Echo Battery Weed Eater Review for Home Lawns

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

This echo battery weed eater review covers cordless string trimmers, the battery weed eater type home lawn owners compare when they search for an ECHO-style tool. None of the trimmers in our product data is an ECHO-branded model, so this page reviews the closest matches: cordless weed eaters from other brands, using only the specs and features each listing states. One model, the DCA 20V string trimmer, is covered in depth.

Quick answer

  • No listing in our data is an ECHO brand. The closest matches are cordless trimmers from DCA, ALSO GO, MoYohos, Liupoket, Windpost and BLACK+DECKER.
  • The DCA 20V trimmer is the model reviewed in depth. Its listing gives a 14-inch cutting width, a 4000mAh battery and a 2-year warranty.
  • For a home lawn, check cutting width, battery count and shaft length before you compare anything else.
  • Replacement trimmer heads are not battery weed eaters on their own, so this review leaves them out.

How the product list was filtered

The product data for this page held 15 items. Eight were complete battery string trimmers or trimmer combo tools, and those are the basis for every comparison below. Seven were replacement trimmer heads or a steel trimmer head pack. A head fits a trimmer, but it does not make one, so the heads are not compared here. The keyword words “echo” and “review” do not appear in any of the eight trimmer titles, which is why this page states the brand situation at the top rather than implying a match.

What to check before you buy a battery weed eater

Cordless trimmers in this group differ on four things that the listings state clearly: cutting width, battery setup, shaft length and weight. Start with the cutting width. A 6-inch or 8-inch cut suits edges, beds and fence lines. A 12-inch or 14-inch cut covers more lawn per pass but adds weight at the head. Next, read the battery line carefully. Some listings include two packs and a charger, while others describe one pack. Battery runtime is given in different ways across listings, so compare the minutes as written rather than assuming they match.

Shaft length matters for your height. Several trimmers in this group have a telescopic shaft, and the listings give ranges such as 33 to 47 inches or 35 to 47 inches. A fixed head angle helps when you trim under a bench or around a bush. Safety switches are another useful check. Some listings describe a dual switch that needs two actions to start the motor, which reduces accidental starts. Confirm that the item in your cart includes the battery and charger, because at least one listing in this group states that the pack is sold separately.

The eight battery trimmers compared

The table below uses the values each listing gives. “Not stated” means the listing does not give that value in its specs or bullets.

Model (listing) Brand Cutting width Speed Battery as stated Weight as stated
DCA ADST20141-BDM-US01 DCA 14 in (12 to 14 in adjustable per bullets) 6200 rpm One 4000mAh pack, up to 60 min on low speed 5 lb (spec field); 7.6 lb with battery (bullet)
MoYohos MoYo-26-1 MoYohos 6 in 18,000 rpm Two 4000mAh packs and charger 4.3 lb item weight; 3.9 lb tool only (spec)
BLACK+DECKER LCC222 BLACK+DECKER 10 in Not stated Two 20V MAX 1.5Ah packs in a trimmer and blower kit 4.5 lb trimmer (bullet)
ALSO GO HG0076-GN-V1 ALSO GO 6 in 11,000 rpm Two 2.0Ah packs, up to 30 min combined (bullet) 2.8 lb (spec); 2.65 lb (bullet)
ALSO GO HG0556-CRE ALSO GO 12 in 9,500 rpm Two 2.5Ah packs, about 40 min (spec) 5.3 lb (bullet)
BLACK+DECKER MTC220 BLACK+DECKER 12 in Not stated Two LBXR2020 20V MAX packs, included 9.9 lb (spec); this is a 3-in-1 with a mower deck
Windpost HY-10-Y-GCJ_2026-09 Windpost 5.9 in 18,000 rpm Two packs; the listing gives different cell details in two places 3.5 lb (spec)
Liupoket L25-01 Liupoket 8 in 20,000 rpm Two 2000mAh packs and fast charger 3.28 lb (bullet)

DCA 20V string trimmer: the review in depth

The DCA trimmer is the only model in this group whose listing describes a brushless motor, a two-speed setting and a bump feed head in the same set of bullets. The listing says the brushless motor gives steady power and has no brushes to replace. Those are the listing’s own words, and this review reports them as such. The title lists a 4000mAh battery and charger, and the spec field gives a battery average life of 60 minutes.

Speed is where the listing is most specific. The bullets describe 4600 rpm for light trimming and edging, and 6200 rpm for thick weeds. The spec field lists 6200 rpm as the speed. A low setting helps you work near flower beds, and the high setting is the one to use on dense growth. The listing gives up to 60 minutes at low speed and 36 minutes at high speed on one charge. Those numbers come from the listing, and actual runtime depends on the grass and the setting you use.

Cutting width is 14 inches in the spec field. The bullets describe an adjustable width from 12 to 14 inches, which is useful when you want a narrower cut around beds and fences. The bullets also describe dual-line feed and a bump auto feed head. In practice, a bump feed head releases more line with a tap on the ground, so you do not stop to reload. The listing does not describe a separate edger attachment, so this model is best treated as a trimmer.

The shaft is high-strength aluminum alloy according to the bullets. The spec field gives an item size of 35 inches long and 5 inches wide. Weight is the one figure to read with care. The spec field lists 5 pounds, while a bullet gives 7.6 lb (3.4 kg) with battery. The two numbers describe different setups, so weigh the tool with its pack before you decide if it is light enough for your use. The title also says the trimmer includes a dual safety switch, which is worth checking when you hold it at waist height.

The warranty field lists a 2 year manufacturer warranty. The listing also describes a brushless design that the listing calls durable, but it does not state a service life beyond the warranty period. For a home lawn with a mid-size yard, the DCA is the widest cut in this group. Its 14-inch spec makes it the best fit for open areas, and the 12-inch setting is a sensible choice for borders.

View on Amazon

Two close alternatives from the same list

If you want a narrower and lighter trimmer, the ALSO GO HG0076-GN-V1 is the closest match in the group. Its spec field gives a 6-inch cutting width, a speed of 11,000 rpm and a weight of 2.8 pounds. The bullets describe a 0 to 90 degree tilting head and a telescopic shaft from 33 to 47 inches, which suits shorter users and tight corners. The listing gives two batteries, but it gives the pack voltage as 24V in one bullet and 21V in the item highlight, so check the battery label on arrival.

If you want a trimmer with more accessories, the MoYohos MoYo-26-1 lists an 880W motor, 18,000 rpm and two 4000mAh packs with a charger. The bullets describe three blade types and a retractable shaft from 35 to 47 inches with a 90 degree adjustable head. The listing also gives a 72dB noise figure and a dual safety switch. Its 6-inch cut is narrower than the DCA, so it suits edging work more than wide open grass.

View on Amazon View on Amazon

Mistakes to avoid when you compare battery weed eaters

  • Comparing runtime across listings that use different battery sizes. A 2000mAh pack and a 4000mAh pack do not give the same minutes.
  • Assuming a head is a trimmer. Several items in this group are replacement heads with metal wire or blades, and they need a trimmer to work.
  • Reading only one weight figure. Some listings give the tool alone and others give the tool with a pack.
  • Choosing the widest cut for a small yard. A 14-inch swath is harder to control along fences, and a 6-inch trimmer is easier around beds.
  • Skipping safety gear. Wear eye and hand protection; the listings that mention safety say the same.

FAQ

Is any trimmer in this group an ECHO model?

No. The brand field for each trimmer in the data shows a different maker, including DCA, ALSO GO, MoYohos, Liupoket, Windpost and BLACK+DECKER. The keyword word “echo” does not appear in any of the eight trimmer titles, so this page describes them as alternatives.

Which trimmer here has the widest cutting width?

The DCA trimmer has the widest cut, at 14 inches in the spec field. The ALSO GO HG0556-CRE and the BLACK+DECKER MTC220 are both listed at 12 inches.

Do these trimmers include batteries and chargers?

Most of the trimmers in this group list one or two packs with a charger. The Windpost and the BLACK+DECKER MTC220 listings also describe packs as included. Check each listing before you buy, because some items in this category are sold without a battery.

Which trimmer is best for edging?

The ALSO GO HG0556-CRE says its head rotates 90 degrees to switch from grass cutting to edging. The DCA listing describes a low setting for edging. Neither listing describes an edger wheel, so check the accessories before you buy.

Which trimmer is lightest?

The ALSO GO HG0076-GN-V1 is the lightest here at 2.8 pounds in the spec field. The Liupoket lists 3.28 pounds, and the Windpost lists 3.5 pounds.

Can I use a trimmer head from this list on a different trimmer?

Some head listings say they fit specific trimmer brands. Check the fit statement in the head listing against your trimmer before you buy, because a head that fits one shaft may not fit another.

Bottom line

If you want a battery trimmer for a home lawn, start with the DCA 20V trimmer for its 14-inch cut and two speeds. If you need a narrower and lighter tool for edges and tight spots, the ALSO GO HG0076-GN-V1 is the better match. Decide by cutting width, battery setup and weight, and confirm that the battery is included.

For a broader list of cordless trimmers, see Top 10 Battery Powered Weed Eaters: 6 Real Picks Compared.

Similar Posts