Best Sun Joe Electric Corded Garden Tiller
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
This page answers one question for the search best sun joe electric corded garden tiller: is the Sun Joe TJ604E a sensible corded tiller for a small garden? The Amazon listing says it has a 13.5-amp motor, tills up to 16 inches wide and 8 inches deep, and runs on 120 volts. The listing describes it as suited to small gardening spaces or yards. It does not state a warranty term, cord length, or weight, and this post flags each gap where it matters.
Quick answer
- The Sun Joe TJ604E is a corded electric tiller. The listing gives a 13.5-amp motor, up to 16 inches of tilling width, and up to 8 inches of tilling depth.
- It suits a small bed or patch of yard where a power cord can reach the work, and where you want no gas or oil to add, as the listing describes.
- Be careful with deep work in dense or wet ground. Oregon State says hand-operated rototillers usually reach only the top 4 to 6 inches, and that excessive tilling in wet soil damages soil structure.
- Check the warranty PDF, cord length, and weight before you buy, because the saved listing text does not state them.
The product at a glance
The table below lists only what the saved Amazon listing states. Each cell says “not stated” when the listing is silent. The listing data was read on 2026-10-22 (CHECKED date).
| Item | What the listing says |
|---|---|
| Brand | Sun Joe |
| Model | TJ604E |
| Power source | Corded electric |
| Voltage | 120 volts |
| Motor | 13.5-amp |
| Tilling width | Up to 16 inches (maximum) |
| Tilling depth | Up to 8 inches (maximum) |
| Tines | 6 rust-proof, steel-angled tines |
| Wheels | 3-position adjustment |
| Handle | Folding handle |
| Material | Alloy steel |
| Color | Green/Black |
| Product dimensions | 21 in D x 17.9 in W x 17.7 in H |
| Battery and charger | Not stated |
| Weight | Not stated |
| Cord length | Not stated |
| Warranty | Not stated in the text; the listing links a warranty PDF |
The listing title calls this a heavy-duty tilling machine for lawn, yard, and gardening care. Its bullets add a folding handle for storage, three wheel positions for depth control, and six steel tines. Those are listing claims. None of the three extension pages in this post describes this exact model.
The folding handle matters for storage. The listing says the folding handle ensures “easy storage and transport,” which suits a gardener who puts the tool away between seasons. The listing does not say whether its product dimensions (21 in D x 17.9 in W x 17.7 in H) apply with the handle folded or open. Measure the shed or corner where the tool will live against those figures before you order.
Depth check against soil guidance
The listing gives a maximum depth of 8 inches. The extension pages give different working depths. The table compares each with the listing figure. The percentage formula is (listing depth minus source depth) divided by source depth, so a positive figure means the listing is deeper.
| Source and statement | Depth stated | Listing depth compared with it |
|---|---|---|
| Amazon listing, tiller maximum | Up to 8 in | Reference point |
| Oregon State, hand-operated rototillers | Top 4 to 6 in | 33% to 100% deeper (8 vs 6 is 33%; 8 vs 4 is 100%) |
| Oregon State, tractor-mounted rototillers | Up to 8 in | Same depth (0%) |
| Texas A&M AgriLife, tilling advice | At least 8 to 10 in | 0% to 20% shallower than the target (8 vs 10 is 20% shallower) |
| Iowa State, plant root zone | Most roots in the upper 6 in | 2 in deeper than the root zone (8 minus 6) |
The gap matters. Oregon State says hand-operated machines usually reach only the top 4 to 6 inches, and the listing does not say whether its 8-inch maximum applies to typical soil.
Area check from the listed width
The listed width is 16 inches, which is 1.33 feet. For a bed of a given area, the linear feet of travel for one full coverage pass is the area divided by 1.33 feet. This ignores overlap between passes, so real travel will be longer.
| Bed size | Area (sq ft) | Linear feet of travel at 16 in width |
|---|---|---|
| 5 ft by 10 ft | 50 | About 38 ft |
| 10 ft by 10 ft | 100 | 75 ft |
| 10 ft by 20 ft | 200 | 150 ft |
| 20 ft by 30 ft | 600 | 450 ft |
Formula: area in square feet divided by (16 divided by 12). For a 10 by 20 foot bed, 200 divided by 1.33 gives 150 feet of travel before overlap. A 20 by 30 foot plot needs 450 feet of travel at the listed width, which is a real amount of walking behind a corded machine.
Read the travel figure as a floor, not an estimate of time. It assumes straight passes at full coverage with no stops. Turns at the end of each row, overlap between passes, and stops to clear roots or rocks all add travel, so the real number for a 10 by 20 foot bed will be higher than 150 feet. Plan the cord route around the bed so that the cord does not cross the path of the tines.
Who it suits
This tiller suits a homeowner with a small vegetable bed, a raised bed, or a patch of yard roughly the size of the 5 by 10 to 10 by 20 foot beds in the area table. The listing describes it as ideal for small gardening spaces or yards. The 16-inch width and the travel figures point the same way: this is a small-area machine.
It also suits a buyer who wants an electric machine with no gas or oil to add. The listing says electric tillers provide “cleaner, greener operation without gas or oil” and calls the design maintenance-free. Those are the listing’s own words. The other sources in this post do not check them.
It fits a gardener who wants to work compost into the top few inches of a bed. Iowa State says compost “can be spread and incorporated into the top few inches of soil with a shovel, garden fork, or tiller.” Oregon State advises: “Incorporate 1/2 to 1 inch of compost into the top 6 inches of soil with a rototiller.” The 6-inch depth Oregon State names sits inside the listed 8-inch maximum.
Skip it if
- You need deep work in dense ground. The listing says 8 inches. Oregon State says hand-operated rototillers “usually are capable of working only the top 4 to 6 inches of soil”, so do not read the listing depth as a promise for every soil.
- Your soil is wet. Texas A&M advises “Till soil when it is moist but not wet.” Oregon State warns that “Excessive rototilling damages soil structure, particularly if done when the soil is wet.” For the same wet-ground concern with other electric lawn tools, read our guide to electric lawn mowers in wet grass.
- You want a cordless tool. The listing says “Power Source: Corded Electric,” and the saved text describes no battery for this ASIN. If you need a cordless machine, look at a different listing.
- Your soil is heavy clay and you are worried about soil structure. Oregon State says that “A digging fork is the best choice to minimize the impact of digging on soil structure, and in high clay-content soils.” A tiller is not the first choice in that case, so compare it with a fork before you commit.
- Your plot is large. At a 16-inch width, a 20 by 30 foot plot is 450 feet of travel before overlap. The area table shows how quickly that adds up, and a wider tool would cover more ground per pass.
What the listing does not say
The saved listing text is silent on several points that matter before you buy.
- Battery and charger: not stated. The listing describes a corded tool and names no battery or charger for this ASIN.
- Runtime: not stated. The listing gives no runtime figure.
- Cord length: not stated. Measure the distance from your outlet to the garden before you order.
- Weight: not stated. The listing gives dimensions (21 in D x 17.9 in W x 17.7 in H) but no weight.
- Warranty: not stated in the text. The listing links a warranty PDF, which is not part of the text this post relies on.
- Motor speed: not stated. The listing gives the motor size in amps but no speed for the tines or the motor.
- Typical versus maximum: the width and depth are stated as “up to” values. The listing gives no typical working figures for any soil.
How we chose
This post covers one product: Amazon ASIN B01DTIC79Q, the Sun Joe corded electric garden tiller and cultivator, model TJ604E. It is here because the search names this model’s type and brand, so the post answers that search directly. We did not compare it with other tillers.
The listing was read on 2026-10-22 (CHECKED date) and saved as plain lines. Its title, bullets and specs are the primary data. The listing is a seller-supplied description, so every figure taken from it is marked as the listing’s statement rather than an independent fact. Three extension pages supply the soil guidance: Texas A&M AgriLife Extension, Iowa State University Extension, and Oregon State University Extension. They were chosen because they are university pages on tilling soil and they were open to us at the time of reading.
The post keeps the two kinds of figure apart. Figures stated by the listing or by a source are labeled as such. Figures we worked out ourselves, the depth percentages and the travel table, are labeled as calculations, with the formula printed beside them, so a reader can check the arithmetic. Claims the listing makes about cleaner operation and low maintenance are labeled as listing claims, and the post does not treat them as verified facts.
What we could not verify
- The warranty term. The listing links a warranty PDF, and that PDF’s text is not in this post.
- Weight, cord length, and whether a battery or charger exists for this ASIN. The listing does not state them.
- How the tiller handles clay, rocky, or compacted ground. The sources we opened do not cover this model.
- Whether the manufacturer’s own product page matches the Amazon listing. We could not open a manufacturer product page for this model during this work, so the specs rest on the listing.
FAQ
Is the Sun Joe TJ604E corded or cordless?
The listing describes it as a corded electric tiller with a 120-volt rating. It describes no cordless battery option for this ASIN.
How wide and deep does this tiller work?
The listing says it tills up to 16 inches wide and up to 8 inches deep. Those are maximum figures, and the listing gives no typical values.
How deep should a garden tiller work?
The sources disagree. Texas A&M advises tilling “at least 8 to 10 inches.” Oregon State says hand-operated rototillers usually work only the top 4 to 6 inches. Iowa State says most garden plant roots sit in the upper six inches, so deeper work gives minimal gains in plant growth.
Should I till wet soil?
No. Texas A&M advises tilling when soil is moist but not wet. Oregon State warns that excessive rototilling in wet soil damages soil structure.
Does the listing state a warranty term?
The saved listing text does not state a term. It links a warranty PDF, which is outside the text in this post. Read that PDF before you buy.
Can a corded tiller replace a cordless one?
The sources in this post do not compare corded and cordless tillers, so this post cannot say which is better. For battery voltage on lawn and garden tools, see our battery voltage guide for lawn and garden tools.
Bottom line
Decision rule: buy the Sun Joe TJ604E only if your bed is small enough for the travel in the area table, you can run a cord to it, and the soil is moist rather than wet. If you need deep work in dense ground, skip it.
Sources
- Sun Joe Corded Electric Garden Tiller & Cultivator with Steel Tines, TJ604E (Amazon listing, opened 2026-10-22)
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01DTIC79Q - Soil Preparation (Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service, opened 2026-10-22)
https://agrilifeextension.tamu.edu/library/gardening/soil-preparation/ - Managing Garden Soil (Iowa State University Extension and Outreach, opened 2026-10-22)
https://yardandgarden.extension.iastate.edu/how-to/managing-garden-soil - Improving Garden Soils with Organic Matter (Oregon State University Extension, opened 2026-10-22)
https://extension.oregonstate.edu/catalog/ec-1561-improving-garden-soils-organic-matter






