Best BLACK+DECKER 13-Amp Corded Electric Mower
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Searches for best black decker 13 amp corded electric push lawn mower usually come from someone who wants a plug-in push mower, with no fuel to buy and no battery to charge. This page covers the BLACK+DECKER BEMW213 only. The listing states a 13-amp corded motor, a 20-inch cutting deck, six height settings from 1-1/2 inches to 4 inches, push-button start, a collection bag and a 2 year limited warranty. It does not state the cord length, the voltage or the weight. The review uses the Amazon listing read on 2026-10-23, an OSHA page on electrical tool safety and a Virginia Tech extension module on rotary mower safety.
Quick answer
- The listing says this is a corded 13-amp push mower with a 20-inch deck, six height settings from 1-1/2 to 4 inches, and push-button start.
- The listing states a 2 year limited warranty and a collection bag. It does not state the cord length or the voltage, and both matter for a corded mower.
- The listing says the corded design offers “unlimited runtime.” That is the listing’s own claim, and the listing does not describe the conditions behind it.
- Virginia Tech says never to use an electric mower on wet grass, and OSHA says not to use electric tools in damp or wet locations unless they are approved for that purpose.
The product at a glance
The table lists what the listing states. Where the listing is silent, the cell says “not stated.”
| Feature | What the listing states |
|---|---|
| Brand | BLACK+DECKER |
| Model number | BEMW213 |
| Power source | Corded electric, 13 amp (title and bullet) |
| Voltage | not stated |
| Cord length | not stated |
| Cutting deck | 20 in (title) |
| Height adjustment | 6 settings, 1-1/2 in to 4 in, single lever (bullet) |
| Starting | Push-button start (bullet) |
| Motor | 13-amp motor (bullet) |
| Blade | Winged blade (bullet) |
| Collection | Collection bag (title) |
| Handle | Lift handle for transport (bullet) |
| Runtime | Listing says the corded design offers “unlimited runtime” |
| Warranty | 2 year limited warranty (captured spec) |
| Weight | not stated |
| Dimensions | not stated |
The width arithmetic is simple. A 20-inch deck is about 1.67 feet (20 ÷ 12). Across a 60-foot-wide lawn, straight full-width passes come to 36 (60 ÷ 1.67 = 36), and across 100 feet the count is 60 (100 ÷ 1.67 = 60). Overlap adds passes, and the listing gives no recommended overlap, so read these figures as minimums.
The cord calculation is the one the listing does not allow. A corded mower reaches the grass only as far as its cord and its outlet allow, and the listing gives no cord length. Check the distance from the planned outlet to the far end of the lawn, and compare that distance with the cord length from the seller or the product page before you buy.
Who it suits
This mower suits a yard with an outlet close enough to the lawn to work with the cord. A corded mower has no battery to charge, which is the basic trade the listing offers. The listing describes that design as one that offers “unlimited runtime,” and it is the listing’s own wording, so treat it as a claim rather than a verified figure.
It also suits a buyer who wants a 20-inch deck with a collection bag and a lift handle. The listing names the bag and the handle. The width count above shows how many full-width passes two sample lawn widths need, which helps with planning the job.
A buyer who wants a stated warranty will find one here. The listing states a 2 year limited warranty, but the terms of that warranty are not in the captured text, so read them on the brand’s page before you rely on them.
If you want a different corded option from the same kind of listing, our page on a 10-amp corded Greenworks mower covers another plug-in design.
Skip it if
- The lawn is far from an outlet. The listing gives no cord length, and OSHA says to ensure that cords from electric tools “do not present a tripping hazard.” A long cord run across the lawn is where that advice matters most.
- Your grass is often wet. Virginia Tech says “Never use an electric mower to mow wet grass.”
- You need the voltage stated before you buy. The listing gives 13 amps and no voltage.
- You want to avoid running a cord across the mowing path. The listing does not describe any cord management feature.
What the listing does not say
The listing names the 13-amp corded design and the collection bag clearly. Several details are missing from the captured record:
- Cord length, cord gauge and cord type: not stated.
- Voltage: not stated. The listing gives 13 amps only.
- Runtime: the listing says “unlimited runtime” but does not describe the conditions behind that wording.
- Weight and dimensions: not stated.
- Collection bag capacity: not stated in the captured text.
- Other included items: the captured text lists only the bag and says other included components were not fully captured.
- Height of each setting: the listing gives six settings between 1-1/2 and 4 inches, but not the height of each one.
The listing gives a 2 year limited warranty, but the warranty terms are not in the captured text. Check the terms before you rely on them.
Electrical safety for a corded mower
The OSHA eTool page on electrical incidents with power tools is a general source, written with construction in mind. Its rules still apply to a plug-in mower. It says “Never carry a tool by the cord.” It also says “Never yank the cord to disconnect it from the receptacle.” For this mower, that means lifting it by its lift handle, and unplugging at the outlet rather than pulling on the cord.
The same page says to “Keep cords away from heat, oil, and sharp edges,” and it gives the cutting surface of a power saw or drill as an example. A mower’s blade is a cutting surface, so the same logic applies to any cord that runs near the deck.
OSHA also says “Do not use electric tools in damp or wet locations unless they are approved for that purpose.” Virginia Tech goes further for mowers: “Never use an electric mower to mow wet grass.” Together, those two sentences mean that wet grass is a reason to wait, not a reason to mow carefully.
On damage, OSHA says “Often, the damage is only to the insulation, exposing energized conductors.” That is why a visual check of the cord before each session is a sensible step. The OSHA page does not give an inspection routine for mowers, so that check is our advice rather than a rule from the source.
For damaged cords and extension cords, OSHA says insulation and grounding do not protect against every condition, and it names a ground-fault circuit interrupter as one acceptable protective measure. If you plan to use an extension cord with this mower, our page on extension cords for an electric lawn mower covers that side of the setup.
Mowing safety for a push mower
Virginia Tech’s rotary mower module gives the operating rules that apply to this push mower. It says to “Start a push mower only when standing up with both feet placed firmly on the ground.” It also says to “Remove all loose objects from the area before mowing,” because mower blades can throw loose objects at high speeds. Keep bystanders and pets away while the mower runs, as the module advises for any running mower.
The module also covers protective equipment. It says to “Use safety glasses or goggles, especially when mowing in areas with loose objects,” and to “Use ear protection when mowing.” The module also recommends sturdy, steel-toed work boots during mowing.
The module says to “Turn off the mower before cleaning under the deck,” and to “Disconnect the spark or electric plug before troubleshooting or repairing the mower.” For a corded mower, the plug is the step to take before any repair or deck cleaning.
Mistakes to avoid
- Mowing wet grass with a corded mower. Wet grass is the situation that both sources warn about, so the fix is simple: wait until the lawn is dry before you plug in.
- Carrying or yanking the cord. OSHA says never to carry a tool by the cord and never to yank the cord to disconnect it.
- Running the cord across the mowing path. OSHA says cords should not present a tripping hazard, so route the cord away from where you walk and mow.
- Mowing a slope up and down. Virginia Tech says that when mowing on a slope with a push mower, you should mow across the slope.
- Cleaning under the deck with the mower on. Virginia Tech says to turn off the mower before cleaning under the deck, and to disconnect the plug before repairs.
Buying checklist
- Outlet distance: check the distance from the planned outlet to the far end of the lawn.
- Cord length: ask the seller, since the listing does not state it.
- Voltage: confirm it before you order, since the listing gives 13 amps only.
- Warranty terms: read the 2 year limited warranty terms on the brand’s page.
- Wet grass plan: if the lawn is often wet, pick a dry day or a different tool for that job.
How we chose
This is a single-product review of ASIN B07PJ1NJ3J. The ASIN was assigned to this post in the expansion batch, and the Amazon listing was read on 2026-10-23 (CHECKED 2026-10-23). The criteria were a corded push mower with a stated amperage, a stated cutting deck, and a stated warranty or bag. This listing meets those criteria. We did not compare it with other mowers in this post, and we do not rank it.
The OSHA page and the Virginia Tech module were chosen because they are a government page on electrical tool safety and a university module on mower safety, which are the two gaps a corded push mower raises. Neither describes this model. Retail and review pages were not used for facts.
What we could not verify
- The “unlimited runtime” claim. The listing states it; the conditions are not in the captured text.
- The “ample power” claim for the 13-amp motor. No source opened for this post covers this model’s motor performance.
- Cord length, voltage and cord gauge.
- Warranty terms beyond the 2 year limited warranty figure.
- Mowing height guidance. None of the sources opened for this post covers mowing height, so this page does not give a starting-height calculation for the 1-1/2 to 4 inch range.
No manufacturer page for this model was among the sources opened for this post. Check the brand’s page for the cord, voltage and warranty terms before you buy.
FAQ
Is this mower corded or battery powered?
The listing says it is corded and rates it at 13 amps. It does not describe a battery.
How long is the cord?
The listing does not state the cord length. Ask the seller or check the product page before you buy, and compare the length with the distance from your outlet to the far end of the lawn.
Can I mow wet grass with it?
No. Virginia Tech says “Never use an electric mower to mow wet grass.” OSHA says not to use electric tools in damp or wet locations unless they are approved for that purpose.
How wide is the cut?
The listing gives a 20-inch cutting deck. That is about 1.67 feet, so a 60-foot-wide lawn needs about 36 full-width passes before overlap.
What height settings are there?
The listing says six settings from 1-1/2 inches to 4 inches, with a single lever. It does not give the height of each setting.
Does it come with a bag and a warranty?
The listing names a collection bag and a 2 year limited warranty. The warranty terms are not in the captured text.
Bottom line
Buy it only if an outlet can reach the whole lawn with a cord you can manage safely and the grass is dry when you mow; if the cord cannot reach or the grass is often wet, skip it.
Sources
- BLACK+DECKER Electric Push Lawn Mower, Corded, 13 Amp, BEMW213, Amazon listing (opened 2026-10-23)
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07PJ1NJ3J - Electrical Incidents: Power Tools, OSHA eTool (opened 2026-10-22)
https://www.osha.gov/etools/construction/electrical-incidents/power-tools - Lawn Care: Rotary Mower Safety, Virginia Cooperative Extension, Virginia Tech (opened 2026-10-22)
https://pubs.ext.vt.edu/BSE/BSE-42/BSE-42.html




