Earthwise Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmer Review for Yards

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

An earthwise cordless pole hedge trimmer is a battery-powered hedge trimmer on an extension pole, so you can cut the top and sides of tall hedges and shrubs while standing on the ground. The Earthwise model in this review is the LPHT12022 (listed as model LHT12021), a 20-volt cordless unit with a 20-inch dual-action blade, a 6-position adjustable head and an extension pole that the listing says reaches up to 8 feet 10 inches. The listing says a 2.0Ah battery and fast charger are included. The sections below cover what the listing states, how to match the pole length to your hedge height, and which close alternatives appear in the same product group.

Quick answer

  • Best fit: a yard with hedges or shrubs taller than a stepladder can safely reach, where you want a cordless tool with no oil or gas.
  • Key listed specs: 20V lithium-ion, 2.0Ah battery, charger included, 20-inch dual-action blade, cuts branches up to 5/8 inch thick, reach up to 8 ft 10 in.
  • Warranty in the listing: 2 years on the hedge trimmer and 1 year on the battery.
  • Main trade-off: the listing gives the reach and battery size but does not state a weight or runtime, so compare those on the product page before you buy.

What this type of tool is for

A pole hedge trimmer solves one problem well: cutting material you cannot comfortably reach from the ground. Ladders are a common source of falls when people trim hedges, and a pole tool lets you keep both feet on the ground. The same tool can usually be taken off the pole and used as a handheld trimmer for low shrubs, which is the feature the Earthwise listing highlights through its adjustable head.

The keyword for this review is the Earthwise name plus the phrase “cordless pole hedge trimmer”. Most listings in this product group use the same basic design: a cordless motor head, a telescoping or extension pole, and a dual-action blade. Where a listing offers a different battery platform, that matters more than the brand, because the battery is the part you will buy again.

How to choose a pole hedge trimmer

Match the reach to the hedge

Measure the tallest point you need to cut, then add the height of your reach from the ground. Pole length is the number to check. The Earthwise listing gives a reach of up to 8 feet 10 inches. Other listings in the same group give different maximum reaches. The Black+Decker LPHT120 listing says the adjustable pole extends to a trimming height of up to 11 feet. The Craftsman CMCPHT818D1 listing gives up to 11 feet of reach. The Seesii listing in this group describes a telescopic pole that extends from 7 feet to 8.5 feet. Pick the shortest pole that clears your hedge, because a longer pole is heavier to hold at full extension.

Check the blade length and cut capacity

Blade length controls how much you cut in one pass. The Earthwise listing states a 20-inch dual-action blade that cuts branches up to 5/8 inch thick. The Seesii listing gives the same 20-inch blade with a cut capacity of 0.71 inch (18 mm). The Ecarke listing describes a 22-inch dual-action blade rated for branches up to 2/3 inch thick. The Craftsman listing gives an 18-inch blade for branches up to 3/4 inch thick. A longer blade covers more per stroke, but the listing does not say how much faster any blade cuts, so the numbers above are the only comparison the pack supports.

Battery platform and included parts

Check whether the battery comes with the tool. The Earthwise listing says a 2.0Ah battery and fast charger are included. The Black+Decker LPHT120 listing includes a 20V MAX battery and a smart charger, and it says the battery holds a charge for up to 18 months. The Craftsman listing includes a V20 2.0Ah battery and charger and a hard blade cover. The Seesii listing includes two 4.0Ah batteries. Several other listings in this group are sold as tool only, and their titles say “Compatible with DeWalt 20V” or “for Makita 18V”. Those tool-only listings state that a battery and charger are not included, so you need a compatible battery you already own or plan to buy.

Weight and handling

Weight is the factor most people feel after twenty minutes. The Black+Decker listing says the pole hedge trimmer weighs 7.7 lbs. The Ecarke listing describes its bare tool as 8 lbs. The Grasstigon listing gives 7.1 lbs, and the Zuyiyi listing says 7 lbs without the battery. The Earthwise listing in this review does not state a weight, so you should check its product page for that number before you decide.

Earthwise LPHT12022 in detail

The listing describes the Earthwise cordless pole hedge trimmer as a battery-operated hedge trimmer that uses a 20-volt 2.0Ah lithium-ion battery to power its high-efficiency motor. It is sold as a pole trimmer with an extension pole, so it covers both the handheld and the reach use.

Its listed features are these:

  • A 20-inch dual-action blade that cuts branches up to 5/8 inch thick.
  • A protective blade cover for storage.
  • A 6-position adjustable head.
  • An extension pole with a reach of up to 8 feet 10 inches.
  • No oil or gas needed to run.
  • A 2-year warranty on the hedge trimmer and a 1-year warranty on the battery.

The listing gives the model as LHT12021 and the part number as LPHT12022. Use the part number when you check replacement blades or batteries, because the listing does not show a parts list.

Where the 6-position head helps

An adjustable head matters on a pole because you cannot reposition your body the way you would with a handheld trimmer. The listing says the head has six positions. That lets you angle the blade for the top of a hedge, a side face, or a low branch without moving the pole. Comparable listings give different head ranges: the Seesii listing describes a 150-degree rotating head, the Zuyiyi listing says 6 positions from 0 to 150 degrees, and the Black+Decker listing gives a 180-degree pivot with 5 positions. Those are the ranges the listings state. The Earthwise listing gives six positions but does not state the total angle.

What the listing does not say

The Earthwise listing does not state a runtime, a charge time, a weight, a blade speed, or the pole’s material. It also does not say whether the battery is compatible with other Earthwise tools. If you need any of those facts, check the product page or the manufacturer manual before you buy, rather than assuming them from the other listings above.

Close alternatives from the same group

These listings match the pole hedge trimmer type. The facts below come only from each listing.

Black+Decker LPHT120 cordless pole hedge trimmer

The Black+Decker listing is the most complete in this group for a buyer who needs a kit. It includes the LPHT120 trimmer, a 20V MAX lithium-ion battery (model LBXR20) and a smart charger (model LCS20). It has an 18-inch dual-action blade for hedges, shrubs and bushes up to 7/16 inch thick, a 180-degree pivoting head with five positions, and an adjustable pole that the listing says extends to a trimming height of up to 11 feet. The listing gives a weight of 7.7 lbs and says the battery is part of the POWERCONNECT system, so it can run other tools in that line. Its fiberglass sections are described as rust-proof.

Craftsman CMCPHT818D1 pole hedge trimmer

The Craftsman listing describes an 18-inch dual-action blade that cuts branches up to 3/4 inch thick, a 180-degree pivoting head with five positions, and up to 11 feet of reach. It includes a V20 2.0Ah battery and charger, a hard blade cover, and an integrated hook for the VERSATRACK wall system, which the listing says is sold separately. It carries a 3-year limited warranty. Its blade is shorter than the Earthwise blade, so it covers less width per pass, but its cut capacity is larger.

Seesii 2-in-1 pole and hedge trimmer

The Seesii listing sells a hedge trimmer that works both handheld and on a telescopic pole. It describes a 20-inch dual-action blade, a 150-degree rotating head, and a pole that extends from 7 feet to 8.5 feet. It includes two 4.0Ah batteries, which is a larger battery capacity than the 2.0Ah battery in the Earthwise listing. The listing says the pole can be detached for compact storage. Its battery pack is the main difference from the Earthwise setup.

Other tool-only options

Several listings in this group are tool only and say a battery and charger are not included. The Grasstigon listing states compatibility with DeWalt 20V MAX batteries, a 14-foot long reach and an 18-inch dual-action blade. The Ecarke listing describes a 22-inch blade and a pole that extends to 9 feet, and it says the bare tool weighs 8 lbs. The Zuyiyi listing is compatible with Makita 18V BL batteries and describes a 20-inch blade. The SHOHO listing is compatible with DeWalt 20V MAX batteries and describes a 19-inch blade and a 9.7-foot telescoping pole. Each of these fits a battery you may already own, but you should confirm the battery type before buying.

Common mistakes to avoid

  • Buying on reach alone. A 14-foot listing can be harder to control than an 8-foot one. Choose the shortest pole that reaches your highest cut.
  • Ignoring the battery. Several listings in this group say a battery and charger are not included. Check the battery platform before you add the tool to a cart.
  • Cutting thicker wood than the listing allows. Each listing gives a branch thickness limit. Use hand loppers or a saw for anything above that size.
  • Ignoring the blade cover. Store the blade covered. The Earthwise and Craftsman listings both mention a cover.

Who each option suits

Earthwise LPHT12022: a buyer who wants a 20V cordless pole trimmer with the battery and charger listed, a reach of up to 8 feet 10 inches, and an adjustable head. It suits a standard suburban hedge, provided you check the weight and runtime on the product page.

Black+Decker LPHT120: a buyer who wants a kit with a 20V MAX battery and charger, a longer reach of up to 11 feet, and a published weight of 7.7 lbs.

Craftsman CMCPHT818D1: a buyer who wants a longer reach, a 3-year limited warranty, and a battery and charger in the box.

Seesii 2-in-1: a buyer who wants a tool that works both handheld and on a pole, with two 4.0Ah batteries included.

Sizing and setup checklist

  1. Measure the hedge height and the reach you need from the ground.
  2. Check whether the battery and charger are included.
  3. Check the blade length and the branch thickness limit.
  4. Check the weight on the product page, since several listings do not state it.
  5. Confirm the warranty period in the listing.

FAQ

Does the Earthwise pole hedge trimmer come with a battery?

The listing says a 2.0Ah battery and a fast charger are included. Check the product page to confirm the set in your order before you buy.

How far does the Earthwise pole reach?

The listing gives a reach of up to 8 feet 10 inches. Taller reach needs a different model. The Black+Decker LPHT120 and Craftsman CMCPHT818D1 listings give up to 11 feet.

What is the maximum branch size it cuts?

The listing says the 20-inch dual-action blade cuts branches up to 5/8 inch thick. Use hand tools or a saw for larger wood.

Does it need oil or gas?

No. The listing describes it as battery powered and says it does not require oil or gas.

What warranty does it have?

The listing says 2 years on the hedge trimmer and 1 year on the battery.

Is a pole hedge trimmer safer than a ladder?

A pole tool lets you keep your feet on the ground, which avoids the risk of a ladder fall. Keep clear of power lines when cutting near overhead wires, and follow the manual’s safety instructions for blade use.

Bottom line

Choose the Earthwise LPHT12022 if you want a 20V cordless pole hedge trimmer with a battery and charger listed, a reach of up to 8 feet 10 inches, and a 20-inch blade for branches up to 5/8 inch. If you need more reach, pick the Black+Decker LPHT120 or the Craftsman CMCPHT818D1, both listed at up to 11 feet. If you already own a compatible battery, a tool-only listing can cost less in the cart, but confirm the battery type first.

Related reading: Best Cordless Pole Hedge Trimmers Compared and SEESII 6-in-1 Cordless Pole Saw Review: Kit, Batteries and Reach.

View on Amazon

View on Amazon

View on Amazon

View on Amazon

Similar Posts