Best Budget Electric Mower

Best Budget Electric Mower

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

If you are searching for the best budget electric mower for a small to mid-size yard, start with the power source. A corded mower plugs into an outlet, and a battery mower needs a pack that may or may not come in the box. This guide covers five electric push and walk-behind mowers from listing data read on 2026-10-30. For each one it states what the listing says is in the box, flags the tool-only model, and gives the battery and blade rules that apply before you buy or use one. The data does not show how any mower performs, so use this guide to build a shortlist.

Quick answer

  • Corded, with no battery to buy: the DORTALA 13-inch and CRAFTSMAN 20-inch models. Each listing states a corded power source, and neither states a cord length.
  • Battery, with a battery in the box: the LiTHELi 13-inch model, which lists one 4.0 Ah battery.
  • Battery, tool only: the EGO POWER+ self-propelled model. Its listing says the battery and charger are not included.
  • Electric, power source not stated: the LawnMaster 19-inch model. Its listing does not say whether it is corded or battery powered.

How the five picks compare

The table uses only figures the listings state. Where a listing does not state a figure, the cell says not stated. Each row links to that product’s Amazon listing.

Product Power (as listed) Cutting width Height range (as listed) Weight Bag, mulch, discharge In the box Source
LiTHELi cordless mower View on Amazon Battery powered 13 in 1 to 2.5 in (bullet); spec table shows 3 in maximum and 13 in minimum 24 lb 8-gallon bag; mulch not stated; side discharge not stated Mower, one 4.0 Ah battery, matching charging cable, manual listing
DORTALA corded push mower View on Amazon Corded electric; 12 amp, 1400W (bullet) 13 in 0.99, 1.77 or 2.56 in (3 positions) 18.5 lb 30L/8-gallon bag; mulching; side discharge not stated not stated (bag described in bullets) listing
CRAFTSMAN CMEMW213 corded push mower View on Amazon Corded electric; 13 amp 20 in 1.5 to 4 in (3 positions) 20.8 lb Bag, mulch and side discharge Mower, collection bag, side discharge chute listing
EGO POWER+ LM2130SP self-propelled mower View on Amazon Battery powered, self-propelled 21 in 1 to 4 in (bullet: 8 settings; spec table: 7 positions) 54.5 lb Two-bushel bag, mulching plug, side discharge chute Mower, bag and frame, side discharge chute, mulching plug, manual; battery and charger not included listing; EGO product page
LawnMaster ME1218X.01 electric mower View on Amazon Electric (corded or battery not stated); 12 amp 19 in 1.5 to 4 in (6 positions) 28.3 lb (spec table) Mulch or side discharge; bag not stated not stated listing

LiTHELi 13-inch cordless mower with a battery in the box

The listing says this is a battery-powered mower with a 13 inch cutting width, a 24 pound item weight and an 8-gallon bag. The title and product content line say one 4.0 Ah battery is included, along with a matching charging cable. The listing does not say whether a wall charger is in the box, and it warns to use only the original U20 charger.

It is here because it is the only battery mower in this set whose listing states a battery in the box. The manufacturer states it mows up to 1,300 sq. ft. of medium-sized lawn on a full charge. Real coverage depends on grass height, grass thickness and terrain.

The listing conflicts with itself. A bullet describes a 20,000 mAh battery running for 15 minutes, against the 4.0 Ah in the title. The spec table gives a 3 inch maximum and a 13 inch minimum height, while a bullet gives 1 to 2.5 inches. This post uses 4.0 Ah and the bullet’s height range, and it shows both conflicts.

For the trade-offs between a battery and a cord, see pros and cons of battery-powered lawn mowers.

View on Amazon

DORTALA 13-inch corded push mower

The listing says this is a corded electric push mower with a 13 inch cutting width, a 12 amp motor, a 1400W rating, a 3700 RPM rating and an 18.5 pound weight. It does not state a cord length or a cord gauge, so this post gives neither.

The bullets list three cutting heights, 0.99, 1.77 and 2.56 inches, and the spec table gives the same range in metric units. The listing also describes a 30L/8-gallon bag, a mulching function, a folding handle and a safety lockout that requires the safety button to be pressed before operation. It does not say whether side discharge is available or whether the bag is in the box.

It is the narrower of the two corded models in this set that state a deck width, and its listing names both a bag and mulching. For a different corded deck to compare, read the guide to a 10-amp, 16-inch corded Greenworks mower.

View on Amazon

CRAFTSMAN 20-inch corded push mower with bagging and side discharge

The listing says this is a corded electric push mower with a 20 inch cutting width, a 13 amp motor and a 20.8 pound weight. The spec table gives a 1.5 to 4 inch height range with three positions. The box includes the push mower, a collection bag and a side discharge chute. The listing gives a 3 year limited warranty and does not state a cord length.

It is here because it is the only corded model in this set whose listing names all three discharge options and includes the bag and chute in the box. The listing says the motor helps power through tall grass, and that is the listing’s own wording. If a bag is the main need, see small electric lawn mowers with a bag.

View on Amazon

EGO POWER+ 21-inch self-propelled mower, tool only

The listing flags this model as tool only, and its title says the battery and charger are not included. Treat both as a separate purchase. The listing recommends a 56V 7.5Ah battery, which it says is available separately, and says the mower works with all EGO 56V ARC Lithium batteries. The manufacturer states up to 60 minutes on a single charge with the recommended battery, and actual runtime depends on grass, height and terrain.

The listing says the mower is self-propelled, weighs 54.5 pounds and has a 21 inch deck. Its box includes a grass bag and frame, a side discharge chute, a mulching plug and the manual. It is the only self-propelled model in this set, and the only one whose listing states a five-year warranty.

The EGO product page we opened lists a bare tool under model LM2100SP, not LM2130SP, the model number in the listing, so this post does not assume the two are the same product. Its height range is 1.5 to 4 inches with six positions, while the listing bullet says 1 to 4 inches with eight settings and the spec table says seven positions. For what the voltage and amp-hour numbers mean, see battery volts and amp-hours on lawn mowers.

View on Amazon

LawnMaster 19-inch electric mower, power source not stated

The listing says this is an electric mower with a 19 inch cutting width, a 12 amp motor and a 3600 RPM speed. It gives six height positions from 1.5 to 4 inches, adjusted with one lever. The spec table lists a 28.3 pound weight. A bullet claims the mower is 35 pounds lighter, which does not match, so this post uses the spec table figure. The listing does not say whether the mower is corded or battery powered.

The bullets say it can mulch or side discharge. The listing does not state whether a bag is included or what else is in the box. It is the only 19 inch model in this set, and its six height positions and mulch or side discharge are the reasons it is here. The spec table names Cleva as the manufacturer, while the listing brand is LawnMaster.

View on Amazon

Safety rules for these electric mowers

Blade work comes first. The Illinois Extension page says: “Before removing the blades of your mower be sure to disconnect the spark plug or for electric mowers remove the battery to prevent any accidental engagement of the blades.” For the LiTHELi and EGO battery models, remove the battery before you touch a blade. The same page also says: “Whenever your hand goes near the blades always disconnect the spark plug for gas-powered or remove the battery for electric mowers.”

The sources we opened give no separate unplugging step for corded mowers. For the DORTALA and CRAFTSMAN models, use the owner’s manual for the step that disconnects the plug before blade work. If you remove a blade, the page says: “Brace the blade with a board, brick, or metal pipe and remove the bolt holding the blade in place.” This post does not give reinstallation steps. Clippings matter too: “Grass clippings stuck to the bottom of the mower deck hold water causing the metal to rust and shortening the lifespan of the equipment.”

For corded models, OSHA’s construction eTool says: “Limit exposure of connectors and tools to excessive moisture by using watertight or sealable connectors.” It adds: “When a cord connector is wet, electric current can leak to the equipment grounding conductor, and to humans who pick up that connector if they provide a path to ground.” That page is written for construction sites, so read it as general electrical guidance. On cords it says: “Extension cords must be 3-wire type so they may be grounded, and to permit grounding of any tools or equipment connected to them.” For choosing a cord, see extension cords for corded electric lawn mowers. None of the corded listings states a cord length.

OSHA’s general industry rule, written for workplaces, says: “Flexible electric cords connected to equipment may not be used for raising or lowering the equipment.” Do not lift or lower a corded mower by its cord.

For batteries, the sources we opened give no charging or storage steps for these models. The battery and charger manuals are PDFs, which the source process used for this post cannot open, so follow those manuals for charging and storage. If a battery stops taking a charge, see what to check when a lawn mower battery will not charge. This post gives no battery repair steps.

How we chose

The keyword is “best budget electric mower.” This post reads it as a search for an electric walk-behind or push mower, corded or battery, for a small to mid-size yard. The listing data has no budget claim and no cost figures, so no product is called budget or value here, and the picks are not ranked by cost. The order of the picks follows the listing file, which is not a ranking.

The listing file holds 12 products, scanned on 2026-10-30 at 07:53. Five fit the scope. Seven do not:

  • A BLACK+DECKER 3-in-1 combo built around a string trimmer head, with a detachable mower deck. Trimmers do not count toward this scope.
  • A robotic mower with automatic recharge. Robotic mowers do not count toward this scope.
  • A zero-turn spreader attachment and a starter motor for a riding mower, which are accessories.
  • Three drill-bit starter adapters for handheld engines, which are accessories.

The criteria: the listing must state an electric power source for a walk-behind or push mower, and it must give enough figures to state the deck width, height range and box contents. Where listings conflict, this post shows both figures. The source pages were opened on 2026-10-30. For corded self-propelled models, see self-propelled corded electric mowers, and for the general trade-offs, see pros and cons of electric mowers.

What we could not verify

  • The LM2130SP model. The EGO page we opened shows LM2100SP, so the battery, charger and runtime for the listed model are unconfirmed.
  • Cutting height for the LiTHELi and EGO models, where listing bullets and spec tables disagree.
  • The LiTHELi battery size, where one bullet’s 20,000 mAh figure conflicts with the 4.0 Ah battery.
  • Whether the LawnMaster is corded or battery powered, and whether it includes a bag.
  • Cord length and cord gauge for the DORTALA and CRAFTSMAN models. Neither listing states a cord length.
  • Runtime and coverage figures. The LiTHELi and EGO figures are manufacturer statements, and the listings do not explain the conditions behind them.
  • Noise. No listing gives a decibel figure, so this post makes no noise claim.
  • Cut quality, mulching and bagging quality. The listings name these functions but do not describe how well they work.
  • Battery compatibility beyond the EGO statement that the mower works with all EGO 56V ARC Lithium batteries. This post assumes no other battery fits.

What the sources do not say

The Illinois page covers battery removal, blade bracing and rust from clippings. It does not cover corded plugs, cord gauge or any named model. The two OSHA pages are a construction eTool and a workplace rule, and neither names a lawn mower or gives a cord length for one.

The EGO page covers its self-propelled configurations and runtime claim, but not the LM2130SP, and it gives no battery charging or storage steps. No source we opened compares corded and battery mowers, or gives a yard-size guide for these models.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Assuming the EGO comes with a battery. Its title says the battery and charger are not included.
  • Treating the EGO’s 60-minute figure as a guarantee. It is a manufacturer statement, and actual runtime varies.
  • Choosing a height from one spec. The LiTHELi and EGO listings disagree with themselves.
  • Working on a blade while the battery is still in place. The Illinois page says to remove the battery for electric mowers.
  • Lifting a corded mower by its cord. OSHA’s general industry rule says flexible cords may not be used for raising or lowering equipment.

Buying checklist

  • Power source: corded, battery, or not stated. Settle this first.
  • Battery and charger: confirm the box contents on the listing. The EGO listing says they are not included.
  • Cord: for a corded model, find the cord length in the manual, because none of the corded listings states it.
  • Deck width, height range and bag: use the listing figures, and note any conflict.
  • Weight and warranty: the EGO is the heaviest model here at 54.5 pounds. Check the manufacturer’s warranty terms before you buy.

FAQ

Should I choose a corded or a battery electric mower first?

Start with the power source you can run. A corded model needs an outlet and a cord that the listings do not measure, while a battery model needs a pack, which the EGO listing shows can be a separate purchase. No listing in this set shows one type as the better choice.

Does the EGO self-propelled mower come with a battery?

No. The listing title says the battery and charger are not included, and the EGO product page marks the bare tool with both as Not Included. The recommended battery is a 56V 7.5Ah pack that the listing says is available separately.

How long does a battery mower run on one charge?

The manufacturer states up to 60 minutes for the EGO with the recommended 7.5Ah battery, and up to 1,300 square feet of medium-sized lawn for the LiTHELi. Real runtime changes with grass height, grass thickness and terrain.

Do I need an extension cord for a corded mower?

Possibly. None of the corded listings here states a cord length, so check the owner’s manual. OSHA’s construction eTool says extension cords must be 3-wire type so they may be grounded.

Can I mow wet grass with an electric mower?

The sources we opened do not address wet grass. OSHA’s construction eTool does say to limit exposure of connectors and tools to excessive moisture, so check the owner’s manual for wet-grass guidance before you mow.

Bottom line

Decision rule: choose the power source you can run safely first, then pick the listing whose box contents match what you need. If a listing says the battery and charger are not included, treat the battery as a separate purchase, and do not assume a battery from another brand fits.

Sources

Similar Posts