Best WEN 4019 6-Amp 8-Inch Electric Telescoping
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
If you are looking for the best wen 4019 6-amp 8-inch electric telescoping pole saw, the short answer is that it is a corded, light-duty tool for reaching branches from the ground. The WEN 4019 is listed with a 6-amp motor, an 8 inch chain, a telescoping pole from 5.3 to 7.3 feet and a two-year warranty. This page covers that one ASIN, B07DYL4JX2. It uses the Amazon listing as checked on 2026-10-22, plus two extension publications on powered tool safety. The listing gives two weights, and its horsepower rating does not match its motor figures, so this page shows both conflicts rather than picking one.
Quick answer
- Buy it only if you can run a cord from a grounded outlet to the tree safely. The listing says corded electric, and the cord length is not stated.
- The listing says the pole reaches up to 12 feet overhead. That is a listing claim, and no source we opened covers overhead work with this saw.
- The listing gives the weight as 6.7 pounds in a bullet and 7.2 pounds in its spec field. Use the seller’s figure if weight matters to you.
- The listing states a 2.3 hp rating, but its 6-amp motor at 120 volts works out to about 720 watts. Do not buy on the horsepower figure alone.
The product at a glance
The table lists only what the saved listing states, checked on 2026-10-22. Cells say “not stated” where the listing is silent.
| Item | What the listing says |
|---|---|
| Brand | WEN |
| Model | 4019 (title) |
| Style | Corded 8 in. Pole Saw |
| Power source | Corded Electric |
| Motor | 6-Amp |
| Voltage | 120 volts |
| Horsepower | 2.3 hp |
| Chain | 8-inch saw chain, included |
| Chain speed | 36 feet per second |
| Pole length | 5.3 to 7.3 feet (telescoping) |
| Overhead reach | up to 12 feet (listing claim) |
| Weight | 6.7 pounds (bullet); 7.2 pounds (spec field) |
| Dimensions | 105.2″L x 6.7″W x 7.5″H |
| Chain adjustment | Tool-free |
| Oiling | Automatic oiling system |
| Safety switch | Ambidextrous built-in switch |
| Included | 8-inch chain, blade cover, shoulder strap, scabbard |
| Warranty | Two-year |
| Cord length | not stated |
| Cutting capacity | not stated |
| Chain brake | not stated |
The power source field says corded electric and the product voltage is 120. The listing also notes that the saw may need a converter outside the United States. The weight and horsepower conflicts are both shown in the table as the listing gives them.
Stored listing data for this ASIN was checked on 2026-10-22. Check the live listing before you buy, because the details can change.
Who it suits
This saw suits a homeowner who needs to trim small branches from the ground and has a grounded outlet close to the work. The listing gives an 8 inch chain and a 6-amp motor, which points to light pruning rather than heavy cutting. The listing itself does not state a cutting diameter, so treat that as our reading.
It also suits a buyer who wants features that reduce chores during the job. The listing says the chain adjusts without tools, that an automatic oiling system keeps the chain lubricated, and that the pole telescopes from 5.3 to 7.3 feet. The box also includes a shoulder strap, according to the listing’s bullet list.
The VT guide says electric trimmers are relatively light and easy to maneuver and operate, but that the cord limits the area they can cover. That trade-off is the central one for this saw. A corded design keeps the weight down and removes fuel from the job, while the cord decides where you can work.
If you are weighing a pole saw from another brand, our EGO Power+ vs Autubin pole saw comparison covers a different pair of tools. Our Seesii vs EGO Power+ pole saw comparison is another option if you want to compare more models before you decide.
Skip it if
- You need a cordless tool. This one is corded, and the listing gives no battery option.
- You cannot reach a grounded outlet with a cord run you can keep clear of the saw. The VT guide says to track the cord and to use GFCI grounded outlets.
- The branch you need to cut sits near power or communication lines. The VT guide says to watch for exposed electrical wires, communication lines and extension cords.
- You need a stated cutting diameter or cord length before you buy. Neither appears in the listing.
- You are working in wet conditions. The VT guide says never to operate an electric trimmer in wet conditions, and the same caution applies here.
Safe use before you start
Neither extension publication covers this saw. The VT guide is written for powered hand tools in lawn care, and its electric trimmer rules on cords are applied here by analogy. The Cornell article is written for chain saws in general, not pole saws, so its kickback rules are also applied by analogy.
- Read the operator’s manual before you run the saw. The VT guide says to read and understand the manual before operating power tools.
- Keep bystanders, children and pets at least 50 feet from the work area. The VT guide gives that distance for power tools.
- Do not let children operate the saw. The VT guide says children should not operate power tools.
- Look for exposed electrical wires, communication lines and extension cords before you raise the pole. The VT guide says to watch for them to avoid damaging them.
- Track the cord so the saw does not cut into it, inspect the cord for cuts, nicks or scrapes, and replace a damaged cord. Use GFCI grounded outlets.
- Keep the guide bar nose away from logs, branches and the ground while the saw is running. Cornell says most chainsaw accidents come from kickback.
- Stand to the side of the cutting path, and keep the tip of the bar away from any object. Cornell gives both points for chain saws.
The listing names an ambidextrous built-in safety switch. It does not describe how the switch works in detail, so read the manual before first use.
Mistakes to avoid
- Buying on the 2.3 hp figure. The listing’s 6-amp motor at 120 volts works out to about 720 watts, roughly 0.97 hp, and the listing does not explain the gap.
- Using the 6.7-pound bullet as the weight. The spec field says 7.2 pounds, and the listing does not reconcile them.
- Treating the 12-foot overhead reach as a safe working height. The listing states the reach but gives no working guidance.
- Running the cord without GFCI protection or with a damaged cord. The VT guide says to use GFCI grounded outlets and replace damaged cords.
- Storing the saw without its scabbard. The listing says the scabbard protects the chain and bar between jobs.
What the listing does not say
The listing is specific about the motor, chain and warranty. It is silent on several points that matter for buying and use.
- Cord length. Not stated. The VT guide says the length of a power cord limits the area an electric trimmer can cover.
- Cutting capacity. Not stated. The 8 inch figure is the chain length, not a cutting diameter.
- Chain brake. Not stated. Cornell describes chain brakes as a kickback-reducing device on chain saws.
- Horsepower. The listing gives 2.3 hp, but it gives 6 amps at 120 volts. The two do not match on a simple watts check, and the listing does not explain the horsepower rating.
- Weight. The bullet says 6.7 pounds and the spec field says 7.2 pounds. The listing gives both.
- Pole material and chain type. Neither is stated.
- Warranty terms. The listing says two years and gives no claim process.
- Use outside the United States. The listing says it may need a converter, and it names only 120 volts.
Buying checklist
- Confirm you can reach a grounded outlet with a cord run you can keep clear of the cutting area.
- Ask the seller for the cord length and the cutting capacity, because neither is stated.
- Confirm the weight you will carry, because the listing gives two figures.
- Before the first use, check the cord for cuts, nicks or scrapes, and confirm that the outlet is a grounded GFCI type, as the VT guide advises.
- Check the branch location for power and communication lines before you raise the pole.
- Read the operator’s manual, then check the safety switch, the chain tension and the bar nose before the first cut.
How we chose
This is a single-product review of one ASIN, B07DYL4JX2, which is the WEN 4019 corded pole saw. The keyword names this model, so the post covers this model only. This post does not rank it against other pole saws, and the word best in the title follows the search phrase. The listing title names the 4019 model, which is why the post stays with that one model.
This ASIN was not in our stored product file. We read the Amazon listing once on 2026-10-22 and saved its title, bullets, description lines, style, and listed specification fields. We recorded no prices, ratings, badges or customer feedback, and we did not use the customer reviews.
The criteria are ordered by what prevents a wrong purchase: power and cord first, then reach and weight, then the horsepower claim. The two extension pages were opened on 2026-10-22. Every fact in this post traces to one line of the saved listing or one of those pages, and each quoted line was matched against its saved text file.
What we could not verify
- Cord length, cutting capacity and chain brake. The listing does not state them, and the sources used here do not cover this saw.
- Which weight is correct, 6.7 pounds or 7.2 pounds, and which horsepower figure applies.
- The 12-foot overhead reach. It is a listing claim, and no source used here covers overhead cutting with this saw.
- Whether the saw meets any electrical or safety standard. The listing names none.
- Whether the listing’s 36 feet per second chain speed is measured under a stated load or setting. The listing does not say.
- Whether the VT guide on electric trimmers and the Cornell article on chain saws apply to a pole saw in every detail. We applied them by analogy and say so above.
- No manufacturer page for this model is among the sources used here.
FAQ
Is the WEN 4019 a corded tool?
Yes. The listing gives its power source as corded electric and its product voltage as 120. It does not state the cord length.
How far can it reach?
The listing says the telescoping pole runs from 5.3 to 7.3 feet and gives up to 12 feet of overhead reach. The 12-foot figure is the listing’s claim, and the sources used here do not cover overhead work with this saw.
How much does it weigh?
The listing gives 6.7 pounds in a bullet and 7.2 pounds in its spec field. It does not say which one is correct, so ask the seller if the weight matters for your work.
Does it need a GFCI outlet?
The listing does not say. The VT guide advises grounded outlets with GFCI protection for electric trimmers, and that advice is a sensible baseline for this corded saw as well.
What does the 2.3 hp rating mean for buying?
The listing states 2.3 hp, but it also states a 6-amp motor at 120 volts. That works out to about 720 watts (6 amps times 120 volts), or roughly 0.97 hp at 746 watts per hp, so the two figures do not match on a simple check. The listing does not explain the rating, so do not choose on horsepower alone.
Does it have a chain brake?
The listing does not state one. Cornell describes chain brakes as kickback-reducing devices on chain saws, and it says those devices reduce kickback but do not prevent it. Check the manual before you rely on a chain brake.
Bottom line
Decision rule: buy this saw only when you can run a cord from a grounded outlet to the tree safely, because the corded design is the constraint that matters most.
Sources
- Amazon listing for ASIN B07DYL4JX2, checked (opened 2026-10-22) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07DYL4JX2
- Powered Hand Tools Safety: Lawn Care Training Guide, Virginia Cooperative Extension BSE-50 (opened 2026-10-22) https://ext.vt.edu/content/pubs_ext_vt_edu/en/BSE/BSE-50/BSE-50.html
- Chainsaw Safety, Part 4: Reducing the Risk of Chainsaw Kickback, Cornell Small Farms (opened 2026-10-22) https://smallfarms.cornell.edu/2018/06/chainsaw-safety-part-4-reducing-the-risk-of-chainsaw-kickback-just-say-no-to-kickback-2






