Best BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Weed Eater

Best BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Weed Eater

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

If you want the best black+decker 20v max weed eater for a yard that needs both trimming and edging, the BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Weed Eater, Edger and Sweeper Combo (model LCC222) puts a string trimmer, a wheeled edger conversion, a second handheld unit and two batteries with a charger in one box. This page covers that one ASIN only. The product facts come from a stored listing scan dated 2026-10-12, and the safety guidance comes from two extension publications we opened on 2026-10-22. Where the listing is silent, the text says so.

Quick answer

  • This kit fits if you want one 20V MAX battery platform for string trimming and edging, with two batteries and a charger in the box. The listing title says it includes 2 Batteries and Charger.
  • The listing states a 10 inch cutting width for the trimmer. If you need a wider cut, this kit is the wrong size.
  • The listing does not state a runtime. Its line about holding a charge for up to 18 months describes storage, not how long a battery runs.
  • Wear eye protection, long pants and closed shoes whenever you run it. Both extension publications give that advice for powered trimmers.

The product at a glance

The table lists only what the stored listing scan states. Cells say “not stated” where the listing is silent.

Item What the listing says
Brand BLACK+DECKER
Model number LCC222
Power source Battery powered
Battery platform 20V MAX
Battery Lithium Ion, 1.5Ah
Batteries included 2 (included)
Charger included Yes, per the title
Cutting width 10 inches
Trimmer weight 4.5 lbs
Second unit weight 3.7 lbs
Kit item weight 10.5 pounds
Item dimensions 10.3″L x 39.6″W
Line feed Automatic (AFS system)
Edger conversion Trimmer switches to a wheeled edger
Second unit Title says leaf blower; a bullet says sweeper
Height range not stated
Runtime per charge not stated
Charge time not stated
Motor type not stated
Warranty 2 Year Limited Warranty

The title calls the second unit a 130 Mph hard surface leaf blower, while one bullet calls the same unit a lightweight sweeper. The table reports both words because the listing uses both. The 130 Mph figure appears only in the title; no manufacturer page for this model is among the sources used here.

Stored listing data, scanned 2026-10-12, for ASIN B01BNMP5JY. Check the live listing before you buy, because the stored scan may be out of date.

View on Amazon

Who it suits

This kit suits a homeowner who wants string trimming, edging and a light sweeping tool from one battery platform, and who does not already own 20V MAX batteries to reuse. The listing says the extra battery gives extended coverage in larger yards, so the second battery is the main reason a bigger yard might favor this box over a single-battery tool.

It also suits a reader who wants automatic line feed. The listing says the AFS system supplies trimmer line as needed and keeps the trimmer running without interruption. That is a feature claim from the listing, and none of the extension publications we opened covers this particular feed system.

Finally, it suits a buyer who wants a lighter string trimmer. The listing gives the trimmer weight as 4.5 lbs and describes that weight as making the trimmer easy to maneuver for comfortable, extended use. That is the listing’s own description. For a different BLACK+DECKER 20V weed eater, see our Black and Decker cordless weed eater 20V page.

Skip it if

  • You need more than 10 inches of cutting width. The listing states 10 inches, and nothing in the listing points to a wider head.
  • You need a runtime figure before you buy. The listing gives none, and the 18-month line is about storage.
  • You already own BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX batteries and want to reuse them. The listing does not say whether these batteries work with other tools.
  • You need a leaf blower with a confirmed airflow or speed rating. The title gives 130 Mph, but the listing gives no airflow figure and no manufacturer page confirms the speed.

For a separate BLACK+DECKER cordless leaf blower and vacuum option, see our BLACK+DECKER cordless leaf blower and vacuum guide.

Safe use before you start

Neither extension publication covers this model, so treat the points below as general safety guidance for powered string trimmers rather than instructions from the manufacturer. The Ohio State sheet is written for handheld trimmers and brush cutters, and most of its fuel and engine advice does not apply to a battery kit, so we left that advice out.

  • Wear safety glasses with side shields or goggles. Ohio State also suggests a face screen over the glasses for extra protection from flying debris.
  • Wear full eye and ear protection, according to Virginia Tech. Its clothing advice is long pants and closed-toe shoes.
  • Keep bystanders, children and pets at least 50 feet from the work area. Both publications give that distance.
  • Keep the string head below waist level, keep your footing firm and your balance steady, and make sure lighting is adequate. Do not overreach.
  • Before each use, check for loose fasteners and a cracked string head, and replace damaged parts. Virginia Tech gives this check for string trimmers.
  • Clear the area first. Ohio State says to inspect the work area and remove visible stones, sticks, wires and other debris before you start.
  • Keep children away from the tool. Virginia Tech says not to let children operate powered hand tools.
  • Secure long hair above the shoulder before you start, as Virginia Tech advises for string trimmers.
  • Do not run the tool when you are tired or have been drinking. Ohio State gives that advice for trimmers and brush cutters.

Using the edger conversion

The listing says the trimmer switches to a wheeled edger for borders. Neither extension publication describes this kit’s conversion. The Virginia Tech guide’s edger advice is written for lawn edgers with a blade, but its plain rule still applies: do not inspect, repair or service an edger while it is running. Ohio State advises using attachments only as they were designed to be operated, and it advises shutting the unit off before you change attachments. The same logic applies to this kit, so switch the head only with the tool off.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Reading the 18-month line as runtime. The listing ties it to holding a charge, which is a storage claim, so keep a charged battery on hand but do not plan a job around that line.
  • Assuming the second unit is a leaf blower without checking. The title and a bullet use different words, so confirm the function from the box or the manufacturer before you buy for a specific job.
  • Assuming the batteries work with other tools. The listing does not say, so check the battery label or the manufacturer before buying a tool to use with them.
  • Skipping eye protection because the trimmer runs on a battery. Both extension publications recommend eye protection for powered trimmers, and this kit is still a powered trimmer.

What the listing does not say

The listing is specific about the box contents and the cutting width. It is vague on several points that matter once the kit is in your garage.

  • Runtime. The listing states a 1.5Ah battery and a storage claim of up to 18 months. It does not state how many minutes a charged battery lasts. Two batteries at 1.5Ah each add up to 3.0Ah of listed capacity, but that sum is a calculation from the rating and does not convert into a runtime.
  • Charge time. The listing says a charger is included. It does not give a charge time.
  • Second unit function. The title says leaf blower and a bullet says sweeper, and the listing does not reconcile the two.
  • Weight totals. The trimmer is 4.5 lbs and the second unit is 3.7 lbs, a combined 8.2 lbs. The listed kit item weight is 10.5 pounds. The listing does not explain the 2.3 lb gap, so do not treat either figure as a substitute for the other.
  • Height range. The listing says the height and handle are adjustable, but it gives no range.
  • Motor type. Not stated.
  • Battery compatibility. The listing does not say whether these batteries work with other BLACK+DECKER tools.

Buying checklist

  1. Measure the area you need to trim and confirm that a 10 inch cutting width covers it.
  2. Decide whether you need the second unit, and confirm its function from the box or the manufacturer.
  3. Check whether you already own 20V MAX batteries, and if you do, confirm compatibility before you count them as part of this kit.
  4. Ask the seller for a runtime figure or a charge time if either one affects your job.
  5. Have the protective gear from the safe use section ready: eye and ear protection, long pants and closed-toe shoes.

How we chose

This is a single-product review of one ASIN, B01BNMP5JY. The keyword points to this model, so the post covers this model only. This post does not rank it against other kits. The word best in the title follows the search phrase; it is not a ranking.

The product data was read from a stored scan dated 2026-10-12. The table includes a field only when the listing states it, and writes “not stated” otherwise. We favored the fields a buyer needs before purchase: battery and charger status, cutting width, weight, line feed and warranty. We left out customer feedback and marketplace labels, because they change often and are not product facts.

The safety guidance comes from two non-retail sources opened on 2026-10-22: an Ohio State University Extension fact sheet and a Virginia Tech Extension guide. Neither covers this model.

Every fact in this post traces either to one line of the stored listing scan or to one of the two extension pages. Each quoted line was matched against its saved text file before this draft was written.

What we could not verify

  • Runtime per charge, charge time, motor type and height range. The listing does not state them, and the sources used here do not cover runtime for this model.
  • The 130 Mph figure in the title. No manufacturer page for this model is among the sources used here, so the figure rests on the title alone.
  • Battery compatibility with other tools.
  • How the AFS line feed performs in use. The listing states the feature, and no second source we opened covers this feed system.
  • Whether the listing has changed since the stored scan dated 2026-10-12.
  • Whether the Ohio State sheet, originally posted in 2015, reflects current guidance. It covers handheld trimmers and brush cutters in general, not this kit.

FAQ

Does the BLACK+DECKER LCC222 come with batteries and a charger?

Yes, according to the stored listing. The title says it includes 2 batteries and a charger, and the specification lines mark two lithium-ion batteries as included. The listing does not give a charge time.

How long does one battery run on a charge?

No runtime figure appears in the listing. Its 1.5Ah figure is a capacity rating, and the 18-month line is about storage. Ask the seller or the manufacturer for a runtime figure if it affects your decision.

Does the trimmer turn into an edger?

The listing says the trimmer switches to a wheeled edger for borders. It does not give an edging depth or a height range for the edger setting.

Is the second unit a leaf blower or a sweeper?

The listing uses both words. The title calls it a 130 Mph hard surface leaf blower, and a bullet calls it a lightweight sweeper. The listing does not settle which term is right, so confirm the function before you buy if it matters to your work.

What protective gear should I wear with this kit?

Wear safety glasses with side shields or goggles, and ear protection. Both extension publications recommend long pants and closed or sturdy shoes. Keep bystanders, children and pets at least 50 feet away while you work.

Will these batteries work with other BLACK+DECKER tools?

The listing does not say. Check the battery label or the manufacturer before you buy another tool on the assumption that the batteries fit it.

Bottom line

Decision rule: if a 10 inch cutting width covers your trimming, this kit is worth a closer look; if it does not, skip it.

Sources

  • Amazon listing for ASIN B01BNMP5JY, stored scan (opened 2026-10-12) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01BNMP5JY
  • Handheld Trimmers and Brush Cutters, Ohio State University Extension AEX-790.37 (opened 2026-10-22) https://ohioline.osu.edu/factsheet/aex-79037
  • Lawn Care: Powered Hand Tool Safety, Virginia Cooperative Extension BSE-41 (opened 2026-10-22) https://ext.vt.edu/content/pubs_ext_vt_edu/en/BSE/BSE-41/BSE-41.html

Similar Posts