Best BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Chain Saw Cordless

Best BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Chain Saw Cordless

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

A search for best blackdecker 20v max chain saw cordless points to one product: the BLACK+DECKER LCS1020B, a 10-inch battery-powered chainsaw in the 20V MAX line. The battery and charger are not included, and the listing and the manufacturer page both say so. The listing describes a 10-inch bar and chain, an 8-inch cut capacity, tool-free chain tensioning and an oiling system. This post covers what those sources state, what they leave out, and when a longer or shorter saw is the better choice.

Quick answer

  • This is the BLACK+DECKER LCS1020B, a 10-inch cordless chainsaw on the 20V MAX lithium-ion platform. The title says Tool Only, so the battery and charger are not included.
  • The listing and the manufacturer page both give an 8-inch cut capacity and tool-free chain tensioning.
  • Choose it if you already own a 20V MAX battery and need a light 10-inch saw for wood cutting and tree pruning, the two uses the title names.
  • Skip it if you need a longer bar, a runtime figure or a verified weight. The two sources disagree on weight, and neither gives a runtime.

The product at a glance

The table lists what the listing and the manufacturer page state. A cell says not stated where neither source says anything. The listing figures come from a scanner record checked on 2026-10-23, and the manufacturer page was opened on 2026-10-28.

Item What the sources state
Brand BLACK+DECKER
Model LCS1020B
Power source Battery powered, cordless (manufacturer page)
Battery platform and voltage 20V MAX lithium-ion, 20 V (manufacturer page)
Battery included No (manufacturer page); listing bullet says battery and charger not included
Charger included No (manufacturer page)
Bar and chain 10-inch bar and chain
Cut capacity 8 inches (listing bullet and manufacturer page)
Chain tensioning Tool-free
Oiling Oiling system for the bar and chain (listing bullet)
Bar type Low-kickback bar (manufacturer package list)
Chain brake not stated
Horsepower 3.5 hp (listing spec line; no basis given)
Weight 8.5 LB (manufacturer page); 7.6 pounds (listing spec line)
Dimensions Manufacturer page: 26.5 in long, 8.8 in wide, 9.6 in high. Listing spec: 16.69 in long, 9.63 in wide, 8.81 in high.
Warranty 2 Year Limited Warranty (manufacturer page and listing spec)
Chain speed not stated

View on Amazon

Who it suits

This saw suits a person who already owns a 20V MAX tool and wants a light, battery-powered saw for smaller wood. The title names wood cutting and tree pruning, and a 10-inch bar fits that kind of work. The manufacturer page places the saw on the 20V MAX lithium-ion platform, so a battery you already own from that line is the first thing to check.

The Agricultural Safety and Health page sorts saws by bar length. It says that small-sized chainsaws have 8-in. to 14-in. guide bars and “are designed to do light work, such as cutting small branches and felling very small trees.” A 10-inch bar falls inside that range, so this saw belongs to the light-duty class those pages describe, not the class for heavier felling.

Penn State Extension says “It is generally recommended that non-professionals avoid cutting overhead.” For a homeowner, the practical reading is to keep the cut below shoulder height with this saw.

The same page places saws with 16-in. to 22-in. bars in a medium class that “work well for felling, limbing, and bucking trees in the diameter range of 8 in. to 22 in.” It describes larger saws, above 18 inches, as “designed for professional users.” If your work runs to felling, this 10-inch saw sits outside the medium class, and that is the main reason to look at a longer bar.

If your need is reach rather than bar length, our EGO Power+ and Autubin pole saw comparison compares two pole saws. If the battery itself is the open question, our Black and Decker hedge trimmer battery and charger guide works through that question for a different tool.

Chain care and tensioning

The listing describes tool-free chain tensioning for fast and easy adjustments, and an oiling system for lubrication of the bar and chain. Penn State Extension says “Sharpness of the chain: A dull chain requires more force to cut and is more likely to cause kickbacks.” The listing does not describe how to sharpen the chain or how often to oil it, so the manufacturer manual is the place to check those steps. This post did not read that manual.

Check before you buy

  • Your battery: the listing names the 20V MAX lithium-ion platform, so confirm the pack you own matches it.
  • The box contents: the title, the bullet and the package list all say the battery and charger are not included.
  • The weight: decide which figure you trust, 8.5 LB on the manufacturer page or 7.6 pounds on the listing.
  • The chain brake: neither source mentions one, so ask the manufacturer before you buy.

Before the first cut

Kickback is the main hazard on a bar this size. Oklahoma State University Extension says “Kickback occurs when the rotating chain hits a solid object or the chain is pinched in a cut.” Its first two rules are “Make sure the chain brake is on.” and “Keep both hands on the saw.” Those rules assume the saw has a chain brake to engage, and neither source for this model says it does.

Penn State Extension says that “Kickback is a leading cause of chainsaw-related injuries.” It also warns that “Avoid cutting above shoulder height: Overhead cutting increases the risk of kickback and recoil.” For a dull chain, the same page says “A dull chain requires more force to cut and is more likely to cause kickbacks,” so keep the chain sharp.

The Agricultural Safety and Health page adds a grip rule: “Hold the saw firmly with both hands using an encircling grip.” It also says “Do not cut limbs or brush with the nose of the guide bar.” Keep the guide bar nose clear of wood on every cut, whatever the bar length.

Penn State Extension says “Operators should stand with their feet shoulder-width apart, ensuring stability and balance.” The Agricultural Safety and Health page says “Maintain secure footing and balance during operation of the chainsaw.” Penn State also includes the warning “Do not use an older saw without a chain brake!” That warning matters for this model, because neither source confirms that the LCS1020B has a chain brake.

Skip it if

  • You need a bar longer than 10 inches for large limbs or felling. Both sources name a 10-inch bar, and this post does not cover a longer one from this line.
  • You need runtime in minutes or cuts per battery. Neither source gives either figure.
  • You do not own a 20V MAX battery and charger yet. The battery and charger are not included, so budget for them separately.
  • You need a verified weight for carrying the saw all day. The manufacturer page gives 8.5 LB, and the listing spec gives 7.6 pounds.

What the listing does not say

Battery and charger. The title says Tool Only, a bullet says battery and charger not included, and the manufacturer page lists its package as the saw, a 10-inch low-kickback bar and a chain, with no battery or charger. The scanner record also has an Included Components field that lists three codes, LBXR2020, LCS1620 and LCS1020, with no explanation. This post follows the title, the bullet and the package list.

Runtime. Neither source gives minutes of cutting time, cuts per charge or charge time.

Chain brake. Neither the listing nor the manufacturer page mentions a chain brake. The manufacturer page does name a low-kickback bar and chain, which is a different feature.

Weight and dimensions. The two sources disagree. The manufacturer page lists 8.5 LB, 26.5 inches long, 8.8 inches wide and 9.6 inches high. The listing spec lists 7.6 pounds and 16.69 by 9.63 by 8.81 inches. Both sets of figures appear in the table, and this post does not choose between them.

Horsepower. The listing spec line says 3.5 hp, with no basis given. This post does not use that figure for comparison.

Warranty terms. The manufacturer page states a 2 Year Limited Warranty and says warranty information varies by product. The coverage terms are not stated in the text read.

Mistakes to avoid

  • Buying the saw and expecting a battery in the box. The battery and charger are not included.
  • Reading the Included Components codes as a kit. The codes are not explained, and the bullet and the package list say no battery or charger.
  • Assuming a chain brake. Neither source mentions one, and the Penn State page warns against using an older saw without a chain brake.

How we chose

This post covers one product: ASIN B00SSLE0QS, the BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX chainsaw with model LCS1020B. The keyword points to this model, and the listing and the manufacturer page both describe it. The listing figures come from a scanner record checked on 2026-10-23. The manufacturer page was opened on 2026-10-28.

The post does not rank this saw against other chainsaws. It appears here because it matches the keyword and because the sources give enough stated figures to describe it, with the gaps shown.

The safety section draws only on Oklahoma State University Extension, Penn State Extension and the Agricultural Safety and Health page. Those pages were opened on 2026-10-22.

No retail or review page supplies a fact in this post. The Amazon listing is the only retail page, and it is used only for the figures it states.

What we could not verify

The sources do not give a runtime for this saw, so this post makes no runtime claim. Neither the listing nor the manufacturer page states cuts per charge or charge time.

The sources do not say whether this saw has a chain brake. The safety pages name the chain brake as a feature to look for, but none of them describes this model. The sources also do not say how the oiling system is refilled or how much oil a full battery charge uses, so this post describes only what the listing bullet states.

The two sources disagree on weight, dimensions and the package codes in the scanner record. This post could not confirm which figures are right, so it shows both sets.

The safety pages describe chainsaws in general. None of them names this model, so they cannot confirm how this saw behaves when kickback starts.

FAQ

Is the BLACK+DECKER LCS1020B good for firewood?

The title names wood cutting and tree pruning, and the listing gives an 8-inch cut capacity on a 10-inch bar. Neither source gives a firewood cut count, so compare the bar length with the rounds you plan to cut before you decide.

Does the saw come with a battery and charger?

No. The title says Tool Only, the listing bullet says battery and charger not included, and the manufacturer page lists no battery or charger in its package.

What battery does it use?

Both sources name the 20V MAX lithium-ion platform. The scanner record also lists codes such as LBXR2020, but it does not say what those codes are, so confirm the battery model on the manufacturer’s current page before you buy.

Does this saw have a chain brake?

Neither source says so. The Penn State Extension page says a chainsaw should be equipped with safety features such as a chain brake, so ask the manufacturer before you rely on one.

How much does the saw weigh?

The manufacturer page gives 8.5 LB, and the scanner record gives 7.6 pounds. The sources do not explain the gap, so check the figure against your own lifting limits.

What warranty does it carry?

The manufacturer page states a 2 Year Limited Warranty. The text read does not give the coverage terms, and the page says warranty information varies by product.

Bottom line

Buy this saw only if you already own a 20V MAX battery and your cutting is light wood and tree pruning with a 10-inch bar. If you need a longer bar, stated runtime or a verified weight, choose a saw whose listing gives those figures.

Sources

  • 20V MAX* 10 in. Chainsaw – Battery and Charger Not Included, BLACK+DECKER product page (opened 2026-10-28) https://www.blackanddecker.com/products/lcs1020b
  • BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Chain Saw Cordless Chainsaw, 10-Inch Battery Chainsaw, Tool Only, Amazon listing record (opened 2026-10-23) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00SSLE0QS
  • Chainsaw safety is vital during storm cleanup, Oklahoma State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://extension.okstate.edu/articles/2023/chainsaw_safety
  • The Dangers of Using Chainsaws, Penn State Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://extension.psu.edu/the-dangers-of-using-chainsaws
  • Chainsaw Safety, Agricultural Safety and Health, Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://ag-safety.extension.org/chainsaw-safety/

Similar Posts