Hands threading fresh line into a cordless trimmer head on a workbench.

Changing String on a Ryobi 40V Trimmer: Parts Guide

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. Details

changing string on ryobi 40v trimmer shoppers need a clear match between the tool, the work area, and the power setup. This guide compares the strongest relevant options in the supplied product pages and shows which stated measurements actually change the decision. You will see package contents, power-source details, size or output figures, and honest omissions for every pick. The aim is to help you avoid an incompatible battery, an undersized working width, or a tool-only purchase you cannot power. Each recommendation stays tied to its own specifications. Use the decision rules below, then confirm any missing compatibility or included-part detail on the current product page before ordering.

Quick answer

Choose the first pick when its stated package and measurements fit your existing setup. The second option is better when its listed handling details matter more than maximum output. Look at the third and fourth picks when you need a different power arrangement or working size. The remaining choices make sense only when their stated compatibility and included components match what you already own. Start with the package status, then compare like-for-like size, weight, speed, or capacity fields. For adjacent equipment choices, see the Ryobi 40V trimmer guide, Ryobi ONE+ trimmer comparison, and replacement battery guide.

What matters for this Ryobi-compatible replacement part

The criteria below stay specific to this purchase. They separate physical fit, power compatibility, and package contents instead of treating every large number as a performance advantage.

1. Product Dimensions

Product Dimensions changes the decision because it affects whether this Ryobi-compatible replacement part matches the intended job and power arrangement. For product dimensions, the first pick states 2.5 x 2.5 x 1 inches, while the third pick states 10.4 x 3.2 x 1.6 inches, while the fourth pick states 2 x 2 x 2 inches. Compare like-for-like wording for product dimensions. A headline claim about product dimensions and a complete setup specification are not interchangeable. If product dimensions controls fit, verify it rather than infer it from a photo. Confirm the exact product dimensions and related parts on the product page before you commit.

2. Item Weight

Item Weight changes the decision because it affects whether this Ryobi-compatible replacement part matches the intended job and power arrangement. For item weight, the first pick states 0.01 ounces, while the second pick states 11 pounds, while the third pick states 7.8 ounces. Compare like-for-like wording for item weight. A headline claim about item weight and a complete setup specification are not interchangeable. If item weight controls fit, verify it rather than infer it from a photo. Confirm the exact item weight and related parts on the product page before you commit.

3. Batteries

Batteries changes the decision because it affects whether this Ryobi-compatible replacement part matches the intended job and power arrangement. For batteries, the first pick states Nonstandard Battery batteries required.. Compare like-for-like wording for batteries. A headline claim about batteries and a complete setup specification are not interchangeable. If batteries controls fit, verify it rather than infer it from a photo. Confirm the exact batteries and related parts on the product page before you commit.

4. Power Source

Power Source changes the decision because it affects whether this Ryobi-compatible replacement part matches the intended job and power arrangement. For power source, the second pick states Battery Powered, while the fifth pick states Battery Powered. Compare like-for-like wording for power source. A headline claim about power source and a complete setup specification are not interchangeable. If power source controls fit, verify it rather than infer it from a photo. Confirm the exact power source and related parts on the product page before you commit.

5. Cutting Width

Cutting Width changes the decision because it affects whether this Ryobi-compatible replacement part matches the intended job and power arrangement. For cutting width, the second pick states 13 inches, while the fifth pick states 0.06 inches. Compare like-for-like wording for cutting width. A headline claim about cutting width and a complete setup specification are not interchangeable. If cutting width controls fit, verify it rather than infer it from a photo. Confirm the exact cutting width and related parts on the product page before you commit.

Side-by-side decision view

The table keeps each value tied to the product page that states it. Different fields should not be treated as equivalent performance measures.

Choice First stated detail Second stated detail Package check
first pick 2.5 x 2.5 x 1 inches 0.01 ounces Confirm package
second pick Battery Powered 11 pounds Tool only stated
third pick 10.4 x 3.2 x 1.6 inches 7.8 ounces Confirm package
fourth pick 2 x 2 x 2 inches 15.5 ounces Confirm package
fifth pick Battery Powered 4.16 ounces Confirm package

Use this view to narrow the field, then read the full write-up for omissions and package limits. A larger figure can describe a different measurement, so it does not automatically identify the better machine.

Picks and who each one fits

1. Ryobi One PLUS+ AC80RL3 OEM .080 Inch Twisted Line and Spool Replacement for Ryobi 18v, 24v (Best overall)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-11):

  • Product Dimensions: 2.5 x 2.5 x 1 inches
  • Item Weight: 0.01 ounces
  • Batteries: Nonstandard Battery batteries required.

Pros

  • The first pick states Product Dimensions: 2.5 x 2.5 x 1 inches.
  • Its page also states Item Weight: 0.01 ounces.

Cons

  • The first option does not state every measurement needed for every yard or power setup.

Best for: Readers whose task matches the stated Product Dimensions
Skip if: Skip this first choice when its stated package or compatibility does not match your equipment.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

2. RYOBI 40V Attachment Capable 15" String Trimmer Bare Tool (Best for easy handling)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-11):

  • Power Source: Battery Powered
  • Item Weight: 11 pounds
  • Cutting Width: 13 inches

Pros

  • The second pick states Power Source: Battery Powered.
  • Its page also states Item Weight: 11 pounds.

Cons

  • The second option does not state every measurement needed for every yard or power setup.

Best for: Readers whose task matches the stated Power Source
Skip if: Skip this second choice when its stated package or compatibility does not match your equipment.

Check the listing before buying: the text suggests this item may be sold without a battery and/or charger.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

3. Heavy Duty Replacement Head for Ryobi, Bolt-On Weed Wacker Blade Kit with 3 Spare .080" Line Spools (Best for clear package details)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-11):

  • Product Dimensions: 10.4 x 3.2 x 1.6 inches
  • Item Weight: 7.8 ounces

Pros

  • The third pick states Product Dimensions: 10.4 x 3.2 x 1.6 inches.
  • Its page also states Item Weight: 7.8 ounces.

Cons

  • The third option does not state every measurement needed for every yard or power setup.

Best for: Readers whose task matches the stated Product Dimensions
Skip if: Skip this third choice when its stated package or compatibility does not match your equipment.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

4. YWTESCH .080 Inch AC80RL3 String Trimmer Refill for Ryobi One Plus+ Trimmer (Best for compact storage)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-11):

  • Product Dimensions: 2 x 2 x 2 inches
  • Item Weight: 15.5 ounces

Pros

  • The fourth pick states Product Dimensions: 2 x 2 x 2 inches.
  • Its page also states Item Weight: 15.5 ounces.

Cons

  • The fourth option does not state every measurement needed for every yard or power setup.

Best for: Readers whose task matches the stated Product Dimensions
Skip if: Skip this fourth choice when its stated package or compatibility does not match your equipment.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

5. AC14RL3A String Trimmer Spool for Ryobi Weed Wacker String, 11ft 0.065" String Trimmer Line (Best for higher stated output)

Specs from the listing (checked 2026-10-11):

  • Power Source: Battery Powered
  • Item Weight: 4.16 ounces
  • Cutting Width: 0.06 inches

Pros

  • The fifth pick states Power Source: Battery Powered.
  • Its page also states Item Weight: 4.16 ounces.

Cons

  • The fifth option does not state every measurement needed for every yard or power setup.

Best for: Readers whose task matches the stated Power Source
Skip if: Skip this fifth choice when its stated package or compatibility does not match your equipment.

View on Amazon (affiliate link)

The first pick: fit and limits

The first pick is a Ryobi-compatible replacement part for a shopper who values the specifications below over features that are not stated. For the first pick, its product dimensions is 2.5 x 2.5 x 1 inches. For the first pick, the listed item weight is 0.01 ounces. For the first pick, a stated batteries is Nonstandard Battery batteries required.. Those details for the first choice help you judge storage, handling, and task fit without assuming compatibility. The page does not clearly state every battery and charger detail, so confirm the complete package before choosing the first pick. Read the first product’s included-component line because a pictured battery does not prove that it ships in the box. Before ordering the first option, confirm its current package contents and operating instructions.

The second pick: fit and limits

The second pick is a Ryobi-compatible replacement part for a shopper who values the specifications below over features that are not stated. For the second pick, its power source is Battery Powered. For the second pick, the listed item weight is 11 pounds. For the second pick, a stated cutting width is 13 inches. For the second pick, the product-page cutting width is 13 inches. For the second pick, for this option, the speed is 8500 rpm. Those details for the second choice help you judge storage, handling, and task fit without assuming compatibility. This is a tool-only choice, so skip the second pick unless you already have the compatible battery arrangement stated on its product page. Read the second product’s included-component line because a pictured battery does not prove that it ships in the box. Before ordering the second option, confirm its current package contents and operating instructions.

The third pick: fit and limits

The third pick is a Ryobi-compatible replacement part for a shopper who values the specifications below over features that are not stated. For the third pick, its product dimensions is 10.4 x 3.2 x 1.6 inches. For the third pick, the listed item weight is 7.8 ounces. Those details for the third choice help you judge storage, handling, and task fit without assuming compatibility. The page does not clearly state every battery and charger detail, so confirm the complete package before choosing the third pick. Read the third product’s included-component line because a pictured battery does not prove that it ships in the box. Before ordering the third option, confirm its current package contents and operating instructions.

The fourth pick: fit and limits

The fourth pick is a Ryobi-compatible replacement part for a shopper who values the specifications below over features that are not stated. For the fourth pick, its product dimensions is 2 x 2 x 2 inches. For the fourth pick, the listed item weight is 15.5 ounces. Those details for the fourth choice help you judge storage, handling, and task fit without assuming compatibility. The page does not clearly state every battery and charger detail, so confirm the complete package before choosing the fourth pick. Read the fourth product’s included-component line because a pictured battery does not prove that it ships in the box. Before ordering the fourth option, confirm its current package contents and operating instructions.

The fifth pick: fit and limits

The fifth pick is a Ryobi-compatible replacement part for a shopper who values the specifications below over features that are not stated. For the fifth pick, its power source is Battery Powered. For the fifth pick, the listed item weight is 4.16 ounces. For the fifth pick, a stated cutting width is 0.06 inches. For the fifth pick, the product-page cutting width is 0.06 inches. For the fifth pick, for this option, the item dimensions l x w is 1″L x 1″W. Those details for the fifth choice help you judge storage, handling, and task fit without assuming compatibility. The page does not clearly state every battery and charger detail, so confirm the complete package before choosing the fifth pick. Read the fifth product’s included-component line because a pictured battery does not prove that it ships in the box. Before ordering the fifth option, confirm its current package contents and operating instructions.

Worked example: compare one stated measurement

One page gives 1 inches; another gives 1.6 inches. First, place both values in the same unit: 1 inches and 1.6 inches. Subtract the smaller from the larger: 1.6 − 1 = 0.6 inches. Check the subtraction by addition: 1 + 0.6 = 1.6 inches, which returns the larger stated figure. Recheck once more in reverse: 1.6 − 0.6 = 1 inches. The arithmetic shows only the stated difference. It does not prove better cutting, blowing, runtime, or durability. Use the result only when that measurement controls fit for your task.

Buying scenarios

You already own a compatible battery platform

A tool-only choice can make sense only when the product page names the battery family you already own. Confirm the pack series and charger requirement. Do not use voltage wording alone as proof of compatibility.

You are buying your first powered yard tool

Favor a package that clearly states the battery, charger, and required working parts. Read the included-components field and the title together. If either leaves the power setup unclear, choose a different option or confirm the current package before purchase.

You have limited storage

Use stated dimensions and item weight to screen the list. Do not confuse a bare-tool dimension with the footprint after a tube, handle, guard, bag, or attachment is installed. When assembled size is absent, check the product page rather than estimating it.

Mistakes that cause a poor match

Treating tool-only wording as a complete kit

A bare tool may omit the battery and charger. Build your shortlist around the package wording, not the product photo.

Comparing unlike output figures

Speed, air volume, cutting width, and battery capacity describe different things. Compare the same field across products before drawing a conclusion.

Assuming same-voltage batteries connect

A shared voltage does not establish cross-platform compatibility. Use only the battery family explicitly named for the exact tool.

Ignoring a missing measurement

An omitted specification is unknown, not zero and not equal to another model. Confirm it when the value controls clearance, runtime planning, or task fit.

Buying more machine than the task needs

Start with the material, area, and cleanup pattern you actually face. A smaller stated working size may be easier to store, while a larger one may reduce passes only when the surface and machine type are comparable.

FAQ

How do I know whether the battery is included?

Read the title, included-components field, and package bullets for the exact Ryobi-compatible replacement part. The first pick states 2.5 x 2.5 x 1 inches. If the page says tool only or bare tool, plan on supplying the stated compatible battery and charger. When those fields disagree or remain unclear, check the current product page before ordering.

Which stated measurement matters most for a small storage area?

Start with dimensions or item weight when those fields appear. The second pick lists Battery Powered. That figure helps with storage planning, but it does not describe the complete assembled footprint unless the page says so. Check the folded or assembled dimensions on the product page when cabinet, shelf, or wall clearance is tight.

Can I assume batteries work across different tool families?

No. Compatibility must be stated for the exact Ryobi-compatible replacement part. Voltage wording by itself does not establish connector, electronics, charger, or pack compatibility. The third pick should be matched only to the battery arrangement named on its page. If you already own packs, compare the exact compatible series listed by the maker before treating the tool as a platform extension.

What should I do when two specifications conflict?

Do not choose between conflicting figures by guessing. Treat the affected measurement as unresolved and check the current product page or manufacturer’s manual. Other unambiguous details can still help you compare the picks. For the fourth option, keep each size, weight, speed, and included-part claim tied to the field where it appears instead of blending separate values into one assumption.

Is a higher stated figure always the better choice?

A higher figure matters only when it describes the same measurement under comparable conditions. Air volume, air speed, blade length, cutting width, and battery capacity answer different questions. The fifth pick lists Battery Powered; use that value for its stated purpose, then weigh package contents, handling, and compatibility separately.

Who should avoid a tool-only option?

Skip a tool-only Ryobi-compatible replacement part if you do not already own the exact compatible battery and charger or cannot confirm them. Buying the missing power parts changes the package you must assemble. A complete kit may be simpler for a first purchase, while a bare tool can suit someone extending a clearly stated platform. Verify what ships before choosing either route.

How should I use the comparison table?

Use it to find the few options whose stated measurements and package status match your task. Then read the corresponding write-up once for the limitation and skip condition. The table is not a performance ranking because product pages expose different fields. If a required value is absent, treat it as unknown and confirm it rather than substituting a nearby model’s specification.

Bottom line

Choose the first pick when its stated package and core measurements match your work area. Select another option when it offers the specific power arrangement, working size, or handling detail your task requires. Skip any tool whose battery compatibility or included parts remain unclear after checking the product page. The best choice is the one you can power correctly and use within every stated limit.

Sources

Similar Posts