Best EGO POWER+ String Trimmer
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
If you searched for best ego power string trimmer, you are probably looking at the EGO POWER+ ST1610T, a 16-inch battery trimmer with a telescopic carbon fiber shaft and a POWERLOAD line feed. The listing puts the main point in its title: battery and charger not included, per the listing. It gives up to 45 minutes of runtime with a recommended 56V battery that is sold separately, a 16-inch cutting swath and two warranty statements. This page covers only what the listing states, adds safety guidance from university fact sheets on handheld trimmers, and lists what the listing leaves out.
Quick answer
- Buy this trimmer only if you already own a compatible EGO 56V ARC Lithium battery and a charger, or you plan to buy them, because the battery and charger are not included, per the listing.
- The listing’s up to 45 minutes of runtime is tied to a recommended 56V 2.5Ah ARC Lithium battery, which the listing says is sold separately. No battery comes in the box.
- The listing gives a 16-inch cutting swath, a telescopic carbon fiber shaft and a POWERLOAD feature that feeds line and winds it at the push of a button.
- The listing gives two warranty statements: a limited lifetime warranty on the shaft and a 5-year limited tool warranty.
The product at a glance
The table lists what the EGO listing states. Where the listing is silent, the cell says “not stated”. Brand, model, power source, weight, cutting width, battery statements and warranties come from the saved listing text. The dimensions come from the stored Playwright scan record checked 2026-10-23.
| Item | What the listing states |
|---|---|
| Brand | EGO Power+ |
| Model number | ST1610T |
| Power source | Battery powered |
| Battery and charger | Battery and charger not included, per the listing |
| Battery compatibility | All EGO 56V ARC Lithium batteries, sold separately |
| Recommended battery | 56V 2.5Ah ARC Lithium battery, sold separately |
| Runtime | Up to 45 minutes on a single charge with the recommended battery (listing claim) |
| Cutting width | 16 inches |
| Cutting swath | 16-inch cutting swath |
| Line and feed | POWERLOAD feed; dual line spiral-twist 0.095-inch trimmer line |
| Shaft | Telescopic carbon fiber shaft with a quick-adjust auxiliary handle |
| Motor | High-efficiency brushless motor, per the listing |
| Weather rating | IPX4-rated weather-resistant construction, per the listing |
| Speed control | not stated |
| Weight | 7.5 pounds |
| Dimensions | 70 inches long by 11.4 inches wide |
| Warranty | Limited lifetime warranty on the carbon fiber shaft; 5-year limited tool warranty |
| Operating temperature | not stated |
On the kit question the listing is consistent: battery and charger not included, per the listing. The style name repeats the point with “No Battery/Charger,” and the runtime bullet names a battery that is sold separately. The trimmer is the item in the box.
Before you order: a checklist
- Confirm that you own an EGO 56V ARC Lithium battery. The listing says all EGO 56V ARC Lithium batteries are compatible, and it names the 2.5Ah model as the recommended one.
- Confirm that you have a charger for that battery, because the listing names no charger model.
- Decide whether the telescopic shaft matters to you. The listing describes a quick-adjust auxiliary handle that fits your height, and it does not describe the adjustment in more detail.
- Read both warranty statements on the product page before buying, since the listing gives a lifetime warranty for the shaft and a 5-year term for the tool.
- If you work in damp grass, weigh the IPX4 statement against the cautions in the sources, as covered below.
What the listing’s bullets say, and what they do not
The listing has ten bullets. Some are specifications with conditions attached, some are features, and some are claims that carry no figure.
- The runtime bullet is a specification with conditions. It says up to 45 minutes on a single charge, with a recommended 56V 2.5Ah battery that is sold separately. Read it as a conditional figure for that battery alone.
- The POWERLOAD bullet describes a feature: feeding line, pressing a button to wind it, and getting back to work. The listing gives no time for the winding step, so “in seconds” is the listing’s own claim.
- The motor bullet says the brushless motor delivers long runtimes, low vibration, long motor life and lifelong durability. Those are manufacturer claims with no figures attached.
- The shaft bullet calls the carbon fiber shaft lightweight and durable and backs it with a limited lifetime warranty. Durability is a claim, and the warranty is a statement whose terms the listing does not give.
- The weather bullet gives an IPX4 rating for the construction. It is a stated rating, and the post cannot confirm it from the sources it opened.
- The battery bullet lists compatibility with all EGO 56V ARC Lithium batteries, which is a compatibility statement rather than a runtime statement.
Who it suits
This trimmer suits someone who already owns EGO 56V ARC Lithium batteries and wants a 16-inch trimmer. The listing says the trimmer is compatible with all of them, so a buyer with that battery platform has the clearest path to using it.
It also suits people who change the line often, or who want to avoid stopping to reload. The listing’s POWERLOAD bullet describes feeding line and winding it with a button press. That is a feature statement, and this post does not time it.
It may suit people who work at several heights. The listing describes a telescopic carbon fiber shaft and a quick-adjust auxiliary handle that fits to the user’s height. The listing does not describe the locking mechanism, so check it on the product page before you rely on it.
If you are weighing this trimmer against a Greenworks model, our Greenworks vs EGO Power+ string trimmer comparison looks at the two brands’ string trimmers. If you are also looking at EGO’s accessory line, our EGO Power+ vs WORKPRO trimmers and accessories comparison covers that side of the range.
Skip it if
Skip this trimmer if you need the battery and charger in the box. The listing says battery and charger not included, so the first order may be the trimmer plus a battery and a charger.
Skip it if you do not own an EGO 56V ARC Lithium battery and do not plan to buy one. The listing’s compatibility statement covers only EGO batteries of that platform.
Skip it if you need a runtime figure for a battery other than the recommended one. The listing ties the 45-minute figure to the 2.5Ah battery and gives no figure for others.
Skip it if you need a trimmer for wet grass without caution. The listing gives an IPX4 weather rating, and the Virginia Tech guide advises against operating electric trimmers in wet conditions. The two statements do not say the same thing, and this post does not reconcile them.
Skip it if you need a brush-cutting blade or attachment. The listing describes a string trimmer and a telescopic shaft. It does not mention blades or attachments.
Mistakes to avoid
- Assuming the 45-minute figure applies to any battery. The listing ties it to the recommended 56V 2.5Ah battery.
- Ordering the trimmer alone and assuming a battery is in the box. The listing says battery and charger not included, per the listing.
- Choosing on one warranty line. The listing gives two statements, a lifetime warranty on the shaft and a 5-year tool warranty, and the terms are not in the listing.
- Reading IPX4 as permission to trim in wet grass. The Virginia Tech guide says not to operate electric trimmers in wet conditions.
- Trimming too close to plants, trees and fences. The Oklahoma State column warns that trimming too close can leave gouges in the surface and can harm plants.
What the listing does not say
Battery and charger not included, per the listing, is the first gap, and it matters more to the buying decision than any spec in the table. The listing names the battery platform, but it does not name a charger model, and it does not bundle a battery with the trimmer.
Battery, charger and runtime
The 45-minute figure is a listing claim with conditions attached. It assumes a single charge of the recommended 56V 2.5Ah battery, and the listing does not say what load, grass type or cutting pattern produced it. Other batteries from the same platform may run for a different time, and the listing does not give those figures.
The listing names no charger model for this trimmer. Because the battery and charger are sold separately, you should confirm the charger you plan to use before you order, rather than assuming the one you own matches the trimmer.
Safety the listing does not cover
A product listing seldom explains safe use, so this section draws on university and extension guidance on handheld trimmers.
- The Ohio State University fact sheet says contact with the rotating cutter and flying debris can cause serious injury, including cuts and lacerations. It advises confirming that guards and deflector shields are in place before use.
- The same fact sheet recommends safety glasses with side shields or goggles, leather gloves, sturdy boots or hard-soled shoes, and long pants with a long-sleeved shirt.
- Virginia Tech’s lawn care guide says string trimmers throw stones, sticks and other objects at high speed. It advises keeping the string head below waist level, avoiding over-reaching, and securing long hair above the shoulder.
- The Virginia Tech guide says not to remove protective guards and string guides, and it warns that automatic-feed and bump-feed trimmers may release more string than needed.
- The Oklahoma State column recommends protective clothing for trimmer work and asks that children and pets stay out of the area.
Gaps in the listing record
The listing record used here does not give a speed control figure, an operating temperature range or a motor power rating. It gives no detail on how the auxiliary handle locks, and no warranty terms. The IPX4 rating is stated, but the listing does not say how the trimmer was rated or what conditions the rating covers.
How we chose
This trimmer is in the post because its name matches the keyword, and its ASIN is B0DP2CSD6B. The post covers that one product only. The brand, model, runtime, warranty, weight and feature statements come from the saved listing text. The saved text leaves out the dimensions, which are taken from the same scan record instead.
The sources were chosen for the tool type, not for this model. The Ohio State fact sheet, the Virginia Tech guide and the Oklahoma State column are non-retail pages on handheld trimmers and lawn tool safety. They supply the safety guidance here and make no claims about this EGO model.
The post does not rank this trimmer against others. It reports the listing’s figures with their conditions, labels the feature and performance statements as claims, and marks the places where the listing is silent.
What we could not verify
The sources we opened do not cover runtime for this trimmer or for any EGO battery, so the 45-minute figure remains a listing claim with its stated conditions.
The sources we opened do not cover the POWERLOAD feed, the telescopic shaft lock, or how the trimmer cuts tall or dense grass. The listing gives features and a cutting swath, and no cutting result.
The brushless motor claims for low vibration, long motor life and lifelong durability are manufacturer statements. The post cannot confirm them from the sources it opened.
The IPX4 rating is a stated figure, and the post cannot confirm how it applies to real wet-grass use. The warranty terms behind the two statements are not in the listing.
FAQ
Does the EGO POWER+ ST1610T come with a battery and charger?
No. The listing says battery and charger not included, and it names the recommended 56V 2.5Ah battery as sold separately. Plan to buy any battery or charger you do not already own.
Which battery does the listing use for its runtime figure?
The runtime figure refers to a recommended 56V 2.5Ah ARC Lithium battery. The listing says it is sold separately and gives the figure as up to 45 minutes on a single charge.
Is the warranty for life or for five years?
The listing gives both. It describes a limited lifetime warranty on the carbon fiber shaft and a 5-year limited tool warranty. The terms are not in the listing, so check the product page before you buy.
Can I use this trimmer in the rain?
The listing describes IPX4-rated weather-resistant construction. The post cannot confirm what that rating means in practice. The Virginia Tech guide advises against operating electric trimmers in wet conditions, so wait for dry grass.
How does the telescopic shaft adjust?
The listing says the quick-adjust auxiliary handle fits to your height. It does not describe the locking mechanism or the adjustment range, so check the adjustment on the product page or in the owner’s manual before you start work.
Is it safe to use around children and pets?
The Oklahoma State column says children and pets should not be in the area while trimming. The Ohio State fact sheet warns that thrown debris can cause serious injury, so keep bystanders well back and wear eye protection.
Bottom line
Buy the EGO POWER+ ST1610T only if you already own, or are ready to buy, a compatible 56V ARC Lithium battery and charger, because battery and charger not included, per the listing. If you need the runtime figure for a specific job, confirm the battery model first.
Sources
- EGO POWER+ String Trimmer, Battery Powered, 16-inch, ST1610T (Amazon listing record, opened 2026-10-23) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0DP2CSD6B
- Handheld Trimmers and Brush Cutters, Ohioline, Ohio State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://ohioline.osu.edu/factsheet/aex-79037
- Powered Hand Tools Safety: Lawn Care Training Guide, Virginia Tech Cooperative Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://pubs.ext.vt.edu/BSE/BSE-50/BSE-50.html
- Beyond The Mower: Safe Use Of Trimmers, Edgers And Blowers, Oklahoma State University Extension (opened 2026-10-22) https://extension.okstate.edu/announcements/grow-gardening-columns/2025/august-24-2025.html






