Best CRAFTSMAN V20 2-in-1 String Trimmer
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
The best craftsman v20 2-in-1 string trimmer for a yard with walks and beds is the CMCST901B, a 13-inch cordless trimmer that also edges with its Turn-To-Edge feature, sold as a tool only. The manufacturer describes up to 63 minutes of runtime under a stated condition, and a 13-inch cutting swath. The listing and the manufacturer page disagree on one point that matters before you buy: the listing says the trimmer has a 3 Year Limited Warranty, and the manufacturer page says No Warranty. This page sets out what each source states and what it leaves out.
Quick answer
- It is a 13-inch V20 cordless string trimmer that also edges through Turn-To-Edge, sold as a tool only. The manufacturer says the battery and charger are sold separately.
- The manufacturer says up to 63 minutes per charge, using a CMCB204 4.0Ah battery on low speed. The listing repeats the 63-minute figure without that condition.
- The two sources disagree on warranty. The listing says 3 Year Limited Warranty and the manufacturer page says No Warranty, so check this with Craftsman before you buy.
- Neither source gives a weight. The 52% power figure is a manufacturer comparison with another Craftsman trimmer, set out in a footnote.
The product at a glance
The table lists what the listing and the manufacturer state. Each row names its source, and a cell says “not stated” where neither source is silent.
| Feature | What the sources state |
|---|---|
| Brand and model | CRAFTSMAN, model CMCST901B (listing; manufacturer) |
| Product type | V20 string trimmer with Turn-To-Edge, tool only (manufacturer); string trimmer and lawn edger (listing title) |
| Power source | Integrated batteries (manufacturer); battery powered (listing) |
| Battery and charger | Sold separately (manufacturer) |
| Battery platform | V20 system (manufacturer; listing) |
| Battery voltage | Maximum initial 20 volts, nominal 18 volts (manufacturer) |
| Cutting width | 13 inches (listing; manufacturer’s 13 in. cutting swath) |
| Runtime | Up to 63 minutes per charge with a CMCB204 4.0Ah battery on low speed (manufacturer); up to 63 minutes, without that condition (listing) |
| Power | 52% more power, compared with the CMCST915 string trimmer using a CMCB204 battery (manufacturer footnote); 52% more power (listing) |
| Speed settings | Two speed settings, for runtime or performance (manufacturer; listing) |
| Edging | Turn-To-Edge functionality (manufacturer; listing) |
| Handle | Adjustable height (manufacturer) |
| Line | Spool that feeds 0.065-in line (manufacturer) |
| Included | String trimmer and spool (manufacturer) |
| Dimensions | Not stated by the manufacturer; the listing record gives 31.77 by 7.72 inches |
| Weight | Not stated |
| Warranty | Conflict: 3 Year Limited Warranty (listing); No Warranty (manufacturer) |
Who it suits
The manufacturer describes the trimmer as part of its V20 system and says it lets you trim and edge with one tool. It also offers an adjustable handle height. That fits a homeowner who already runs V20 tools and wants one trimmer for walks, beds and borders. It is a reasonable fit if:
- You already own V20 batteries and a charger, since the manufacturer places the trimmer in its V20 system.
- You want to trim and edge with one tool. The manufacturer describes Turn-To-Edge for that job.
- You want an adjustable handle height for longer sessions, which the manufacturer lists.
- You want to choose between longer runtime and more power, using the two speed settings.
Skip it if
- You do not own V20 batteries and do not plan to buy them. Neither comes with the trimmer.
- You need a warranty you can rely on. The two sources disagree, and the manufacturer page says none.
- You need a runtime figure at high speed. The 63-minute figure is for low speed with a 4.0Ah battery.
- You want a metal-blade edger. The sources describe edging with the same trimmer through Turn-To-Edge, and neither mentions a metal edging blade.
Safety steps from extension guides
Neither the listing nor the manufacturer gives operating safety rules, so this section draws on three extension sources: an Ohio State factsheet on handheld trimmers, the Virginia Tech powered hand tool guide and an Oklahoma State lawn care safety fact sheet. Each rule is attributed to the guide that gives it. The Ohio State factsheet is written for gas engines, so its fuel and spark plug steps are left out.
Before you start
- Read the operator’s manual first. Ohio State says to read and follow the manufacturer’s manual before using the equipment and any attachments, and Virginia Tech says to read and understand it before operating power tools.
- Clear the area. Ohio State and Virginia Tech both say to remove stones, sticks, wire and other debris before you start.
- Keep people and animals back. Virginia Tech says there should be no bystanders, children or pets within a 50-foot radius, and Oklahoma State says children and pets should not be in the area before you begin.
- Check the battery before use. Oklahoma State says to double-check that a cordless trimmer’s battery is properly charged before using it.
Trimming and edging
- Expect thrown material. Virginia Tech says string trimmers throw stones, sticks and other objects at high speeds. Oklahoma State says the major hazard with trimmers and edgers is objects launched outward, along with the string or blade breaking and flying out.
- Protect your eyes and feet. Ohio State recommends safety glasses with side shields or goggles, and sturdy leather work boots or hard-soled shoes. Oklahoma State recommends steel-toe boots for a string trimmer.
- Dress for the cut. Oklahoma State says long pants and long sleeves help protect you from injury.
- Grip firmly and work slowly. Ohio State says to keep a firm grip and work slowly to reduce kickout and the risk of hitting hidden objects.
- Keep your footing and your reach short. Virginia Tech says to maintain balance and firm footing, avoid over-reaching, and keep the string head below waist level.
- Use it on grass and similar weeds only, and leave guards and string guides in place. Virginia Tech says both.
- Give trees, fence posts and furniture room. Oklahoma State says getting too close to trees or fence posts can gouge the post or bark, and that getting too close to lawn furniture can damage it.
- Do not run it when tired or impaired. Ohio State and Virginia Tech both say not to operate equipment when fatigued or under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Children and slopes
Virginia Tech says children should not be allowed to operate power tools, so keep the trimmer away from them when it is in use. Oklahoma State says trimmers are easier to use on slopes than mowers, because they are held off the ground. Ohio State says to operate the unit only on stable ground with good footing, to avoid slips and falls.
Battery, spool and upkeep
- Store batteries indoors where you can, in a dry, climate-controlled area. Oklahoma State gives this rule.
- Remove the battery before any maintenance. Oklahoma State says to take the battery out to prevent any accidental starts.
- Follow the spool instructions in the manual when you change the line, because installation can differ between models. Oklahoma State gives this advice. The manufacturer lists a spool for 0.065-inch line.
- Keep the equipment in good repair. Ohio State says to follow the maintenance schedule in the owner’s manual, and says proper maintenance reduces the risk of malfunction.
- Inspect the trimmer before each use, and replace damaged parts and tighten loose ones. Virginia Tech gives this rule. Its wording also mentions fuel leaks, which do not apply to a battery trimmer.
What the listing does not say
The listing title says tool only, and the manufacturer says the battery and charger are sold separately. The gaps that matter for buying are these:
- Runtime condition: the listing says 63 minutes without a condition. The manufacturer ties the figure to low speed with a CMCB204 4.0Ah battery.
- Power comparison: the manufacturer compares the 52% figure with the CMCST915 string trimmer, using a CMCB204 battery, and says “on average, based on MWO”. The page does not define MWO.
- Warranty: the listing says 3 Year Limited Warranty and the manufacturer page says No Warranty. Neither source explains the difference.
- Weight: not stated by either source.
- Name: the listing title says “2 in 1” and “Lawn Edger”. The manufacturer calls the product a V20 String Trimmer and describes Turn-To-Edge, and it does not use the 2-in-1 wording.
For a side-by-side look at string trimmers from two other brands, see our Greenworks vs EGO Power+ string trimmer comparison. If you already run a DEWALT 20V system, our DEWALT 20V MAX brushless weed eater page covers another 20V cordless trimmer on a different battery platform.
Buying checklist
- Confirm that you own V20 batteries and a charger, or budget for them as a separate purchase.
- Get the warranty terms from Craftsman in writing, since the two sources disagree.
- Plan your runtime around low speed if you need the 63-minute figure, and expect less time at higher speed.
- Check the spool and line before the first use, following the manual.
How we chose
This post covers one product: ASIN B0GFXSJS7K, the CRAFTSMAN CMCST901B V20 string trimmer, tool only. We did not rank it against other trimmers, and nothing here says it is the best choice for every yard. The listing data was read on 2026-10-23 from the stored scanner record for this ASIN, which holds the title, bullets and specifications only. The manufacturer product page was opened on 2026-10-28 to check the figures for this exact model, and it is the source for the warranty and runtime condition. The three extension sources were opened on 2026-10-22 and are used only for the safety and maintenance steps.
What we could not verify
- The warranty. The listing says 3 Year Limited Warranty, the manufacturer page says No Warranty, and no other source we opened resolves the conflict.
- The weight, which neither source states.
- Runtime at high speed, or with any battery other than the CMCB204 4.0Ah the manufacturer names.
- The basis of the 52% power figure. The page says “based on MWO” and does not define it.
- How Turn-To-Edge works in practice, and how well it edges. The sources we opened describe the feature but do not test or rate it.
- Whether the 2-in-1 name in the listing title describes anything beyond the Turn-To-Edge feature the manufacturer names.
Mistakes to avoid
- Expecting a battery in the box. Both the listing title and the manufacturer page point to a tool-only sale.
- Expecting 63 minutes at high speed. The figure is for low speed with a 4.0Ah battery.
- Relying on the listing warranty. The manufacturer page says No Warranty.
- Assuming edging works like a metal blade edger. The sources describe Turn-To-Edge on the same trimmer.
- Letting children use the trimmer. Virginia Tech says children should not operate power tools.
FAQ
Does the CMCST901B come with a battery and charger?
No. The title says tool only, and the manufacturer says the battery and charger are sold separately.
How long does it run on one charge?
The manufacturer says up to 63 minutes per charge using a CMCB204 4.0Ah battery on low speed. The listing says up to 63 minutes without that condition, so use the manufacturer’s figure when you plan a job.
Can it edge as well as trim?
The manufacturer says it has Turn-To-Edge functionality, so you can trim and edge with one tool. The sources do not say how well the edging performs, and they do not describe a metal blade.
What warranty does it have?
The sources disagree. The listing says 3 Year Limited Warranty, and the manufacturer page says No Warranty. Get the terms from Craftsman before you buy.
Which batteries does it use?
The manufacturer places the trimmer in its V20 system and gives a maximum initial battery voltage of 20 volts and a nominal voltage of 18 volts. The runtime figure uses a CMCB204 4.0Ah battery.
What line does it take?
The manufacturer lists a spool that feeds 0.065-inch line. The listing does not state a line size, so check the manual before you buy replacement line.
Bottom line
Buy this Craftsman trimmer only if you already own V20 batteries and want one tool for trimming and edging, and only after you have the warranty terms from Craftsman in writing. If you need a battery in the box, a runtime figure at high speed or a weight, compare kit listings first.
Sources
- CRAFTSMAN V20 2 in 1 String Trimmer and Lawn Edger, CMCST901B, Amazon listing record (opened 2026-10-23): https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0GFXSJS7K
- V20* String Trimmer (Tool Only), CRAFTSMAN product page, model CMCST901B (opened 2026-10-28): https://www.craftsman.com/en-us/product/cmcst901b/v20-string-trimmer-tool-only
- Handheld Trimmers and Brush Cutters, AEX-790.37, Ohio State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22): https://ohioline.osu.edu/factsheet/aex-79037
- Powered Hand Tools Safety: Lawn Care Training Guide, BSE-50, Virginia Tech (opened 2026-10-22): https://pubs.ext.vt.edu/BSE/BSE-50/BSE-50.html
- Lawn Care Safety and Basic Maintenance Tips for Teens, Oklahoma State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22): https://extension.okstate.edu/fact-sheets/lawn-care-safety-and-basic-maintenance-tips-for-teens






