Milwaukee Cordless Chainsaw Review: Is It Worth It

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

A Milwaukee cordless chainsaw, in this product group, is a saw made by another brand that accepts Milwaukee M18 18V batteries. None of the listings is sold under the Milwaukee name, so the buying decision rests on the saw’s own listed specifications and on whether you already own the battery. This review covers one 16-inch model from F FINEC in depth and compares it with two close alternatives from the same set of listings. Everything here comes from the listing text. Where a listing is silent, this article says so.

Quick answer

  • The F FINEC model is a 16-inch cordless chainsaw with a listed 1600W brushless motor, an automatic oiler and tool-free chain tensioning.
  • The listing says it needs two Milwaukee M18 18V batteries, and that the battery and charger are not included.
  • The listing names a safety lock and an instant-stop chain brake.
  • The listing does not state the saw’s weight, its battery runtime or its oil capacity.
  • It fits best if you already own two M18 batteries and need a 16-inch bar for firewood, storm cleanup or large limbs.

What the listing says about this saw

The F FINEC listing is titled as a 16-inch cordless chainsaw for Milwaukee M18 18V batteries, sold as a bare tool. Its bullet points describe a 16-inch bar that the listing presents as suited to pruning branches, cutting firewood and storm cleanup. The motor is a 1600W brushless unit. The listing says the brushless motor gives higher torque, faster cutting speeds, longer runtime and extended lifespan. It does not give a torque figure, a runtime or a test method for those claims.

View on Amazon

The chain speed is listed at 46 feet per second, with a motor speed of up to 8000 RPM. The listing also says the saw slices through 10-inch wood in just seconds. That is a claim about cutting time, and the listing gives no wood species, moisture level or operator conditions for it. Read it as the seller’s statement, not as a measured result.

The spec fields are short. They list the brand as F FINEC and the model as “16” CHAINSAW”. No weight, dimensions, bar pitch or chain gauge appear in the spec fields, so this article does not give them.

Battery and compatibility

This is the first thing to check before ordering. The listing says the saw is compatible with Milwaukee M18 18V batteries, that it is a tool-only purchase, and that it needs two batteries. One bullet describes “36V – 2 x 18V battery power” and says the saw runs on two 18V batteries. The title says “Powered by 2 Batteries”. An owner with a single M18 battery cannot run the saw as the listing describes. Count your batteries before you order.

The listing does not name a battery capacity for this model and does not say which M18 packs give the longest run time. Without those figures there is no basis in the listing to estimate how many cuts two batteries will last. If you plan long sessions, expect to rotate batteries and keep a charger close to the work area. The listing says the charger is not included, so check that you already own one that matches your M18 packs.

Bar length, cutting and chain speed

The 16-inch bar is the feature that sets this model apart from the smaller saws in the same group. A longer bar lets you work through larger limbs and logs in fewer passes. It also makes the saw heavier to hold, especially overhead, and it gives you more chain to keep sharp and tensioned. The listing does not give the bar weight or the saw’s total weight, so you will need to judge handling by holding the saw in a store or by checking another source.

The bullets say the chain runs at 46 feet per second and describe the saw for “wood cutting, tree trimming, yard work” and similar jobs. Those are the uses the listing names. It does not give a maximum trunk diameter, and it does not say how deep the bar cuts in one pass. If you cut very thick firewood, check the bar’s rated capacity with the manual that ships with the saw.

Keeping the chain sharp matters more on a longer bar, because a dull chain forces you to push harder and leaves rough cuts. For a sharpening option, see the guide to the Best Electric Chainsaw Sharpener: Nine Bench, Kit and Cordless Models Compared.

Oiling and chain tension

The listing includes an automatic oiler. The bullet says the saw oils the chain while it runs, which the listing says reduces friction and wear on the chain and guide bar. The listing does not say how much oil the tank holds or how long one fill lasts, so plan to check the oil level during long jobs rather than trust a fixed interval.

The chain is tensioned with a tool-free knob. The listing describes this as adjustment “in seconds” and says you turn the knob to set the tension. That is convenient for field adjustments. The listing does not say how often the chain needs tensioning, and a new chain usually settles, so check tension after the first few cuts.

Safety features

The listing names two safety features. The first is a safety lock that prevents accidental starts. The second is an instant-stop chain brake, which the listing describes as enhancing user protection. Learn how the safety lock works from the manual before the first cut, because it is the control that keeps the saw from starting by accident when a battery is inserted.

The listing does not include goggles, gloves or other protective equipment, and the bullets do not state that any protective gear comes in the box. Plan to wear eye protection and cut-resistant gloves separately. A chainsaw can kick back and throw wood chips, so the safety steps in the manual are not optional. Keep bystanders out of the work zone and keep both hands on the saw while the chain is moving.

Who this saw suits

The F FINEC model makes the most sense for three kinds of buyers. The first is a homeowner who already owns two Milwaukee M18 batteries and a charger and wants a longer bar for firewood or storm cleanup. The second is someone who cuts large limbs often and would rather work with a 16-inch bar than an 8-inch one. The third is a buyer who prefers a bare tool and plans to supply the batteries, which suits people already invested in the M18 system.

It is a weaker choice for people who want a battery included, who need a pole saw for high branches, or who want the smallest possible saw for one-handed pruning. For high branches, the AUTUBIN 2-in-1 8-Inch Cordless Pole Saw Review covers a different style of tool. The listing for this saw does not state its weight, so this article does not rank it for lightness.

Close alternatives in the same group

Two other listings in the set are close alternatives. Each is compared only on what its listing states.

BITOON 8-inch and 6-inch 2-in-1 cordless saw

The BITOON listing is a 2-in-1 saw with an 8-inch and a 6-inch bar. Its bullets give an 800W brushless motor, a chain speed of 26 feet per second and an auto-oiler. The weight is listed at 2.8 pounds for the tool only. The listing says the saw works with Milwaukee M18 batteries and shuts down when battery voltage falls below 14.4 volts, which it describes as protection against overload damage. The battery is not included. The listing says the saw makes up to 70 cuts per charge on 4×4 pressure-treated wood with a 20V MAX 4Ah battery, and it gives that figure without further conditions.

This saw suits light pruning and owners who want less weight. It is the weaker fit for thick firewood, because its 8-inch bar is shorter than the F FINEC bar.

View on Amazon

DeForce 16-inch cordless chainsaw

The DeForce listing is also a 16-inch saw built for M18 18V batteries, sold as a bare tool with the battery and charger not included. Its bullets give a motor speed of 4,810 RPM, a chain speed of 24.6 feet per second, an IPX4 water-resistance rating and a tool-free tension dial. The listing gives the weight as 8.3 pounds, which is useful: the F FINEC listing does not state a weight, so the two cannot be compared on mass from the listings alone.

The DeForce listing does not give a wattage. The F FINEC listing gives 1600W, but wattage on its own does not show which saw cuts faster, so compare the chain speed figures with that in mind. The title lists “36V” alongside M18 18V batteries, and the listing does not explain how that pairing works, so confirm the battery count before ordering.

View on Amazon

Before the first cut

Use the listing facts to set up the saw in a fixed order. Insert the batteries with the saw resting on a flat surface and the trigger released. Check chain tension with the tool-free knob and confirm the chain sits evenly on the bar. Fill the oiler according to the manual, because the listing does not give a capacity. Press the safety lock and the trigger in the order the manual describes before any cut, and keep the chain clear of the ground when you start it.

Keep the batteries and charger in a dry place when the saw is not in use. The listing does not give storage guidance for this model, so follow the manual and the battery maker’s instructions.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Ordering with one battery when the listing says two are needed.
  • Assuming the saw comes with a battery or charger. The listing says neither is included.
  • Buying it for a pole-saw job. The listing describes a chainsaw, not a pole saw.
  • Skipping eye and hand protection because the listing does not include any.
  • Expecting a runtime figure. The listing gives none for this model.
  • Ignoring chain tension after the first few cuts on a new chain.

FAQ

Does the F FINEC chainsaw come with a battery?

No. The listing describes a bare tool and says the battery and charger are not included. It names Milwaukee M18 18V batteries as the compatible power source.

How many batteries does it need?

The listing says two. The title says the saw is powered by two batteries, and one bullet describes two 18V batteries. A single M18 battery is not what the listing describes.

Does the listing state the weight?

No. The spec fields give the brand and model only, and the bullets do not give a weight. If weight matters, compare the BITOON listing, which states 2.8 pounds for the tool only, or the DeForce listing, which states 8.3 pounds.

Is this a pole saw?

No. The listing describes a 16-inch cordless chainsaw. Pole-saw listings in the same group are separate products and are not covered in this article.

What safety features does it list?

The listing names a safety lock to prevent accidental starts and an instant-stop chain brake. It does not list goggles, gloves or other protective equipment as included, so plan to supply your own.

How long does the battery last?

The listing does not give a runtime for this model. It describes longer runtime, but it gives no minutes or cuts per charge. Treat any runtime as something to test on your own work, not as a figure from the listing.

Bottom line

Buy the F FINEC 16-inch saw if you already own two Milwaukee M18 batteries and a charger and need a 16-inch bar. Choose the BITOON listing if you want a lighter saw for pruning, and choose the DeForce listing if you want a 16-inch bar with a stated weight. Check the battery count before you order, and plan your own eye and hand protection for every cut.

Similar Posts