Best CRAFTSMAN V20 Mini Cordless Chainsaw
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
A search for best craftsman v20 mini cordless chainsaw points to one product: a 6-inch CRAFTSMAN pruning chainsaw, model CMCCS320D1, on the V20 20V MAX battery platform and sold with a 2.0Ah battery and charger. The listing names its job as tree trimming and pruning, with a 6-inch bar and chain and a stated cut capacity of up to 4 inches. The product description says the saw can make up to 85 cuts per charge. This post covers what the listing states, what it leaves out, and when a different saw is the better buy.
Quick answer
- The listing describes a 6-inch bar and chain with a cut capacity of up to 4 inches, on a V20 20V MAX platform. The kit includes a 2.0Ah battery, a charger, a sheath and a wrench.
- The product description says up to 85 cuts per charge. The saved listing text does not show the conditions behind that figure.
- The listing gives a brushed motor, 8 pounds as the item weight and 5 lbs as the tool-only weight.
- Skip it if you need to cut wood larger than 4 inches, or if you want a brushless motor or a stated runtime in minutes.
The product at a glance
The table lists only what the listing states. Where the listing is silent, the cell says not stated. The listing was read on 2026-10-23.
| Item | What the listing states |
|---|---|
| Brand | CRAFTSMAN |
| Model | CMCCS320D1 (the title); the kit contents name the CMCCS320 pruning chainsaw |
| Style shown | Pruning Saw |
| Power source | Battery powered |
| Platform and voltage | V20 MAX, 20V |
| Battery and charger | Included: V20 CMCB202 2.0Ah lithium-ion battery and V20 charger |
| Bar and chain length | 6 inches |
| Cut capacity | Up to 4 inches with the 6-inch bar and chain |
| Cuts per charge | Up to 85 (bullet and product description); conditions not shown in the saved text |
| Chain speed | 4.4 m/s |
| Motor type | Brushed (comparison table) |
| Weight, tool only | 5 lbs |
| Item weight | 8 pounds |
| Product dimensions | 20.35 in long, 10.65 in wide, 5.52 in high |
| Chain tensioning | Bolt lock chain tensioning |
| Tip protection | Integrated tip guard, described as giving control over upper cuts |
| Accessories | Storage sheath with on-board wrench holder; bar and chain |
| Replacement chain | CMZCSC6 |
| Chain brake | not stated |
| Warranty | 3 Year Limited Warranty |
Who it suits
This saw suits pruning work on small branches and shrubs, where a full-size saw is more than the job needs. The listing sets the limits clearly: a 6-inch bar, a cut capacity of up to 4 inches, and a sheath for storage. Those figures define the job. If most of your cuts are inside that range, the saw matches the listing’s own description.
It also suits someone who already owns CRAFTSMAN V20 batteries. The kit includes a V20 battery and charger, and the listing ties the V20 platform to CRAFTSMAN V20 outdoor equipment and power tools. If you own V20 batteries, the included battery is a second one you may not need to buy.
The listing calls the saw compact and lightweight, and it says the saw is “50% more compact and 14% lighter than CMCCSL621B.” That comparison names a different model that this post did not open, so the post does not use its figures. The stated weights are 8 pounds as the item weight and 5 lbs as the tool-only weight, which are the numbers to weigh against how long you expect to hold the saw.
Before you buy, answer three questions. What is the diameter of the wood you cut most often, compared with the 4-inch limit? Do you already own V20 batteries? Will you be cutting above your head, where the safety guidance below applies most strongly? If the answer to the first question is larger than 4 inches, the listing does not support this saw for that work.
Before the first cut
Chainsaw safety guidance applies to a pruning saw as much as to a full-size chainsaw. Penn State Extension states that “Kickback is a leading cause of chainsaw-related injuries.” It also warns that “Avoid cutting above shoulder height: Overhead cutting increases the risk of kickback and recoil.” If you cut overhead with this saw, that warning applies to your work directly.
Oklahoma State University Extension says “Make sure the chain brake is on.” The listing for this model does not mention a chain brake, so confirm that the saw has one before you rely on that rule. The same article says “Keep both hands on the saw.” That rule is easy to forget on a light saw that feels simple to hold, so make it a habit from the first cut.
The listing describes an integrated tip guard that gives “control over upper cuts.” Cornell Small Farms still applies: “Watch the guide bar nose. Do not let it touch logs, branches, or the ground when the saw is running.” A tip guard is a listed feature, but the extension guidance on keeping the bar nose clear is a separate rule that applies to every cut.
Cornell Small Farms also says “These devices will reduce but will not prevent kickback.” The listing does not describe this model’s chain as low-kickback, so this post does not claim it. For face protection, the Agricultural Safety and Health page says to “Wear either a full-face shield or safety goggles or safety glasses with side shields to protect your face from flying wood chips, twigs, and sawdust.” The same page advises to “Hold the saw firmly with both hands using an encircling grip.”
Chain condition matters. Penn State Extension states that “Sharpness of the chain: A dull chain requires more force to cut and is more likely to cause kickbacks.” The listing does not name an auto-oiler for this model and gives no oil capacity, so keep the chain sharp and follow the manufacturer’s manual for maintenance steps the listing does not cover.
For a branch out of reach from the ground, a pole model is the better fit for the job. Our pole saw comparison looks at extension-pole models for high branches, and our cordless hedge trimmer with extension pole guide covers shrub work from the ground.
Skip it if
- You need to cut wood larger than 4 inches. The listing sets 4 inches as the cut capacity for this model. Its comparison table also lists a 10-inch model with an 8-inch cut capacity and a 12-inch model with a 10-inch cut capacity. Those are separate products, and this post does not cover them.
- You want a brushless motor. The comparison table lists this model’s motor as brushed.
- You want a stated runtime in minutes. The listing gives 85 cuts per charge, not minutes, and the saved text does not show what conditions apply.
- You need a tool for felling or large limbing. The listing describes tree trimming and pruning, not felling, and the 6-inch bar is sized for small cuts.
What the listing does not say
Conditions behind 85 cuts. The bullet carries a footnote marker, and the footnote text was not in the saved page text. The conditions behind 85 cuts, such as wood type, branch size or bar condition, are therefore not known. The product description repeats the figure as up to 85 cuts per charge and gives no more detail.
Charge time. The listing names the 2.0Ah battery and charger but gives no charge time.
Chain brake. The listing does not mention a chain brake. The safety section above explains why that is worth checking before the first cut.
Oiling. The listing describes bolt lock chain tensioning and clamping. It does not name an auto-oiler for this model and gives no oil capacity.
Spare parts. The kit lists the saw, the battery, the charger, the bar and chain, the sheath and a wrench. It does not list a spare chain, and the listing gives the replacement chain number, CMZCSC6, without saying whether a spare comes with the kit.
Warranty terms. The listing says “3 Year Limited Warranty.” It does not give the coverage terms or how to make a claim.
Manual. The listing names an Instructions for Use PDF. That document was not opened, and PDFs are not used in this process, so its contents are not covered here.
How we chose
This post covers one product. Its ASIN is B0C7HNSJ4R, and the listing is titled CRAFTSMAN V20 Mini Cordless Chainsaw, Pruning Saw, 6″ Chain, Small Handheld Chainsaw, 2Ah Battery and Charger Included, Tree Trimming and Pruning, Compact and Lightweight (CMCCS320D1). The listing was read on 2026-10-23. Only its title, bullets, specification lines and the comparison column for this model were saved. Shopper feedback on the page was not recorded and is not used in this post.
The post does not rank this saw against other chainsaws. It is in the post because it matches the keyword and because the listing gives enough stated specifications to describe the product, with the gaps shown. The listing’s comparison table also includes a 10-inch model and a 12-inch model. Those are separate products, and this post does not use their figures.
The safety section draws only on university extension and Cornell Small Farms pages opened on 2026-10-22 and checked against their text. Where the listing is silent on a safety feature, the post says so.
What we could not verify
The sources we opened do not cover this model’s specifications. The listing is the only source with figures for this saw. The sources used here are HTML extension pages that describe chainsaws in general, and none of them describes this model.
As a result, this post cannot confirm the 85-cut figure, the conditions behind it, the charge time, the chain brake, the warranty terms, or whether the 4-inch cut capacity holds for every wood type. It also cannot confirm how the weight figures were measured.
The safety section is general guidance for chainsaws. It is not a statement about this saw’s features, and the manufacturer’s manual should be read before first use.
FAQ
Is the CRAFTSMAN V20 6-inch chainsaw good for pruning?
The listing describes the saw for tree trimming and pruning, with a 6-inch bar and a cut capacity of up to 4 inches. For small branches inside that limit it matches the listing’s own description. For larger wood, the listing does not support the saw.
How many cuts does one charge give?
The figure also appears in the product description. The bullet that carries it has a footnote marker, and the footnote text was not in the saved page text, so the conditions behind the figure are not known. This post has not verified it, and it should be treated as the listing’s claim only.
Does the kit include a battery and charger?
Yes. The listing says the kit includes a V20 CMCB202 2.0Ah lithium-ion battery and a V20 charger, along with a sheath, the bar and chain, and a wrench.
How big a branch can it cut?
The listing gives a cut capacity of up to 4 inches with the 6-inch bar and chain. It does not give a figure for larger wood, so treat 4 inches as the stated limit.
Is this saw brushed or brushless?
The listing’s comparison table gives the motor type for this 6-inch model as brushed. A brushless model appears in the same table, but it is a separate product.
Does this saw have a chain brake?
The listing does not mention one. Penn State Extension says a chainsaw should be equipped with safety features such as a chain brake. The Agricultural Safety and Health page describes chain brakes as a feature of gas chainsaws, so read the manufacturer’s manual or ask the seller to confirm before you buy.
Bottom line
Buy this saw only if your cutting is pruning and small branches up to 4 inches, and you can accept a brushed motor, a stated 4-inch limit and a chain brake that the listing does not mention. If you need larger wood, a stated runtime in minutes or a brushless motor, choose a saw whose listing gives those figures.
Sources
- CRAFTSMAN V20 Mini Cordless Chainsaw, Pruning Saw, CMCCS320D1, Amazon listing (opened 2026-10-23) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0C7HNSJ4R
- Oklahoma State University Extension, chainsaw safety article (opened 2026-10-22) https://extension.okstate.edu/articles/2023/chainsaw_safety
- Penn State Extension, The Dangers of Using Chainsaws (opened 2026-10-22) https://extension.psu.edu/the-dangers-of-using-chainsaws
- Agricultural Safety and Health, Chainsaw Safety (opened 2026-10-22) https://ag-safety.extension.org/chainsaw-safety/
- Cornell Small Farms, Chainsaw Safety Part 4: Reducing the Risk of Chainsaw Kickback (opened 2026-10-22) https://smallfarms.cornell.edu/2018/06/chainsaw-safety-part-4-reducing-the-risk-of-chainsaw-kickback-just-say-no-to-kickback-2






