The listed reach varies by kit. The CRAFTSMAN 8 FT kit lists an 8-foot pole. The EGO PS1001 lists up to 13 feet total. The BLACK+DECKER LPP120 lists up to 14 feet of overhead reach, and the CRAFTSMAN 14-foot kit lists 14 feet with its extension pole. Use the stated figure for the kit you are comparing, and measure the height you need to reach.
Do I need bar oil for a cordless pole saw?
It depends on the kit. The RYOBI 18V listing says it is oil-free. The WORX WG323 listing says oil is sold separately, and the Greenworks and EGO listings describe automatic chain oilers. An automatic oiler still needs oil in its reservoir, so check the oil window on the saw you choose.
Can a battery from one kit run another tool?
Some listings say so. The WORX WG323 says its PowerShare battery powers more than 75 other tools in the PowerShare family, and the Greenworks 80V listing says its battery and charger work with 75-plus Greenworks compatible products. The DEWALT listing does not state cross-tool compatibility, so check the DEWALT listing before assuming it.
Which kit has the longest stated runtime?
The CRAFTSMAN 8 FT listing states up to 900 cuts per charge. The CRAFTSMAN 14-foot listing states up to 325 cuts per charge. The EGO listing states up to 100 cuts per charge with its 2.5 Ah battery. These figures come from different test conditions, so compare them only as a rough guide.
What warranty do these kits carry?
The CRAFTSMAN 8 FT and 14-foot listings both state a 3-year limited warranty. The EGO listing states a limited lifetime warranty on the telescopic shaft. The Greenworks 40V listing states a 3-year warranty on the tool and battery. The BLACK+DECKER, WORX, DEWALT and RYOBI listings do not state a warranty term in the data we hold.
Bottom line
Pick the kit whose listed reach matches the highest branch you need to cut, and confirm that the battery and charger are included in the listing before you buy. If you already own a battery platform, choose a kit from that line. For shorter jobs, a lighter 8-foot kit is easier to control. For taller trees, pay attention to the weight figure at full extension.
Related reading
- Paxwrenx 8-Inch Cordless Pole Saw Review for DeWalt covers a bare-tool option for DeWalt batteries.
- How to Use a Pole Saw Safely explains safe setup before you start cutting.
