Best BLACK+DECKER Electric Lawn Mower
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
If you searched for best black+decker electric lawn mower, you are most likely looking for a corded mower for a small yard. The listing describes a 12-inch corded electric kit that pairs a string trimmer with a detachable mower deck. It lists a 6.5 amp motor, a 1.6-inch cutting height, and a 2-year limited warranty. It does not state the cord length, a bagging option, or a height range that agrees with itself.
Quick answer
- The listing describes a corded electric kit: a BESTA512 string trimmer with an MTD100 detachable mower deck, an AF-100 spool, an auxiliary handle, and a guard.
- The listing gives a 12 inch cutting width and a 1.6 inch cutting height. Both height fields read 1.6 inches, which does not match the 12 positions also stated.
- It suits a small yard where an outlet can reach the whole lawn. The listing does not give the cord length, so plan the reach before you buy.
- Buy it if one corded tool for mowing, trimming, and edging fits your yard and an outlet is in reach. Skip it if you need cord-free use or a confirmed height range.
The product at a glance
The table uses only what the listing states. Where the listing is silent, the cell says “not stated.”
| Item | What the listing states |
|---|---|
| Brand | BLACK+DECKER (manufacturer: Black & Decker) |
| Manufacturer part number | BESTA512CM |
| Model number field | 00885911343343 (as listed; this number looks like a product code rather than a model designation) |
| Power source | Corded electric |
| Motor | 6.5 amp, with POWERDRIVE transmission (bullet text) |
| Cutting width | 12 inches |
| Cutting height | Maximum 1.6 inches and minimum 1.6 inches in the specs |
| Height positions | 12 (specs field) |
| Speed | Up to 8000 RPM (bullet text) |
| Included parts | BESTA512 string trimmer, MTD100 detachable mower deck, AF-100 spool, auxiliary handle, guard |
| Edger conversion | Converts to a wheeled edger by rotating the trimmer head (bullet text) |
| Cord handling | Cord retention system to help prevent accidental disconnects (bullet text) |
| Warranty | 2 year limited warranty |
| Item weight | 9.9 pounds |
| Dimensions | 15 in D x 7 in W x 37 in H |
| Material type | Alloy steel |
| Color | Orange |
| Cord length | not stated |
| Bagging or mulching | not stated |
Who it suits
The listing names its target yard directly. Its bullet reads “Ideal for Small Lawns,” and it describes the machine as “Designed for compact spaces with a 12-inch cutting width.” For that yard, a corded kit has a practical side. The listing does not ask you to buy fuel or a battery, because the power source is corded electric.
- Owners of a small lawn with an outlet near the work area. The 12-inch cut is a narrow pass, so the work runs in steady lines.
- People who want one motor for trimming, edging, and mowing. The listing says the trimmer head converts to an edger and the mower deck is detachable.
- Buyers who keep the tool at a fixed spot near a garage outlet and want the cord managed. The listing mentions a cord retention system and says it helps “prevent accidental disconnects.”
- Anyone who wants a 2-year limited warranty. The listing states it, though the terms are not on the page.
If you are weighing a different corded tool for the same job, the guide to extension cords for an electric lawn mower covers the cord side in more depth.
Skip it if
- The outlet is far from the lawn. The listing does not give the cord length, and an extension cord adds a trip hazard. OSHA says to “Ensure that cords from electric tools do not present a tripping hazard.”
- You need cord-free use. The power source is corded electric, and the listing does not describe a battery option.
- You need a height range you can count on. The specs give a maximum and minimum of 1.6 inches each, while the same specs list 12 positions.
- Your lawn is often wet in the morning. OSHA says “Do not use electric tools in damp or wet locations unless they are approved for that purpose,” and the UF/IFAS guide says to “mow only when the grass is dry.”
What the listing does not say
- Cord length. The listing does not state it, so you cannot tell how far the mower reaches from one outlet.
- Height positions. The cutting height is given as 1.6 inches in both fields, while the same specs list 12 positions. The listing does not explain which reading is correct.
- Bagging or mulching. The listing describes mowing and trimming and gives no bag or mulch information.
- Deck details. The listing gives the material type as alloy steel. It does not describe the deck design beyond that.
- Model number. The model number field shows 00885911343343, which looks like a product code. The manufacturer part number is BESTA512CM.
- Warranty terms. The listing says “2 year limited warranty.” The conditions are not on the page.
The height arithmetic
The UC IPM guide says that “No more than one-third of the grass blades should be cut at a time.” That rule sets the lowest height a single pass can reach. The lowest single-cut height is two-thirds of the grass height, because no more than one-third of the blade should come off in one cut.
| Grass height before cutting | Lowest single-cut height under the rule | Can this mower reach 1.6 inches in one pass? |
|---|---|---|
| 2.4 inches | 1.6 inches | Yes, exactly one-third comes off |
| 3 inches | 2.0 inches | No, a pass to 1.6 inches would remove 1.4 inches; use two passes |
| 4 inches | 2.7 inches | No, use two or more passes |
The calculation is two-thirds of the grass height. A 3-inch lawn gives 2 inches, and a 4-inch lawn gives 2.67 inches, rounded to 2.7. Under this rule, a 1.6-inch setting only works in one pass when the grass is about 2.4 inches or shorter. Taller grass needs a higher first pass and a second, lower pass. This is a benchmark from the stated figures, not a claim about how the mower cuts.
The same point applies to the height ambiguity. If the 1.6-inch figure is the only setting, every tall-grass cut needs more passes. If the 12 positions are real, the listing should show them. The listing does not, so the height range should be confirmed before you buy for tall grass.
The width arithmetic
The stated 12-inch cutting width gives a simple way to estimate the job. The arithmetic uses only that figure and one example lawn.
| Step | Working | Result |
|---|---|---|
| Cutting width in feet | 12 inches divided by 12 | 1 ft |
| Example lawn | 50 ft wide by 100 ft long | 5,000 sq ft |
| Passes across the width | 50 ft divided by 1 ft | 50 passes |
| Total mowing path, no overlap | 50 passes of 100 ft each | 5,000 ft |
The table assumes no overlap between passes and no time spent on turns, edges, or obstacles, and all of those add to the real total. The example lawn is a little over one-tenth of an acre. The calculation shows the scale of the job: a 12-inch pass means many passes on any lawn much larger than a small yard. The listing does not state a walking speed or a run time for the corded mower, so the time is not estimated here.
Cord and outlet checks
A corded mower depends on the cord, so the cord checks come first. OSHA’s guidance on electric power tools in general gives four points that apply here.
- “Never carry a tool by the cord.” Lift the mower by its handle or frame, not by the cord.
- “Keep cords away from heat, oil, and sharp edges.” Route the cord away from the mowing path and any cutting edge.
- OSHA names a ground-fault circuit interrupter (GFCI) as one acceptable protective method. Plug the mower into a GFCI-protected outlet or circuit where you can.
- Check the cord before each use. OSHA notes that damage to a cord can expose energized conductors.
The listing’s cord retention system is a feature, but it does not replace these checks. Plan the path before you start so the cord stays behind you and clear of the trimmer line.
Before the first mow
The UF/IFAS guide opens with a general point: “Mowers are powerful machines with sharp blades, and they warrant careful handling.” It also says “The most important thing you can do for mower safety is to read your owner’s manual.” The Illinois guide says to “Consult with your equipment’s user manual before performing maintenance or operating.” The manual is the place to confirm the height positions and the blade-access steps, which the listing does not describe.
Clear the lawn first. The UF/IFAS guide says to “Clear the lawn of debris that could be thrown by the mower, like sticks and pine cones, and mow only when the grass is dry.” It also says to “Keep children out of the yard when you’re mowing.” These points matter more for a corded tool, because the cord can catch on the same debris.
Keep the blade sharp. The Illinois guide says “Sharp mower blades are critical to the health of your lawn.” It also says “Dull blades bludgeon, rip, and tear grass blades leaving ragged wounds that are more difficult to heal.” If your lawn shows torn tips after a cut, check the blade before you change the height. For wet-weather mowing, the guide to mowing wet grass with an electric mower covers the timing question.
How we chose
This post covers one product: the BLACK+DECKER corded electric mower and trimmer kit, ASIN B078YYPWLY. It is in the post because a search for the brand and the words “electric lawn mower” points to this kit, and because the stored listing states the power source, the cutting width, the height figures, the included parts, and the warranty. The product data in this post comes from a stored scan dated 2026-10-12. It is not a fresh read of the listing for this draft.
The criteria are plain. We looked at the power source, the stated cutting width, the stated height figures and the conflict between them, the included parts, the cord information the listing does and does not give, and the warranty. We did not rank this kit against other mowers, and this post does not make a ranking claim. Ratings, review counts, and prices from the page are left out on purpose. The same kit has a separate model-number review on this site, the BESTA512CM electric lawn mower guide, which covers the model from a different search angle.
What we could not verify
- The cord length, the plug type, and whether an extension cord is needed for a typical yard.
- Which height figure is correct, 1.6 inches as a single setting or a range of 12 positions. The listing gives both.
- Bagging or mulching ability. The listing does not describe either.
- The terms of the 2-year limited warranty.
- A manufacturer page for model BESTA512CM. We did not open one in this draft, so the product facts come from the stored listing.
FAQ
Is the BLACK+DECKER BESTA512CM a mower or a trimmer?
The listing describes it as both. The kit includes a BESTA512 string trimmer and an MTD100 detachable mower deck. The trimmer head converts to an edger.
Does this kit run on a battery?
No. The listing states the power source as corded electric. It does not describe a battery option.
How wide does it cut?
The listing states a 12-inch cutting width. That is a narrow pass, so the mowing time depends on the size of the lawn.
What cutting height does it set?
The specs give 1.6 inches as both the maximum and the minimum, and they also list 12 positions. The listing does not explain the conflict, so confirm the range before you rely on it for tall grass.
Does it come with a warranty?
The listing says 2 year limited warranty. It does not give the terms on the page, so read the warranty document that comes with the kit.
Bottom line
Buy this kit only when an outlet can reach your whole lawn with a cord you are comfortable managing, and when you can confirm the height range for the grass you have. If either check fails, skip it and look for a model whose listing states its cord length and height settings.
Sources
- BLACK+DECKER Electric Lawn Mower, Weed Eater and Edger 3-in-1 Combo, Corded 12-Inch 6.5 Amp, Amazon listing, stored scan (opened 2026-10-12) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B078YYPWLY
- Electrical Incidents: Power Tools, OSHA (opened 2026-10-22) https://www.osha.gov/etools/construction/electrical-incidents/power-tools
- Mower Maintenance, University of Illinois Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://extension.illinois.edu/lawns/mower-maintenance
- Lawn Mower Care and Safety, UF/IFAS Gardening Solutions (opened 2026-10-22) https://gardeningsolutions.ifas.ufl.edu/care/tools-and-equipment/lawn-mower-care-and-safety/
- Healthy Lawns: Cutting off one-third of the grass blade, UC IPM (opened 2026-10-22) https://ipm.ucanr.edu/TOOLS/TURF/ESTABLISH/onethird.html






