Best Battery Cultivator: Cordless Tillers Compared
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Searching for the best battery cultivator usually comes down to one question: which battery do you already own? Eight of the nine cordless tillers in this post ship without a battery or charger, so the battery platform named in each listing decides whether a tool fits your yard. This post compares nine cordless cultivators and tillers using their listing data. It suits a gardener who wants to loosen soil and break up weeds in beds or a small plot without a gas engine or an extension cord. Where a listing does not state a figure, the table says “not stated”.
Quick answer
- If you own a DeWalt 20V MAX pack, six of the nine listings name that platform. Match the model list against your pack before you order.
- If you own a Milwaukee M18 or 18V pack, the SHOHO and NAOKEV listings name that platform, and GURREEN also lists Milwaukee 20V MAX packs with adapters.
- Eight of the nine are sold without a pack. The Muylux listing says a battery and charger come with it, but it gives two different battery counts.
- Only the GELIDALITE listing gives a runtime, and its two runtime figures do not match.
Comparison table: what the listings state
| Product | Battery platform (listing) | Battery and charger in the box | Width and depth (listing) | Weight (listing) | Tines or blades |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SHOHO cordless tiller View on Amazon | Milwaukee M18 | Not included | 9 in wide, 7 in max depth | Not stated | Not stated |
| ADOTOCAM cordless tiller View on Amazon | DeWalt 20V | Tool only (per title) | 9 in wide, 7 in deep | 6.17 kg | 48 |
| Towiac folding tiller View on Amazon | DeWalt 20V | Not included | 9 in wide, 6.3 in deep | Not stated | 48 |
| GURREEN mini tiller View on Amazon | DeWalt, Makita and Milwaukee 20V MAX, via two adapters | Not included; two adapters included | 9 in wide, 7 in deep | 9.5 pounds | 4 |
| GELIDALITE cordless tiller View on Amazon | DeWalt 20V MAX | Not included | 9 in wide, 7 in max depth | 9.4 lbs (bullet) | 4 |
| HEINPRO cordless tiller View on Amazon | DeWalt 20V MAX | Not included | 9 in wide, 7 in deep | 9.4 pounds | 4 |
| NAOKEV brushless tiller View on Amazon | Milwaukee 18V | Not included | 9 in wide, 6.6 in deep | 6 pounds | 4 |
| Poxsmuly cordless tiller View on Amazon | DeWalt 20V Max | Not included | 11.8 in wide, 8.6 in deep | Not stated | Not stated |
| Muylux cultivator kit View on Amazon | 20V (platform name not stated) | Conflicting: title says battery and charger; color field says 1 battery; a bullet says two batteries | Width not stated; 4 in deep | Not stated | 2 |
The table uses only the figures the listing data gives. “Not stated” means the listing data does not give that figure.
The nine cordless cultivators
SHOHO cordless tiller (Milwaukee M18, tool only)
The listing says the tiller is compatible with Milwaukee M18 batteries and that batteries and chargers are not included. It gives a 9-inch maximum tilling width, a 7-inch maximum depth, a retractable pole that changes the length of the machine, and a 1 Year Warranty. The listing also describes a safety start that needs the button and trigger pressed together. It is in this post because it is the only Milwaukee-platform listing that states a 7-inch depth; the other one states 6.6 inches. The listing does not state a weight, RPM, tine count or battery voltage. An M18 pack is a separate purchase. View on Amazon
ADOTOCAM cordless tiller (DeWalt 20V, tool only)
The title describes the unit as tool only, and the listing says it is compatible with DeWalt 20V MAX batteries. It names ten pack numbers, including DCB206, DCB205, DCB204, DCB181 and DCB182, followed by “and more.” The stated figures are 9 inches of tilling width, 7 inches of depth, 360 RPM and 48 steel tines. The item weight is 6.17 kg, the heaviest stated weight in this group. The listing says the gears can be removed to clean out stuck weeds. It is in this post because the listing names those ten DeWalt pack numbers, so you can check your pack against the model list before buying. View on Amazon
Towiac folding cordless tiller (DeWalt 20V, tool only)
The listing says the battery and charger are not included and that the tiller works with DeWalt 20V MAX packs, naming DCB200, DCB203, DCB204, DCB205 and DCB206. Its stated figures are 9 inches of width, 6.3 inches of depth, 360 RPM and 48 steel tines. The telescoping shaft is 4.2 feet in standard length and extends to 8.2 feet, and the aluminum shaft folds at the center. It is in this post because it is the only included listing that says the shaft folds, which the listing links to small-space storage. The listing does not state a weight. View on Amazon
GURREEN mini tiller (DeWalt, Makita or Milwaukee 20V MAX, with adapters)
This is the only listing in the group that names more than one brand. The listing says it works with DeWalt, Makita and Milwaukee 20V MAX packs, and that it includes two adapters. Batteries and chargers are not included. The listing does not say which pack each adapter fits, so confirm the fit with your own pack before you buy. The stated figures are 9 inches of width, 7 inches of depth, 360 RPM, four steel blades and a 9.5-pound item weight. The pole has three sections. It is in this post because it is the only listing covering more than one 20V MAX brand, and the sources opened for this post do not cover Makita packs. View on Amazon
GELIDALITE cordless tiller (DeWalt 20V MAX, tool only)
The listing says the unit is a bare tool with no battery and names nine DeWalt 20V MAX pack numbers. Its stated figures are a 300-watt motor (one bullet says 300 W peak), 360 RPM, 9 inches of width, 7 inches of depth and four 65Mn hardened steel blades. The listing also gives a four-tier guarantee that includes a 3-year limited warranty. Its runtime figures do not match. One bullet says a 4.0 Ah pack runs 24 minutes over about 400 square feet, while the spec table says about 30 minutes for the same pack. Both are manufacturer claims. It is in this post because it is the only listing that gives any runtime figure, and that conflict is a reason to check runtime claims before relying on them. View on Amazon
HEINPRO cordless tiller (DeWalt 20V MAX, tool only)
The listing says the battery and charger are not included and that the unit works with DeWalt 20V MAX packs, naming eleven model numbers from DCB200 to DCB240. Stated figures are 9 inches of width, 7 inches of depth, 360 RPM, four hardened steel blades and 9.4 pounds. The listing mentions a battery gauge on the handle and a dual safety switch. Its own warning reads: do not use it for tilling in dense grass where blades may tangle, and clear weeds and debris first. It is in this post for that warning. View on Amazon
NAOKEV brushless tiller (Milwaukee 18V, tool only)
The listing says the unit is tool only and tells you to plug in your own Milwaukee 18V battery. Its stated figures are 9 inches of width, 6.6 inches of depth, up to 360 RPM, four durable steel tines and a 6-pound item weight. It has a brushless motor and a safety switch that needs the button and trigger pressed together. It is in this post because the 6-pound item weight is the lightest stated weight in the group, and it is the only included listing that names an 18V pack. The listing does not state the battery’s amp-hour rating. View on Amazon
Poxsmuly cordless tiller (DeWalt 20V Max, tool only)
The listing says the battery is not included and that the tiller works with DeWalt 20V Max batteries, naming DCB200, DCB201, DCB203, DCB205, DCB206 and DCB208. The title and a bullet both give 11.8 inches of tilling width and 8.6 inches of depth, the largest stated working area in this group. It also gives 360 RPM and a dual safety system. The listing does not state a weight, tine count or motor power. It is in this post because it is the widest and deepest stated working area in the group, and its title and bullet agree on both figures. View on Amazon
Muylux cultivator kit (20V, battery and charger per title)
The title says the unit comes with a battery and charger, but the listing data does not agree on what is in the box. The color field reads “1 Battery,” while a bullet says it comes with two 20V rechargeable lithium batteries that have overload and temperature protection. The stated figures are 2 steel tines, up to 240 RPM and 4 inches of depth. The listing does not give a width or weight. It is in this post because it is the only one of the nine that states a battery and charger come in the box. Its 4-inch depth and 240 RPM are the lowest stated figures in the group. Before you buy, read the full kit contents, since the data above disagrees with itself. View on Amazon
Safety rules for battery cultivators and tillers
Start with the manual. The Ohioline page covers engine-powered rototillers, so read its rules with that in mind. The page says: “Always read and follow the manufacturer provided operator’s manual before using the equipment and any attachments.”
- Check the guards before each use. The page says: “Verify that the shields and guards are in place, and that the safety features are not overridden.”
- Clear the work area first. The page says: “Inspect the area where the equipment will be used, and remove all stones, sticks, wires or other debris.”
- Take the battery out before any tine or blade work. The page gives this step for engine units: “Always shut off the engine and disconnect the spark plug wire before performing maintenance or unclogging tines or jammed implements.” A battery tiller has no spark plug, so this post’s rule is to remove the pack first. The sources opened for this post do not state that step for battery tillers, so follow your manual where it differs.
- Keep hands and feet away from the tines. The page says: “Keep the hands and feet away from moving parts.”
- Wear boots. The page says: “Wear safety boots or hard-soled shoes to protect the ankles and feet from the rotating tiller tines.”
- Keep bystanders back. The page says: “Be aware of bystanders in the event of thrown objects, and keep a safe distance.”
Storing and charging the pack
- Keep the pack away from combustible materials. The UW page says: “Store batteries away from combustible materials.”
- Store it within the range the UW page gives: “Store the batteries at temperatures between 5°C and 20°C (41°F and 68°F).” Keep it out of heat as well: “Do not place batteries in direct sunlight, on hot surfaces, or in hot locations.”
- Take the pack off the charger when charging is done: “Remove the battery pack from its charger promptly after charging is complete.” Charge and store the pack as your manual says, since the UW page is general guidance. If a pack stops charging, see what to check when a lawn mower battery will not charge.
- Keep the pack dry. The UW page says: “Keep batteries from contacting conductive materials (e.g., water, seawater, strong oxidizers and strong acids).”
Damaged packs and disposal
- Do not use a damaged pack. The UW page says: “Never use damaged or puffy batteries; promptly dispose of them.” The EPA page adds: “If the Li-ion battery becomes damaged, contact the battery or device manufacturer for specific handling information.”
- Do not open a pack or attempt a repair. This post gives no repair steps. The UW page says: “Handle batteries and/or battery-powered devices cautiously to not damage the battery casing or connections.”
- Keep spare packs apart. The EPA page says: “To prevent fires, tape battery terminals and/or place lithium-ion batteries in separate plastic bags.”
- Recycle a worn pack. The EPA page says: “Lithium-ion batteries and devices containing these batteries should NOT go in household garbage or recycling bins.” It also says to find a recycling location near you for power tool packs.
How we chose
The scan saved on 2026-10-29 at 17:41 returned 12 products for this query. The criteria were: a cordless (battery) cultivator or tiller; a battery platform named in the listing or a battery in the box; and a stated working width and depth where the listing gives one. Nine products meet these criteria. Two were left out because their listings name a corded power source: the Earthwise TC70025 and the Westinghouse W18TCAC. One more was left out, the Ecarke two-in-one tiller and weed trimmer kit, because its listing names a Milwaukee 18V battery and a 20V motor and does not say which pack runs the tiller. The nine kept products appear in the order the scan saved them, which is not a ranking.
Listing data read: 2026-10-29, scan time 17:41. The five pages in the list at the end of this post were opened on 2026-10-29.
What we could not verify
- Runtime and coverage. Only the GELIDALITE listing gives a runtime, and its two figures do not match. Both are manufacturer claims, and real runtime changes with grass, height and terrain.
- Battery voltage and amp-hour rating. Most listings name a pack platform but give no amp-hour rating; only the GELIDALITE runtime text names 4.0 Ah and 6.0 Ah packs. For how voltage ratings relate to a tool, see how battery voltage works for lawn and garden tools.
- Whether a third-party tiller runs well on a given pack. The listings say the tiller is compatible. The sources opened for this post cover DeWalt and Milwaukee tools only.
- The Muylux kit contents. The listing gives one battery in one field and two in another.
- Weight and tine count for the SHOHO, Towiac, Poxsmuly and Muylux units, where the listing does not state them.
What the sources do not say
- The Ohioline page covers engine-powered rototillers and two-wheeled tractors. It does not cover battery cultivators.
- The UW page covers lithium-ion devices in general. It gives no tool-specific charging or storage time.
- The EPA page covers disposal and transport of used packs. It does not give steps for using a battery tiller.
- The DeWalt page covers DeWalt packs and DeWalt tools. It does not say whether third-party tillers are supported.
- The Milwaukee page says authentic M18 batteries must be charged on Milwaukee chargers, and that users should not use third-party batteries or chargers. It does not cover third-party tillers.
Buying checklist
- Match the battery platform in the listing to the pack you own, such as DeWalt 20V MAX or Milwaukee M18. A DeWalt example of this kind of check is in choosing a DeWalt battery for a leaf blower.
- Check whether a battery and charger come with the tiller. Most listings leave both out.
- Compare the stated width and depth with the bed or plot you plan to work.
- Treat every runtime figure as a manufacturer claim, and compare the figures inside each listing.
- Read the manual before first use, and store and charge the pack as it says.
FAQ
Does the best battery cultivator come with a battery?
Usually not. Eight of the nine listings say the battery and charger are not included. The Muylux listing says a battery and charger come with the kit, but its own fields give one battery in one place and two in another.
Will a DeWalt 20V MAX battery run any cordless tiller?
Not necessarily. Six listings in this post name DeWalt 20V MAX compatibility, and DeWalt’s own page says its 20V MAX packs are compatible with 20V MAX tools and chargers. That page does not cover third-party tillers, so check the model list in each listing against your pack.
Can a Milwaukee M18 pack power a DeWalt-listed tiller?
The listings do not say so. Only the GURREEN listing names more than one brand, with DeWalt, Makita and Milwaukee 20V MAX packs and two adapters. Milwaukee’s page says all M18 batteries work with M18 tools and chargers, and it covers Milwaukee tools only.
How long does a battery last on a cordless cultivator?
Most listings do not say. The only runtime figure in this group comes from the GELIDALITE listing: one bullet gives 24 minutes for a 4.0 Ah pack, and the spec table gives about 30 minutes. Treat both as manufacturer claims, since real runtime depends on grass, height and terrain.
Should I remove the battery before clearing the tines?
Yes. The Ohioline page gives the spark plug step for engine units, and a battery tiller has no spark plug. This post’s rule is to take the pack out before any tine or blade work, and your manual’s wording comes first where it differs.
Can I charge any battery in any charger?
No. Milwaukee’s page says authentic M18 batteries must be charged on Milwaukee M18 chargers. Follow your pack’s manual, and take the pack off the charger when charging is complete, as the UW page advises.
Bottom line
Buy the tiller whose listing names the battery platform you already own, and skip any listing that does not name one.
Sources
- Ohioline: Rototillers and Two-Wheeled Tractors (opened 2026-10-29)
- UW Environmental Health & Safety: Safety measures for lithium-ion batteries (opened 2026-10-29)
- US EPA: Used Lithium-Ion Batteries (opened 2026-10-29)
- DeWalt: 20V MAX* 2 Ah Battery (opened 2026-10-29)
- Milwaukee Tool: M18™ Batteries & Chargers (opened 2026-10-29)






